Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
1.) Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, 14-20 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over as Bedell et al. (US Pub No.: 2008/0316314A1) and further in view of McDonald et al. (US Pub No.: 2013/0170823A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Bedell et al. disclose a portable imaging system (A security system for monitoring activities occurring within and around a vehicle. The security system includes a video camera positioned to monitor activities occurring within said vehicle, Abstract; Figures 1-4), comprising:
a camera configured to capture video data (Video camera 12 captures video data, Paragraphs 0018-0020; Figures 1-4);
a mount disposed in a vehicle (The video camera 12 is mounted in a location in the vehicle, Paragraph 0018); and
at least one processor (Computer 18, Paragraphs 0021-0027) configured to:
receive the video data from the camera (Computer 18 receives the video data, Paragraphs 0020-0021, 0027; Figure 2);
store the video data in a temporary storage (Data is continuously written into a temporary memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044);
receive an indication of a triggering event (However, if a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044);
upon receiving the indication, store the video data in a permanent storage (As mentioned above, if a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044); and
store real-time video data from the camera in the permanent storage with metadata indicative of the triggering event (Video data from video camera 12 is encoded concurrently with the compression of audio data, as indicated by encode step 30. A buffer is then written which combines the encoded video and compressed audio, as indicated by write step 34. This "feed" may be transmitted "live" wirelessly as indicated by transmit step 36. If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory. Events associated with the particular triggering event are stored with the video data, Paragraphs 0027-0044; Figures 1-5).
However, Bedell et al. do not explicitly disclose a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle. McDonald et al. teach of a mounting arm (114) configured to couple to the camera (electronics device 130 with a camera) and comprising a first coupling device (clamping device 110) and a second coupling device (spacer 190), wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle (cylindrical portion of equipment in a vehicle),
(McDonald et al. teach of electronic devices of a particular structure, and to a method and apparatus for engaging and holding such devices with the user's person, clothing, equipment or vehicle. The apparatus includes a bracket that engages with the electronic device and a cover that provides protection to the electronic device and a camera lens augmentation element. Additional elements provide engagement between flat or cylindrical surfaces. The apparatus facilitates convenient carry, access and secure attachment of an electronic device during participation in a physical activity, Abstract and Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al..
McDonald et al. teach that the clamping device 110 is illustrated in combination with a belt or strap 170. During certain physical activities it is useful to wear a camera strapped to one's chest or around the waist as a belt. Slots 118 through both sides of the primary surface 112 of the clamping device 130 combined with edge portions 116 provide a means of engaging a belt or strap 170 as one might engage a buckle with a belt, Paragraphs 0032-0034 of McDonald et al.. McDonald et al. teach of a particular interference fit provides a secure engagement between the clamping device and the electronics device sufficient to hold the electronics device securely while the user wears the device during physical activity or while the device is fastened to a vehicle, Paragraphs 0032-0034 of McDonald et al.. The clamping device 110 engages with a spacer 190. The spacer comprises a cylindrical groove 198 for engaging with cylindrical portions of objects such as handlebars or ski poles or the like that belong to a vehicle. The spacer 190 further comprises a hole in the center 196 for receiving a screw 180 that passes through the hole 124 in the clamp 110 and continues through the hole 196 to engage with the cylindrical piece of equipment (cylindrical portion in vehicle). , Paragraphs 0034-0037; Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the portable imaging system in the teachings of Bedell et al. to have a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle as taught by McDonald et al., because it provides the benefit of portability of the camera device while securely engaging the device to a flat or cylindrical surface during participation in a physical activity, Paragraphs 0005, 0008 of McDonald et al.).
With regard to Claim 2, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 1, further comprising a portable recording component configured with the temporary storage (See portable memory such as a jump drive for storing the video, Paragraph 0021 of Bedell et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the triggering event is generated by an accelerometer, a GPS sensor, or actuation of a switch (such as a door sensor) (The user can view the data via a graphical user interface. For example, the event log shows that at 4:17:36 PM on Jul. 14, 2008, a triggering event (a door opening or closing) occurred, Paragraphs 0010, 0046-0048; Figures 5-6 of Bedell et al.).
