DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication received on 01/09/2025. Claims 1-20 are preliminarily cancelled, claims 21-40 are newly added and currently pending.
The Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication in response to the present action. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate with Applicant using Internet email to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet correspondence received from Applicant. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03 for other methods of providing written authorization.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,483. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims recite a broader set of limitations than the allowed claims of US 12,160,483. The claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the allowed US 12,160,483, see table below.
18/924,636
US 12,160,483
21. A computer-implemented method comprising: causing a first graphical user interface (GUI) displaying a first messaging thread to be rendered via a first device associated with a first user, wherein:
the first messaging thread is associated with a plurality of users including the first user, a second user, and at least one other user;
a message that includes a file has been added to the first messaging thread; and
content of the file included in the message that has been added to the first messaging thread is not displayed via the first GUI;
monitoring activity associated with the file, wherein the activity is performed by the second user; and
causing the first GUI to add a visual indicator to the file included in the message that has been added to the first messaging thread, wherein:
the visual indicator reflects a status of the activity associated with the file performed by the second user; and
the visual indicator includes an embedded control that is selectable to enable the first user to initiate a second messaging thread, outside the first messaging thread, with the second user and not the at least one other user.
1. A computer-implemented method for providing status indicators across different applications, the method comprising: causing a display of a first client device to render, in association with a first user,
a first graphical user interface (GUI) that corresponds to a first application that is configured to provision access to a first messaging thread and a plurality of files by a plurality of users,
wherein: the first GUI includes a graphical representation of a particular file that has been shared within the first application;
and the plurality of users includes the first user, a second user, and at least one other user; concurrently with the display of the first client device rendering the graphical representation of the particular file within the first GUI,
monitoring user activity associated with the second user editing content, of the particular file, at a second client device via a second GUI that corresponds to a second application that is configured to facilitate user edits to the content of the particular file;
b) an embedded control that is rendered in association with the graphical representation of the particular file and that is selectable to expose a menu of actions available to the first user, wherein: a first action in the menu of actions
causing the display of the first client device to update the first GUI to include a status indicator that includes: (a) an indication reflecting a status of the second user based on the determined user activity,
: (a) an indication reflecting a status of the second user based on the determined user activity, and (and a second action in the menu of actions enables the first user to preview, without leaving the first application, the user activity while the second user is editing the content of the particular file via the second GUI that corresponds to the second application; in response to a determination that the embedded control has been selected by way of the first GUI, exposing the menu of actions available to the first user
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 29-31 and 37-39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1,a2 as being anticipated by Spataro US 2006/0053380.
Regarding claims 21, 29 and 37, Spataro teaches a system, non-transitory CRM executed by a processor and a computer-implemented method comprising: causing a first graphical user interface (GUI) displaying a first messaging thread to be rendered via a first device(client digital processing device fig. 1A )associated with a first user, wherein the first messaging thread is associated with a plurality of users including the first user, a second user, and at least one other user (GUI, ¶69 providing collaboration interface for first and one ore more other second users, ¶12.69.227)
["In accordance with the principles of the present invention, a collaboration place, when referred to herein, means collaboration software that has at least the characteristics of being persistent, addressable, and capable of holding more than one data file. For example, a collaboration place can be an addressable persistent set (i.e., more than just one) of data files accessible by at least two users simultaneously, in which data introduced by one user is made available to other allowed users based on update(s) via a back channel and not requiring selection of "refresh" as in a browser-based system. Users may interact with the application through a collaboration place interface (e.g., a desktop application). As used herein, a collaboration place interface can be understood to be part of a collaboration place. ", ¶12]
