Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 13 recite “and updating (i) an SRS relation enabler (SRE) table based on an automatic neighbor relationship (ANR), (ii) an automatic SRS relation enabler (ASRE) table, or (iii) both, based on the measurement result, the SRE table storing cell-based information and the ASRE table storing user equipment based information.” It is unclear whether items (I,(ii), and (iii) recite three alternative updating operations, whether “based on the measurement result” applies to each alternative, or whether the claim requires a combined operation involving both tables. Accordingly, the scope of the updating limitation is uncertain.
The examiner interprets (i), (ii), and (iii) as alternatives, such that the claimed operation may update the SRE table or the ASRE table or both, based on the measurement result. The prior art rejection is applied using that interpretation. However, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shankaranarayanan et al. US 20230308959 A1 (hereinafter Shankaranarayanan ) , in view of Kim et al. US 20130189976 A1 (hereinafter Kim) , in further view Zhao et al. US 20150349854 A1 (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Shankaranarayanan teaches
A system comprising: one or more data processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing instructions which, when executed on the one or more data processors, cause the one or more data processors to perform operations including:
receiving a measurement report (radio signal quality measurements) from a user equipment;
(“a system for managing a plurality of neighbor cells of each target cell is configured to capture radio signal quality measurements from a plurality of user equipments (UEs) associated with a target cell” [0023] “each E2 node (could be DU or CU (512)), preferably the CU (512) capture radio signal quality measurements from the plurality of user equipments (UEs) (324a1, 324a2, 324a3) associated with a target cell.”[0139] “the E2 node receives the UE reports (e.g., NR-CGI, PCI, RSRP measurements) for each neighbor cell (354b, 354c, 354d).”[0154] “Further, the UE reports the PCI of the detected cells in the target RATs/frequencies. When the gNB or eNB receives the UE reports containing PCIs of cell(s)… The eNB/gNB updates its inter-RAT/inter-frequency neighbor relation table after receiving relevant information from the UE.”[0008])
forwarding a measurement result including status of signal strengths of a serving cell and a neighboring cell to a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (Near-Real-Time Radio Access Network intelligent Controller (Near-RTRIC));
( “report the radio signal quality measurements for all subscribed target cells to at least one xApp in connection with a Near-Real-Time Radio Access Network intelligent Controller (Near-RTRIC) by the CU” [0023] “the radio signal quality measurements are associated with each of the plurality of neighbor cells.”[0024] “the CU (512) reports the radio signal quality measurements for all subscribed target cells to at least one xApp (406) that is in connection with the Near-RTRIC (314). The CU (512) is in connection with the Near-RTRIC (314) over the E2 interface.”[0139] “the E2 node sends an ANR report for the serving cell (354a) to the near-RTRIC (314)… the ANR report for cell i contains a 3-tuple (e.g., NR-CGI, PCI and RSRP(s)) for each neighbor cell (354b, 354c, 354d) that the UEs (324a1, 324a2, 324a3), who are camped on to cell i, has visibility to.”[0154]” signal strength measurements reported by a plurality of user equipments (UEs) to the target cell” [0018] “Reference signal received power (RSRP): RSRP may be defined as the linear average over the power contributions (in [W]) of the resource elements that carry cell-specific reference signals”[0112] )
and updating (i) an SRS relation enabler (SRE) table based on an automatic neighbor relationship (ANR), (ii) an automatic SRS relation enabler (ASRE) table, or (iii) both, based on the measurement result, the SRE table storing cell-based information and the ASRE table storing user equipment based information.
The rejection below addresses the claimed alternative: updating (i) an SRS relation enabler (SRE) table based on an automatic neighbor relationship (ANR),… based on the measurement result, the SRE table storing cell-based information.
updating based on the measurement result (ANR report), the
(“For each neighbor cell j in the ANR report, the ANR-xApp (406) performs an optional short-term average of the RSRP measurements to get a single RSRP value”[0155] “the ANR-xApp (406) marks the neighbor(s) on the bad neighbor list as ‘removed’ in RIC NRT for cell i. Further, the ANR-xApp (406) sends the NR control message over the E2 interface to the E2 node of the serving cell i, listing all the neighbors that need to be updated (removed or added) by the E2 node for cell i.”[0158] “the E2 node tries to update its NRT for cell i based on the E2 NR control message.”[0160])
Shankaranarayanan fails to expressly teach updating (i) an SRS relation enabler (SRE) table… based on the measurement result, the SRE table storing cell-based information. However Kim teaches updating (i) an SRS relation enabler (SRE) table… based on the measurement result (based on a MR message), the SRE table storing cell-based information
(“the control unit 500 calculates a MR count of respective neighbor cells based on a MR message received from a terminal, and updates an SRS NRT that is a table including a neighbor cell list for SRS resource allocation of the BS.” [0070] “the SRS NRT includes cell IDs of neighbor cells and SRS resource allocation information of the neighbor cells.”[0072])
Shankaranarayanan fail to expressly teach updating measurement configuration based on the measurement report. However Zhao teaches updating measurement configuration (CSI-RS configuration/ CoMP measurement set ) based on the measurement report (RSRP and/or RSRQ measurement result).
