DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mammone (US 2013/0023767 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Mammone (‘767) teach a sonography system comprising: a transducer, receiving sound signals from a living body and converting the sound signals into electrical signals (“probe 100 is shown to include an ultrasound transducer 102” see [0041]; and Fig. 1); a transform module for transforming the electrical signal into frequency intensity values (“These reflection coefficients may be put into a frequency domain vector and an inverse Fourier transform may be used to transform into the time/distance domain” see [0050]); a neural network receiving a representation of the frequency intensity values as input and outputting an indication of whether the living body has liver cancer (“automatically determine probabilities of what the regions of interest actually are (e.g., malignant cancer, benign cancer, unknown tissue). The classifiers 1622 may include neural network(s)” see [0090]); and a display for displaying whether the living body has liver cancer (“The resulting aggregation or summation may be displayed as a composite A-scan 1628” see [0090]).
Regarding claim 9, Mammone (‘767) teach the sonography system of claim 8 wherein the representation of the frequency intensity values comprises an image and wherein the sonography system further comprises a processor that converts the frequency intensity values into the image (see [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Mammone (‘767) teach the sonography system of claim 9 wherein the image comprises a graph of frequency intensities over time (see [0089]-[0090], [0096]).
Regarding claim 11, Mammone (‘767) teach the sonography system of claim 10 wherein the image uses brightness to indicate intensity (see [0089]-[0090], [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Mammone (‘767) teach the sonography system of claim 1 wherein the received sound signals comprise reflected ultrasound signals (see [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Mammone (‘767) teach the sonography system of claim 12 wherein the reflected ultrasound signals are reflected from a main portal vein (see [0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Mammone (‘767) teach the sonography system of claim 13 wherein the reflected ultrasound signals are not reflected from the liver (see [0087]).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797