DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim recites “the an” in line 16 of the claim. It appears the term “the” should be removed from the recitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by LeCain (US 2005/0146774).
Regarding independent claim 1, LeCain teaches a light control sheet comprising a first electrode sheet comprising a first transparent substrate (Fig. 10, Element 406; ¶ [0138]) and a first transparent electrode layer (Fig. 10, Element 408; ¶ [0138]); a second electrode sheet comprising a second transparent substrate (Fig. 10, Element 12; ¶ [0111]) and a second transparent electrode layer (Fig. 11, Element 14; ¶ [0111]); a light control layer (Fig. 9, Element 16; ¶ [0112]) positioned between the first transparent electrode layer and the second transparent electrode layer; an adherend layer (Fig. 12, Element 412; ¶ [0138]) bonded to a surface of the first transparent substrate of the first electrode sheet; and a sealing section (Fig. 12, Element 522; ¶ [0149]) formed such that the sealing section is covering an end face of the light control layer and an end face of the adherend layer in an edge section of the light control sheet, wherein the first transparent substrate has a substrate surface exposed from the adherend layer in the edge section of the light control sheet, the second transparent electrode layer has an electrode surface exposed from the first transparent substrate and the light control layer in the edge section of the light control sheet, and the sealing section is formed such that the sealing section is covering the electrode surface of the second transparent electrode layer and the substrate surface of the first transparent substrate in the edge section of the light control sheet (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, LeCain teaches the substrate surface of the first transparent substrate and the electrode surface of the second transparent electrode layer extending along a first direction such that a width of the substrate surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm (¶ [0151]).
Regarding independent claim 7, LeCain teaches a light control sheet comprising a first electrode sheet comprising a first transparent substrate (Fig. 10, Element 406; ¶ [0138]) and a first transparent electrode layer (Fig. 10, Element 408; ¶ [0138]); a second electrode sheet comprising a second transparent substrate (Fig. 10, Element 12; ¶ [0111]) and a second transparent electrode layer (Fig. 11, Element 14; ¶ [0111]); a light control layer (Fig. 9, Element 16; ¶ [0112]) positioned between the first transparent electrode layer and the second transparent electrode layer; and an adherend layer (Fig. 12, Element 412; ¶ [0138]) bonded to a surface of the first transparent substrate of the first electrode sheet, wherein the first transparent substrate has a substrate surface exposed from the adherend layer in the edge section of the light control sheet, the second transparent electrode layer has an electrode surface exposed from the first transparent substrate and the light control layer in the edge section of the light control sheet (Fig. 12), and the substrate surface of the first transparent substrate and the electrode surface of the second transparent electrode layer extend along a first direction such that a width of the substrate surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm (¶ [0151]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 3 and 5, the closest prior art of record (LeCain) neither shows or suggests a light control sheet comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, an adherend layer having an end face defining a substrate surface of a first transparent substrate such that the end face has a first side, a second side extending in a direction crossing the first side, and a third side joining the first side and the second side and having a curved shape.
Due to their respective dependencies upon claims 3 and 5, claims 4 and 6 are also allowable.
Regarding independent claim 8, the closest prior art of record (LeCain) neither shows or suggests a light control sheet comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a first electrode sheet, a second electrode sheet, and a light control layer having a portion overlaid and forming a driver section such that an end face of the driver section forms an outer peripheral end face of the light control sheet in the edge section of the light control sheet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Honeyman (US 8,830,559) teaches an electro-optic media produced using ink jet printing. Zehner (US 8,610,988) teaches an electro-optic display with edge seal. Uchida (US 7,660,033) teaches an electrophoretic display device with a microcapsule.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 19 August 2026