This is a Final office action for serial number 18/924236.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, and 15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 11, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 12, 16, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Heacox 6,552,270.
Heacox discloses claims:
1. A cable organizer for at least one cable, the cable organizer comprising: a support structure having a support structure inner periphery and a support structure outer periphery, wherein the support structure is at least partially circle-shaped, and wherein the support structure flexes so that cables may be snapped into (column 3, lines 15-549 lines 34-39) the cable organizer, wherein the support structure has at least one of: at least one first cable accommodation guide disposed at a first distance from the support structure outer periphery, the at least one first cable accommodation guide being open with respect to the support structure outer periphery so as to allow the at least one cable to be disposed in the at least one first cable accommodation guide by the at least one cable being disposed adjacent the at least one first cable accommodation guide, then pushed toward the at least one first cable accommodation guide, resulting in a flexing of the support structure in a vicinity of the at least one first cable accommodation guide that allows the at least one cable to pass into the at least one first cable accommodation guide, the at least one cable being held in the at least one first cable accommodation guide by a tolerance fit, andat least one second cable accommodation guide disposed at a second distance from the support structure outer periphery, the second distance being different than the first distance, the at least one second cable accommodation guide being open with respect to the support structure outer periphery via an exterior cable passage guide so as to allow the at least one cable to pass through the exterior cable passage guide and be disposed in the at least one second cable accommodation guide by the at least one cable being disposed adjacent the exterior cable passage guide of the at least one second cable accommodation guide, then pushed toward the at least one second cable accommodation guide, resulting in a flexing of the support structure in a vicinity of the at least one second cable accommodation guide that allows the at least one cable to pass into the at least one second cable accommodation guide, the at least one cable being held in the at least one second cable accommodation guide by a tolerance fit.
3. The cable organizer of claim 1, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance.
9. The cable organizer of claim 1, wherein the support structure is circle- shaped.
11. The cable organizer of claim 1, wherein the support structure inner periphery at least in part defines a structural passage configured to accommodate a support member configured to support a weight of the at least one cable.
12. The cable organizer of claim 1, wherein each first cable accommodation guide of the at least one first cable accommodation guide or each second cable accommodation guide of the at least one second cable accommodation guide is associated with a different marking.
16. A method of holding at least one cable, the method comprising: providing a cable organizer, the cable organizer being at least partially circle-shaped in cross section and comprising a support structure having a support structure inner periphery, a support structure outer periphery, wherein the support structure flexes so that cables maybe snapped into the cable organizer, and at least one of: at least one first cable accommodation guide disposed at a first distance from the support structure outer periphery, the at least one first cable accommodation guide being open with respect to the support structure outer periphery, and at least one second cable accommodation guide disposed at a second distance from the support structure outer periphery, the second distance being different than the first distance, the at least one second cable accommodation guide being open with respect to the support structure outer periphery via an exterior cable passage guide; and disposing the at least one cable in at least one of: the at least one first cable accommodation guide by the at least one cable being disposed adjacent the at least one first cable accommodation guide, then pushed toward the at least one first cable accommodation guide, resulting in a flexing of the support structure in a vicinity of the at least one first cable accommodation guide that allows the at least one cable to pass into the at least one first cable accommodation guide, the at least one cable being held in the at least one first cable accommodation guide by a tolerance fit, and the at least one second cable accommodation guide by passing the at least one cable through the exterior cable passage guide ,the at least one cable being disposed adjacent the exterior cable passage guide of the at least one second cable accommodation guide, then pushed toward the at least one second cable accommodation guide, resulting in a flexing of the support structure in a vicinity of the at least one second cable accommodation guide that allows the at least one cable to pass into the at least one second cable accommodation guide, the at least one cable being held in the at least one second cable accommodation guide by a tolerance fit.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the at least one first cable accommodation guide comprises from twelve to eighteen first cable accommodation guides, and wherein the at least one second cable accommodation guide comprises from twelve to eighteen second cable accommodation guides.
19. The method of claim 16, wherein the support structure is circle-shaped or U-shaped.
20. The method of claim 16, comprising: disposing the cable organizer on a support member so as to support a weight of the at least one cable above a ground surface.
[AltContent: textbox (Support structure 10
1st cable accommodation guide 16/15
2nd cable accommodation guide 24
Inner periphery
Outer periphery)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Heacox 6,552,270.
Heacox discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one first cable accommodation guide comprises from twelve to eighteen first cable accommodation guides and wherein the at least one second cable accommodation guide comprises from twelve to eighteen second cable accommodation guides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have the at least one first cable accommodation guide comprises from twelve to eighteen first cable accommodation guides and wherein the at least one second cable accommodation guide comprises from twelve to eighteen second cable accommodation guides since Heacox teaches within column 2, lines 50-55 which teaches that the desired number of cable accommodation guides depends on the desired number of supported cables therefore being an engineering desired choice to have twelve to eighteen first and second cable accommodation guides without destroying the invention or producing any unexpected results as the desired number of cable accommodation guides for a user.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heacox 6552270 in view of Kim KR20190070091.
Heacox discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for a flexible conductive covering.
Kim teaches it is known to have Claims:
5. The cable organizer further comprising: a flexible, conductive covering disposed on the support structure.
6. The cable organizer wherein the flexible, conductive covering envelopes the support structure.
18. The method wherein the cable organizer comprises a flexible, conductive covering disposed on the support structure, the flexible, conductive covering enveloping the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Heacox to have included the cable organizer further comprising: a flexible, conductive covering disposed on the support structure and the method wherein the cable organizer comprises a flexible, conductive covering disposed on the support structure, the flexible, conductive covering enveloping the support structure as taught by Kim for the purpose of providing a coating of rubber for protective purpose or a way to provide a better gripping means for the user and cabling and/or in addition to shielding by electromagnetic waves.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631