In regard to Claim 5, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 4, wherein the triggering event is a threshold speed of the vehicle, a vehicle crash event, or a location of the vehicle (Triggering event such as excessive engine speed, acceleration or accident, Paragraphs 0031-0041, 0050 of Bedell et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to store a location of the triggering event (location such as vehicle door) and a time of the triggering event (time of event) as meta data associated with the video data (data set associated with the video) in the permanent storage (If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030, 0043, 0051; Claim 1; Figure 5 of Bedell et al.).
In regard to Claim 7, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to generate and store a time stamp associated with each frame of the video data (See time stamp shown in Figure 5. If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030, 0043, 0046-0051; Claim 1; Figure 5 of Bedell et al.).
With regard to Claim 8, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to encrypt the permanent storage requiring a code for access (The "user` in this context is likely not the vehicle operator, but rather the individual having control and access to the surveillance system. A typical user might be the parent of a teenage driver. The teenage driver would be the vehicle operator. Data saved by the receiver could be downloaded to another computing device using any conventional means. Examples include a wireless transmission, a jump drive, a flash drive, or a cable connection. Access to the data should be password-protected (or restricted using other security measures) so that only the user can access the data and delete stored triggering event logs, Paragraph 0045 of Bedell et al.).
With regard to Claim 9, Bedell et al. disclose a portable imaging system (A security system for monitoring activities occurring within and around a vehicle. The security system includes a video camera positioned to monitor activities occurring within said vehicle, Abstract; Figures 1-4), comprising:
a camera configured to capture video data (Video camera 12 captures video data, Paragraphs 0018-0020; Figures 1-4);
a recording component configured to store the video data (Computer 18 includes a hard drive or other suitable memory storage device for storing the video and sound data, Paragraphs 0021, 0026);
a mount disposed in a vehicle (The video camera 12 is mounted in a location in the vehicle, Paragraph 0018); and
at least one processor (Computer 18, Paragraphs 0021-0027) configured to:
receive the video data from the camera (Computer 18 receives the video data, Paragraphs 0020-0021, 0027; Figure 2);
store the video data in a temporary storage (Data is continuously written into a temporary memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044);
receive an indication of a triggering event (However, if a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044);
upon receiving the indication, store the video data in a permanent storage (As mentioned above, if a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044); and
store real-time video data from the camera in the permanent storage with metadata indicative of the triggering event (Video data from video camera 12 is encoded concurrently with the compression of audio data, as indicated by encode step 30. A buffer is then written which combines the encoded video and compressed audio, as indicated by write step 34. This "feed" may be transmitted "live" wirelessly as indicated by transmit step 36. If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory. Events associated with the particular triggering event are stored with the video data, Paragraphs 0027-0044; Figures 1-5).
However, Bedell et al. do not explicitly disclose a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle. McDonald et al. teach of a mounting arm (114) configured to couple to the camera (electronics device 130 with a camera) and comprising a first coupling device (clamping device 110) and a second coupling device (spacer 190), wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle (cylindrical portion of equipment in a vehicle),
(McDonald et al. teach of electronic devices of a particular structure, and to a method and apparatus for engaging and holding such devices with the user's person, clothing, equipment or vehicle. The apparatus includes a bracket that engages with the electronic device and a cover that provides protection to the electronic device and a camera lens augmentation element. Additional elements provide engagement between flat or cylindrical surfaces. The apparatus facilitates convenient carry, access and secure attachment of an electronic device during participation in a physical activity, Abstract and Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al..
McDonald et al. teach that the clamping device 110 is illustrated in combination with a belt or strap 170. During certain physical activities it is useful to wear a camera strapped to one's chest or around the waist as a belt. Slots 118 through both sides of the primary surface 112 of the clamping device 130 combined with edge portions 116 provide a means of engaging a belt or strap 170 as one might engage a buckle with a belt, Paragraphs 0032-0034 of McDonald et al.. McDonald et al. teach of a particular interference fit provides a secure engagement between the clamping device and the electronics device sufficient to hold the electronics device securely while the user wears the device during physical activity or while the device is fastened to a vehicle, Paragraphs 0032-0034 of McDonald et al.. The clamping device 110 engages with a spacer 190. The spacer comprises a cylindrical groove 198 for engaging with cylindrical portions of objects such as handlebars or ski poles or the like that belong to a vehicle. The spacer 190 further comprises a hole in the center 196 for receiving a screw 180 that passes through the hole 124 in the clamp 110 and continues through the hole 196 to engage with the cylindrical piece of equipment (cylindrical portion in vehicle). , Paragraphs 0034-0037; Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the portable imaging system in the teachings of Bedell et al. to have a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle as taught by McDonald et al., because it provides the benefit of portability of the camera device while securely engaging the device to a flat or cylindrical surface during participation in a physical activity, Paragraphs 0005, 0008 of McDonald et al.).