(“The hardware modules in the respective embodiments can be embodied mechanically or electrically. For example, a hardware module can include a specifically designed permanent circuit or logic device (e.g., a dedicated processor including an FPGA or an ASIC) configured to perform particular operations. The hardware module can also include a programmable logic device or circuit (including a general-purpose processor or another programmable processor) temporarily configured in software to perform particular operations. The hardware module being embodied mechanically or in a dedicated permanent circuit or in a circuit temporarily configured (e.g., configured in software) can be decided particularly taking time and cost factors into account.”[0199]“The cell_1 determines from the RSRP/RSRQ measurement results whether to enable CoMP, and if CoMP is determined to be enabled, then the cell_1 further needs to determine a CoMP measurement set. The CoMP measurement set can be determined under a number of criteria; for example, the cells with the highest RSRP or RSRQ are selected according to the limited size of the CoMP measurement set. Furthermore the cell_1 further needs to determine CSI-RS configuration for CSI measurement in the CoMP measurement set after determining the CoMP measurement set.”[0069] “Furthermore the cell_1 can further adjust the CoMP measurement set according to the RSRP and/or RSRQ measurement result”[0093])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Zhao’s report driven determination or adjustments of a CoMP measurement set and associated CRI-RS measurement configuration into combined teachings, and to further incorporate Kim’s SRS neighbor relation table containing neighboring cell identifiers and SRS resource allocation information into Shankaranarayanan’s RIC based ANR system, because doing so would adapt subsequent measurements based on prior UE reported signal quality results while coordinating SRS relationships and SRS resource allocation among neighboring cells, thereby improving measurement efficiency, reducing SRS resource conflicts, and enhancing neighbor cell management. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include Kim’s SRS related fields in Shankaranarayanan ANR managed NRT so that the same measurement driven neighbor management process could also coordinate SRS relationships and SRS resource availability for the identified neighboring cells.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches
wherein the SRE table is updated to change a status of an SRS resource allocation of the user equipment (serving terminals) in a cell.
(“each BS receives an allocation of an SRS pool index representing SRS resources to be used in a cell area from a system controller, and allocates SRS resources within an SRS resource range corresponding to the allocated SRS pool index to serving terminals.”[0005] ”the BS may change the SRS resource used by the terminal so that there is at least one SRS pool that is not allocated to the terminal” [0046] “the system controller 202 updates SRS resource allocation information representing the SRS resources allocated to the BS 200” [0038] “the system controller 202 deletes the return-requested SRS pool index from the SRS resource allocation information of the BS 200 to update the SRS resource allocation information of the BS 200”[0039] “the SRS NRT includes IDs of neighbor cells considered to determine an SRS, and SRS resource allocation information of the respective neighbor cells.”[0049])
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches
wherein the SRE table is an extension of a neighbor relation table as defined in the 3GPP.
(“constructs a Sounding Reference Signal Neighbor Relation Table (SRS NRT) including a neighbor cell list for SRS resource allocation. As an example, the SRS NRT includes IDs of neighbor cells considered to determine an SRS, and SRS resource allocation information of the respective neighbor cells.” [0049])
Regarding claim 7, Shankaranarayanan teaches
wherein the
( “the Near-RT RIC (314)/ANR-xApp (406) keeps its version of NRT for each cell in its Radio-Network Information Base (R-NIB) ”[0142]” the ANR-xApp (406) modifies its NRTs and sends the modification to the relevant E2 node(s) via an E2 NR control.”[0144] ” The ANR-xApp (406) puts neighbor cell j in the NRT of the serving cell (354a) specified in the E2 ANR report if RSRP_anr(j)>NRT_ADD_Threshold”[0155])
Shankaranarayanan fails to teach SRE table is updated . Thus Kim is added, Kim teaches SRE table is updated.
