Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 20, reads “insert the filament”, should read, “insert a filament”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Larson et al. (US Pub No. 20210154395 A1, herein, Larson).
Regarding claim 1, Larson discloses an assembly (Fig.3), comprising:
an analyte sensor (118 – Fig.8) configured to obtain data about analyte in a user-body (“monitor blood glucose levels in a diabetic patient” – Para [0099]);
an automated medicament delivery system (110, 116, 114 – Fig.3) configured to administer medicament to the user-body (“enable a user to receive infusion therapy, such as insulin infusion therapy” – Para [0051]), the automated medicament delivery system including a reservoir (160 – Fig.5) configured to hold the medicament therein (“the rotor may serve as a fluid reservoir, which may hold more fluid or insulin” – Para [0119]); and
a cradle (112 – Fig.3) including:
a sensor housing (140 – Fig.3) configured to at least partially encapsulate the analyte sensor while the cradle is secured to the user-body (“The second receiving projection cooperates with the receiving projection of the first housing to receive the continuous glucose monitor assembly”, “The second bore enables a portion of the continuous glucose monitor assembly to pass through the second housing and into the anatomy when the wearable infusion port is coupled to a user” – Para [0060]); and
a delivery system mount (159 – Fig.3) configured to secure the automated medicament delivery system to the cradle (“retains a portion of the cannula assembly” – Para [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Larson discloses the assembly as set forth above, wherein the cradle (112 – Fig.3) comprises a cannula (294 – Fig.3) and a cannula hub (142 – Fig.3), the cannula hub configured to at least partially fluidly couple the cannula and the reservoir (160 – Fig.5) of the automated medicament delivery system (“directs the fluid or insulin received from the conduit sleeve of the rotor 160 to the cannula assembly 116.” – Para [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Larson discloses the assembly as set forth above, wherein the cradle includes a base structure (112a – Fig.3) and an adhesive layer (122 – Fig.3) configured to adhere the base structure to the user-body (“The adhesive patch couples the wearable infusion port to the user” – Para [0109]), and wherein the sensor housing and the delivery system mount are positioned on the base structure (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 8, Larson discloses the assembly as set forth above, wherein the sensor housing includes a sensor hole (150 – Fig.4) configured to receive a filament (356 – Fig.4) therein (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 9, Larson discloses the assembly as set forth above, wherein the sensor housing includes a sensor opening (150 – Fig.4).
The limitation, “configured to receive a filament sharp of a deployment inserter, the filament sharp configured to position a tip of a filament subcutaneously in the user-body” is interpreted to be a functional limitation (the assembly of Larson is capable of performing these functions since the assembly comprises all the elements provided above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson in view of Beguin et al. (US Pub No. 20220211952 A1, herein, Beguin).
Regarding claim 3, Larson discloses the assembly as set forth above, wherein the automated medicament delivery system comprises a base structure (112a – Fig.3) including a hub receiver (148 – Fig.3) defining a cavity (shown at 148 – Fig.3) with the cannula hub (142 – Fig.3) received therein.
However Larson does not expressly disclose a conduit fluidly coupled to the reservoir, and a mating needle extending from the conduit into the cavity and fluidly coupling with the cannula forming a fluid connection between the reservoir and the cannula.
Beguin teaches a medicament delivery system (10 – Fig.1) comprising a conduit (44, 60 – Fig.6D) fluidly coupled to a reservoir (“the needle holder 44 includes a passageway 60 configured to be in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir” – Fig.[0091]), and a mating needle (46 – Fig.6B) extending from a conduit into a cavity (Fig.6D) and fluidly coupling with a cannula (52 – Fig.6D) forming a fluid connection between the reservoir (12 – Fig.2) and the cannula (Para [0091]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the automated medicament delivery system of Larson to comprise a conduit coupled to the reservoir and a mating needle extending from the conduit into the cavity and fluidly coupling with the cannula as taught by Beguin since Beguin teaches that it is a well-known structural configuration to fluidly couple the reservoir with the cannula of a medicament delivery system.
Regarding claim 4, Larson, as modified, discloses the assembly as set forth above, but Larson does not expressly disclose wherein the cradle includes a seal positioned within the cannula hub and the mating needle extends through the seal to fluidly couple with the cannula.
Beguin teaches a medicament delivery system (10 – Fig.1) wherein a seal (64 – Fig.6D) positioned within a cannula hub (50 – Fig.6D) and a mating needle (46 – Fig.6B) extends through the seal to fluidly couple with a cannula (“The cannula holder includes a seal engaged with the needle” – Para [0091]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the cradle of Larson to include a seal within the cannula hub and the mating needle extending through the seal as taught by Beguin since a seal helps regulate the flow of the fluid and ensures minimal leakage.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson in view of Yodfat et al. (US Pub No. 20100137695 A1, herein, Yodfat).
