DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/06/2026 (hereafter “the amendment”) has been accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stolz (US5566864A).
Regarding claim 1, Stolz teaches a screw top closure attachable to a container neck having cooperating screw-on features, the closure comprising (fig.1 shows the screw cap 10 attachable to a container neck and screwed on and off):
an closure body having an radial flange, defining a central aperture (fig.1 below shows the body with the top radial flange that has central aperture in the middle), and an annular skirt extending axially downward along an outer periphery of the radial flange (fig.1 below shows the skirt that extends down along the periphery of the flange as shown in figure 2);
a collapsible spout (fig.1 spout 20) having a first invertible cone section with a peripheral container plug seal sealingly engaging the radial flange (see annotated fig.1 below for the first invertible cone section with a plug seal sealing engaging the radial flange when in a condensed form as seen in fig.2), a second cone section defining a dispensing aperture along an inner facing (annotated fig.1 below shows the second cone with where when sealing disc 25 is pulled off the dispensing aperture opens), and at least two diametrically opposing overcap engagement protrusions positioned on an outer facing of the first and/or second cone section(s) (fig.1 below shows the cap 12 with threads 24 that are on the second cone section which is on the outer face) and wherein the first and second cone sections are contiguous so that, when the spout is collapsed, the second cone section nests within the first cone section so as to be at least partially coaxially nested within the annular skirt and, when the spout is extended, the second cone section extends axially above the first cone section (fig.1 below and fig.2 show the first and second cone sections are contiguous as when the spout is collapsed the second sits within the first and are at least partially coaxially within the skirt and the when extended the second cone extends above the first cone as seen below); and
an overcap attachable to the second cone section (fig.1 below shows cap 12 is attached to second cone), the overcap having a top panel with an integral pull ring (fig.1 below shows the cap 12 with top panel with handle member 29), a deformable skirt extending axially downward along an outer periphery of the top panel (see annotated fig.1 below for the skirt which is made from plastic and will deform to some extends that extends axially downward from the top panels outer periphery), and at least two diametrically opposing child resistant tabs extending axially downward from a terminal edge of the deformable skirt and wherein the diametrically opposing child resistant tabs are configured to engage one of the overcap engagement protrusions along a flat planar interface to selectively prevent removal of the overcap from the spout except when the deformable skirt is squeezed with sufficient force to disengage the child resistant and overcap protrusions (fig.1 below shows the projections 26’s that are diametrically opposing child resistant tabs extending axially downward from the terminal edge of the skirt proximate form the skirt and engaged the cap 12 to prevent removable of the cap 12 until it is acted on by a force from the user by inwardly pressing it and capable of engaging one of the overcap from the spout except when the skit is squeezed with sufficient force to disengage; it is noted due to “configured to” language applicant does not positively claim the limitation prior art simply has to be capable of performing such function).
Annotated fig.1 of Stolz
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Stolz further teaches herein a removable panel initially seals the dispensing aperture (fig.1 shows the handle member 29 that initially seals the dispensing aperture).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Stolz further teaches wherein a plug seal is formed on an underside of the top panel so as to seal the dispensing aperture (fig.1 shows the seal 25 formed on the underside of the top panel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Abraham (US20200317406A1).
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Stolz does not teach wherein anti-back off lugs are formed along an inner facing of the annular skirt.
Abraham does teach wherein anti-back off lugs are formed along an inner facing of the annular skirt (fig.15a-15b show the closure 10 with anti-back off lungs pawls 18 formed on the inner ring 14). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the annular skirt disclosed by Stolz by adding the teaching of anti-backoff pawls on inner surface of ring as disclosed by Abraham in order to make the closure child resistance as well for a user to easily tell from a detached or missing ring that the container has already been opened creating a tamper resistance feature due to the anti-backoff pawls.
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Stolz as modified in claim 2 further teaches wherein the anti-back off lugs engage cooperating lugs on an outer circumference of a container neck (fig.15-15b show the pawls 18 engage the ratchet teeth 74).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Stolz further teaches a container (“This invention relates to a closure for a container, having a lower closure member and a screw cap in which the lower closure member is adapted to be connected to the container opening by a base member.” -col.1 lines 9-12). Stolz does not teach wherein the container having one or more lugs proximate to a neck which engage an inner facing of the annular skirt to prevent removal of the screw top closure after said screw top closure has been threadingly coupled to the neck.
Abraham does teach wherein the container having one or more lugs proximate to a neck which engage an inner facing of the annular skirt to prevent removal of the screw top closure after said screw top closure has been threadingly coupled to the neck (fig.15a-15b show the container with the ratchet teeth 74 that are on the neck of the container and they engage the inner face of the skirt 14 and prevent removal of the closure 10 after the closure has been threadingly coupled to the neck). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container disclosed by Stolz by adding the teaching of ratchet teeth on the neck of the container as disclosed by Abraham in order to make the closure child resistance as well for a user to easily tell from a detached or missing ring that the container has already been opened creating a tamper resistance feature due to the anti-backoff pawls since the skirt has the pawls that engage the teeth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s new amendments did not change the scope of the claim because tabs extending axially downward from a terminal edge did not make any change since the terminal edge has not been define so it can be anywhere on the skirt. Also, “tabs are configured to” limitation made the claim broader since now the tabs does not have perform such function in the prior art and the prior art simply has to capable of performing it. Regarding the intended use of the claimed invention “configured to.....”, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). The 101 rejection is withdrawn in view of applicant’s arguments. Applicant’s arguments of claimed structure “only involves a pair of diametrically opposed features so that constant deformation is not required” however the functionality applicant is arguing is not even positively claimed in the claim. “only” pair of opposed features are not claimed “at least two diametrically opposing child resistant tabs” are i.e. just two features will read on the claim. Also, claims are read under BRI i.e. claims in light of the specifications not entire specifications being read into the claims so person skilled in the art would read it as broadly as possible. Applicant need to define the terminal edge in reference to something else and that’s where tabs extend down from because at the moment none of that is defined.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735