["In one illustrative operation, the processor 114 of the client 120 executes instructions associated with software application programs 104 (including, for example, runtime instructions specified, at least partially, by the local user 102 and/or by another software application program, such as a batch-type program) that can instruct the processor 114 to at least partially control the operation of the graphics subsystem 122 in rendering and displaying a graphical user interface (including, for example, one or more menus, windows, and/or other visual objects) on the display device 126. ", ¶69]
["In some embodiments, the users in a place can concurrently edit (e.g., write to) content being shared with each other via the place interface. This so-called "co-editing" feature of the disclosed systems and methods allows clients to simultaneously modify different fields of a data file in a place. For example, in some of such embodiments, each client can concurrently modify a field of a spreadsheet (e.g., a cell, a row, or a column) or a document (e.g., a word, a sentence, or a paragraph). ", ¶227]
a message that includes a file has been added to the first messaging thread(digital collaboration desktop provide GUI for collaboration include messaging thread between collaborators, ¶s 12, 69, 104,227)
["In accordance with the principles of the present invention, a collaboration place, when referred to herein, means collaboration software that has at least the characteristics of being persistent, addressable, and capable of holding more than one data file. For example, a collaboration place can be an addressable persistent set (i.e., more than just one) of data files accessible by at least two users simultaneously, in which data introduced by one user is made available to other allowed users based on update(s) via a back channel and not requiring selection of "refresh" as in a browser-based system. Users may interact with the application through a collaboration place interface (e.g., a desktop application). As used herein, a collaboration place interface can be understood to be part of a collaboration place. ", ¶12]
["In one illustrative operation, the processor 114 of the client 120 executes instructions associated with software application programs 104 (including, for example, runtime instructions specified, at least partially, by the local user 102 and/or by another software application program, such as a batch-type program) that can instruct the processor 114 to at least partially control the operation of the graphics subsystem 122 in rendering and displaying a graphical user interface (including, for example, one or more menus, windows, and/or other visual objects) on the display device 126. ", ¶69]
[“The content window 328 can present content 328a, tooolbars 328b for modifying the content, and scrollbars 328c for navigating the content. Sub-window 330 (otherwise referred to herein as the chat window 330) includes portions 330a and 330b. Portion 330a is configured for displaying a chat transcript, and portion 330b is configured for receiving chat messages for transmission, e.g., to friends and/or to other users in a place. Chat window 330 also includes an icon 331 for displaying prior chat transcripts, e.g., chat transcripts generated during previous visits to a place.”, ¶104]
["In some embodiments, the users in a place can concurrently edit (e.g., write to) content being shared with each other via the place interface. This so-called "co-editing" feature of the disclosed systems and methods allows clients to simultaneously modify different fields of a data file in a place. For example, in some of such embodiments, each client can concurrently modify a field of a spreadsheet (e.g., a cell, a row, or a column) or a document (e.g., a word, a sentence, or a paragraph). ", ¶227]
and content of the file included in the message that has been added to the first messaging thread is not displayed via the first GUI(thumbnail of file shared in collaboration space is displayed, but content of file is not, ¶104, fig. 3D)
[0104] FIG. 3D shows an exemplary place interface for a user of system 100. As shown in FIG. 3D, the interface 320 includes primary window 322, several sub-windows 324-330, pull-down menus 332, icons 334, and a tray 338. Sub-window 324 (otherwise referred to herein as the people window 324) is configured for displaying data identifying the participants in an active place. For example, people window 324 shows a list of participant user names. In some embodiments, such as the embodiment shown in FIG. 3D, people window 324 is configured for displaying miniature screen shots or "thumbnails" 324a of the place interfaces (and/or portions thereof and/or other displays) or other local content of a client (e.g., active window or desktop application). Sub-window 326 (otherwise referred to herein as the things window 326) is configured for displaying data identifying the place data files 260 that are associated with the place as well as the user data files 248 that are associated with a user. For example, things window 326 displays a data file directory including public portion 326a and private portion 326b. Selecting a data file in things window 326 (by, e.g., double-clicking on the file with a mouse) causes the data file to be presented in sub-window 328 (otherwise referred to herein as content window 328). The content window 328 can present content 328a, tooolbars 328b for modifying the content, and scrollbars 328c for navigating the content. Sub-window 330 (otherwise referred to herein as the chat window 330) includes portions 330a and 330b. Portion 330a is configured for displaying a chat transcript, and portion 330b is configured for receiving chat messages for transmission, e.g., to friends and/or to other users in a place. Chat window 330 also includes an icon 331 for displaying prior chat transcripts, e.g., chat transcripts generated during previous visits to a place.
