Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida, JP 2004227326
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida teaches a method of an electronic device, the method comprising: receiving, from a plurality of acceleration sensors positioned in distinct portions of the electronic device (Fig. 1; acceleration sensors 211a-211c), interrupt signals indicating that the electronic device is moved in accordance with acceleration of gravity applied to the electronic device (Fig. 2- S1; ¶[0035]; impact of a certain strength or more sensed being an interrupt signal); based on the received interrupt signals and based on acceleration measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors, receiving data signals (Fig. 2, S4; impact information or identification information being a data signal); and based on the data signals, obtaining, at least one of duration, a distance that the electronic device is moved in accordance with the acceleration of gravity, or an impulse applied to the electronic device based on the movement of the electronic device, which corresponds to the acceleration of gravity(Fig. 2, S5 - the impact strength value and direction are obtained from the impact information).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida teaches wherein the receiving the interrupt signals further comprises receiving, through at least one of a plurality of signal paths respectively connected to each of the plurality of acceleration sensors, the interrupt signals (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, JP 2004227326 in view of Kim, US 10263982 B
Regarding claim 1, discloses an electronic device comprising: a housing (Fig. 1; device 200); a plurality of acceleration sensors respectively positioned at portions of the housing (Fig. 1; acceleration sensors 211a-211c); a controller operably coupled to the plurality of acceleration sensors (Fig. 1; controller may be combination of impact calculation circuit 212 and cpu 213), wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the plurality of acceleration sensors, interrupt signals indicating that the electronic device is moved by acceleration of gravity applied to the electronic device (Fig. 2- S1; ¶[0035]; impact of a certain strength or more sensed being an interrupt signal); based on the received interrupt signals and based on acceleration measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors, receive data signals (Fig. 2, S4; impact information or identification information being a data signal); and based on the received data signals, obtain, at least one of duration, a distance that the electronic device is moved in accordance with the acceleration of gravity, or an impulse applied to the electronic device based on movement of the electronic device, which corresponds to the acceleration of gravity (Fig. 2, S5 - the impact strength value and direction are obtained from the impact information).
Yoshida is silent in wherein the housing is a deformable housing along at least one folding axis. Kim teaches a portable device wherein the housing is a deformable housing along at least one folding axis (Fig. 1A; device 100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Yoshida for the benefit of providing a compact portable device.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida teaches further comprises a plurality of signal paths to connect at least one of the plurality of acceleration sensors to the controller, wherein the controller is further configured to receive, through at least one of the plurality of signal paths, at least one of the interrupt signals, from at least one of the plurality of acceleration sensors (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida teaches wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are configured to, after transmitting the interrupt signals to the controller, transmit the data signals including the magnitude of the acceleration measured based on the preset moment (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, JP 2004227326 in view of Kim, US 10263982 in view of Orr et al., US 20100194692
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida is silent in wherein the controller is further configured to receive, through other signal paths different from the plurality of signal paths, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors. Orr teaches a controller configured to receive through other signal paths different from a plurality of signal paths, data signals from an acceleration sensor (Fig. 3; sensor 310, interrupts “UL”,”LL” and data signal from serial interface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Orr into the two accelerometer sensors of Yoshida for the benefit of having the processing circuit conserve power by not polling the accelerometer for information on a continuous basis thereby relying on the interrupt signals.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida is silent in wherein the receiving the data signals further comprises receiving, through other signal paths different from the plurality of signal paths, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors. Orr teaches receiving the data signals further comprises receiving, through other signal paths different from the plurality of signal paths, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors (Fig. 3; sensor 310, interrupts “UL”,”LL” and data signal from serial interface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Orr into the two accelerometer sensors of Yoshida for the benefit of having the processing circuit conserve power by not polling the accelerometer for information on a continuous basis thereby relying on the interrupt signals.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, JP 2004227326 in view of Kim, US 10263982 in view of Zheng et al., CN 108760214 A
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida is silent in wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, in a time section after a first moment receiving the interrupt signals and before a second moment that a movement of the electronic device, based on the acceleration of gravity is stopped, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors; and based on the data signals, select a representative value of impulses respectively measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors, as the impulse applied to the electronic device by the movement of the electronic device, which corresponds to the acceleration of gravity. Zheng teaches n a time section after a first moment receiving the interrupt signals and before a second moment that a movement of the electronic device, based on the acceleration of gravity is stopped, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors; and based on the data signals, select a representative value of impulses respectively measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors, as the impulse applied to the electronic device by the movement of the electronic device, which corresponds to the acceleration of gravity (Claim 6; acceleration value being greater than a threshold determining an impact to the device and impact time determined based on acceleration values). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng into Yoshida for the benefit of determining and improving accuracy of a collision the device.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida is silent in wherein the controller is further configured to: based on the data signals, identify, from the plurality of acceleration sensors, durations that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity; select a maximum value among the identified durations, as duration that the electronic device is moved in accordance with the acceleration of gravity. Zheng teaches identify, from the plurality of acceleration sensors, durations that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity; select a maximum value among the identified durations, as duration that the electronic device is moved in accordance with the acceleration of gravity (Claim 2, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng into Yoshida for the benefit of determining and improving accuracy of a collision the device.