(“the base station updates a rank of a neighbor cell based on a Measurement Report (MR) message received from a terminal connected to the BS, selects a predetermined number of neighbor cells according to the updated neighbor cell rank, and constructs a Sounding Reference Signal Neighbor Relation Table (SRS NRT) including a neighbor cell list for SRS resource allocation.”[0049] “the BS performs update such that the neighbor cells included in the SRS NRT constructed in step 313 are included instead of the neighbor cells included in the SRS NRT at a previous update time point”[0053])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Zhao’s report driven determination or adjustments of a CoMP measurement set and associated CRI-RS measurement configuration into combined teachings, and to further incorporate Kim’s SRS neighbor relation table containing neighboring cell identifiers and SRS resource allocation information into Shankaranarayanan’s RIC based ANR system, because doing so would adapt subsequent measurements based on prior UE reported signal quality results while coordinating SRS relationships and SRS resource allocation among neighboring cells, thereby improving measurement efficiency, reducing SRS resource conflicts, and enhancing neighbor cell management. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include Kim’s SRS related fields in Shankaranarayanan ANR managed NRT and Zhao’s report driven determination so that the same measurement driven neighbor management process could also coordinate SRS relationships and SRS resource availability for the identified neighboring cells.
Regarding claim 8, Shankaranarayanan teaches
wherein the SRE table is updated by an open-central unit (O-CU) stack in a base station.
(“the O-CU is a disaggregated O-CU and includes two sub-components: O-CU-CP (316) and O-CU-UP (318).”[0120] ” The Near-RTRIC (314) connects to the O-CU-CP (316), the O-CU-UP (318), and the O-DU (320) (combinedly called as an E2 node) with the E2 interface for data collection.”[0128] “E2 node (could be DU or CU) reports its NRT and aggregated ANR reports from its UE(s) (324a1, 324a2, 324a3, 324b, 324c, 324d) for each cell (354a, 354b, 354c, 354d) to the Near-RT RIC (314)”[0142] “if the E2 node receives the NR control message from the Near-RT RIC (314), the E2 node may try to update the neighbor(s) in its NRT based on the NR Control message”[0156])
Regarding claim 13,
claim 13 reflects method for implementing the System in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 14 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 18 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 9-12, 15, 19 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shankaranarayanan in view of Zhao and Kim, and further view of Yi et al., US 20170181051 A1 (Hereinafter Yi )
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches
wherein the
(“the BS may change the SRS resource used by the terminal so that there is at least one SRS pool that is not allocated to the terminal” [0046])
Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao and Kim fails to teach ASRE table is updated. Thus Yi is added. Yi teaches ASRE table (terminal's neighbor cell information table) is updated
(“a method of performing a cooperative transmission or a handover by a base station in a mobile communication system having a plurality of cells. The method includes receiving a parameter from a terminal, configuring a terminal's neighbor cell information table by using the parameter, and configuring a cooperative cell cluster table by using the terminal's neighbor cell information table.”[0010] “The method may further include updating by the base station the terminal's neighbor cell information table and the cooperative cell cluster table by using the parameter.”[0013])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Yi’s updated terminal specific neighbor cell information table with Kim’s UE SRS allocation status and Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao so that the network would maintain current mobility and SRS resource information for each UE in a single record, predictably improving per UE resource management.
Regarding claim 9, Yi teaches
wherein the ASRE table (terminal's neighbor cell information table) is updated to track candidate user equipment, the candidate user equipment being one or more user equipment that can execute a handover from the serving cell to the neighboring cell.
