DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 16, and 23-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,788. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US Pat No. 12,158,788 anticipate the claims of the current application.
Claim 1 of the current application corresponds to claim 1 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 2 of the current application corresponds to claim 15 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 3 of the current application corresponds to claim 3 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 4 of the current application corresponds to claim 4 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 5 of the current application corresponds to claim 5 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 6 of the current application corresponds to claim 6 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 7 of the current application corresponds to claim 7 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 8 of the current application corresponds to claim 11 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 9 of the current application corresponds to claim 12 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 16 of the current application corresponds to claim 2 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 23 of the current application corresponds to claim 1 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 24 of the current application corresponds to claim 4 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 25 of the current application corresponds to claim 5 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 26 of the current application corresponds to claim 4 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 27 of the current application corresponds to claim 5 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 28 of the current application corresponds to claim 6 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 29 of the current application corresponds to claim 6 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim 30 of the current application corresponds to claim 1 of US Pat No. 12,158,788.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuster (US Pub No. 2016/0129182) and Deicke et al. (US Pub No. 2013/0236192).
Regarding claims 23 and 30, Schuster teaches an automatic power on system, comprising: when an second electronic device is positioned on, in, or proximate to the mounting area of the first electronic device, the automatic power on circuit is configured to: automatically establish a coupling signal between the first portion of the automatic power on circuit and the second portion of the automatic power on circuit in response to the second electronic device being positioned on, in, or proximate to the mounting area of the first electronic device or vice versa, automatically activate the automatic power on circuit based on the coupling signal, and automatically control an on/off state of the first electronic device or the second electronic device based on the activation of the automatic power on circuit (See abstract and [0355]).
Schuster does not explicitly teach a first electronic device including: a mounting area; and a first portion of an automatic power on circuit; and a second electronic device including: a housing configured to enable the second electronic device to be positioned on, in, or proximate to the mounting area of the first electronic device; and a second portion of the automatic power on circuit.
Deicke teaches a first electronic device (See abstract) including:
a mounting area (See abstract, Fig. 1A & 1B, and [0143]); and
a first portion of a power on circuit (See Fig. 1A & 1B, [0038], and [0041]); and
a second electronic device (See abstract) including:
a housing configured to enable the second electronic device to be positioned on, in, or proximate to the mounting area of the first electronic device (See abstract, Fig. 1A & 1B, and [0143]); and
a second portion of the power on circuit (See Fig. 1A & 1B, [0038], and [0041]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Schuster’s system to include Deicke’s device mounting system for increased “reliability and user-friendliness”. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 24-27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diecke and Schuster as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0184516).
Regarding claim 24, Diecke does not teach upon the activation of the automatic power on circuit, the first electronic device is controlled to turn on so as to match an on state of the second electronic device.
Kim teaches upon the activation of the automatic power on circuit, the first electronic device is controlled to turn on so as to match an on state of the second electronic device (See [0015], [0025], and [0068] teaches matching the power modes of the two devices).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Diecke’s system to include Kim’s power signaling for user convenience. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claim 25, Diecke does not teach that when the first electronic device is in an on/off state that matches the on/off state of the second electronic device prior to activation of the automatic power on circuit, the first electronic device is controlled to remain in a same on/off state after activation of the automatic power on circuit.
Kim teaches the first electronic device is in an on/off state that matches the on/off state of the second electronic device prior to activation of the automatic power on circuit, the first electronic device is controlled to remain in a same on/off state after activation of the automatic power on circuit (See [0015], [0025], and [0068] teaches matching the power modes of the two devices. If both devices are in the off state, then they will remain off.).
Regarding claim 26, Diecke teaches automatic activation of the power circuit (See [0355]) but does not teach the second electronic device is controlled to turn on so as to match an on state of the first electronic device.
Kim teaches the second electronic device is controlled to turn on so as to match an on state of the first electronic device (See [0015], [0025], and [0068] teaches matching the power modes of the two devices.).
Regarding claim 27, Diecke does not teach that when the second electronic device is in an on/off state that matches the on/off state of the first electronic device prior to activation of the automatic power on circuit, the second electronic device is controlled to remain in a same on/off state after activation of the automatic power on circuit.
Kim teaches when the second electronic device is in an on/off state that matches the on/off state of the first electronic device prior to activation of the automatic power on circuit, the second electronic device is controlled to remain in a same on/off state after activation of the automatic power on circuit (See [0015], [0025], and [0068] teaches matching the power modes of the two devices. If both devices are in the off state, then they will remain off.).
Regarding claim 31, [0143] of Dieck teaches a mounting area but does not specify a location. Fig. 2 of Schuster shows the monitor and carrier attached using a back surface.
Conclusion
/THOMAS S MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686