DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the term “available volume” is indefinite. It is unclear if the term refers to space beyond what is occupied by the recited systems. The bounds of each “volume” are not defined in the claims, therefore it is unclear what constitutes “a plurality of first available volumes” compared to one first available volume. Furthermore, it is noted that apparatus claim is not limited by the process in which it is made. In this case, applicant appears to be reciting a method of selecting a location, from a plurality of locations, on which to dispose certain vehicle systems.
It is unclear how claims 5 and 6 further limit claim 1. There is no structural definition of each “volume”, therefore the scope of the claim cannot be determined.
In claims 9 and 10, it is unclear if the term “engine bay” intends to positively recite an engine.
In claims 17 and 18, the term “electromechanical replacement” is unclear. The specification describes the term as “new drive motor(s) to replace the original drive motor(s) from the haul truck”. However, no drive motors are claimed. Furthermore, as above, method steps directed to replacing “original” motors with “new motors” are given no patentable weight in an apparatus claim and raise issues of indefiniteness (i.e., what constitutes a “new” or “original” motor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s admitted prior art (as shown in Figs. 1A – 2B and 6A – 6F) in view of Hendricks et al. (US 2022/0105791 A1).
In Figs. 1A – 2B and 6A – 6F, applicant discloses a known mining haul truck comprising a frame (FR) and tray (TR). Applicant alleges that it is not known to provide a hybrid hydrogen fuel cell/battery-based powerplant. However, Hendricks et al. disclose a heavy-duty vehicle comprising a fuel cell system (paragraph [0069]), a battery system (16), and a hydrogen storage system (18) disposed on available volumes on the frame. It would have been obvious to modify the known mining haul vehicle disclosed by applicant to include the hybrid hydrogen fuel cell/battery based power plant of Hendricks et al. in order to reduce emissions.
As for claims 2 – 4, Hendricks et al. disclose a cooling system (see 34) disposed generally at the front portion of the frame.
As for claims 5 – 6, the fuel cell system, battery system, and HSS of Hendricks et al. are distributed along the frame so as to occupy available volumes (Fig. 2).
As for claims 7 – 8, the battery system of Hendricks et al. is disposed between left and right wheels (and therefore “distributed between the left wheel pocket and right wheel pocket” (see Figs. 2 – 4).
As for claims 9 – 10, Hendricks et al. disclose a fuel cell disposed on the vehicle where an engine may be disposed in an engine-powered vehicle.
As for claims 11 – 15, Hendricks et al. disclose an HSS disposed on a volume defined in part by a frame. The HSS stores hydrogen in one or more storage tanks (28). While Hendricks et al. disclose hydrogen gas, it would have been obvious to store hydrogen in a liquid state as both are well-known in the art.
As for claim 16, applicant acknowledges that it is known to provide a deck (DV) on a mining haul truck.
As for claim 17 – 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace a motor when needed for maintenance or repair.
As for claims 19 – 20, applicant acknowledges that it is known to provide a hydraulic fluid reservoir in a pocket (WP) adjacent to a rear axle.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 4, 9, 11, 13, 16, 19 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,391,102 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims; in other words, the patented claims fully encompass the present claims and therefore anticipate the present claims.
Claims 1 – 4, 9, 11, 13, 16, 19 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,958,352 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims; in other words, the patented claims fully encompass the present claims and therefore anticipate the present claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613