DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figures 3, 4 and 8, defined by claims 1-8 and 10-13 in the reply filed on 9/22/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the exhaust port of claims 1-13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, in claim 8, both the elastic element and cover body are claimed as being “constructed into a sleeved shape (see lines 2 and 4, respectively).” This is indefinite, as it is unclear from disclosure what shape “a sleeve shape” is referring to. The Examiner is unaware of a commonly understood definition for “a sleeve shape,” nor does Applicant provide their own definition for the term. It is also noted that the elastic element and cover body are clearly shaped differently from one another in the Figures, adding to the confusion that they are both required to be identically “constructed into a sleeved shape”. The Examiner will interpret any shape of an elastic member and covering body to constitute “a sleeved shape,” as it is wholly unclear what this term means from the disclosure.
Regarding claim 12, the claim requires that “the exhaust port is located at a tail end of the connecting tube in a radial direction,” which is indefinite. Applicant’s Figures do not show a reference numeral for the exhaust port, but as is understood by the Examiner, the exhaust port is defined by the end opening of the exhaust structure #1, located at the upper open end of the cylinder constituting the exhaust structure #1 in most of the Figures. The open end of the cylinder defining the exhaust tube of the exhaust structure #1 is clearly at a tail end of the connecting tube in a longitudinal direction, not a radial direction. The Examiner is unaware of any interpretation of the term “radial direction” that could conceivably describe the location of the exhaust port, as is best understood from Applicant’s disclosure given that the exhaust port is not labeled in the Figures. For the rejection, the Examiner will interpret the claim as requiring that “the exhaust port is located at a tail end of the connecting tube in a longitudinal direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hellie (8,381,871).
With respect to claim 1, Hellie teaches a gas exhausting device (Figure 3, #200), characterized in that it comprises: an exhaust structure (could be #221 or combination of #212/224) including an exhaust channel (defined by channel within conduit #212, note arrow indicating gas flow direction) and an exhaust port (defined by downstream/right end opening of conduit #212), gas in the exhaust channel being dischargeable from the exhaust port, the exhaust structure (212 or 212/224) being further provided with a communication port (defined by passage through #224) located upstream of the exhaust port in a discharging flow direction of the gas (clearly seen); a buffer structure (216/230), the buffer structure being connected to the exhaust structure (212 or 212/224) in a sealed manner to seal the communicating port (could be upper opening in conduit #212 into conduit #224, or could defined by conduit #224 itself), the buffer structure (216/230) being used for forming a buffer cavity (218) in communication with the exhaust channel (channel through #212) through the communicating port (could be upper opening in conduit #212 into conduit #224, or could defined by conduit #224 itself)).
With respect to claim 2, Hellie teaches wherein the buffer structure (216/230) includes an elastic element (#230 - Col. 6, Lines 47-48), and the elastic element (230) forms the buffer cavity (218).
With respect to claim 3, Hellie teaches wherein the gas exhausting device (200) further comprises a mounting structure (222), the mounting structure (222) is provided on the exhaust structure (212/224), and the buffer structure (216/230) is connected to the exhaust structure (212/224) in a sealed manner by means of the mounting structure (222).
With respect to claim 4, Hellie teaches wherein the mounting structure (222) includes a mounting seat (defined by upper surface of #222), the mounting seat is provided at a periphery of the communication port (224), and the elastic element (230) is connected to the mounting seat (defined by upper surface of #222).
With respect to claim 5, Hellie teaches wherein the buffer structure (216/230) further includes a cover body (216), the cover body (216) is disposed on the elastic element (230) in a covering manner, the cover body (216) is connected to the mounting seat (defined by upper surface of 222), and the cover body (216) is provided to be spaced apart from at least part of the elastic element (230) to form an adjustment gap (gap defined by gap/space of cavity #218 between member #216 and #230).
With respect to claim 6, Hellie teaches wherein the cover body (216) presses the elastic element (230) onto the mounting seat (defined by upper surface of 222) to form a sealed structure (Col. 6, Lines 47-51).
With respect to claim 7, Hellie teaches wherein the cover body (216) is detachably connected to the elastic element (#230 - Col. 6, Line 67-Col., Line 3).
