DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 7, the limitation “the docking point” lacks antecedent basis as it has not been previously defined.
As per claim 17, there is an antecedent basis issue with the limitation “a service station” as it is already defined in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1 and 19, the claim recites “in response thereto determine that the change is below a threshold acceptance level, and if so, updating…” which renders the claim unclear as to whether the change being determined to be below the threshold is positively recited due to the phrase “if so”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “in response thereto determine that the change is below a threshold acceptance level, and
Dependent claims 2-18 are rejected under the same rationale by virtue of dependency.
As per claim 7, it is unclear what the docking position being referred to is. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted to be the docking point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vogel (US 2018/0246518).
As per claims 1 and 19, Vogel discloses a robotic work tool arranged to operate in an operational area housing a service station (see at least para. 24-26 for a robot 100 performing a task within an environment containing base station 200 such as vacuuming), the robotic work tool comprising
a navigation sensor (navigation sensor 110),
a memory storing a map application of the operational area (see at least para. 24 and claims 17-18 for memory storing electronic map) and
a controller (see at least para. 5 and 72 for robot controller),
wherein the controller is configured to detect that there has been a change in a location of the service station, and in response thereto determine that the change is below a threshold acceptance level, and if so, updating the location of the service station in the map application of the operational area (see at least para. 44 for recognizing base station at a new position and if new position deviates by a distance of less than 1m from the former position then record the new position and delete the former position).
As per claim 11, Vogel further discloses wherein the threshold acceptance level relates to a distance (see at least para. 44 for the distance being less than 1m).
As per claim 15, Vogel further discloses wherein the navigation sensor includes a visual navigation sensor (see at least para. 25 for navigation sensor is a camera).
As per claim 17, Vogel discloses a robotic work tool system comprising:
the robotic work tool according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and
a service station (base station 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel in view of Zhou (US 2019/0369620).
As per claim 2, Vogel is silent regarding, however Zhou teaches wherein the controller is further configured to determine that the accuracy of the navigation sensor used is above an accuracy threshold level, and if so update the location of the service station (see at least para. 209 for confirming positioning precision is high before recording new position of the charging station).
Zhou is directed towards a similar field of endeavor as Vogel as Zhou is also directed towards an autonomous mobile robot that performs a task and requires the need to register a new position of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Zhou because it ensures that the recorded position of the charging station is precise as the precision of the positioning signal is high compared to when the precision is low.
As per claim 12, Vogel is silent regarding, however Zhou teaches wherein the robotic work tool is a robotic lawnmower (see at least para. 144 for self-moving device may be a lawn mower).
Zhou is directed towards a similar field of endeavor as Vogel as Zhou is also directed towards an autonomous mobile robot that performs a task and requires the need to register a new position of the docking station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Zhou for use on a robotic lawnmower instead of a robotic vacuum because both robotic vacuums and robotic lawnmowers have docking stations that may be moved to a new or different position than is known and thus require an updated position for proper docking.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel.
As per claim 3, Vogel further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to update a docking point for the service station
Vogel is not explicit regarding doing this in response to the location of the service station being changed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the docking position would need to be updated when the position of the base station has changed otherwise successful charging of the battery would not be performed as it requires the robot to dock onto the base station at a certain position and orientation in order for the robot to come into contact with the charging contacts.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel in view of Rasam (US 2024/0036582).
As per claim 13, Vogel is silent regarding, but Rasam teaches wherein the navigation sensor includes a deduced reckoning sensor (see at least para. 96 for accelerometer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Rasam as it is well-known to use one or more of the sensors taught by Rasam, as they are interchangeable, for robotic navigation about a space.
As per claim 14, Vogel is silent regarding, but Rasam teaches wherein the navigation sensor includes a satellite navigation sensor (see at least para. 96 for GPS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Rasam as it is well-known to use one or more of the sensors taught by Rasam, as they are interchangeable, for robotic navigation about a space.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel in view of Gill (US 2020/0022553).
As per claim 16, Vogel is silent regarding, but Gill teaches wherein the navigation sensor includes a magnetic sensor arranged to sense a magnetic field emanating from the service station (see at least para. 90 for using a hall effect sensor to sense magnetic field generated by the docking station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Gill to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Gill because it provides another means for detecting proximity to a docking station to perform automated charging.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel in view of Suvarna (US 2019/0061157).
As per claim 18, Vogel is silent regarding, but Suvarna teaches a server (see at least para. 31-32 for server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vogel with the features of Suvarna as it was well-known that the means for control of a robotic vacuum may be implemented on an on-board processing system, a remote processing system, or a combination as both.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Additionally the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action must be overcome.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619