Regarding claim 5, Larson, as modified, discloses the assembly as set forth above, but Larson does not expressly disclose a fluid path integrity switch configured to confirm a proper formation of a fluid coupling between the cannula and the reservoir to prevent leakage of the medicament and to ensure proper delivery of the medicament to the user-body.
Yodfat teaches a medicament delivery system (3- Fig.1a) comprising a fluid path integrity switch (18’, 17’ – Fig.11c) configured to confirm a proper formation of a fluid coupling between a cannula (44 – Fig.11a) and a reservoir (1 – Fig.11c) to prevent leakage of a medicament and to ensure proper delivery of the medicament to a user-body (“ensuring that the delivery needle is aligned with the cannula” – Para [0126]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the automated medicament delivery system of Larson to comprise a fluid path integrity switch as taught by Yodfat since Yodfat teaches that a fluid path integrity switch allows for a proper alignment and connection between the cannula and reservoir (Yodfat, Para [0127]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson in view of Yodfat and Hanson et al. (US Pub No. 20120095400 A1, herein, Hanson).
Regarding claim 6, Larson, as modified, discloses the assembly as set forth above, but Larson does not expressly disclose wherein the fluid path integrity switch includes one or more magnets and a ferrous material configured to guide a formation of the fluid coupling between the cannula and the reservoir at the cannula hub.
Yodfat teaches a medicament delivery system (3- Fig.1a) wherein a fluid path integrity switch includes one or more magnets (“one or more magnets” – Para [0127]) configured to guide a formation of the fluid coupling between a cannula and a reservoir at a cannula hub (41 – Fig.8c)(“ensuring that the delivery needle is aligned with the cannula” – Para [0126]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the fluid path integrity switch of Larson, as modified, to include one or more magnets as taught by Yodfat since Yodfat teaches that magnets allow for a proper alignment and connection between a cannula and a reservoir (Yodfat, Para [0127]).
Hanson teaches a medicament delivery system (10 – Fig.2) comprising one or more magnets (572 – Fig.30A) and a ferrous material (“the one or magnets may include a magnetically attractive material (as opposed to a magnet), such as a metal, ferrous conduit, or the like” – Para [0211]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the fluid path integrity switch of Larson, as modified, to comprise a magnet with a ferrous material as taught by Hanson since Hanson teaches that a ferrous material is a well-known material to be used in magnets.
Claims 10-12, 14-15, and 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bene (US 2014/0088550A1) in view of Larson and Gyrn ( US Pub No. 20150164545 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Bene discloses an assembly (Fig.1) comprising:
a medicament delivery system (128 – Fig.2) configured to administer medicament to the user-body (Para [0015]);
a cradle (132 – Fig.2); and
a delivery system mount (260 – Fig.14) configured to secure the automated medicament delivery system to the cradle (“lock the fluid connector with the base” – Para [0069]); and
a deployment inserter (100 – Fig.2) comprising:
a body structure (108 – Fig.8) including a base (116 – Fig.11, 180 – Fig.6) defining an opening to an interior of the body structure (Shown at 124 – Fig.9), the base configured to contact a user-body during deployment of the cradle (132 – Fig.2)(“The bottom or distal side of the flange has a surface for contacting the skin of the patient” – Para [0051]);
a driver plate (188, 196 – Fig.6) configured to retain the cradle on a bottom thereof (“the arms hold the infusion set in a single axial position relative to the inserter housing” – Para [0054]), the cradle positioned closer to the base than the driver plate while in a pre-actuated condition (Fig.7);
a retainer (120 – Fig.3) secured to the body structure (Fig.7) and configured to hold the driver plate in position relative to and within the body structure while in the pre-actuated condition (“In the pre-activated position, the ring structure contacts the cantilevered arms and pulls them radially inward, thereby biasing the arms 188 toward the infusion set” – Para [0054]);
a main biasing element (112 – Fig.2) in a biased condition while in the pre-actuated condition (Fig.7) and configured to exert a force on the driver plate while in the pre-actuated condition (“the force of the spring, the plunger travels from the pre-activated position to an activated position” – Para [0056], there would inherently be force on the driver plate since there is force on the retainer which is attached to the driver plate);
the retainer configured to, responsive to an external force, release the driver plate and the force exerted by the main biasing element upon release of the driver plate causes the driver plate to move with the cradle in a first direction toward the base resulting in an adhesive layer (228 – Fig.12) of the cradle being adhered to a skin of the user-body (Para [0056], Para [0057]).
