DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/23/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim 1, 2, 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Sparks et al. (Hereinafter “Sparks”, US 20100075669).
Regarding to Claim 1, 11, and 17: Sparks discloses: A system for managing network accessibility of a user equipment (UE) in a communications network, the system comprising: (i.e., According to yet another aspect, the subject matter described herein includes a system for providing dynamic steering or roaming in a telecommunications network. As described in paragraph [0016]).
a network device comprising one or more processors; and
a non-transitory computer-readable media comprising executable instructions that, when executed, causes the network device to perform operations in a communication network, comprising: (i.e., In one exemplary implementation, the subject matter described herein may be implemented using a computer readable medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions that when executed by the processor of a computer control the processor to perform steps. As described in paragraph [0017]).
receiving, at the network device, an indication to initiate a logic flow; (i.e., The network element also includes a steering and roaming module for receiving, from the communications interface, a first message sent by a mobile telecommunications device associated with a subscriber of a home network carrier, the first message including information associated with a network carrier that is different from the home network carrier, As described in paragraph [0014]).
retrieving, by the network device during the logic flow, device information associated with the UE and subscriber information associated with the UE; (i.e., The information identifying the roaming network carrier may then used by the device to update a preferred roaming list on the device and/or to select a preferred roaming network carrier for the device. As described in paragraph [0014]). and
based on the device information and subscriber information, modifying one or more roaming attributes of the UE. (i.e., In FIG. 5, SOR gateway 102 sends a network selection list update message to device 104. At block 606, device 104 may then update its preferred roaming list such that MVNO becomes the preferred roaming carrier. SOR gateway 102 may issue a second notification message 608 to the subscriber's home network. As described in paragraph [0063]).
Regarding to Claim 2: Sparks discloses: wherein the network device comprises a Home Subscriber Server (HSS). (i.e., In one embodiment, the first notification message may be sent to a mobility management node within the subscriber's home network, such as a home location register (HLR) or home subscriber server (HSS), to inform the home network carrier of the change of preferred roaming network carrier, e.g., the change made to the PRL. As described in paragraph [0034]).
Regarding to Claim 3: Sparks discloses: wherein the indication comprises a device and/or network registration of the UE. (i.e., In one embodiment, the first notification message may be sent to a mobility management node within the subscriber's home network, such as a home location register (HLR) or home subscriber server (HSS), to inform the home network carrier of the change of preferred roaming network carrier, e.g., the change made to the PRL. As described in paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 6, 12, 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sparks et al. (Hereinafter “Sparks”, US 20100075669), in view of Pudney et al. (Hereinafter “Pudney”, US 20110021216.)
Regarding claim 4, 12, 14 and 18: Sparks discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
wherein the device information comprises an International Mobile Equipment Identity and Software Version (IMEISV) of the UE.
In similarly endeavor, Pudney discloses:
wherein the device information comprises an International Mobile Equipment Identity and Software Version (IMEISV) of the UE. (i.e., The MME 24 is also modified so that it adds the mobile terminal's current E-UTRAN Global Cell ID, current TAI, mobile terminal's Circuit Switched "classmark" and mobile terminal's IMEISV into all SGsAP UPLINK UNITDATA messages. As described in paragraph [0180]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Pudney into the invention of Sparks in order to provide a smooth transition of the devices into new service provider.
Regarding claim 5, Pudney also discloses: wherein the IMEISV is retrieved from an equipment identity register (EIR) in the communications network. (i.e., The MME 24 is also modified so that it adds the mobile terminal's current E-UTRAN Global Cell ID, current TAI, mobile terminal's Circuit Switched "classmark" and mobile terminal's IMEISV into all SGsAP UPLINK UNITDATA messages. As described in paragraph [0180]).
