DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,992,336. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below:
Application No. 18/924,418
U.S. Patent No. 10,992,336
1. A computer-implemented method for adjusting playback of audiovisual content at a location, comprising: receiving, by at least one processor at a first electronic device at the location, a spread spectrum signal from a second electronic device over an audio data channel; despreading the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determining a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receiving a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculating an airtime delay associated with the second electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; and adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device and a direction of the second electronic device.
1. A computer implemented method for adjusting playback of audiovisual content at a location, comprising: receiving, by at least one processor at a first electronic device at the location, a spread spectrum signal from a second electronic device over an audio data channel; despreading, by the at least one processor, the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determining, by the at least one processor, a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receiving, by the at least one processor, a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculating, by the at least one processor, an airtime delay associated with the second electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; determining, by the at least one processor, a direction of the second electronic device from the first electronic device based on the spread spectrum signal from the second electronic device and beam forming techniques; and adjusting, by the at least one processor, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device and a third electronic device for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device and the direction of the second electronic device.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device based on a second airtime delay associated with a third electronic device.
2. The method of claim 1, the adjusting further comprising: adjusting, by the at least one processor, the playback of the audiovisual content for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device and a second airtime delay associated with the third electronic device.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: calculating, for the location, a playback delay for the second electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device.
3. The method of claim 2, the adjusting further comprising: calculating, by the at least one processor, a playback delay to the second electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device and the second airtime delay associated with the third electronic device.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay.
4. The method of claim 3, the adjusting further comprising: transmitting, by the at least one processor, the playback delay to the second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay.
5. The method of claim 3, the adjusting further comprising: transmitting, by the at least one processor, the playback delay to the second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay.
6. The computer-implemented of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device to cause a sound wave from the second electronic device and a sound wave from a third electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the second electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the third electronic device.
6. The method of claim 1, the adjusting further comprising: adjusting, by the at least one processor, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device and the third electronic device to cause a sound wave from the second electronic device and a sound wave from the third electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the second electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the third electronic device.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device to simulate a virtual surround sound experience.
7. The method of claim 1, the adjusting further comprising: adjusting, by the at least one processor, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device and the third electronic device to simulate a virtual surround sound experience.
8. A system, comprising: one or more memories; at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the memories and configured to perform operations comprising: receiving, at a location, a spread spectrum signal from a first electronic device over an audio data channel; despreading the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determining a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receiving a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculating an airtime delay associated with the first electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; and adjusting, for the location, playback of audiovisual content at the first electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and a direction of the first electronic device.
8. A system, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, at a location, a spread spectrum signal from a first electronic device over an audio data channel; despread the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determine a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receive a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculate an airtime delay associated with the first electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; determine a direction of the first electronic device from the system based on the spread spectrum signal from the first electronic device and beam forming techniques; and adjust playback of audiovisual content at the first electronic device and a second electronic device for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and the direction of the first electronic device.
8. A system, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, at a location, a spread spectrum signal from a first electronic device over an audio data channel; despread the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determine a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receive a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculate an airtime delay associated with the first electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; determine a direction of the first electronic device from the system based on the spread spectrum signal from the first electronic device and beam forming techniques; and adjust playback of audiovisual content at the first electronic device and a second electronic device for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and the direction of the first electronic device.
8. A system, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, at a location, a spread spectrum signal from a first electronic device over an audio data channel; despread the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determine a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receive a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculate an airtime delay associated with the first electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; determine a direction of the first electronic device from the system based on the spread spectrum signal from the first electronic device and beam forming techniques; and adjust playback of audiovisual content at the first electronic device and a second electronic device for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and the direction of the first electronic device.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device based on a second airtime delay associated with a second electronic device.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein to adjust the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device for the location, the at least one processor is configured to: adjust the playback of the audiovisual content for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and a second airtime delay associated with the second electronic device.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the adjusting comprises: calculating, for the location, a playback delay for the first electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein to adjust the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device for the location, the at least one processor is configured to: calculate a playback delay to the first electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and the second airtime delay associated with the second electronic device.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein to adjust the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device for the location, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein to adjust the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device for the location, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device to cause a sound wave from the first electronic device and a sound wave from a second electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the first electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the second electronic device.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein to adjust the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device for the location, the at least one processor is configured to: adjust the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device to cause a sound wave from the first electronic device and a sound wave from the second electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the first electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the second electronic device.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device to simulate a virtual surround sound experience.