However, Bene does not expressly disclose an analyte sensor configured to obtain data about analyte in a user-body; the automated medicament delivery system including a reservoir configured to hold the medicament therein; and a sensor housing configured to at least partially encapsulate the analyte sensor while the cradle is secured to the user-body, and a filament sharp configured to insert the filament into the user-body; and a cannula sharp configured to insert a cannula into the user-body, and the filament sharp inserting the filament into the user-body, and the cannula sharp inserting the cannula into the user-body.
Larson teaches a medicament delivery assembly (Fig.3) comprising:
an analyte sensor (118 – Fig.8) configured to obtain data about analyte in a user-body (“monitor blood glucose levels in a diabetic patient” – Para [0099]);
an automated medicament delivery system (110, 116, 114 – Fig.3) including a reservoir (160 – Fig.5) configured to hold a medicament therein (“the rotor may serve as a fluid reservoir, which may hold more fluid or insulin” – Para [0119]); and
a sensor housing (140 – Fig.3) configured to at least partially encapsulate the analyte sensor while a cradle is secured to the user-body (“The second receiving projection cooperates with the receiving projection of the first housing to receive the continuous glucose monitor assembly”, “The second bore enables a portion of the continuous glucose monitor assembly to pass through the second housing and into the anatomy when the wearable infusion port is coupled to a user” – Para [0060]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Bene, to comprise a analyte sensor, a reservoir, and a sensor housing as taught by Larson since Larson teaches that a sensor monitors the blood glucose levels in a diabetic patient or user (Para [0099]) which helps maintain close control of user’s glucose levels during medicament delivery, a reservoir inside the delivery system provides a compact design, reduces leaks, and improves convivence for the user, and a sensor housing is a well-known structural feature to include in a delivery system to hold a sensor.
Gyrn teaches a medicament delivery assembly (Fig.2A) comprising a filament sharp (212, 218 – Fig.2A) configured to insert a filament (216 – Fig.2A) into the user-body (Para [0045]); and
a cannula sharp (222, 228 – Fig.2A) configured to insert a cannula (226 – Fig.2A) into the user-body (Para [0045]), and the filament sharp (212, 218 – Fig.2A) inserting the filament (216 – Fig.2A) into the user-body (Para [0045]), and the cannula sharp (222, 228 – Fig.2A) inserting the cannula (226 – Fig.2A) into the user-body (Para [0045]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Bene, to comprise a filament sharp and a cannula sharp as taught by Gyrn since Gyrn teaches that the filament sharp and the cannula sharp assists in the insertion of the filament and cannula (Gyrn, Para [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, Bene, as modified, discloses the assembly as disclosed above, further comprising an actuator (212 – Fig.9) configured to apply the external force to the retainer and initiate the retainer to release the driver plate (Para [0056], Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Bene, as modified, discloses the assembly as disclosed above, but Bene does not expressly disclose wherein the driver plate includes one or more retention clips that overlap with and secure the driver plate to the retainer and the retainer is configured to, upon actuation of the actuator, release the one or more retention clips.
Gyrn teaches an medicament delivery assembly (Fig.2A) wherein a driver plate (500 – Fig.9) includes one or more retention clips (502, 510 – Fig.9) that overlap with and secure the driver plate to a retainer (600 – Fig.10A) and the retainer is configured to, upon actuation of a actuator, release the one or more retention clips (“the distal surface of the protruding release ring parts no longer engages with the proximal surface of the protruding surface sections of the functional first part “ – Para [0091]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the driver plate of Bene, as modified, to include one or more retention clips as taught by Gyrn since Gyrn teaches that it is a well-known structural feature to include retention clips to the drive plate to secure the drive plate and retainer before the actuation of the delivery device.
Regarding claim 14, Bene, as modified, discloses the assembly as disclosed above, the limitation, “wherein the driver plate, filament sharp, and cannula sharp are configured to cause each of the filament and the cannula to be inserted into the user-body at about the same time” is interpreted to be a functional limitation (the assembly of Bene, as modified, is capable of performing these functions since the assembly comprises all the elements provided above).