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida teaches communication circuitry, wherein the controller is further configured to transmit, to an external electronic device using the communication circuitry, at least one of the duration, the distance, or the impulse (Fig. 1; communication circuit 207).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida is silent in wherein the receiving the data signals further comprises: receiving, in a time section after a first moment receiving the interrupt signals and before a second moment that a movement of the electronic device based on the acceleration of gravity is stopped, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors, wherein the obtaining further comprises, based on the data signals, selecting a representative value of impulses respectively measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors, as the impulse applied to the electronic device by the movement of the electronic device based on the acceleration of gravity. Zheng teaches receiving, in a time section after a first moment receiving the interrupt signals and before a second moment that a movement of the electronic device based on the acceleration of gravity is stopped, the data signals from the plurality of acceleration sensors, wherein the obtaining further comprises, based on the data signals, selecting a representative value of impulses respectively measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors, as the impulse applied to the electronic device by the movement of the electronic device based on the acceleration of gravity (Claim 6; acceleration value being greater than a threshold determining an impact to the device and impact time determined based on acceleration values). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng into Yoshida for the benefit of determining and improving accuracy of a collision the device.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida is silent in wherein the obtaining the distance or the impulse further comprises: based on the data signals, identifying, from the plurality of acceleration sensors, durations that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity; selecting a representative value among the identified durations, as duration that the electronic device is moved, which corresponds to the acceleration of gravity (Claim 2, 7). Zheng teaches identifying, from the plurality of acceleration sensors, durations that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity; selecting a representative value among the identified durations, as duration that the electronic device is moved, which corresponds to the acceleration of gravity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng into Yoshida for the benefit of determining and improving accuracy of a collision the device.
Claim(s) 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 20180032152 in view of Orr et al., US 20100194692
Regarding clam 16, Pan teaches an electronic device comprising: a housing comprising a plurality of portions pivotably interconnected based on a folding axis (Fig. 2; part 1011, part 1012); a plurality of acceleration sensors configured to identify an angle between the plurality of portions, and the folding axis, wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are respectively positioned at the plurality of portions (Fig. 2-3a; accelerometers 1022, 1021 at different positions in the screen); and a controller operably coupled to the plurality of acceleration sensors (Fig. 1; processing module 103); wherein the controller is configured to be coupled to: the plurality of acceleration sensors, via a plurality of signal paths, configured to receive a data signal indicating acceleration measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors (Figs. 1-3a; signal paths from accelerometers 102 to processing module 103), wherein the plurality of signal paths comprise a first signal path (Fig. 1; signal paths from the multiple accelerometers comprise a first signal path).
Pan teaches first and second acceleration sensors of the plurality of acceleration sensors but is silent in a second signal path, which is different from the first signal path, for receiving an interrupt signal indicating that a movement of the electronic device based on acceleration of gravity is identified by the first acceleration sensor; and via a third signal path, which is different from the first signal path and the second signal path, for receiving another interrupt signal indicating that the movement of the electronic device based on the acceleration of gravity is identified by the second acceleration sensor.
