CTNF 18/924,590 CTNF 87977 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 AIA The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 10/23/2024 . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivignon et al. (US 2020/0062400), and in view of Frank (US 5,622,207) . With regards to claim 16: Sivignon et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 below and [0168]-[0170]) an aircraft section (22) equipped with a water system, comprising: the aircraft section (22) being a longitudinally extending portion of a fuselage of an aircraft, a water backbone assembly (50, 52) installed in the aircraft section and extending from a first longitudinal end to a second, opposite longitudinal end of the aircraft section (22), the water backbone assembly comprising at least a backbone conduit (50), a first connection fitting (52) at the first longitudinal end of the aircraft section (22) and a second connection fitting (52) at the second longitudinal end of the aircraft section (22); and a standard water consumer (54) fluidly connected to the second connection fitting (52), the standard water consumer being positioned in a predefined location in the aircraft section (22). [AltContent: textbox (52)] [AltContent: textbox (52)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image1.png 469 813 media_image1.png Greyscale Fig. 1 Sivignon et al. does not disclose a main pump fluidly connected to the first connection fitting, the main pump being configured to convey water from a main tank through the backbone conduit. Frank discloses (refer to Fig. 2 below) a water supply system in an air craft have a main supply tank (1), a tap lines or pipes (S) connected to the water supply tank through a pump (3) which feed the water from the tank (1) into the main supply line (S). PNG media_image2.png 1518 937 media_image2.png Greyscale Fig. 2 It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft section equipped with a water system of Sivignon et al. to include a main tank and a main pump fluidly connected to the first connection fitting, the main pump being configured to convey water from a main tank through the supply line as taught by Frank, to provide the water from the main tank being conveying from the main tank to the backbone conduit. Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the aircraft section equipped with a water system of claim 16. With regards to claim 17: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) the aircraft section of claim 16, wherein the aircraft section (22) forms a portion of a fuselage of an aircraft which is configured to be mounted to another aircraft section (22) equipped with at least a portion of the water system, and wherein the water system of the aircraft section (22) and the water system of the other aircraft section (22) are configured to be connected via a coupling (connection fitting 52)). With regards to claim 18: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses an aircraft comprising one or more aircraft sections (22) of claim 16. With regards to claim 1: In making and/or using the modified system of Sivignon et al., one would necessarily perform the method for installing a water system in an aircraft section (22), the aircraft section being a longitudinally extending portion of a fuselage of an aircraft, the method comprising: installing, in the aircraft section, a water backbone assembly (50) extending from a first longitudinal end to a second, opposite longitudinal end of the aircraft section, the water backbone assembly comprising at least a backbone conduit (50), a first connection fitting (52) at the first longitudinal end of the aircraft section and a second connection fitting (52) at the second longitudinal end of the aircraft section; fluidly connecting a main pump to the first connection fitting (52), the main pump being configured to convey water from a main tank through the backbone conduit (50); and fluidly connecting a standard water consumer (54) to the second connection fitting, the standard water consumer having a predefined location in the aircraft section (22). With regards to claim 9: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein installing the water backbone assembly comprises installing the backbone conduit (50) with a length corresponding to the aircraft section (22). With regards to claim 10: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein installing the water backbone assembly comprises installing the backbone conduit (50) with a length shorter the aircraft section (22), and closing a gap to the backbone conduit in next aircraft section (22)with a connecting conduit (conduit corresponding to the access module (18)) . With regards to claim 2: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 1. Sivignon et al., as modified, does not disclose installing a third connection fitting to the backbone conduit anywhere between the first and the second connection fitting; and closing an open end of the third connection fitting which forms a branch from the backbone conduit. Frank discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) a third connection fitting (4A) to the backbone conduit (S) anywhere between the first and the second connection fitting; and closing an open end of the third connection fitting (with the water consumer (6A)) which forms a branch (5A) from the backbone conduit (S). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft section equipped with a water system of Sivignon et al. to include a third connection fitting to the backbone conduit anywhere between the first and the second connection fitting; and closing an open end of the third connection fitting which forms a branch from the backbone conduit as taught by Frank to provide the water system which is able to supply water to more water consumers by branching. In making and/or using the further modified system of Sivignon et al., one would necessarily perform the method of claim 2. With regards to claim 5: Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: installing, in the aircraft section (22), a branch conduit from the third connection fitting to a further water consumer in the aircraft section. With regards to claim 6: Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: installing a straight connection fitting to the backbone conduit anywhere between the first and the second connection fitting (this is commonly use to connect two connected conduit in series and involve no inventive step or operation); and removing the straight connection fitting before installing the third connection fitting (this is commonly done in water pipe installation wherein the third connection fitting happens to be at the location of the straight connection fitting and involve no inventive step or operation). With regards to claim 7: Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein fluidly connecting the standard water consumer comprises extending the backbone conduit to the standard water consumer or installing a standard water consumer conduit from the backbone conduit to the standard water consumer. With regards to claim 15: Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: cutting the backbone conduit at a location in the aircraft section corresponding to a location of a water consumer to be installed; installing the third connection fitting or a water consumer interface to the cut backbone conduit; and installing, in the aircraft section, a branch conduit from the third connection fitting or the water consumer interface to the water consumer . