DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to a continuation application filed in which claims 1-4 of the instant application are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with an executable program stored thereon, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with an executable program stored thereon,” should read “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with an executable program stored thereon,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (“AHG12: Signaling of chroma presence in PPS and APS”) in view of Lai (US 2022/0094936).
As to claim 1, Li teaches an encoding device comprising:
a quantizer configured to perform a quantization process; a loop filter configured to perform an adaptive loop filter process; and an entropy encoder configured to output a bit stream including an adaptive parameter set (Page 1, Section 1; also see Pages 2-3, Table 2),
wherein the adaptive parameter set includes encoding tool type information indicating which parameter of parameter candidates including one of a scaling list parameter including a parameter of a scaling list that controls the quantization process and an adaptive loop filter parameter including a parameter of a filter coefficient used in the adaptive loop filter process is included in the adaptive parameter set (Page 1, Section 1; also see Pages 2-3, Table 2),
and a chrominance parameter present flag indicating whether or not a parameter for a chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set (Pages 2-3, Table 2),
and the chrominance parameter present flag is applied in common to the adaptive loop filter parameter (Pages 2-3, Table 2).
Li does not teach wherein the chrominance parameter present flag is applied in common to the scaling list parameter, wherein when the encoding tool type information indicating the scaling list parameter, the entropy encoder is configured to: in response to including, into the adaptive parameter set, the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is not present in the adaptive parameter set, output the adaptive parameter set not including a parameter of scaling list for chrominance signal, in response to including, into the adaptive parameter set, the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set, output the adaptive parameter set including a scaling list parameter for chrominance signal.
However, Lai teaches wherein the chrominance parameter present flag is applied in common to the scaling list parameter, wherein when the encoding tool type information indicating the scaling list parameter, the entropy encoder is configured to ([0128] and Table 7 where it is stated that the aps_type is equal to SCALING_LIST; aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 1 specifies that the scaling matrices for chroma is present in the APS; aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that the scaling matrices for chroma is not present in the APS; one example of the scaling matrices for chroma is the syntax element scaling_list_copy_mode_flag[id]):
in response to including, into the adaptive parameter set, the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is not present in the adaptive parameter set, output the adaptive parameter set not including a parameter of scaling list for chrominance signal ([0128] and Table 7; aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that the scaling matrices for chroma is not present in the APS; further see [0132] where it is stated that the scaling matrices APSs with aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 only can be referenced by other dependent video layer not including chroma component and [0133] where it is stated that the scaling matrices APSs with aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 cannot be referenced by other video layers with chroma components),
in response to including, into the adaptive parameter set, the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set, output the adaptive parameter set including a scaling list parameter for chrominance signal ([0128] and Table 7; if aps_chroma_param_present_flag is equal to 1, scaling_list_copy_mode_flag[id] is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Li’s system with Lai’s system in order to provide more flexible and efficient video coding techniques.
As to claim 2, Li teaches a decoding device comprising:
an entropy decoder configured to acquire a bit stream including an adaptive parameter set; an inverse quantizer configured to perform an inverse quantization process; and a loop filter configured to perform an adaptive loop filter process (Page 1, Section 1; also see Pages 2-3, Table 2),
wherein the adaptive parameter set includes encoding tool type information indicating which parameter of parameter candidates including one of a scaling list parameter including a parameter of a scaling list that controls the inverse quantization process and an adaptive loop filter parameter including a parameter of a filter coefficient used in the adaptive loop filter process is included in the adaptive parameter set (Page 1, Section 1; also see Pages 2-3, Table 2),
and a chrominance parameter present flag indicating whether or not a parameter for a chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set (Pages 2-3, Table 2),
and the chrominance parameter present flag is applied in common to the adaptive loop filter parameter (Pages 2-3, Table 2).
Li does not teach wherein the chrominance parameter present flag is applied in common to the scaling list parameter, wherein when the encoding tool type information indicating the scaling list parameter, the entropy decoder is configured to: in response to including the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is not present in the adaptive parameter set, interpret that a parameter of scaling list for chrominance signal is not present in the adaptive parameter set, in response to the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set, interpret that the parameter of scaling list parameter for chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set.
However, Lai teaches wherein the chrominance parameter present flag is applied in common to the scaling list parameter, wherein when the encoding tool type information indicating the scaling list parameter, the entropy decoder is configured to ([0128] and Table 7 where it is stated that the aps_type is equal to SCALING_LIST; aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 1 specifies that the scaling matrices for chroma is present in the APS; aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that the scaling matrices for chroma is not present in the APS; one example of the scaling matrices for chroma is the syntax element scaling_list_copy_mode_flag[id]):
in response to including the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is not present in the adaptive parameter set, interpret that a parameter of scaling list for chrominance signal is not present in the adaptive parameter set ([0128] and Table 7; aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that the scaling matrices for chroma is not present in the APS; further see [0132] where it is stated that the scaling matrices APSs with aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 only can be referenced by other dependent video layer not including chroma component and [0133] where it is stated that the scaling matrices APSs with aps_chroma_param_present_flag equal to 0 cannot be referenced by other video layers with chroma components),
in response to the chrominance parameter present flag indicating that the parameter for the chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set, interpret that the parameter of scaling list parameter for chrominance signal is present in the adaptive parameter set ([0128] and Table 7; if aps_chroma_param_present_flag is equal to 1, scaling_list_copy_mode_flag[id] is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Li’s system with Lai’s system in order to provide more flexible and efficient video coding techniques.
As to claim 3, the combination of Li and Lai teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with an executable program stored thereon, wherein the program causes a computer to function as the encoding device according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
As to claim 4, the combination of Li and Lai teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with an executable program stored thereon, wherein the program causes a computer to function as the decoding device according to claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2).
Conclusion
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482