(“a method of performing a cooperative transmission or a handover by a base station in a mobile communication system having a plurality of cells. The method includes receiving a parameter from a terminal, configuring a terminal's neighbor cell information table by using the parameter, and configuring a cooperative cell cluster table by using the terminal's neighbor cell information table.”[0010] “The method may further include updating by the base station the terminal's neighbor cell information table and the cooperative cell cluster table by using the parameter.”[0013] “The processor may perform a handover upon satisfying a triggering condition for performing the handover on the basis of the cooperative cell cluster table”[0019]” if a triggering condition for performing a handover is satisfied (S1450), the BS performs the handover”[0153] “R.sup.n.sub.1,1 is a current RSSI value of a neighbor cell, R.sup.s.sub.1,1 is an RSSI value of a serving cell, i.e., an anchor cell, and Δr.sub.1,2,Δr.sub.2,3 are relative distance variations between the UE and the BS.”[0143] )
Regarding claim 10, Yi teaches
wherein a candidate row of the ASRE table (configuring a terminal's neighbor cell information table) identifies a first cell, a second cell, a first user equipment
(“The method includes receiving a parameter from a terminal, configuring a terminal's neighbor cell information table by using the parameter, and configuring a cooperative cell cluster table by using the terminal's neighbor cell information table.”[0010] “”The terminal's neighbor cell information table and the cooperative cell cluster table may include at least one of strength of a signal transmitted from the base station to the terminal, a magnitude order of the signal strength, a variation Δr.sub.x,y of a distance, and a variation” [0014] “the triggering condition for performing the handover may be defined by Equation 13… R.sup.n.sub.1,1 is a current RSSI value of a neighbor cell, R.sup.s.sub.1,1 is an RSSI value of a serving cell,”[0142 - 0143] ).
Yi fails to teach an SRS allocation of the first user equipment being enabled. However Kim teaches an SRS allocation of the first user equipment being enabled.
(“The apparatus includes a transmitting/receiving unit for transmitting/receiving signals, and a control unit for receiving an allocation of SRS resources from a system controller, allocating SRS resources to connected terminals that are connected to the BS”[0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, for Yi’s UE specific serving/neighbor cel record to store Kim’s enabled UE SRS allocation status and Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao so that the network could identify the candidate UE, the relevant cell relationship, and the SRS resources available to support the contemplated handover in a single record.
Regarding claim 11, Yi teaches
wherein the ASRE table (neighbor cell information table) is updated to track equipment
(“The method may further include updating by the base station the terminal's neighbor cell information table and the cooperative cell cluster table by using the parameter.”[0013]” FIG. 11 illustrates an example of configuring each UE's neighbor cell information table used by a BS to create each UE's cooperative cell cluster table”[0130])
Yi fails to teach dropped user equipment, the dropped user equipment being one or more user equipment where an SRS allocation is disabled. However Kim teaches dropped user equipment, the dropped user equipment being one or more user equipment where an SRS allocation is disabled.
(“The method includes receiving an allocation of SRS resources from a system controller, allocating SRS resources to connected terminals that are connected to the BS, determining a number of residual SRS resources varying according to the number of connected terminals, and transmitting one of an additional SRS resource allocation request and an allocated SRS resource return request to the system controller according to the number of residual SRS resources.”[0015] “When receiving the return request, the system controller 202 deletes the return-requested SRS pool index from the SRS resource allocation information of the BS 200 to update the SRS resource allocation information of the BS 200,”[0039] “the BS may change the SRS resource used by the terminal so that there is at least one SRS pool that is not allocated to the terminal, and request the return of an SRS pool with respect to the SRS pool that is not allocated to the terminal.”[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that when Kim’s UE SRS allocation becomes unallocated or is removed Yi’s terminal specific table is updated and Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao so that the network could maintain a current record of UEs that no longer have an active SRS resources and avoid relying on unavailable allocations.
Regarding claim 12, Yi teaches
wherein a terminal's neighbor cell information table) identifies at least one cell and one user equipment.
(“wherein the processor is configured for controlling the transceiver to receive a parameter from a terminal, configuring a terminal's neighbor cell information table by using the parameter, and configuring a cooperative cell cluster table by using the terminal's neighbor cell information table.”[0017] “The method may further include updating by the base station the terminal's neighbor cell information table and the cooperative cell cluster table by using the parameter.”[0013]).
Yi fails to teach dropped user equipment. However Kim teaches dropped user equipment.
(“when there is an SRS pool that is not allocated to a terminal due to the movement of the terminal to another cell, the BS may request the return of an SRS pool index with respect to the relevant SRS pool.”[0046] “When receiving the return request, the system controller 202 deletes the return-requested SRS pool index from the SRS resource allocation information of the BS 200 to update the SRS resource allocation information of the BS 200,”[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, for when Kim’s corresponding UE SRS allocation is removed Yi’s UE specific record is designated as drooped and Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao so that the system would retain identification of the affected UE and its associated cell while distinguishing that UE from UEs having active SRS allocation.
