CTNF 18/924,301 CTNF 85343 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 1. Claims 1-18 are pending. Specification 2. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract discloses the claimed invention for the parent case rather than the instant application. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Information Disclosure Statement 3. The Information Disclosure Statements dated 10/23/2024 and 03/24/2025 are acknowledged by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim (s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al, US 2022/0386372 hereafter Xin view of Kwon et al, US 2022/0104261 hereafter Kwon and further in view of Guo et al, US 2023/0363001 hereafter Guo . As for claim 1 , Xin discloses: A non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated with a wireless network, (FIG. 15, [0147]-[0149], STA1 associated with another MLD 396 setting up link 1 with AP1 associated with MLD 352. The Examiner interprets the another MLD 396 to correspond to the non-AP MLD) the non-AP MLD comprising: a first non-AP station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD, the first non-AP STA setting up a first link with a first AP affiliated with an AP MLD, (FIG. 15, [0147]-[0149], STA1 associated with another MLD 396 setting up link 1 with AP1 associated with MLD 352. The Examiner interprets the another MLD 396 to correspond to the non-AP MLD) wherein the first non-AP STA is a member of a restricted target wake time (R-TWT) schedule on the first link; ([0226] STAs which are the members of the R-TWT SPs that are canceled are not allowed to access the channel until R-TWT SPs on other links end.) a second non-AP STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD, the second non-AP STA setting up a second link with a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD, where frame exchange takes place on the second link; (FIG. 15, [0147]-[0149], STAs associated with another MLD 396 setting up link 2 with AP2 associated with MLD 352. Fig. 15 depicts frames exchanged on link2) and coordinate with the AP MLD such that the frame exchange on the second link is terminated before a R-TWT service period (SP) starts on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, 334, 338, [0137]-[0139], if the process determines that one R-TWT SP is started on one link, then other overlapped R-TWT SPs on other links being scheduled over the same periods of time are to be canceled.) Xin does not explicitly disclose operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode on the first link and the second link. However, Kwon discloses operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode on the first link and the second link. ([0094], STA1 and STA2 are operating on Link1 and Link2 (Link1 and Link2 are eMLMR links) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode on the first link and the second link as taught by Kwon to improve the data exchange capabilities between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD can increase overall performance and efficiency in multi-link communication systems. ([0057]) The combination of Xin and Kwon does not explicitly disclose a processor coupled to the first non-AP STA and the second non-AP STA, the processor configured to: operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode, However, Guo discloses a processor coupled to the first non-AP STA and the second non-AP STA, the processor configured to: operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode. (Guo, [0081], each non-AP STA in the non-AP MLD includes only a transceiver unit/transceiver, the non-AP MLD includes a processing unit/processor, and all non-AP STAs in the non-AP MLD may share the processing unit/processor. [0090], In the EMLMR operation, the non-AP MLD can monitor multiple links, and can also perform data communication on multiple links) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Xin and Kwon with a processor coupled to the first non-AP STA and the second non-AP STA, the processor configured to: operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode as taught by Guo to provide more efficient switching. (Guo, [0004]-[0005]) As for claim 2 , Xin discloses: wherein the second non-AP STA is not a member of any R-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. ([0159], The AP may access the channel to serve the R-TWT members whose MLDs are not R-TWT members on link2. [0145], Then, all the MLDs (or only the MLDs that are not R-TWT members) are able to contend for the channel on link1 during the R-TWT SP1.) As for claim 3 , Xin discloses: wherein the frame exchange to take place on the second link overlaps in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, [0137]-[0138], multiple overlapped R-TWT SPs on different links being scheduled 332 over the same periods of time for the same R-TWT members.) As for claim 4 , Xin discloses: wherein the processor is configured to coordinate with the AP MLD such that the frame exchange on the second link does not overlap in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, 334, 338, [0137]-[0139], if the process determines that one R-TWT SP is started on one link, then other overlapped R-TWT SPs on other links being scheduled over the same periods of time are to be canceled.) As for claim 5 , Xin discloses: wherein the processor is configured to coordinate with the AP MLD such that the AP MLD ends transmission of downlink frame on the second link before the