DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “generic face image quality assessment network…to receive”, “fine-tuned vision transformer configured to receive”, “degradation extraction network configured to identify”, “landmark detection network configured to identify”, “transformer decoder configured to process”, “channel attention block…configured to emphasize” and “Swin Transformer…configured to refine” in claims 1, 9 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (“DSL-FIQA: Assessing Facial Image Quality via Dual-Set Degradation Learning and Landmark-Guided Transformer”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. discloses an image quality assessment network, comprising:
a generic face image quality assessment network (“The model contains a core GFIQA network” at Figure 2 description, line 1) having an input configured to receive an image and crop the image into a plurality of patches (“In our approach, face images are cropped into several patches” at Figure 2 description, line 2);
a vision transformer configured to receive and process the plurality of patches (“The image initially undergoes feature extraction [73] via a pre-trained Vision Transformer (ViT)” at section 3.1, line 4);
a degradation extraction network configured to identify and isolate perceptual degradations of the image and provide a degradation representation of image quality degradations of the image (“In parallel, a dedicated module identifies and isolates perceptual degradations within the image, providing a nuanced representation of image quality degradations” at section 3.1, line 10);
a landmark detection network configured to identify facial key points of the image (“A landmark detection network identifies facial key points, influencing the regional confidence evaluation and ensuring that essential facial features improve the final quality score” at section 3.1, third to last paragraph); and
a transformer decoder configured to process the fine-tuned ViT processed patches, the degradation representation, and the facial key points (“The degradation features, once extracted, are integrated with the outputs from the Swin Transformer within a transformer decoder” at section 3.1, line 14; “The encoded information is subsequently concatenated with the features processed by the Transformer Decoder, feeding into the regional confidence branch” at section 3.3, paragraph 3, line 1), and generate a score indicative of a quality of the image (“Finally, these outputs are combined through a weighted sum to determine the overall quality score of the image” at section 3.1, line 22).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose that the vision transformed is fine-tuned.
However, it is well known in the art to take a pre-trained transformer, such as a ViT, and refine the weights prior to full implementation for a new system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fine-tune the ViT to optimize it for use with facial images.
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. discloses a method of using a generic face image quality assessment network having an input configured to receive an image and crop the input image into a plurality of patches, a vision transformer (ViT) configured to receive and process the plurality of patches, a degradation extraction network configured to identify and isolate perceptual degradations of the image and provide a degradation representation of image quality degradations of the image, a landmark detection network configured to identify facial key points of the image, and a transformer decoder configured to process the processed patches, the degradation representation, and the facial key points from the landmark detection network (“Figure 2. Overview of our proposed model. The model contains a core GFIQA network, a degradation extraction network, and a landmark detection network. In our approach, face images are cropped into several patches to fit the input size requirements of the pre-trained ViT feature extractor (See Sec. 3.1). Each patch is then processed individually, and their Mean Opinion Scores (MOS) are averaged to determine the final quality score. For clarity in the figure, the segmentation of the image into patches is not shown.” at Figure 2), the method comprising the steps of:
the GFIQA network receiving an image and cropping the image into a plurality of patches (“In our approach, face images are cropped into several patches” at Figure 2 description, line 2);
the ViT receiving and processing the plurality of patches (“The image initially undergoes feature extraction [73] via a pre-trained Vision Transformer (ViT)” at section 3.1, line 4);
the degradation extraction network identifying and isolating perceptual degradations of the image and providing a degradation representation of image quality degradations of the image (“In parallel, a dedicated module identifies and isolates perceptual degradations within the image, providing a nuanced representation of image quality degradations” at section 3.1, line 10);
the landmark detection network identifying the facial key points of the image (“A landmark detection network identifies facial key points, influencing the regional confidence evaluation and ensuring that essential facial features improve the final quality score” at section 3.1, third to last paragraph); and
the transformer decoder processing the processed patches, the degradation representation, and the facial key points from the landmark detection network (“The degradation features, once extracted, are integrated with the outputs from the Swin Transformer within a transformer decoder” at section 3.1, line 14; “The encoded information is subsequently concatenated with the features processed by the Transformer Decoder, feeding into the regional confidence branch” at section 3.3, paragraph 3, line 1), and generates a score indicative of a quality of the image (“Finally, these outputs are combined through a weighted sum to determine the overall quality score of the image” at section 3.1, line 22).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose that the vision transformed is fine-tuned.
However, it is well known in the art to take a pre-trained transformer, such as a ViT, and refine the weights prior to full implementation for a new system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fine-tune the ViT to optimize it for use with facial images.
