DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,155,232. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated thereby see table below:
Application claims
Patented claims
Remarks
1
1
All limitations included.
2
3
All limitations included; a first device anticipated as a first decorative;
3
5
All limitations included.
4
5
All limitations included; a first device anticipated as one or more LED components
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HWA et al. [U.S. 2016/0330823 A1].
Regarding claim 1, HWA et al. discloses an artificial tree [200, see figure 5]comprising: a trunk comprising one or more trunk sections [208, 210 and 211, paragraphs 0045] forming a pole configured to support one or more branch portions, the one or more trunk sections comprising: a first trunk section comprising [figure 5]: a first transmitter [wireless microwave power and data transmission system 204] connected to a power source [228] and configured to convert an input power received from the power source into an electromagnetic field [figure 5]; and a first receiver [wireless tree-lighting system 203] arranged proximate the first transmitter and configured to receive the electromagnetic field generated by the first transmitter [see figure 5] and generate a first electrical signal and wherein the first electrical signal comprises a first data signal [paragraph 0044] (figures 5-7, paragraphs 0044 - 0053).
Regarding claim 2, HWA et al. discloses the first data signal comprises information for controlling a first device [203a, 203b and 203c] in communication with the first trunk section (figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 3, HWA et al. discloses the first electrical signal further comprises a first power signal (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 4, HWA et al. discloses the first power signal provides power to a first device [203a, 203b and 203c] (figures 5-7).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Szweda U.S. 12,155,232; and HWA et al. U.S. 2016/0330823 A1 teaches a first electrical signal and the first electrical signal comprises a first data signal (paragraphs 0007 and 0044).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875