R-TWT SP starts on the first link. ([0098], [0156]-[0157], All the MLDs operating on link1 and link2 can ascertain that R-TWT SP2 is started on link2, such as by receiving a frame indicating the start of R-TWT SP2, and then will recognize that R-TWT SP1 on link1 is canceled 362 since the Overlapped R-TWT on ML field=0. [0159] DL traffic that is not allowed to be transmitted during the R-TWT SP only. [0090], the scheduling AP can transmit DL transmissions to the member STA outside the R-TWT SP.) As for claim 6 , Xin discloses: wherein the first link and the second link form a pair of EMLMR links between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD. (Fig. 15, [0147], Link 1 and link2 between the MLD 352 with AP1 354 and AP2 356 and another MLD 396, which is not a member of the R-TWT, having associated stations STA1 398 and STA2 400. The Examiner interprets the another MLD 396 to correspond to the non-AP MLD) As for claim 7 , Xin discloses: An access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated with a wireless network, ([0047]-[0048], FIG. 2 illustrates an example embodiment 40 of a Multi-Link Device (MLD) hardware configuration) the AP MLD comprising: a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD, the first AP setting up a first link with a first non-AP station (STA) affiliated with a non-AP MLD, (FIG. 15, [0147]-[0149], STA1 associated with another MLD 396 setting up link 1 with AP1 associated with MLD 352. The Examiner interprets the another MLD 396 to correspond to the non-AP MLD) wherein a restricted target wake time (R-TWT) schedule is set up on the first link; ([0226] STAs which are the members of the R-TWT SPs that are canceled are not allowed to access the channel until R-TWT SPs on other links end.) a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD, the second AP setting up a second link with a second non-AP STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD, wherein frame exchange takes place on the second link; ( FIG. 15, [0147]-[0149], STAs associated with another MLD 396 setting up link 2 with AP2 associated with MLD 352. Fig. 15 depicts frames exchanged on link2) and coordinate between the non-AP MLD such that the frame exchange on the second link is terminated before a R-TWT service period (SP) starts on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, 334, 338, [0137]-[0139], if the process determines that one R-TWT SP is started on one link, then other overlapped R-TWT SPs on other links being scheduled over the same periods of time are to be canceled.) Xin does not explicitly disclose operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode on the first link and the second link. However, Kwon discloses operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode on the first link and the second link. ([0094], STA1 and STA2 are operating on Link1 and Link2 (Link1 and Link2 are eMLMR links) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with operate with the AP MLD in an enhanced multi-link multi-radio operation (EMLMR) mode on the first link and the second link as taught by Kwon to improve the data exchange capabilities between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD can increase overall performance and efficiency in multi-link communication systems. ([0057]) The combination of Xin and Kwon does not explicitly disclose a processor coupled to the first AP and the second AP, the processor configured to: operate with the AP MLD. However, Guo discloses a processor coupled to the first AP and the second AP, the processor configured to: operate with the AP MLD (Guo, [0085], each AP in the AP MLD includes only a transceiver unit/transceiver, the AP MLD includes a processing unit/processor, and all APs in the AP MLD may share the processing unit/processor. [0090], In the EMLMR operation, the non-AP MLD can monitor multiple links, and can also perform data communication on multiple links) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Xin and Kwon with a processor coupled to the first AP and the second AP, the processor configured to: operate with the AP MLD as taught by Guo to provide more efficient switching. (Guo, [0004]-[0005]) As for claim 8 , Xin discloses: wherein the first STA is a member of the R-TWT schedule on the first link, and the second STA is not a member of any R-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. ([0159], The AP may access the channel to serve the R-TWT members whose MLDs are not R-TWT members on link2. [0145], Then, all the MLDs (or only the MLDs that are not R-TWT members) are able to contend for the channel on link1 during the R-TWT SP1.) As for claim 9 , Xin discloses: wherein the frame exchange to take place on the second link overlaps in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, [0137]-[0138], multiple overlapped R-TWT SPs on different links being scheduled 332 over the same periods of time for the same R-TWT members.) As for claim 10 , Xin discloses: the processor is configured to coordinate with the non-AP MLD such that the frame exchange on the second link does not overlap in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link (Fig. 13, 332, 334, 338, [0137]-[0139], if the process determines that one R-TWT SP is started on one link, then other overlapped R-TWT SPs on other links being scheduled over the) As for claim 11 , Xin discloses: wherein the processor is configured to coordinate with the non-AP MLD such that the AP MLD ends transmission of