DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to application 18/924,266 filed on October 23, 2024.
Claim Interpretations
The limitations of a “cargo bed cover mode” and “cargo bed liner mode” have been interpreted as the system that covers or lines (which can be both) a cargo bed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anthony (US 5110171). With regard to claim 1, Anthony teaches a multifunctional protection and storage system for a vehicle, comprising: at least two panels 18/12; and at least one hinge connecting two of the at least two panels (fold); wherein the at least two panels are configured to be arranged in at least two modes selected from a group consisting of: a cargo bed cover mode (Fig. 1), a cargo bed liner mode (Fig. 1), a storage box mode (Fig. 8), and a cabin protection mode (Fig. 1). With regard to claim 2, Anthony teaches the system, further comprising at least two fasteners (Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 5) formed on edges of the at least two panels, the fasteners configured to selectively connect two 18/16 of the at least two panels. With regard to claim 3, Anthony teaches the system, wherein the at least one hinge (fold) is a living hinge made of a same material as the at least two panels 18/12 (Col. 3, lines 6-11). With regard to claim 4, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cargo bed cover mode (Fig. 1) the at least two panels are arranged with at least one of the panels 12 spanning a vehicle cargo bed of the vehicle (Fig. 1). With regard to claim 5, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cargo bed cover mode the at least two panels are further arranged with at least one of the panels 12 in contact with a sidewall of the vehicle cargo bed (Col. 2, lines 26-27; wheel wells considered part of the sidewalls; “slidably loose” considered not tight or interference fit, but still in contact with the sidewalls). With regard to claim 6, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cargo bed liner mode the at least two panels are arranged with at least one of the panels 12 in contact with a vehicle cargo bed of the vehicle (Fig. 1). With regard to claim 7, Anthony teaches the system,
wherein in the cargo bed cover mode the at least two panels are further arranged with at least one of the panels 12 in contact with a sidewall of the vehicle cargo bed (Col. 2, lines 26-27; wheel wells considered part of the sidewalls; “slidably loose” considered not tight or interference fit, but still in contact with the sidewalls). With regard to claim 8, Anthony teaches the system,
wherein in the storage box mode (Fig. 8) the at least two panels comprise at least five panels 18/16/12/14/46 arranged and connected to form a box. With regard to claim 9, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cargo bed cover mode (Fig. 1) the at least five panels are connected by the at least one hinge (fold) and by at least one fastener (Col. 5, line 66- Col. 6, line 5). With regard to claim 10, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cabin protection mode the at least two panels are arranged with at least one of the panels 12 in contact with an interior of a cabin of the vehicle (Col. 2, lines 26-27; wheel wells considered part of the sidewalls; “slidably loose” considered not tight or interference fit, but still in contact with the sidewalls). With regard to claim 11, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cabin protection mode the at least two panels are further arranged with at least one of the panels 12 in contact with a vehicle cargo bed of the vehicle (Fig. 1). With regard to claim 12, Anthony teaches the system, wherein in the cabin protection mode the at least two panels are further arranged inside the cabin interior to at least partially form a box (Figs. 1 and 8).
Suggestions for Applicant
It is suggested applicant claim the specific details of the cargo bed cover mode (Fig. 1).
Some suggested limitations would be as follows:
Wherein in the cargo bed cover mode, the at least two panels comprise at least six connected panels, and wherein three panels vertically support three other panels above a cargo bed floor, and wherein the three vertically supported panels cover an entire length of the cargo bed.
Applicant would not need to amend claims 4 or 5, since they would not conflict with or repeat any suggested limitations above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davis (US 4890874) has been cited to show a similar protection and storage system comprising: panels 16/18/14/14/12, living hinges 20/24; fasteners 38/42/54; the system being configured in a cargo liner mode, cargo cover mode, and storage box mode (Fig. 3).
Wilson (US 5464264) has been cited to show a similar protection and storage system comprising: panels 22/22/24, a hinge 54; fasteners 44/48; the system being configured in a cargo liner mode, cargo cover mode (Fig. 1C), and storage box mode (Fig. 1A).
Johnson (US 5524951) has been cited to show a similar protection and storage system comprising: panels 16/80/27/24/18/20/14, hinges 84; fasteners 29/74; the system being configured in a storage box mode (Fig. 3) and cabin protect mode (Figs. 1 and 3).
Brooker (US 5570921) has been cited to show a similar protection and storage system comprising: panels 14/18/20/16/12, living hinges (folds); fasteners (Col. 2line 40-44); the system being configured in a cargo liner mode (Fig. 3), cargo cover mode (Fig. 3), storage box mode (Fig. 2) and cabin protect mode (Fig. 2).
Inagaki (US 6644709) has been cited to show a similar protection and storage system comprising: panels 30/40/50/20/110/112/100/102, hinges 52/42/31/32; fasteners 60/70; the system being configured in a cargo liner mode (Fig. 8), cargo cover mode (Fig. 8), storage box mode (Fig. 4) and cabin protect mode (Fig. 4).
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
June 11, 2026