monitoring activity associated with the file, wherein the activity is performed by the second user; and(monitoring and displaying coediting activity of one ore more second users , ¶s 12, 58, 227)
["While they are logged into the place, the clients can share content with each other via the server. For example, in some of such embodiments, the clients can concurrently display and/or modify data files via the place interface. As further described herein, the data files can include audio data files, video data files, documents with text and/or graphics, multimedia presentations, and/or other types of data files. The server associates the place with a place identifier and other types of place data, such as client identifiers and data files. Based on detecting a termination event, the server stores the place identifier and the data associated therewith for subsequent access by the clients (e.g., for provision to clients in reply to subsequent requests to access the place). ", ¶58]
["In accordance with the principles of the present invention, a collaboration place, when referred to herein, means collaboration software that has at least the characteristics of being persistent, addressable, and capable of holding more than one data file. For example, a collaboration place can be an addressable persistent set (i.e., more than just one) of data files accessible by at least two users simultaneously, in which data introduced by one user is made available to other allowed users based on update(s) via a back channel and not requiring selection of "refresh" as in a browser-based system. Users may interact with the application through a collaboration place interface (e.g., a desktop application). As used herein, a collaboration place interface can be understood to be part of a collaboration place. ", ¶12]
["In some embodiments, the users in a place can concurrently edit (e.g., write to) content being shared with each other via the place interface. This so-called "co-editing" feature of the disclosed systems and methods allows clients to simultaneously modify different fields of a data file in a place. For example, in some of such embodiments, each client can concurrently modify a field of a spreadsheet (e.g., a cell, a row, or a column) or a document (e.g., a word, a sentence, or a paragraph). ", ¶227]
causing the first GUI to add a visual indicator to the file included in the message that has been added to the first messaging thread, wherein( displaying thumbnail and status to indicate users currently activity with shared content files, ¶s76 198)
[0076] User place data 220 include user place identifiers 225, data representing the on-line status 230 of the user, and skin data 235. Place identifiers 225 include data identifying the names of the places which the user has been authorized to access. The on-line status data 230 includes an on-line indicator that indicates whether a user has entered and/or otherwise accessed an active place (e.g., logged into an active place). In some embodiments, the on-line indicator includes a bit or flag that is set based on whether the user has entered a place. Usually, if a user has entered a place, the on-line status data 230 (and/or other data in user data 210) also includes the IP or other network address of the client 120 associated with the user for logging and/or debugging purposes. In some embodiments, the on-line status data 230 includes an activity indicator that represents a type and/or a degree of user activity in a place. For example, the activity indicator can include a binary busy/idle indicator that represents a period of activity/inactivity in the place (e.g., idle for the previous 10 seconds). Also for example, the activity indicator can include a complex, e.g., non-binary, indicator that can identify user activity inside and/or outside the place. Such a complex activity indicator can identify an active display or window on client 120 (e.g., a display or window into which data is currently being (and/or has recently been) entered and/or otherwise provided by a user input device) and a type and/or a degree of activity in the active display or window (e.g., 100 keystrokes per minute in an active word processing window).
[0198] In some embodiments, the users in a place can detect the type and/or degree of activity of other users in the place based on one or more so-called peripheral vision schemes. For example, in one such scheme, a user can detect the activity of other users based on the user login notification messages described herein with respect to FIGS. 1B and 5A-5C. Also, a user can detect the activity of other users based on miniature screen shots or "thumbnails" of the place interfaces or display screens (or portions thereof) of the other users described herein with respect to FIGS. 8A and 8B. (In some embodiments, a thumbnail can also indicate the number of users currently viewing the shared display represented by the thumbnail and, based on a selection of the thumbnail by a user input device (e.g., a mouse), the identities of the users.) Further, a user can detect the activity of other users based on the activity indicators previously described herein with respect to FIG. 1B.