7. The method of claim 1, the adjusting further comprising: adjusting, by the at least one processor, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device and the third electronic device to simulate a virtual surround sound experience.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: receiving, at the at least one computing device at a location, a spread spectrum signal from a first electronic device over an audio data channel; despreading the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determining a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receiving a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculating an airtime delay associated with the first electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; and adjusting, for the location, playback of audiovisual content at the first electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and a direction of the first electronic device.
14. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: receiving, at the at least one computing device at a location, a spread spectrum signal from a first electronic device over an audio data channel; despreading the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determining a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receiving a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal; calculating an airtime delay associated with the first electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission; determining a direction of the first electronic device from the at least one computing device based on the spread spectrum signal from the first electronic device and beam forming techniques; adjusting playback of audiovisual content at the first electronic device and a second electronic device for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and the direction of the first electronic device.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device based on a second airtime delay associated with a second electronic device.
15. The computer-readable medium of claim 14, the adjusting further comprising: adjusting the playback of the audiovisual content for the location based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and a second airtime delay associated with the second electronic device.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the adjusting comprises: calculating, for the location, a playback delay for the first electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device.
16. The computer-readable medium of claim 15, the adjusting further comprising: calculating a playback delay to the first electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the first electronic device and the second airtime delay associated with the second electronic device.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay.
17. The computer-readable medium of claim 16, the adjusting further comprising: transmitting the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay.
18. The computer-readable medium of claim 16, the adjusting further comprising: transmitting the playback delay to the first electronic device, wherein the first electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device to cause a sound wave from the first electronic device and a sound wave from a second electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the first electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the second electronic device.
19. The computer-readable medium of claim 14, the adjusting further comprising: adjusting the playback of the audiovisual content at the first electronic device and the second electronic device to cause a sound wave from the first electronic device and a sound wave from the second electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the first electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the second electronic device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowe et al. US 20150120953 in view of Gold et al. US 7386026.
Regarding claim 1, A computer-implemented method for adjusting playback of audiovisual content at a location (a synchronized media playback network, the network includes a streaming media server providing media content by way of a streaming media signal to number of media playback devices, Figure 1, synchronization controller operates to coordinate playback synchronization of a group of media playback devices within vicinity of each other, para. 0018, 0023), comprising: receiving, by at least one processor at a first electronic device at the location, a spread spectrum signal from a second electronic device over an audio data channel (receiving an audio signal at first media playback device, Figure 2, element 204, the first media processor can determine a first playback latency of a streaming media signal at the first media processor, para. 0039); determining a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading; receiving a time of transmission of the spread spectrum signal (the sync module, element 228a, can be configured to identify when the in-content reference is encountered during processing of the streaming media signal, the playback time provides an indication as to when media content at the in-content reference is displayed, the sync module can determine or otherwise approximate when the in-content reference is received according to input obtained from one or more of the decoder, the buffer, the video module, or the audio module, the sync module associates a time reference such as the local time reference or clock with the display of the in-content reference, para. 0041); calculating an airtime delay associated with the second electronic device based on the time of receipt and the time of transmission (the playback latencies can be determined at one or more of the sync modules, element 228, and the first reference time is conveyed from the sync controller to the sync module(s), allowing the sync module(s) to determine the respective differences in times, para. 0041-0042, 0048); and adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device and a direction of the second electronic device (first playback latency is forwarded to the sync controller and the sync controller can calculate a coordinated playback time for the media playback devices, Figure 4, para. 0049).
Crowe does not disclose despreading, by the at least one processor, the spread spectrum signal based on a spreading code; determining, by the at least one processor, a time of receipt of the spread spectrum signal based on the despreading. Gold discloses synchronizing and selectively addressing multiple receivers in a wireless communication system includes a spread spectrum transmitter and one or more spread spectrum receivers, Abstract, Gold discloses at the receiver, the signal is decoded, which causes it to be "despread" and allows the original data to be recovered, the receiver produces a correlated signal in response to the received spread spectrum signal when it is able to match the chip sequence to a sufficient degree, the receiver generates the same pseudo-random chip sequence locally, synchronizes its chip sequence to the received chip sequence, and tracks the signal by maintaining synchronization during transmission and reception of data, column 1, lines 60-69, column 2, lines 1-2, a timing shift circuit in the receiver is preferably employed to properly align the receiver spreading code with the transmitter spreading code, so as to allow proper demodulation of the received spread spectrum transmission signal, column 6, lines 39-46. At the time of the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Crowe to include using spread spectrum communication to determine signal timing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for synchronization and adjusting lag, column 5, lines 5-7.