With respect to claim 8, Hellie teaches wherein the elastic element (230) is constructed into a sleeve shape (shape of #230 is considered to be sleeve shaped in the same way as Applicant’s – see 122b rejection above), a side edge (232) of the elastic element (230) is provided with a first pressed edge (defined by outer edge crimped portion of #232 - Col. 6, Lines 47-51), and the first pressed edge is provided with a protrusion (defined by body of #232, which protrudes from a main body of elastic member #320); the cover body (216) is constructed into a sleeve shape (shape of #216 is considered to be sleeve shaped in the same way as Applicant’s – see 122b rejection above), a side edge (see annotated view of Figure 3, #240, provided below) of the cover body (216) is provided with a second pressed edge (defined by outer edge crimped portion of #housing - Col. 6, Lines 47-51, which will inherently be formed by a lower surface of portion #240, indicated in the Figure below), the second pressed edge is provided with a groove (defined by rounded portion #241 indicated in the annotated Figure below, providing an accommodating space for protrusion #232 of elastic member #230), the protrusion (232) can be engaged in the groove (241), the second pressed edge (defined by outer edge crimped portion of #housing - Col. 6, Lines 47-51, which will inherently be formed by a lower surface of portion #240, indicated in the Figure below) can press the first pressed edge (defined by outer edge crimped portion of #232 - Col. 6, Lines 47-51) onto the mounting seat (defined by upper surface of 222) to form a sealed structure, and the second pressed edge (defined by outer edge crimped portion of #housing - Col. 6, Lines 47-51, which will inherently be formed by a lower surface of portion #240, indicated in the Figure below) is inherently detachably connected to the mounting seat (defined by upper surface of 222), so as to allow for the elastic/flexible member (230) to be remove and replaced with a different elastic/flexible member (230) (#230 - Col. 6, Line 67-Col., Line 3).
With respect to claim 10, Hellie teaches wherein the number of the communication port (defined by upper opening in conduit #212 into conduit #224) is one or more, and a ratio of a total area of the communication port(s) (defined by upper opening in conduit #212 into conduit #224) to a cross-sectional area of the exhaust structure (212) is greater than a predetermined value.
With respect to claim 11, Hellie teaches wherein the predetermined value is 1/54. Note that while the exact ratio is not known as the drawings are not necessarily to scale, based on Figure 3, the ratio appears to be about 1, which is far greater than 1/54. The communication port (defined by upper opening in conduit #212 into conduit #224) total area would have to be dramatically smaller than cross-sectional area of the exhaust structure (212) to yield a ratio that is less than or equal to a predetermined value of 1/54.
With respect to claim 13, Hellie teaches wherein the elastic element (230) includes a rubber film (Col. 6, Lines 57-64).
Claims 1-5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marion (2010/0212999).
With respect to claim 1, Marion teaches a gas exhausting device (Figures 1 and 3, #3), characterized in that it comprises: an exhaust structure (5/10) including an exhaust channel (defined by channel within/through line #5 and exhaust seat #12, #12 is shown the in annotated view of Figure 1, provided below - note arrow indicating gas flow direction from combustion engine #1) and an exhaust port (defined by downstream/right end opening of line #5), gas in the exhaust channel being dischargeable from the exhaust port, the exhaust structure (5/10) being further provided with a communication port (defined by passage through #10) located upstream of the exhaust port in a discharging flow direction of the gas (clearly seen); a buffer structure (11/23), the buffer structure (11/23) being connected to the exhaust structure (5/10) in a sealed manner ([0020]-[0021]) to seal the communicating port (10), the buffer structure (11/23) being used for forming a buffer cavity (24) in communication with the exhaust channel (channel through #5) through the communicating port (10).
With respect to claim 2, Marion teaches wherein the buffer structure (11/23) includes an elastic element (11, [0018]), and the elastic element (11) forms the buffer cavity (24).
With respect to claim 3, Marion teaches wherein the gas exhausting device (3) further comprises a mounting structure (8), the mounting structure (8) is provided on the exhaust structure (5/10), and the buffer structure (11/23) is connected to the exhaust structure (5/10) in a sealed manner ([0020]-[0021]) by means of the mounting structure (8).
With respect to claim 4, Marion teaches wherein the mounting structure (8) includes a mounting seat (defined by portions of housing forming wall having opening #22, onto which membrane #11 is mounted), the mounting seat is provided at a periphery of the communication port (10), and the elastic element (11) is connected to the mounting seat (defined by portions of housing forming wall having opening #22, onto which membrane #11 is mounted).
With respect to claim 5, Marion teaches wherein the buffer structure (11/23) further includes a cover body (23), the cover body (23) is disposed on (via portions of housing forming wall having opening #22, onto which membrane #11 is mounted) the elastic element (11) in a covering manner, the cover body (23) is connected to the mounting seat (defined by portions of housing forming wall having opening #22, onto which membrane #11 is mounted), and the cover body (23) is provided to be spaced apart from at least part of the elastic element (1) to form an adjustment gap (gap defined by gap/space of cavity #24 between member #23 and #11).
With respect to claim 10, Marion teaches wherein the number of the communication port (10) is one or more, and a ratio of a total area of the communication port(s) (10) to a cross-sectional area of the exhaust structure (5/10) is greater than a predetermined value.
With respect to claim 12, Marion teaches wherein the exhaust structure (5/10) further includes an exhaust seat (see annoted view of Figure 1, #12, provide above) and a connecting tube (5), the exhaust channel (defined by channel within/through line #5 and exhaust seat #12, #12 is shown the in annotated view of Figure 1, provided above - note arrow indicating gas flow direction from combustion engine #1) penetrates through the exhaust seat (12) and the connecting tube (5), the exhaust port (defined by downstream/right end opening of line #5) is located at a tail end of the connecting tube (5) in a longitudinal direction, and the communication port (10) is provided on a side wall of the connecting tube (5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837