DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 12/03/2025 has been considered and entered. The response was considered and found to be persuasive over the rejections of claims 5 – 18, 20 – 23, 26, 36, 37, 39 – 44, 49 in view of Rowland (US 2016/0017252) for failing to teach the functionalized polymer of the claim, which are hereby withdrawn.
The rejections of claims 12, 23, 41 – 44, 46, 47, 49 based on indefiniteness are overcome by the amendment, and are thus withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 – 18, 20 – 23, 26, 36, 37, 39 – 44, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite an average functionality of from 5 to 15 which is not present in the disclosure as originally filed. The published application is US 20250136889A1 which is different from US 20240141156 from which applicant relies upon for support.
Claims 5 – 18, 20 – 23, 26, 36, 37, 39 – 44, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite polymer having a Fd value of from 3.5 or less but also recites Fv value of from 5 to 15, however, according to paragraph 0330 of applicant’s specification, Fv and Fd are the same, thus making the claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 18, 20 – 23, 26, 36, 37, 39 – 44, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2022/0098509)
In regards to claim 5, Tang teaches lubricant composition comprising an oil of lubricating viscosity, and an additive package (abstract). The oil is present in the composition amounts of at least 50%, or at least 80% of the composition [0024]. The composition can comprise detergents [0086]. The composition can comprise viscosity modifier such as C3-C10 olefin copolymer which can be functionalized, i.e., derivatized [0098 – 0101]. The functionalized polymer can comprise ester functionality [0107]. The polymer has molecular weights overlapping the claimed range [0104]. Various functional groups can also be added and their mixtures which overlaps the Fv values of the claim [0109, 0110]. Since similar polymers having similar functional groups are taught, they would be expected to have similar Fd value of the claim. Tang teaches the diphenylamine of the claim [0076].
In regards to claims 6 – 14, Tang teaches the composition having the diphenylamines with ratio of the di-alkyl to the mono-alkyl DPA overlapping the claimed limitation, and such additives will have similar properties as claimed.
In regards to claims 15, 16, Tang teaches the composition comprising zinc dialkyl dithiophosphate (zddp), hindered phenol, molybdenum compound [0064, 0075, 0163]. It can also comprise sulfurized olefin antioxidants [0084].
In regards to claim 17, Tang teaches the composition wherein the detergent can be neutral or overbased salicylate having the tbn of the claims [0086, 0087].
In regards to claim 18, Tang teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients as previously stated.
In regards to claim 20, Tang teaches the composition is engine oil having zddp at from 0.01 to 0.12% or 0.08% (i.e., 800 ppm) or less [0066]. Since no other phosphorus component is required the zddp provides the phosphorus content of the oil.
In regards to claims 21 – 23, 26, Tang teaches the composition having dispersants such as polyisobutylene succinimide (PIBSA-PAM), detergents comprising calcium or magnesium sulfonates, molybdenum compounds, and polyol fatty acid ester friction modifier such as molybdenum dithiocarbamate, sunflower oil or monoester of polyol and aliphatic carboxylic acid (typically fatty acid) [0031, 0091 and 0132].
In regards to claims 36, 37, Tang teaches the composition for engines such as gasoline or diesel engine thus providing a hydrocarbon fuel [0144]. When the composition is added to the crankcase, it provides the method of lubricating the internal combustion engine. The engine would be expected to have similar temperature as claimed.
In regards to claim 39, Tang teaches the composition having antioxidants in the engine oil and thus when applied to an engine would be expected to provide the claimed properties.
In regards to claim 40, Tang teaches the composition having Group II and Group III base oils [0022].
In regards to claims 41 – 44, Tang teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients and limitations and would be expected to have similar properties as claimed.
In regards to claim 49, Tang teaches the engine oil composition having the claimed ingredients which when used in an engine would intrinsically provide the claimed method. Antioxidants useful in the engine can be diphenylamines at from 1.2 to 7% by weight of the composition, or from 0.1 to 2% [0075, 0077]. Thus, when applied to an engine the claimed method would be intrinsically provided.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tang fails to teach polymers having the number of functional groups as claimed. The argument is not persuasive.
As discussed in the rejections above, Tang teaches the viscosity modifier polymer can comprise one or more functional groups and recites mixtures that exceeds 5 groups (see para 0110).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771