DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected as being indefinite as the claim nor specification specifically discloses “a range” with respect to “a range of presence of an obstruction in space”. “range of presence” is not a standard term and is not expressly defined. Instead, it would appear applicant generally means the spatial region in which objections are presented or detected. General support for this feature can be found in e.g., paragraphs [0054] and [0111] of applicant’s specification. If this is what applicant actually means (the spatial region in which objections are presented or detected), then they should amend the claims accordingly.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 are further rejected as they do not cure the above cited deficiency for the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0172302 A1 to RAKSHIT in view of US 12360250 B1 to SENANT
Note: All citations drawn to RAKSHIT unless otherwise specified.
In the independent claims
As to claim 1, RAKSHIT teaches a communication device (Computer 101 that includes Connectivity Maintenance Program 150) comprising:
a non-terrestrial network communication unit configured to connect to a non-terrestrial network (See Fig. 3: Remote Systems 370 and External Data 360. See also [0036] with respect to satellite data = non-terrestrial network. See also [0042-43] with respect to satellite connection);
a sensor unit (See Fig. 3:310 and Fig. 4:310/380 as well as [0038]); and
a control unit (See Fig. 3:330 data analyzer and 340 coordinator), wherein the control unit is configured to
acquire, via the sensor unit, presence information regarding a range of presence of an obstruction in space including an outgoing or incoming direction of radio waves during communication via the non-terrestrial network communication unit, and
RAKSHIT discloses obtaining sensor information in order to determine obstructions in space, including line of sight blockage with satellite (see e.g., [0038]).
RAKSHIT does not expressly disclose acquiring an outgoing or incoming direction of radio waves during communication via the non-terrestrial communication unit as part of this process.
SENANT though teaches that sensor data can contain LiDAR data (see e.g., Fig. 4: sensor system(s) 406 as it relates to col. 2, ll. 65- col. 3, ll. 24 with respect to sensor data and Lidar data. See also col. 6, ll. 18-32), thus, teaching a range of presence of an obstruction in space including an outgoing or incoming direction of radio waves during communication via the non-terrestrial network communication unit (see further col. 9, ll. 49 to col. 10, ll. 36 with respect to area and boundaries which broadly reads on “a range of presence” as claimed. Here again satellite == non-terrestrial communication unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RAKSHIT, which teaches using all kinds of sensors and sensor data and apply it to teaching of clarifying that sensor data can further include LiDAR data as taught by SENANT. Doing so allows to allows for safe-making decision systems used for prediction (SENANT col. 55, ll. 26-40). Examiner notes reasonable expectation of success given both references detail with line of sight and sensor data.
perform a process based on a line of sight in which the radio waves are transmittable and receivable between the non-terrestrial network communication unit and the non-terrestrial network in the space, the line of sight being estimated from the acquired presence information (both references teach performing a LOS process as claimed. RAKSHIT teaches the performed process as the prediction engine 410. See e.g., [0038]. Note that as the device is in communication with satellites, “radio waves” are transmittable\receivable and used to improve LOS relative to a vehicle position or presence. SENANT also teaches the performed process in col. 5, ll. 6 to 40).
As to claim 9, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches a communication method comprising: acquiring, by a computer, presence information regarding a range of presence of an obstruction in space including an outgoing or incoming direction of radio waves during communication via a non-terrestrial network communication unit configured to connect to a non-terrestrial network; and performing, by the computer, a process based on a line of sight in which the radio waves are transmittable and receivable between the non-terrestrial network communication unit and the non-terrestrial network in the space, the line of sight being estimated from the acquired presence information. See similar rejection to claim 1 where device performs the method.
As to claim 17, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches a non-transitory storage medium (See e.g., Fig. 1: volatile memory 112) storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors (See e.g., Fig. 1: processing circuity 120)and that cause the one or more processors to perform functions comprising: acquiring presence information regarding a range of presence of an obstruction in space including an outgoing or incoming direction of radio waves during communication via a non-terrestrial network communication unit configured to connect to a non-terrestrial network; and performing a process based on a line of sight in which the radio waves are transmittable and receivable between the non-terrestrial network communication unit and the non-terrestrial network in the space, the line of sight being estimated from the acquired presence information. See similar rejection to claim 1 where device performs the computer functions.
In the dependent claims:
As to claim 2, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 1, wherein: the communication device is mounted on a moving object; and the control unit is configured to repeatedly estimate the line of sight in a time section from a current time to a future time as the moving object moves, the future time being a predetermined amount of time from the current time (see e.g., [0040] of RAKSHIT. Given the satellite connection is continuously maintained, the processing is performed as the vehicle moves through the system [0043]. Separately, see also col. 4, ll. 59 – col. 5, ll. 40 of SENANT with respect to future processing and col. 6, ll. 16-33 with respect to mounting.).
As to claim 3, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 1, further comprising a terrestrial network communication unit configured to connect to a terrestrial network, wherein the control unit is configured to receive location or predicted location information of a non-terrestrial network radio station in the space in advance via the terrestrial network and estimate the line of sight by reflecting the location or predicted location information received in advance (see e.g., Fig. 2:204 and 206 and paragraph [0040-41] of RAKSHIT where the terrestrial network is a secondary vehicle).
As to claim 4, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to estimate the line of sight based on the presence information acquired from a device that performs sensing processing or an information processing device that accumulates information collected in a past by the device (see e.g., paragraph [0037] with respect to historical dataset).
As to claim 5, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit is configured to estimate the line of sight based on information acquired from the information processing device and real-time information acquired from the device (see e.g., paragraph [0043] with respect to real-time data).
As to claim 6, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 3, wherein the control unit is configured to switch between the communication via the non-terrestrial network communication unit and communication via the terrestrial network communication unit based on the estimated line of sight (see e.g., Fig. 2:204 and 206 and paragraph [0040-41] of RAKSHIT where the terrestrial network is a secondary vehicle).
As to claim 7, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 3, wherein the control unit is configured to use both the communication via the non-terrestrial network communication unit and communication via the terrestrial network communication unit (see e.g., paragraph [0043] of RAKSHIT where nearby secondary vehicles can be via the terrestrial network).
As to claim 8, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to estimate the line of sight based on a rainfall condition in the space. (see e.g., paragraph [0036] of RAKSHIT where whether conditions == rainfall conditions).
As to claim 10, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to claim 9, wherein the non-terrestrial network communication unit is mounted on a moving object, the communication method further comprising repeatedly estimating, by the computer, the line of sight in a time section from a current time to a future time as the moving object moves, the future time being a predetermined amount of time from the current time. See similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 11, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to claim 9, further comprising: receiving location or predicted location information of a non-terrestrial network radio station in the space in advance via a terrestrial network; and estimating the line of sight by reflecting the location or predicted location information received in advance. See similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 12, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to
claim 9, further comprising estimating the line of sight based on the presence information acquired from a device that performs sensing processing or an information processing device that accumulates information collected in a past by the device. See similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 13, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to claim 12, wherein the estimating includes estimating the line of sight based on information acquired from the information processing device and real-time information acquired from the device. See similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 14, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to claim 11, further comprising switching between the communication via the non-terrestrial network communication unit and communication via a terrestrial network communication unit configured to connect to the terrestrial network, based on the estimated line of sight. See similar rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 15, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to claim 11, further comprising using both the communication via the non-terrestrial network communication unit and communication via a terrestrial network communication unit configured to connect to the terrestrial network. See similar rejection to claim 7.
As to claim 16, RAKSHIT in combination with SENANT teaches the communication method according to claim 9, further comprising estimating the line of sight based on a rainfall condition in the space. See similar rejection to claim 8.
Conclusion
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411