Regarding claim 15,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 15 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 19 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 20 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 11 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4-5, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shankaranarayanan in view of Zhao and Kim, and further view of Roy et al., US 20220007239 A1 (Hereinafter Roy ) and further view of Pan et al., US 20240267822 A1 (Hereinafter Pan )
Regarding claim 4, Roy teaches
wherein executing the instructions further causes the one or more data processors to perform operations including: receiving a notification from the user equipment (UE 301) that a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration (RRC connection reconfiguration message) is completed;
(“UE 301 receives an RRC connection reconfiguration message from gNB 302 for performing channel measurements. The RRC connection reconfiguration comprises measurement configuration for both measurement object configuration and report configuration. In step 313, UE 301 sends an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to eNB 302.” [0026])
receiving, from the user equipment, signal strengths (signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ)) of the neighboring cell and the serving cell relative to the user equipment;
(“UE 301 performs measurements based on the configured measurement object configuration. In step 322, UE 301 reports measurement results to gNB 302 based on the report configuration. The measurement reporting may be triggered by EventTriggerConfig, which includes Event A1-A6. For inter-RAT handover, the measurement reporting may be triggered by ReportConfigInterRAT, which includes Event B1 and B2. Finally, in step 331, gNB 302 makes handover or inter-RAT handover decisions using the reported measurement results from UE 301.”[0026] ” handover decisions are made based on the measurement results on signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of the serving cell and neighbor cells.”[0020])
Roy fails to teach providing a second RRC reconfiguration to the user equipment, the second RRC reconfiguration including a handover request with the neighboring cell being a target cell. However Pan teaches providing a second RRC reconfiguration to the user equipment, the second RRC reconfiguration including a handover request (HandoverCommand) with the neighboring cell being a target cell (second network-side device).
(“ The first network-side device sends RRC reconfiguration information to the UE, including the second uplink positioning SRS configuration determined by the second network-side device. The UE hands over to the second network-side device through a physical random access channel (PRACH) based on RRC reconfiguration information.” [0223] “The first network-side device sends a handover request to the second network-side device, where the handover request includes a first uplink positioning SRS configuration, an uplink positioning SRS configuration maintenance request indication, a requested SRS configuration request sent by the LMF and used for configuring the first uplink positioning SRS configuration, an LMF routing ID, an NRPPa transaction ID, and the like.”[0221] “If it can be still used, a reconfiguration in HandoverCommand includes the first uplink positioning SRS configuration; or if it cannot be used any longer, a new second uplink positioning SRS configuration is generated based on the requested SRS configuration, and the configuration in HandoverCommand includes the second uplink positioning SRS configuration. ”[0222]).
Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao and Kim
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, incorporate Pan’s handover signaling procedure with Roy’s ordered measurement procedure into the Shankaranarayanan as modified by Zhao and Kim system so that the network confirms completion of the UE’s measurement configuration before relying on the reported serving cell and neighboring cell measurements and then implements the resulting handover decision through a subsequent UE directed RRC reconfiguration to the selected target cell, thereby improving the reliability and execution of measurement based handover.
Regarding claim 5, Pan teaches
wherein the second RRC reconfiguration further includes an SRS configuration.
(“If it can be still used, a reconfiguration in HandoverCommand includes the first uplink positioning SRS configuration; or if it cannot be used any longer, a new second uplink positioning SRS configuration is generated based on the requested SRS configuration, and the configuration in HandoverCommand includes the second uplink positioning SRS configuration. ”[0222] “The first network-side device sends RRC reconfiguration information to the UE, including the second uplink positioning SRS configuration determined by the second network-side device. The UE hands over to the second network-side device through a physical random access channel (PRACH) based on RRC reconfiguration information.”[0223])
Regarding claim 16,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 16 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17,
Limitations of parent claim 13 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects method for the apparatus in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
References Cited but not Relied upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wanstedt et al (US 20150312815 A1 paragraph [0004] ) is pertinent because it discloses a UE measurement report containing serving cell and neighboring cell signal measurements used to identify a candidate target cell.
Sivanesan et al. (US 20230095401 A1 paragraphs [0065] [0070 - 0072]) is pertinent because it discloses selecting a target cell based on a UE measurement report and sending an RRC reconfiguration containing a handover command to the UE.
Min et al. (US 20210168670 A1 paragraphs [0014] [0031 - 0034]) is pertinent because it discloses a UE measurement report containing the reception quality of both a serving cell and neighboring cells.
Takahashi et al. (US 20200015107 A1 paragraphs [0043] [0047][0026][0055-0058]) is pertinent because it discloses providing an RRC measurement configuration to a UE and receiving a measurement report containing serving cell and neighboring cell RSRP/RSRQ information.
Conclusion
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646