DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (“Chen” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2024/0161327 A1).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a method of denoising an input image (paragraph [0003]: using a diffusion model to perform denoising operation), the method comprising: obtaining a diffusion-based probabilistic model that was trained (paragraph [0048]: the diffusion model can be denoising diffusion probabilistic model), using at least one target image (paragraph [0028]: the image with a target scale in figure 7, such as 780 or 790 with a desired resolution may be the claimed “target image”) and at least one conditional image (figure 7, image 725 or figure 12, image 1230 may be the claimed “conditional image”), to perform denoising over a number of denoising steps (as shown in figure 15, a diffusion model will perform denoising process over a number of steps); performing, using the obtained model (diffusion model 770) and a first seed image (image 710), a first sequence of T1 denoising sampling steps based on the input image to generate a first output image that is a first restored image corresponding to the input image (image 780 is generated through a sequence of denoising steps), wherein each denoising sampling step of the first sequence of T1 denoising sampling steps includes generating the first seed image according to a first seed image function (as described in figure 6, steps 640-660 with noise map 740 correspond to the “first seed image function”); and performing, using the obtained model (diffusion model 770) and a second seed image (image 720), a second sequence of T2 denoising sampling steps based on an intermediate image (image 780 and image 725 can both be the intermediate images) generated as a result of the first sequence of T1 denoising sampling steps to generate a second output image (image 790) that is a second restored image corresponding to the input image, wherein each denoising sampling step of the second sequence of T2 denoising sampling steps includes generating a second seed image according to a second seed image function (as shown in figure 6, steps 640-660 with noise map 750 correspond to the claimed “second seed image function”).
As per claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the second seed image function is based on a desired image property of the second output image (Chen teaches the desired image property may be conditioned based on image resolution in paragraph [0028]).
As per claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the desired image property is a desired image resolution (see paragraph [0028] for resolution).
As per claim 4, Chen discloses wherein the desired image property is a desired image noise level (see noise maps 740 and 750).
As per claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the second seed image function includes applying a scalar multiplier to a unit Gaussian noise image (paragraph [0028]: target scale with corresponding Gaussian noise image in paragraph [0040]).
As per claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the second seed image function includes applying a low-pass filter to a unit Gaussian noise image (see paragraph [0040] for Gaussian noise with PDF).
As per claim 7, Chen discloses wherein a value of T2 is set based on a desired image property of the second output image (image scale s in paragraph [0027] is the claimed “value of T2”).
As per claim 8, see explanation in claim 1. The examiner notes Chen’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
As per claim 9, see explanation in claim 2.
As per claim 10, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 11, see explanation in claim 4.
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 6.
As per claim 14, see explanation in claim 7.
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 1. The examiner notes Chen’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a processor and a memory.
As per claim 16, see explanation in claim 2.
As per claim 17, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 18, see explanation in claim 4.
As per claim 19, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 20, see explanation in claim 6.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667