DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 10-33 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,211 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent claims recite substantially the same process, albeit with narrower scope via inclusion of an acid treatment step.
Instant claims 1-7 correspond to- and are anticipated by- reference claims 1-7 respectively.
Instant claims 8-31 correspond to- and are anticipated by- reference claims 10-33 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al (CN 209583655 U).
With respect to claim 1, Jin teaches methods of preparing lithium chloride [0002] which includes pretreating a lithium brine in a calcining device, filtering, and deacidifying [0043], and thereafter treating with an electrodialysis step to produce a lithium chloride fraction, and to separate out a fraction containing multivalent ions i.e. sulfates which may be returned to a previous step [0044] and purifying the chloride by nanofiltration. As best understood, the process of Jin anticipates the claimed invention, given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to claim 5, Jin suggests a salt lake brine which would be a natural brine [0020].
With respect to claim 9, Jin teaches returning multivalent reject i.e. a sulfate fraction upstream [0044].
With respect to claim 11, as above Jin teaches nanofiltration separating a chloride fraction (monovalent-enriched) from a sulfate fraction (multivalent enriched).
With respect to claim 12, Jin teaches treating the nanofiltered chloride fraction via concentrating electrodialysis [0044].
With respect to claim 16, Jin teaches starting with a 5% brine and producing up to 12% product [0044] i.e. at least doubling the concentration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jin et al.
The pretreatment includes a chelation step [0043] which would inherently reduce the presence of at least iron and heavy metals, absent clarification of specific requirements [0043], or, at minimum, recitation of chelation would render such a treatment obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al in view of Ball et al (US 4,636,295 A).
With respect to claim 6, Jin teaches as above but is silent to the specific membranes employed in the electrodialysis step. However, Ball teaches Lithium purification by electrodialysis [Abs] and teaches that, depending upon the needs of the specific process, it can be desirable to use a series of anion- and cation-selective membranes which are also selective for univalent/monovalent ions [Col. 3 line 46-Col. 4 line 30]. It would have been obvious to employ such membranes in the process of Jin because Jin does not particularly limit, and so one of ordinary skill in the art would look to the art for guidance within the field of electrodialysis and lithium purification.
With respect to claim 7, Ball teaches that processed concentrate can be treated again by electrodialysis for further concentration, including with the use of the same unit e.g. in batches [Col. 7 lines 28-45]; as such, providing multiple treatment passes e.g. in a batchwise manner would have been obvious in the process of Jin for the same purpose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10, 13-15, and 17-31 are subject to a double patenting rejection as discussed above, but are free from the prior art.
The closest prior art is represented by Jin above. Jin is silent to details of the aforementioned claims such as recovery of other mineral products via the concentrating electrodialysis step, or combination of the process with a direct extraction process or a solvent extraction process, or related use of adsorbents or the like. Jin is further silent to the specific requirements of the nanofiltration membrane or the secondary electrodialysis device and, compared to the claim requirements, teaches a significantly lower concentration in the product stream.
The prior art as a whole does not remedy the deficiencies of Jin and, alone or in combination, would not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the specific claimed operating conditions or material requirements employed by the instant claimed invention. While various concepts regarding electrodialysis membranes, nanofiltration membranes, lithium extraction, and the like are individually known in the art, the prior art does not teach or suggest them within the context of a process similar to Jin’s and would not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to combine them with the teachings of Jin in a manner sufficient to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776