In regard to Claim 10, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 9, wherein the recording component is physically connected to the camera by a communication cable (The video camera is electronically connected to the receiver 16 which is electronically connected to the hard drive of the computer 18, Paragraphs 0018-0021 and Figure 2 of Bedell et al.).
With regard to Claim 12, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 9, wherein the recording component is further configured to couple to the mounting arm (The receiver is electronically connected to the video camera 12 which is mounted in the vehicle, Paragraph 0019-0023 and 0026 of Bedell et al.).
With regard to Claim 14, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 9, wherein the permanent storage is disposed at a remote location, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the video data to the permanent storage by wireless communication (Receiver 16 preferably includes transmitter 24 which is configured to wirelessly transmit video and possibly sound data to a remote location. For example, transmitter 24 may transmit the data to a receiver on a personal computer. Transmitter 24 may transmit "live" video and/or sound feed utilizing various wireless transmission media that are known in the art. In one embodiment, receiver 16 may wirelessly transmit the data via satellite, GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), cellular or radio signals. The permanent memory cannot be overwritten without user authorization, Paragraphs 0022, 0027, 0030, 0043, 0045 of Bedell et al.).
In regard to Claim 15, Bedell et al. disclose a method of capturing video data by a portable imaging system (A security system for monitoring activities occurring within and around a vehicle. The security system includes a video camera positioned to monitor activities occurring within said vehicle, Abstract; Figures 1-4), the method comprising:
receiving the video data from a camera (Video camera 12 captures video data, Paragraphs 0018-0020; Figures 1-4. Computer 18 receives the video data, Paragraphs 0020-0021, 0027; Figure 2);
a mount disposed in a vehicle (The video camera 12 is mounted in a location in the vehicle, Paragraph 0018); and
detecting a triggering event by at least one sensor (However, if a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044),
and in response, storing the video data in a permanent storage (As mentioned above, if a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030-0044); and
storing real-time video data from the camera in the permanent storage (Video data from video camera 12 is encoded concurrently with the compression of audio data, as indicated by encode step 30. A buffer is then written which combines the encoded video and compressed audio, as indicated by write step 34. This "feed" may be transmitted "live" wirelessly as indicated by transmit step 36. If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory. Events associated with the particular triggering event are stored with the video data, Paragraphs 0027-0044; Figures 1-5).
However, Bedell et al. do not explicitly disclose a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle. McDonald et al. teach of a mounting arm (114) configured to couple to the camera (electronics device 130 with a camera) and comprising a first coupling device (clamping device 110) and a second coupling device (spacer 190), wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle (cylindrical portion of equipment in a vehicle),
(McDonald et al. teach of electronic devices of a particular structure, and to a method and apparatus for engaging and holding such devices with the user's person, clothing, equipment or vehicle. The apparatus includes a bracket that engages with the electronic device and a cover that provides protection to the electronic device and a camera lens augmentation element. Additional elements provide engagement between flat or cylindrical surfaces. The apparatus facilitates convenient carry, access and secure attachment of an electronic device during participation in a physical activity, Abstract and Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al..