downlink frame on the second link before the R-TWT SP starts on the first link. ([0098], [0156]-[0157], All the MLDs operating on link1 and link2 can ascertain that R-TWT SP2 is started on link2, such as by receiving a frame indicating the start of R-TWT SP2, and then will recognize that R-TWT SP1 on link1 is canceled 362 since the Overlapped R-TWT on ML field=0. [0159] DL traffic that is not allowed to be transmitted during the R-TWT SP only. [0090], the scheduling AP can transmit DL transmissions to the member STA outside the R-TWT SP.) As for claim 12 , Xin discloses: wherein the first link and the second link form a pair of EMLMR links between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD. (Fig. 15, [0147], Link 1 and link2 between the MLD 352 with AP1 354 and AP2 356 and another MLD 396, which is not a member of the R-TWT, having associated stations STA1 398 and STA2 400. The Examiner interprets the another MLD 396 to correspond to the non-AP MLD) As for claim 13 , this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 because the corresponding apparatus of claim 1 can be used to practice the method of claim 13. As for claim 14 , Xin discloses: wherein the first non-AP STA is a member of the R-TWT schedule on the first link, and the second non-AP STA is not a member of any R-TWT schedule that overlaps in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. ([0159], The AP may access the channel to serve the R-TWT members whose MLDs are not R-TWT members on link2. [0145], Then, all the MLDs (or only the MLDs that are not R-TWT members) are able to contend for the channel on link1 during the R-TWT SP1.) As for claim 15 , Xin discloses: wherein the frame exchange to take place on the second link overlaps in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, [0137]-[0138], multiple overlapped R-TWT SPs on different links being scheduled 332 over the same periods of time for the same R-TWT members.) As for claim 16 , Xin discloses: wherein coordinating with the AP MLD comprises coordinating with the AP MLD such that the frame exchange on the second link does not overlap in time with the R-TWT SP on the first link. (Fig. 13, 332, 334, 338, [0137]-[0139], if the process determines that one R-TWT SP is started on one link, then other overlapped R-TWT SPs on other links being scheduled over the same periods of time are to be canceled.) As for claim 17 , Xin discloses: wherein coordinating with the AP MLD comprises coordinating with the AP MLD such that the AP MLD ends transmission of downlink frame on the second link before the R-TWT SP starts on the first link. ([0098], [0156]-[0157], All the MLDs operating on link1 and link2 can ascertain that R-TWT SP2 is started on link2, such as by receiving a frame indicating the start of R-TWT SP2, and then will recognize that R-TWT SP1 on link1 is canceled 362 since the Overlapped R-TWT on ML field=0. [0159] DL traffic that is not allowed to be transmitted during the R-TWT SP only. [0090], the scheduling AP can transmit DL transmissions to the member STA outside the R-TWT SP.) As for claim 18 , Xin discloses: wherein the first link and the second link form a pair of EMLMR links between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD. (Fig. 15, [0147], Link 1 and link2 between the MLD 352 with AP1 354 and AP2 356 and another MLD 396, which is not a member of the R-TWT, having associated stations STA1 398 and STA2 400. The Examiner interprets the another MLD 396 to correspond to the non-AP MLD) Conclusion 07-96 AIA 5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lu et al, US 2024/0407003 discloses [0015] a third execution module configured to perform a third operation, where the third operation is used to make r-TWT SPs separately scheduled on two or more links not overlap in time. (FIG. 4D, [0175], if STA2 is the TXOP Holder before the start of the r-TWT service period on the link where STA1 is located, there is a need to ensure that STA2 terminates the TXOP initiated by STA2 or ends the frame exchange initiated by STA2 prior to an EMLSR second transition delay time before the start point of the r-TWT service period, so as to ensure that the station STA1 enters the listening operation state before the start of the r-TWT service period. [0177] the value of the EMLSR second transition delay may be sent by the non-AP MLD to the AP MLD when the non-AP MLD establishes multiple links with the AP MLD or when the non-AP MLD instructs the AP MLD to enter the EMLSR mode. [0178]-[0181], in response that frame exchange to be initiated by the second STA affiliated to the non-AP MLD overlaps with the first r-TWT SP in time, the second STA stopping or delaying initiating the frame exchange;) ([0149], The first STA may also be referred to as a member r-TWT scheduled station of the first r-TWT SP.) 6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JENEE HOLLAND whose telephone number is (571)270-7196. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IAN MOORE can be reached at (571)272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JENEE HOLLAND Examiner Art Unit 2469 /JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 8 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 9 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 10 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 11 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 12 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/924,301 Page 13 Art Unit: 2469