Orr teaches an acceleration sensor having a second signal path, which is different from the first signal path, for receiving an interrupt signal indicating that a movement of the electronic device based on acceleration of gravity is identified by the first acceleration sensor (Fig. 3; accelerometer 310, interrupt signal “UL”, “LL”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Orr into the two accelerometer sensors of Pan for the benefit of having the processing circuit conserve power by not polling the accelerometer for information on a continuous basis thereby relying on the interrupt signals.
Regarding claim 20, Pan teaches further comprises communication circuitry (Fig. 1; wireless communication circuit 207), wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain information associated with the movement of the electronic device by the acceleration of gravity using the data signal received from the plurality of acceleration sensors through the first signal path; transmit, to an external electronic device different from the electronic device through the communication circuitry, the obtained information (Fig. 1; info transmitted to PC 610). Pan is silent in the at least one of the interrupt signal or the another interrupt signal (Fig. 3; accelerometer 310, interrupt signal “UL”, “LL”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Orr into the two accelerometer sensors of Pan for the benefit of having the processing circuit conserve power by not polling the accelerometer for information on a continuous basis thereby relying on the interrupt signals.
Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 20180032152 in view of Orr et al., US 20100194692 in view of Zhao et al., WO 2014161337 A1
Regarding claim 17, Pan in view of Orr teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: receive at least one of the interrupt signal or the another interrupt signal using at least one of the second signal path, or the third signal path; based on at least one of the interrupt signal or the another interrupt signal, receive, from the plurality of acceleration sensors using the first signal path, the data signal (Fig. 3; accelerometer 310). Pan as modified is silent in the data signal indicating durations that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity, which are measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors; and based on a maximum value among the durations, obtain a distance that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity. Zhao teaches indicating durations that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity; and based on a maximum value among the durations, obtain a distance that the electronic device is moved by the acceleration of gravity (claim 3, 4; drop time greater than threshold calculated; distance calculated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhao into Pan as modified for the benefit of providing information on the possible impact to the device.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 20180032152 in view of Orr et al., US 20100194692 in view of Zheng et al., CN 108760214 A
Regarding claim 18, Pan is silent in wherein the controller is further configured to: receive at least one of the interrupt signal or the another interrupt signal using at least one of the second signal path, or the third signal path, based on the data signal after receiving at least one of the interrupt signal or the another interrupt signal, identify a representative value of the acceleration measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors in a time section in which the acceleration is different from the acceleration of gravity; and based on the identified representative value, obtain an impulse applied to the electronic device. Zheng teaches based on the data signal after receiving at least one of the interrupt signal or the another interrupt signal, identify a representative value of the acceleration measured by the plurality of acceleration sensors in a time section in which the acceleration is different from the acceleration of gravity; and based on the identified representative value, obtain an impulse applied to the electronic device (Claim 2, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zheng into Pan for the benefit of determining and improving accuracy of a collision the device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. US 20180032152 in view of Orr et al., US 20100194692 in view of Zheng et al., CN 108760214 A in view of Wilson et al., US 20180054502 A1
Regarding claim 19, Pan is silent in wherein the controller is further configured to, based on obtaining the impulse greater than a preset impulse, output at least one of a screen, an audio signal, or haptic feedback requiring diagnosis of the electronic device. Wilson teaches based on obtaining the impulse greater than a preset impulse, output at least one of a screen, an audio signal, or haptic feedback requiring diagnosis of the electronic device (¶[0020]; indication of drop). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Wilson into Pan for the benefit of indicting to a user that the device has been dropped.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, prior art does not disclose or suggest: “wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are configured to: obtain, based on a preset moment, a plurality of first parameters indicating the acceleration of the electronic device, which corresponds to a plurality of axes; identify magnitude of the acceleration by combining the plurality of first parameters; and based on identifying that the magnitude of the acceleration is lower than preset magnitude during preset duration that is a multiplier of the preset moment, increase a second parameter to measure the duration based on the preset moment” in combination with all the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, prior art does not disclose or suggest: “wherein the plurality of acceleration sensors are configured to: in a time section from a first moment transmitting the interrupt signals to the controller to a second moment identifying that the magnitude of the acceleration is maintained as third preset magnitude matched to magnitude of the acceleration of gravity during another preset duration that is a multiplier of the preset moment, obtain a representative value of the magnitude of the acceleration measured based on the preset moment; and transmit, to the controller, the data signals including the obtained representative value” in combination with all the limitations of claim 9.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858