McDonald et al. teach that the clamping device 110 is illustrated in combination with a belt or strap 170. During certain physical activities it is useful to wear a camera strapped to one's chest or around the waist as a belt. Slots 118 through both sides of the primary surface 112 of the clamping device 130 combined with edge portions 116 provide a means of engaging a belt or strap 170 as one might engage a buckle with a belt, Paragraphs 0032-0034 of McDonald et al.. McDonald et al. teach of a particular interference fit provides a secure engagement between the clamping device and the electronics device sufficient to hold the electronics device securely while the user wears the device during physical activity or while the device is fastened to a vehicle, Paragraphs 0032-0034 of McDonald et al.. The clamping device 110 engages with a spacer 190. The spacer comprises a cylindrical groove 198 for engaging with cylindrical portions of objects such as handlebars or ski poles or the like that belong to a vehicle. The spacer 190 further comprises a hole in the center 196 for receiving a screw 180 that passes through the hole 124 in the clamp 110 and continues through the hole 196 to engage with the cylindrical piece of equipment (cylindrical portion in vehicle). , Paragraphs 0034-0037; Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the portable imaging system in the teachings of Bedell et al. to have a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle as taught by McDonald et al., because it provides the benefit of portability of the camera device while securely engaging the device to a flat or cylindrical surface during participation in a physical activity, Paragraphs 0005, 0008 of McDonald et al.).
With regard to Claim 16, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the mounting arm is further configured to couple to a mount in a vehicle (As taught above, The clamping device 110 engages with a spacer 190. The spacer comprises a cylindrical groove 198 for engaging with cylindrical portions of objects such as handlebars or ski poles or the like that belong to a vehicle. The spacer 190 further comprises a hole in the center 196 for receiving a screw 180 that passes through the hole 124 in the clamp 110 and continues through the hole 196 to engage with the cylindrical piece of equipment (cylindrical portion in vehicle). , Paragraphs 0034-0037; Figures 1-11 of McDonald et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the portable imaging system in the teachings of Bedell et al. to have a mounting arm configured to couple to the camera and comprising a first coupling device and a second coupling device, wherein the first coupling device is configured to couple to an article of clothing of a user, wherein the second coupling device is configured to couple to a mount disposed in a vehicle as taught by McDonald et al., because it provides the benefit of portability of the camera device while securely engaging the device to a flat or cylindrical surface during participation in a physical activity, Paragraphs 0005, 0008 of McDonald et al.).
In regard to Claim 17, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the portable recording device is configured to physically connect to the camera by a communication cable and receive the video data and the real-time video data by the communication cable (Data saved by the receiver could be downloaded to another computing device using any conventional means. Examples include a wireless transmission, a jump drive, a flash drive, or a cable connection. Access to the data should be password-protected (or restricted using other security measures) so that only the user can access the data and delete stored triggering event logs, Paragraph 0045 of Bedell et al. The video camera is electronically connected to the receiver 16 which is electronically connected to the hard drive of the computer 18, Paragraphs 0018-0021 and Figure 2 of Bedell et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the permanent storage is disposed at a remote location, wherein the method further comprises transmitting the video data to the permanent storage by wireless communication (Receiver 16 preferably includes transmitter 24 which is configured to wirelessly transmit video and possibly sound data to a remote location. For example, transmitter 24 may transmit the data to a receiver on a personal computer. Transmitter 24 may transmit "live" video and/or sound feed utilizing various wireless transmission media that are known in the art. In one embodiment, receiver 16 may wirelessly transmit the data via satellite, GPRS (General Packet Radio Service), cellular or radio signals. The permanent memory cannot be overwritten without user authorization, Paragraphs 0022, 0027, 0030, 0043, 0045 of Bedell et al.).
With regard to Claim 19, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. The method of claim 15, further comprising storing metadata including time data indicative of a time of the triggering event (time of event) and location data indicative of a location of the triggering event (such as location of vehicle door) (If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030, 0043, 0051; Claim 1; Figure 5 of Bedell et al.).
In regard to Claim 20, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the method of claim 15, further comprises storing a time stamp associated with each frame of the video data (See time stamp shown in Figure 5. If a "triggering event" is detected, then the data associated with the triggering event is transferred from the temporary memory to a permanent memory, Paragraphs 0030, 0043, 0046-0051; Claim 1; Figure 5 of Bedell et al.).
.