Regarding claim 20, Chen et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to process an image (implied that the system is carried out using a programmed computer) using a method by performing the steps of:
a generic face image quality assessment network (“The model contains a core GFIQA network” at Figure 2 description, line 1) receiving an image and cropping the image into a plurality of patches (“In our approach, face images are cropped into several patches” at Figure 2 description, line 2);
a vision transformer receiving and processing the plurality of patches (“The image initially undergoes feature extraction [73] via a pre-trained Vision Transformer (ViT)” at section 3.1, line 4);
a degradation extraction network identifying and isolating perceptual degradations of the image and provide a degradation representation of image quality degradations of the image (“In parallel, a dedicated module identifies and isolates perceptual degradations within the image, providing a nuanced representation of image quality degradations” at section 3.1, line 10);
a landmark detection network identifying facial key points of the image (“A landmark detection network identifies facial key points, influencing the regional confidence evaluation and ensuring that essential facial features improve the final quality score” at section 3.1, third to last paragraph); and
a transformer decoder processing the fine-tuned ViT processed patches, the degradation representation, and the facial key points (“The degradation features, once extracted, are integrated with the outputs from the Swin Transformer within a transformer decoder” at section 3.1, line 14; “The encoded information is subsequently concatenated with the features processed by the Transformer Decoder, feeding into the regional confidence branch” at section 3.3, paragraph 3, line 1), and generate a score indicative of a quality of the image (“Finally, these outputs are combined through a weighted sum to determine the overall quality score of the image” at section 3.1, line 22).
Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose that the vision transformed is fine-tuned.
However, it is well known in the art to take a pre-trained transformer, such as a ViT, and refine the weights prior to full implementation for a new system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fine-tune the ViT to optimize it for use with facial images.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Chen et al. discloses a network and method wherein each of the patches are configured to be processed independently (“Each patch is then processed individually” at Figure 2 description, line 3).
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 15, Chen et al. discloses a network and method wherein the degradation extraction network includes an encoder configured to encode the patches into degradation representations for a query (“In this framework, patches extracted from the same image are positive samples, while those from different images are negative samples. The patches are encoded into degradation representations (x, x+, and x−) for the query, positive, and negative samples” at section 3.2.1, line 3).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Chen et al. discloses a network and method wherein the landmark detection network is configured to influence regional confidence evaluation of essential facial features of the image to improve the score (“A landmark detection network identifies facial key points, influencing the regional confidence evaluation and ensuring that essential facial features improve the final quality score” at section 3.1, third to last paragraph).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Chen et al. discloses a network and method wherein the score is an average of scores of independently processed patches (“Instead, we crop the image, process each part independently, and average the resulting MOS predictions for a consolidated image quality score” at section 3.1, second to last paragraph, line 5).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. discloses a network wherein each processed patch comprises a mean opinion score (“their Mean Opinion Scores (MOS) are averaged” at Figure 2 description, line 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Chen et al. discloses a network and method wherein the GFIQA network includes an extractor configured to crop the input images to fit fixed input dimensions of the fine-tuned ViT (“In our approach, face images are cropped into several patches to fit the input size requirements of the pre-trained ViT feature extractor” at Figure 2 description, line 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Chen et al. discloses a network and method wherein the degradation extraction network is configured to operate in parallel and simultaneously identify and isolate the perceptual degradations of the image while the GFIQA network processes the image (“Feature Extraction and Refinement: The image initially undergoes feature extraction [73] via a pre-trained Vision Transformer (ViT) [14], followed by a Channel Attention Block [23] that emphasizes relevant inter-channel dependencies. Subsequently, a Swin Transformer Block [40] refines these features, capturing subtle image details. Degradation Extraction: In parallel, a dedicated module identifies and isolates perceptual degradations within the image, providing a nuanced representation of image quality degradations. Feature Integration” at section 3.1, line 4).
Regarding claim 9, Chen et al. discloses a network further comprising a channel attention block coupled to the fine-tuned ViT and configured to emphasize relevant inter-channel dependencies (“The image initially undergoes feature extraction [73] via a pre-trained Vision Transformer (ViT) [14], followed by a Channel Attention Block [23] that emphasizes relevant inter-channel dependencies” at section 3.1, line 4).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al. discloses a network further comprising a Swin Transformer coupled to the attention block and configured to refine features and capture subtle image details (“Subsequently, a Swin Transformer Block [40] refines these features, capturing subtle image details” at section 3.1, line 8).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al. discloses a network wherein the transformer decoder comprises two multi-layer perceptron branches, including a first branch configured to predict a regional confidence, and a second branch configured to estimate a regional quality score (“The combined features are then directed into two MLP branches. The first branch predicts the regional confidence, while the second estimates the regional quality score” at section 3.1, line 19).
Conclusion
/KATRINA R FUJITA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672