Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 10/23/2024 and reviewed by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 0029, the second instance of washer is listed as "10" and should be "110".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "recessed area.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears “recessed” should read “raised.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “a first diameter of the second opening” and “a second diameter of the recessed area” – these limitations are rendered indefinite since neither the second opening nor the recessed area have been established to be circular (i.e. having a diameter). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "recessed area.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears “recessed” should read “raised.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “a first diameter of the second opening” and “a second diameter of the recessed area” – these limitations are rendered indefinite since neither the second opening nor the recessed area have been established to be circular (i.e. having a diameter). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Semchuck (US 5186427 A).
Regarding claim 1, Semchuck teaches a hub washer comprised of a raised area comprised of a first opening (274, 276, 298); a body comprised of a first end comprised of a second opening (Underside of 266), a second end comprised of a third opening, a fourth opening, and a fifth opening (278 and opposite end, 286); and a hook (Combination of 280 and 272).
Regarding claim 2, Semchuck teaches the hub washer is comprised of a flat top surface (base of 274).
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Semchuck teaches a first diameter of the second opening is larger than a second diameter of the recessed area (diameter of underside of 266 compared to diameter of the raised area 276, sleeve 266 is positioned over post 276 see lines 2-4 column 7).
Regarding claim 4, Semchuck teaches the raised area is positioned on a bottom surface of the hub washer (276 relative to base of 274).
Regarding claim 5, Semchuck teaches the fourth opening is comprised of a horizontal opening on the body (278).
Regarding claim 6, Semchuck teaches the fifth opening is comprised of a horizontal opening on the body (Opposite side of 266, the other space aligned hole 278).
Regarding claim 9, Semchuck teaches a circular hub washer comprised of a raised area comprised of a first opening (274, 276, 298); a cylindrical body comprised of a first end comprised of a second opening (underside of 266), a second end comprised of a third opening, a fourth opening, and a fifth opening (278 and opposite end, 286); and a hook (Combination of 280 and 272).
Regarding claim 10, Semchuck teaches the circular hub washer is comprised of a flat top surface (base of 274).
Regarding claim 11(as best understood), Semchuck teaches a first diameter of the second opening is larger than a second diameter of the recessed area (diameter of underside of 266 compared to diameter of raised area 276, sleeve 266 is positioned over post 276 see lines 2-4 column 7).
Regarding claim 12, Semchuck teaches the raised area is positioned on a bottom surface of the circular hub washer (276 relative to base of 274).
Regarding claim 13, Semchuck teaches the fourth opening is comprised of a horizontal opening on the cylindrical body (278).
Regarding claim 14, Semchuck teaches the fifth opening is comprised of a horizontal opening on the cylindrical body (Opposite side of 266, the other space aligned hole 278).
Regarding claim 17, Semchuck teaches providing a storage hook device comprised of: a hub washer composed of a first opening(figure 15-hole on the side of the washer similar to 82 from figure 10 , 274); a body comprised of a first end comprised of a second opening(underside of 266), a second end comprised of a third opening, a fourth opening, and a fifth opening(286, 278 and its opposite end); a hook (Combination of 280 and 272); and a fastener (figure 15-the fastener positioned over the corresponding similar to fastener 86 in figure 10); placing the hub washer against the first end of the body such that a raised area of the hub washer extends through the second opening (Insert 276 through 266); inserting the fastener through the first opening and into a surface(figure 15-similar to figure 10 fastener 86; figure 15-inserting into hole similar to 82 in figure 10) a first end of the hook through the fourth opening and the fifth opening(280 going through 278 and its opposite end, then attaching 272); and hanging an item from the hook (An item may be hung from 272).
Regarding claim 18, Semchuck teaches the surface is comprised of a vertical surface (58 could be a vertical surface).
Regarding claim 19, Semchuck teaches the surface is comprised of a horizontal surface (58 could be a horizontal surface).
Regarding claim 20, Semchuck teaches the surface is comprised of a wall or a ceiling (58 could be a wall or ceiling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semchuck (US 5186427 A) in view of Leslie (US 20230046648 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the storage hook device of claim 1 is taught by Semchuck. Semchuck does not teach that the hook is comprised of a coating. Leslie teaches a hook that is comprised of a coating (21, see page 2 paragraph 0095). Semchuck and Leslie are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Semchuck to include a coating on the hook. The motivation would have been to provide more grip for the hanging item.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the storage hook device of claims 7 and 15 respectively are taught by Semchuck as modified wherein the coating is comprised of a wax or rubber (Leslie: 21, see page 2 paragraph 0095).
Conclusion
/W.D.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631