the visual indicator reflects a status of the activity associated with the file performed by the second user; and display of status activity indicator that can be simple of complex indicator, ¶199 such information can include information such as what edits/actions another user performed, ¶200),
["In some embodiments, a first user desiring to learn the activity status of a second user in a place can select and/or otherwise designate the user identifier for the second user in the place interface, e.g., welcome window 310 and/or people window 324. Based on receiving the selection, server 140 can provide the activity indicator (e.g., the previously described simple and/or the complex activity indicator) associated with the second user for presentation in the place interface of the first user. In some of such embodiments, a user in a place can manually set one or more features of and/or otherwise disable the activity indicator. For example, a user can set the simple and/or complex activity indicator to "busy" so as to discourage chat messages from other users and/or can disable the simple or complex activity indicator to enhance privacy. ", ¶199]
[" In some embodiments, the disclosed systems and methods can provide additional information to the first user. For example, in some of such embodiments, the disclosed systems and methods can provide one or more of the following to the first user: data identifying all of the data files currently being viewed by each user in a place; data identifying all of the data files that have been viewed during a time period by one or more users in a place; data identifying all of the users who have accessed one or more data files during a time period; and data identifying data files accessed and edited by one or more users during a time period. In some embodiments, the provided data can include one or more thumbnails (e.g., thumbnails of the data files currently being viewed by users in a place) and/or one or more other types of real-time views.", ¶200]
Spataro teaches the visual indicator includes an embedded control that is selectable to enable the first user to initiate a second messaging thread, outside the first messaging thread, with the second user and not the at least one other user (fig. 3D allows user to initiate private chat threads, i.e. side conversation in additional to the main collaboration interface, ¶141,249)
[0141] Thus, through the provision of views, users can experience, via the computer system, all the same things they would experience in a real-life conference or meeting room. For instance, contemporaneous discussion threads are analogous to side discussions in a real-life meeting. Attachments (documents etc.) can be brought to the "meeting", or taken "home" from the meeting. Such a real life experience can be provided through providing a conference chat, screen sharing of applications or documents, the ability to pass control of a document or application during collaboration (e.g., click access to a shared screen to drive applications remotely such as by one user clicking to take control of a shared document in an application to indicate his or her revisions remotely during collaboration), tracking of synchronous and asynchronous activity, the presentation of state information about participants (e.g., variations in the color of an icon of a user to show a current characteristic of the user), "hot" areas such as the user's icon that automatically display information about the user such as how long idle, current activity, etc.
[0249] In some embodiments, server 1040 can recommend and/or otherwise suggest that users in a place establish a voice conversation with each other based on detecting one or more criteria. For example, in one such embodiment, based on comparing the frequency and/or duration of exchanged chat messages with a threshold, server 140 can query, prompt, and/or otherwise request the first and second users to establish a voice conversation. Of course, server 1040 can be configured to recommend and/or otherwise suggest a voice conversation based on different criteria, such as criteria indicative of whether the first and second users prefer to communicate via chat and/or other criteria that will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 22, 30 and 38, Spataro teaches initiating, in response to a determination that the embedded control has been selected by the first user via the first GUI, the second messaging thread with the second user and not the at least one other user fig. 3D allows user to initiate private chat threads, i.e. side conversation in additional to the main collaboration interface, ¶141,249)
and causing the first GUI to display the second messaging thread user private chat or side conversation in a sub window ¶216)
[0216] Alternatively and/or in combination, in some embodiments, the users in a place can exchange private chat messages with each other based on generating a private place. In one such embodiment, a user 102.sub.1 desiring to exchange a private chat message with another user 102.sub.M can select the user 102.sub.M identifier (or other user 102.sub.M indicia) in (i) the people sub-window 324 of the exemplary place interface 320 shown in FIG. 3D for the place or (ii) if user 102.sub.M has been designated as a friend by user 102.sub.1, the exemplary welcome window 310 shown in FIG. 3C. Based on receiving the selection, server 140 establishes a new place for users 102.sub.1 and 102.sub.M (and only users 102.sub.1 and 102.sub.M) based on the schemes previously described herein. Users 102.sub.1 and 102.sub.M can then exchange private chat messages with each other based on entering those messages into the live component 330b of the chat utility 330 of the place interface 320 for the new place. As further described herein, the new place can be administered in parallel to, and independently of, the pre-existing place.
Regarding claims 23, 31 and 39, Spataro wherein: the first messaging thread and the second messaging thread are displayed in the first GUI in a context of a first application(collaboration interface fig. 3D are provide on each user’s devices in the collaboration session, where each respective user’s collaboration interfaces allows the display and initiation of chat threads with each other such thread include a main collaboration thread or private/side communication threads with one or more second users, ¶s12,69,141)
and the second messaging thread is displayed in a second GUI rendered via a second device associated with the second user in a context of a second application that is displaying the content of the file(GUI, fig.3D providing collaboration interface for first and one or more other second users, to display their respective discussions threads ¶s12.69,141)
["In accordance with the principles of the present invention, a collaboration place, when referred to herein, means collaboration software that has at least the characteristics of being persistent, addressable, and capable of holding more than one data file. For example, a collaboration place can be an addressable persistent set (i.e., more than just one) of data files accessible by at least two users simultaneously, in which data introduced by one user is made available to other allowed users based on update(s) via a back channel and not requiring selection of "refresh" as in a browser-based system. Users may interact with the application through a collaboration place interface (e.g., a desktop application). As used herein, a collaboration place interface can be understood to be part of a collaboration place. ", ¶12]
["In one illustrative operation, the processor 114 of the client 120 executes instructions associated with software application programs 104 (including, for example, runtime instructions specified, at least partially, by the local user 102 and/or by another software application program, such as a batch-type program) that can instruct the processor 114 to at least partially control the operation of the graphics subsystem 122 in rendering and displaying a graphical user interface (including, for example, one or more menus, windows, and/or other visual objects) on the display device 126. ", ¶69]
[0141] Thus, through the provision of views, users can experience, via the computer system, all the same things they would experience in a real-life conference or meeting room. For instance, contemporaneous discussion threads are analogous to side discussions in a real-life meeting. Attachments (documents etc.) can be brought to the "meeting", or taken "home" from the meeting. Such a real life experience can be provided through providing a conference chat, screen sharing of applications or documents, the ability to pass control of a document or application during collaboration (e.g., click access to a shared screen to drive applications remotely such as by one user clicking to take control of a shared document in an application to indicate his or her revisions remotely during collaboration), tracking of synchronous and asynchronous activity, the presentation of state information about participants (e.g., variations in the color of an icon of a user to show a current characteristic of the user), "hot" areas such as the user's icon that automatically display information about the user such as how long idle, current activity, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26,32-34, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spataro as applied to claims 21, 29 and 37 above, and further in view of Rodriguez US 2018/0367484.