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivignon et al. (US 2020/0062400) and Frank (US 5,622,207) , as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wyss et al. (US 5,618,214) . With regards to claim 3: Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the third connection fitting is a T-fitting. Sivignon et al., as further modified, does not disclose wherein closing the open end of the third connection fitting comprises closing the open end with a plug. Wyss et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 3 below) a T-fitting (10) wherein the open end (14) of the fitting is closed with a plug (valve (10)). PNG media_image3.png 675 614 media_image3.png Greyscale Fig. 3 It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft section equipped with a water system of Sivignon et al. to use the T-fitting design as disclosed by Wyss et al. as an alternative design for the third connection fitting of the modified water system of the aircraft section of Sivignon et al. to provide the system with the ability of closing the branch conduit for removal/repair of the connected water consumer. Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 3. With regards to claim 4: Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the third connection fitting comprises a passageway that can be integrated into the backbone conduit and a valve configured to open and close an open branch fluidly connected to the passageway . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivignon et al. (US 2020/0062400) and Frank (US 5,622,207) , as applied to claim s 1, 5 and 7 above, and further in view of Schneider et al. (US 2023/0139167) . With regards to claim 12: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 1. Sivignon et al., as modified, does not disclose the water backbone assembly comprises mounting a standard bracket to an aircraft structure of the aircraft section, the standard bracket being configured to receive and hold the backbone conduit. Schneider et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 4 below) the pipe assembly for installation in an aircraft fuselage comprises a standard bracket (8) mounted to an aircraft structure (16) of the aircraft section, the standard bracket being configured to receive and hold the pipe (4). PNG media_image4.png 538 697 media_image4.png Greyscale Fig. 4 It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft section equipped with a water system of Sivignon et al. to use the standard bracket mounted to an aircraft structure of the aircraft section, the standard bracket being configured to receive and hold the backbone conduit (50) as disclosed by Schneider et al. to provide the mounting for the backbone conduit to the fuselage structure. Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 12. With regards to claim 13: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 7, wherein fluidly connecting the standard water consumer comprises mounting a standard bracket to an aircraft structure of the aircraft section, the standard bracket being configured to receive and hold the standard water consumer conduit. With regards to claim 14: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 5, wherein installing the branch conduit comprises mounting a standard bracket to an aircraft structure of the aircraft section, the standard bracket being configured to receive and hold the branch conduit . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivignon et al. (US 2020/0062400) and Frank (US 5,622,207) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weck et al. (US 6,910,505) . With regards to claim 11: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 1. Sivignon et al., as modified, does not disclose installing the backbone conduit with a length excessing a length of the aircraft section between the first and second connection fitting, wherein the excess length of the backbone conduit is rolled up to a conduit spiral. Weck et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 5 below) a conduit (12) with a length excessing a length of the storage space between the first (14) and second (16) connection fitting, wherein the excess length of the backbone conduit is rolled up to a conduit spiral. PNG media_image5.png 1216 868 media_image5.png Greyscale Fig. 5 It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft section equipped with a water system of Sivignon et al. to use the installation method as disclosed by Weck et al. to the installation of the backbone conduit with a length excessing a length of the aircraft section between the first and second connection fitting, wherein the excess length of the backbone conduit is rolled up to a conduit spiral to provide the compact storage space of the backbone conduit in the aircraft section. Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 11 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivignon et al. (US 2020/0062400) and Frank (US 5,622,207) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holmes (US 2004/0195828) . With regards to claim 8: Sivignon et al., as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, comprise installing a water consumer interface to the backbone conduit. Sivignon et al., as modified, does not disclose the water consumer interface comprises an inlet fluidly connected to the backbone conduit, and a plurality of outlets, wherein one of the plurality of outlets is connected to the backbone conduit downstream of the backbone conduit connected to the inlet, and one of the plurality of outlets is configured to be connected to a branch conduit. Holmes discloses (refer to Fig. 6 below) a water consumer interface (11) comprises an inlet (11) fluidly connected to the backbone conduit, and a plurality of outlets (13, 14, 15), wherein one of the plurality of outlets is connected to the backbone conduit downstream of the backbone conduit connected to the inlet, and one of the plurality of outlets is configured to be connected to a branch conduit (not shown). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft section equipped with a water system of Sivignon et al. to use the water consumer interface design as disclosed Holmes as an alternative interface for the interface (54) of Sivignon et al. to provide the water system with the ability of expanding and branching the backbone conduit into multiple conduits/consumers. Sivignon et al., as further modified, discloses the method of claim 8. PNG media_image6.png 1608 1131 media_image6.png Greyscale Fig. 6 Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Minh Le, whose telephone number is 571-270-3805. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (8:30AM-5:00PM EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisors can be reached by phone. Kenneth Rinehart can be reached at 571-272-4881 or Craig Schneider can be reached at 571-272-3607. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MINH Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 2 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 3 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 4 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 5 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 6 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 7 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 8 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 9 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 10 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 11 Art Unit: 3753 Application/Control Number: 18/924,590 Page 12 Art Unit: 3753