Regarding claim 15, Bene, as modified, discloses a method for applying the assembly, disclosed above, to a user-body, comprising:
positioning the deployment inserter over a chosen location to apply the cradle of the assembly thereto with the base of the deployment inserter in contact with a skin of the user-body (“The bottom or distal side of the flange has a surface for contacting the skin of the patient” – Para [0051], “including an inserter housing having at least one flexible arm for holding an infusion set in a single axial position prior to insertion of at least a portion of a cannula of the infusion set, the inserter housing having a surface for contacting the patient's skin.” – Para [0011]), the cradle retained on a bottom of a driver plate of the deployment inserter closer to the base (Fig.7, “the arms hold the infusion set 124 in a single axial position relative to the inserter housing” – Para [0054]);
causing the retainer of the deployment inserter to release the driver plate (“the ring structure disengages from the cantilevered arms” – Para [0057]); and
in response to the release of the driver plate, causing the driver plate to press the cradle against the skin of the user-body and to insert the filament and the cannula into the user-body with the main biasing element of the deployment inserter (Para [0056], Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, Bene, as modified, discloses the method as disclosed above, further comprising removing a seal (480 – Fig.36) from the base prior to positioning the deployment inserter over a chosen location (“the tray is connected with an adhesive backing, and by removing the tray, the user also removes the adhesive backing from the adhesive pad” – Para [0086]).
Regarding claim 19, Bene, as modified, discloses the method as disclosed above, further comprising separating the deployment inserter from the cradle after the cradle is secured to the skin of the user-body (“after the impact, the infusion set moves free of the inserter” – Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 20, Bene, as modified, discloses the method as disclosed above, wherein the cradle (132 – Fig.2) comprises the cannula (292 – Fig.15), the method further comprising attaching the automated medicament delivery system to the cradle (“lock the fluid connector with the base” – Para [0069]).
However, Bene, as modified, does not expressly disclose forming a fluid connection between the cannula and the reservoir of the automated medicament delivery system.
Larson teaches an medicament delivery assembly (Fig.3) forming a fluid connection between a cannula (294 – Fig.3) and a reservoir (160 – Fig.5) of the automated medicament delivery system (“directs the fluid or insulin received from the conduit sleeve of the rotor to the cannula assembly” – Para [0074]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the assembly of Bene, as modified, to form a fluid connection between the cannula and the reservoir as taught by Larson since Larson teaches that it is well known to have a fluid connection between a cannula and a reservoir to deliver medicament to the user.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bene in view of Larson and Gyrn, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Rodriguez et al. (US Pub No. 20210186425 A1, herein, Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 16, Bene, as modified, discloses the method as disclosed above, but Bene does not expressly disclose it further comprising securing the analyte sensor to the cradle prior to the cradle being positioned within the deployment inserter and retained by the driver plate.
Rodriques teaches a medicament delivery assembly (Fig.2) comprising securing a analyte sensor (108 – Fig.7) to a cradle (202 – Fig.7) prior to the cradle being positioned within a deployment inserter (“The sensor inserter is coupled to the physiological characteristic sensor and is manipulatable by a user to couple the glucose sensor to the user” – Para [0038]) and retained by a driver plate (232 - Fig.9)
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Bene, as modified, to comprise securing the analyte sensor to the cradle prior to the cradle being positioned within the deployment inserter and retained by the driver plate as taught by Rodriquez since Rodriquez teaches that it is well known method to place a sensor into a cradle before positioning it into a deployment inserter.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bene in view of Larson and Gyrn, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lanigan et al. (US Pub No. 20200289748 A1, herein, Lanigan).
Regarding claim 17, Bene, as modified, discloses the method as disclosed above, but Bene does not expressly disclose the method further comprising withdrawing a filament sharp and a cannula sharp from the user-body in response to the driver plate being substantially deployed and after the filament sharp inserted the filament into the user-body and the cannula sharp inserted the cannula into the user-body.
Lanigan teaches an medicament delivery assembly (Fig.1A) comprising withdrawing a filament sharp and a cannula sharp (132 – Fig.2) from the user-body (“the insertion sharp through the skin” – Para [0257]) in response to a driver plate (134 – Fig.2) being substantially deployed and after the filament sharp inserted the filament into the user-body and the cannula sharp inserted the cannula into the user-body (“When free to move, the springs may displace the sharp holder and sharp retractor 134 as well as components retained thereon to complete the insertion of the cannula into the patient and attach the infusion set onto an infusion site. Retraction of the sharp 132 into the inserter assembly may also occur as part of the actuation.” – Para [0214]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Bene, as modified, to comprise withdrawing a filament sharp and a cannula sharp from the user-body in response to the driver plate as taught by Lanigan since Lanigan teaches that the retraction of the sharp so as to displace the sharp to a point where it is pulled out of the infusion set and protected from contact with a user (Lanigan, Para [0207]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783