Regarding claim 6, and 13, Pudney also discloses: wherein the subscriber information comprises an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) associated with the UE. (i.e., Each subscriber to the network is provided with a smart card or SIM card 20 which, when associated with the user's mobile device 1 identifies the subscriber to the network. The SIM card is pre-programmed with a unique identification number, the "International Mobile Subscriber Identity" (IMSI) that is not visible on the card and is not known to the subscriber. The subscriber is issued with a publicly known number, that is, the subscriber's telephone number, using which callers initiate calls to the subscriber. This number is the MSISDN. As described in paragraph [0047]).
Claims 8, 9, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sparks et al. (Hereinafter “Sparks”, US 20100075669), in view of MITTAL et al. (Hereinafter “Mittal”, US 20140051422).
Regarding claim 8, Mittal also discloses: wherein modifying the one or more roaming attributes comprises modifying a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) of the UE. (i.e., In an embodiment, the SIM applet 212 may implement one or more functions that may be invoked in response to the modem module 206 communicating with the SIM 212. For example, the SIM applet 212 may implement a write function (e.g., write HPLMN function) that may be invoked each time the modem module 206 requests to write information (e.g., HPLMN information) to the SIM 210. As described in paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mittal into the invention of Sparks in order to provide a smooth transition of the devices into new service provider.
Regarding claim 9, 16, and 20, Mittal also discloses: wherein modifying the one or more roaming attributes comprises converting a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) of the UE to a roaming PLMN. (i.e., [0067] In various embodiments, the connectivity services client 202 may invoke, either directly or indirectly, one or more functions in SIM applet 210 to cause the SIM applet 210 set the HPLMN value 406 and/or the MCC/MNC values of the local IMSI value 402 to be equal to the values contained in the received network MCC/MNC values 414. As described in paragraph [0067]).
Claims 7, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sparks et al. (Hereinafter “Sparks”, US 20100075669), in view of Pudney et al. (Hereinafter “Pudney”, US 20110021216), and further in view of MITTAL et al. (Hereinafter “Mittal”, US 20140051422).
Regarding claim 7, 15, and 19, Sparks and Pudney disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
wherein modifying the one or more roaming attributes comprises modifying a Mobile Country Code (MCC) and/or a Mobile Network Code (MNC) within the IMSI.
In similarly endeavor, Mittal discloses:
wherein modifying the one or more roaming attributes comprises modifying a Mobile Country Code (MCC) and/or a Mobile Network Code (MNC) within the IMSI. (i.e., In an embodiment, when the mobile device 102 determines that the received network MCC/MNC values do not match the HPLMN value stored on the mobile device SIM 210, the modem module 206 (e.g., the modem 206a) may scan the available networks to identify a participating network (i.e., a network having preexisting agreement with the mobile device, chip, or software manufacturer) through which the mobile device 102 may connect to the global telecommunication network 326. When a participating network is identified, the mobile device 102 may receive a new network MCC/MNC values from the identified network. As described in paragraph [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mittal into the invention of Sparks and Pudney in order to provide a smooth transition of the devices into new service provider.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sparks et al. (Hereinafter “Sparks”, US 20100075669), in view of Liu et al. (Hereinafter “Liu”, US 20140003350);
Regarding claim 10, Sparks discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
wherein modifying the one or more roaming attributes comprises adding a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) of the UE to an unauthorized roaming list.
In similarly endeavor, Liu discloses:
wherein modifying the one or more roaming attributes comprises adding a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) of the UE to an unauthorized roaming list. (i.e., if the modification request of the HPLMN is to restrict all terminals in the HPLMN from accessing the CSG in the VPLMN, the CSS may check whether Table 2 already includes the network identification information of the HPLMN, and if the network identification information of the HPLMN is not included, the CSS adds the network identification information of the HPLMN to Table 2, and deletes, from the CSS, an ACL corresponding to all terminals belonging to the HPLMN, or deletes, from the CSG member list, identification information of a terminal belonging to the HPLMN. If the modification request is to restore rights of all terminals in an HPLMN for accessing the CSG in the VPLMN, the CSS may delete the network identification information of the HPLMN from Table 2. As described in paragraph [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Liu into the invention of Sparks in order to provide a smooth transition of the devices into new service provider.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644