Regarding claim 2, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device based on a second airtime delay associated with a third electronic device (the sync module, element 228a, can be configured to identify when the in-content reference is encountered during processing of the streaming media signal, the playback time provides an indication as to when media content at the in-content reference is displayed, the sync module can determine or otherwise approximate when the in-content reference is received according to input obtained from one or more of the decoder, the buffer, the video module, or the audio module, the sync module associates a time reference such as the local time reference or clock with the display of the in-content reference, the playback latencies can be determined at one or more of the sync modules, element 228, and the first reference time is conveyed from the sync controller to the sync module(s), allowing the sync module(s) to determine the respective differences in times, para. 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 3, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: calculating, for the location, a playback delay for the second electronic device based on the airtime delay associated with the second electronic device (the sync module, element 228a, can be configured to identify when the in-content reference is encountered during processing of the streaming media signal, the playback time provides an indication as to when media content at the in-content reference is displayed, the sync module can determine or otherwise approximate when the in-content reference is received according to input obtained from one or more of the decoder, the buffer, the video module, or the audio module, the sync module associates a time reference such as the local time reference or clock with the display of the in-content reference, the playback latencies can be determined at one or more of the sync modules, element 228, and the first reference time is conveyed from the sync controller to the sync module(s), allowing the sync module(s) to determine the respective differences in times, para. 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 4, The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device changes an amount of the audiovisual content to buffer based on the playback delay (first playback latency is forwarded to the sync controller and the sync controller can calculate a coordinated playback time for the media playback devices, coordinated playback time of a target in-content timing element is received and the first buffer is adjusted according to coordinated playback time, the sync module of each media processor identifies the target in-content reference, and having previously determined the respective media processor's playback latency, adjusts the respective buffer to modify the respective playback latency such that the target in-content is presented at the coordinated playback time at each of the media playback devices, Figure 4, para. 0049).
Regarding claim 5, The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the adjusting comprises: transmitting the playback delay to the second electronic device, wherein the second electronic device changes a playback offset for the audiovisual content based on the playback delay (first playback latency is forwarded to the sync controller and the sync controller can calculate a coordinated playback time for the media playback devices, coordinated playback time of a target in-content timing element is received and the first buffer is adjusted according to coordinated playback time, the sync module of each media processor identifies the target in-content reference, and having previously determined the respective media processor's playback latency, adjusts the respective buffer to modify the respective playback latency such that the target in-content is presented at the coordinated playback time at each of the media playback devices, Figure 4, para. 0049).
Regarding claim 6 The computer-implemented of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: adjusting, for the location, the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device to cause a sound wave from the second electronic device and a sound wave from a third electronic device to arrive at the location at approximately the same time, wherein the sound wave from the second electronic device corresponds to the sound wave from the third electronic device (adjusts the respective buffer to modify the respective playback latency such that the target in-content is presented at the coordinated playback time at each of the media playback devices, Figure 4, para. 0049).
Claims 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowe in view of Gold in view of Thorn et al. US 20120317594.
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 1, Crowe and Gold disclose adjusting the playback of the audiovisual content at the second electronic device and the third electronic device but do not disclose simulate a virtual surround sound experience. Thorn discloses directional audio components may then be reproduced during playback provided the player has the appropriate decoding capabilities, and the speaker system (speakers, earphones, headset, etc.) has a corresponding 3D/multichannel surround sound or virtual surround sound reproduction capability, para. 0006. At the time of the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Crowe and Gold to include playback to produce virtual surround sound reproduction. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to generate a realistic experience, para. 0007.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Korb et al. US 20240289086 discloses a media playback system that receives media content from a media source inconsistently and the the media playback system may not be able to reliably coordinate synchronous playback of the received media content in a consistent and reliable manner causing the playback devices in the media playback system to play the media content “out-of-sync” with each other, generate error messages, interrupt playback.
Klimscha et al. US 20230063532 discloses an audiovisual media stream of a live event is transmitted by a first provider via the Internet and/or via at least one mobile radio network to a plurality of user terminals, and a data stream generated on the basis of the live event is made available by a second provider, the audiovisual media stream and the data stream are fed to a data preparation device, which generates a sequence of temporally spaced data packets and provides each data packet with identification information identifying the respective data packet and a time stamp and the generated data packets are synchronized with the media stream at controllable time intervals.
/MELANIE JAGANNATHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468