DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the application filed on 10/23/2024, in which, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/23/2024 are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 10/23/2024 is accepted.
Double Patenting
1. A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of US 11675929 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations recited in the independent claims 1, 8, and 15 of the present application and are broader than limitations recited in independent claims 1-2 of US 11675929 B2.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 15 of US 12158975 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations recited in the independent claims 1, 8, and 15 of the present application and are broader than limitations recited in independent claims 1, 8, 15 of US 12158975 B2.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the present application are not patentably distinct from respective claims 1-20 of US 12158975 B2 because the claims recite substantially the same features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170076272 A1 (hereinafter ‘Zhou’) in view of US 20150121462 A1 (hereinafter ‘Courage’) in view of US 20100131595 A1 (hereinafter ‘Sugasaki’).
As regards claim 1, Zhou (US 20170076272 A1) discloses: A method comprising: managing consent notice information as part of a consent receipt to enable a user to provide consent a single time for a native application installed on a computing device and iteratively access the consent receipt in order to continue consented-to data processing in the native application without re-prompting the user by: (Zhou: ¶68, claim 9, i.e., the user provides consent initially to the app after which the user is not prompted to provide consent again for further transactions conducted by the app)
However, Zhou does not but in analogous art, Courage (US 20150121462 A1) teaches: receiving, by computing hardware of the computing device via the native application, the consent receipt comprising data subject consent data for a data subject; (Courage: Abstract, Figs. 1-2, 5-6, ¶15: “…getting user consent to provide access to an application to the user's network-based account. The application can be running outside a web browser on a computing device having a web OS and a computing device runtime that is a browser process. The method includes providing an identity application programming interface (API) on the computing device to the application to communicate with an identity provider, the identity API being configured to exchange a user login token with the identity provider in return for session cookies for a web-based user consent UI session. The method further includes providing an identity component application coupled to the identity provider through the identity API and configured to serve the user consent UI on the computing device” Note: WebView implements embedded browser for native applications using system software provided APIs/libraries. See e.g., US 20130254139 A1, ¶85)
storing, by the computing hardware, the consent receipt comprising the data subject consent data in a storage location; (Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶44-¶47, ¶55-¶57, i.e., the generating/extraction i.e., translating, of the token from the consent data wherein the token is stored in memory. Note: translating, per Applicant’s disclosure ¶00615, is a cookie/token from the consent data)
receiving, by the computing hardware via the native application, a request to provide web content, wherein the web content requires consent from the data subject; (Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶44-¶47, ¶54-¶57, i.e., providing the token for accessing resources using a webview container)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou to include providing consent token by an application for accessing content on the web as taught by Courage with the motivation to
Zhou et al combination with Sugasaki (US 20100131595 A1) teaches: executing, by the computing hardware via a software development kit associated with the native application, a script to pass the data subject consent data of the consent receipt from the storage location to the computing device; (Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶28, i..e, the packaged app i.e., sdk, executing a script for the token, ¶44-¶57, i.e., providing the token for accessing resources using a webview container if the consent was previously provided and a token already exists. See also, Sugasaki, ¶37, execution of a script via a SDK)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Courage to include commonly used technique of executing an SDK implemented script as taught by Sugasaki with the motivation to display content via a web browser interface (Sugasaki, ¶33, ¶37)
Zhou et al combination further teaches: determining, by the computing hardware and based on the data subject consent data, that the data subject has provided the consent for the web content; and (Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶44-¶57, i.e., providing the token for accessing resources using a webview container if the consent was previously provided and a token already exists)
responsive to determining that the data subject has provided the consent, displaying, by the computing hardware, the web content. (Courage: Abstract, i.e., displaying the dialogue; Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶32-¶33, ¶44-¶47, ¶53-¶57, i.e., i.e., the application calls for the token via the webview dialogue wherein the request and response for the token is embedded in the url)
Claims 8 and 15 recite substantially the same features recited in claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 2, Zhou et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein displaying, by the computing hardware, the web content comprises displaying the web content via a WebView configured to display the web content within the native application. (Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶42-¶57, i.e., providing the token for accessing resources using a webview container if the consent was previously provided i.e., without prompting the user, and a token already exists)
Claim 16 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 2 above, and is therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 3, Zhou et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein receiving the consent receipt comprising the data subject consent data comprises receiving the data subject consent data from the data subject during an on-boarding process within the native application. (Courage: Abstract, Figs. 1-2, 5-6, ¶15)
Claim 10 recites substantially the same features recited in claim 3 above, and is therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 4, Zhou et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the web content involves use of at least one of a functionality cookie, a performance cookie, a targeting cookie, or a persistent cookie and the consent is required for the us. (Courage: Abstract, Figs. 1-2, 5-6, ¶15)
Claims 11 and 17 recite substantially the same features recited in claim 4 above, and are therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 5, Zhou et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the web content involves at least one of collecting or processing of personal data of the data subject. (Courage: ¶8)
Claims 12 and 18 recite substantially the same features recited in claim 5 above, and are therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 6, Zhou et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the storage location is located on at least one of the computing hardware executing the native application or remote hardware from the computing hardware. (Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶44-¶57, i.e., the local cache memory or the server for storage)
Claims 13 and 19 recite substantially the same features recited in claim 6 above, and are therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 7, Zhou et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the computing hardware comprises a mobile device and the native application comprises a mobile application. (Courage: Abstract, Figs. 1-2, 5-7, ¶15)
Claims 14 and 20 recite substantially the same features recited in claim 7 above, and are therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 9, Zhou et al combination teaches the system of Claim 8, wherein the action comprises consented-to data processing in the native application and is performed without prompting the data subject to provide additional consent. (Zhou: ¶68, claim 9. See also, Courage: Figs. 3-5, ¶42-¶57, i.e., providing the token for accessing resources using a webview container if the consent was previously provided i.e., without prompting the user, and a token already exists)
Conclusion
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432