2.) Claims 3 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over as Bedell et al. (US Pub No.: 2008/0316314A1) in view of McDonald et al. (US Pub No.: 2013/0170823A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Winningstad et al. (US Pub No.: 2006/0171539A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. disclose the portable imaging system of claim 1, wherein the use of the system is useful for law enforcement (Paragraphs 0004 and 0050-0051 of Bedell et al.). However, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. do not explicitly teach that a user is a police officer, and the vehicle is a police vehicle. Winningstad et al. teach of a portable imaging system which is used by a police officer with a police vehicle,
(Winningstad et al. teach of a wireless data acquisition and recording (DAR) system includes acquisition circuitry including a video camera and/or a microphone carried by an operator for capturing video and audio events viewed and/or heard by the operator. A wireless transmitter wirelessly transmits digital signals containing the video events captured by the video camera and the audio events detected by the microphone. A data display and report submission (DD) device receives the wirelessly transmitted digital data captured by the acquisition circuitry and stores the data as media files. The DAR system can also authenticate date, time, and location of the captured video and audio events. The DAR system can also encode the recorded events for authentication purposes and can scramble the data to prevent use by unauthorized persons, Abstract; Figures 1-5 of Winningstad et al..
Winningstad et al. teach that since the components in the DAR system 12 are light weight and communicate wirelessly, they can be distributed anywhere on the police officer 14 and can be carried for an entire shift without significant fatigue. Also, because the separate components of the DAR system 12 can be attached on the belt 32 or on the front of jacket, the police officer 14 can drive a squad car while the DAR system 12 is still attached and operating, Paragraph 0031 of Winningstad et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the teachings of Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. to be used by a police officer in a police vehicle as taught by Winningstad et al., because it allows for the police officer to record events during an incident while freely moving around during normal job tasks, Paragraphs 0002-0006 of Winningstad et al.).
3.) Claims 11 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over as Bedell et al. (US Pub No.: 2008/0316314A1) in view of McDonald et al. (US Pub No.: 2013/0170823A1) as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Winningstad (US Patent No.: 5886739).
Regarding Claim 11, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. do not explicitly disclose he portable imaging system of claim 10, wherein the recording component is configured to couple to the article of the clothing and when the camera is coupled to the article of the clothing the recording component is coupled to the article of the clothing. Winningstad teaches of a portable imaging system where a recording component is configured to couple to the article of the clothing and when the camera is coupled to the article of the clothing the recording component is coupled to the article of the clothing,
(Winningstad teaches of a portable video recording system allows an operator to record objects and events while at the same time keeping the person's hands free, and body relatively unencumbered for movement, while performing tasks. The video recording system has separate components that are attached at various locations on the operator to distribute weight of the video recording system over the operator. The video recording system is attached to an operator so that images within the operator's line of sight and within the operator's hearing range are automatically tracked and recorded, Abstract of Winningstad.
Winningstad teaches that a video sensor 24 is attached to a jacket or vest of an operator while the recorder unit 26 that stores the video is also attached to an article of clothing, Column 3, Lines 54-58; Column 5, Lines 15-55 of Winningstad. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the teachings of Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. to a recording component configured to couple to the article of the clothing and when the camera is coupled to the article of the clothing the recording component is coupled to the article of the clothing as taught by Winningstad, because this enables the recording component to be portable and taken to a different location along with the video recording system).
4.) Claims 13 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over as Bedell et al. (US Pub No.: 2008/0316314A1) in view of McDonald et al. (US Pub No.: 2013/0170823A1) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Arringdale et al. (US Pub No.: 2011/0309932A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. do not explicitly disclose the portable imaging system of claim 9, wherein the first coupling device is a clip, and the second coupling device comprises a ball joint. Arringdale et al. teach of an imaging system where a first coupling device has a camera attached to it while a second coupling device has a ball joint, (Arringdale et al. teach of a camera used to identify a driver of a vehicle, Abstract; Paragraph 0054 and Figure 12 of Arringdale et al.. Arringdale et al. teach of a camera body attached to an attachment base 308 (first coupling device) that functions as a clip for holding the camera 314 while the second coupling device (extension 306) includes a ball joint 304, Figure 12; Paragraph 0081 of Arringdale et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to enable the teachings of Bedell et al. and McDonald et al. to incorporate the first coupling device as a clip and the second coupling device as a ball joint as taught by Arringdale et al., because it provides the benefit of adjusting the field of view of the camera by providing a greater range of motion).
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638