Regarding claims 24, 32 and 40, Spataro does not teach wherein the file is attached to the message that has been added to the first messaging thread. Rodriguez in the same field of endeavor as the invention teach a system for embedded application use in a chat conversation system. Rodriguez teaches wherein the file is attached to the message that has been added to the first messaging thread(content items such as images, documents can be insert into the conversation/discussion by any user in a chat conversation include a first user, ¶s135, 445,470).
[0135] In some implementations, the messaging application can manage a conversation “currency.” This can be a virtual currency that can be generated by embedded applications, earned by chat users, and exchanged with other chat users within the embedded applications and/or within the messaging application. In some examples, a user can receive tokens or “coins” when performing particular tasks or goals in embedded applications, e.g., completing an objective in a game, editing a video or image for a threshold amount of time or threshold number of edit operations, playing a media item for a threshold amount of time, editing a shared list, completing a travel reservation, etc. In various implementations, the currency can be spent by a user to obtain rewards, e.g., the ability to change visual features of the chat interface, select new options, or use other features of the chat interface. In additional examples, the currency can be spent to enable use of (e.g., unlock access to) visual text characters, icons, or images that can be inserted into chat conversations (e.g., “sticker packs”), use of particular conversation features (e.g., change message text fonts, add colors or titles to chat identities, use a particular image or avatar in the chat conversation, etc.), use of particular embedded applications, etc. In some implementations, the currency can be used to unlock or improve features in embedded applications (e.g., use of particular avatars or characters in games, access to particular media items with a monetary discount, use of different displayed appearances for embedded interfaces, etc.). In another example, a user can send a particular amount of the currency to a different chat user, or can transfer (or copy) obtained rewards or access rights to a different chat user in exchange for an amount of the currency. In some implementations, the currency can be converted to a real currency, allowing for person-to-person payments (e.g., splitting a bill at a restaurant, or small debt settling)
[0445] In some implementations, media items can be saved for the user in a dedicated separate chat conversations. For example, a user can provide, in the chat conversation, user input to save a particular media item. In response, a second chat conversation is identified that is associated with the user and a bot is associated with the media item. The media item is inserted into the second chat conversation, and previous saved media items are also listed in the second chat conversation. The messaging application can receive input from the user that is associated with the media item, e.g., to play a selected media item. In response, the first chat conversation is updated by playing the selected media item using an embedded application.
[0470] In various implementations, the other applications 1212 can include a machine-learning application 1230 which can be used in various implementations described herein. For example, machine-learning application 1230 may utilize Bayesian classifiers, support vector machines, neural networks, or other learning techniques. In some implementations, machine-learning application 1230 may include a trained model, an inference engine, and data. In some implementations, the data may include training data, e.g., data used to generate the trained model. For example, the training data may include any type of data such as text, images, audio, video, etc. Training data may be obtained from any source, e.g., a data repository specifically marked for training, data for which permission is provided for use as training data for machine-learning, etc. In implementations where one or more users permit use of their respective user data to train the trained model, training data may include such user data. In implementations where users permit use of their respective user data, the data may include permitted data such as images (e.g., photos or other user-generated images), communications (e.g., e-mail; chat data such as text messages, voice, video, etc.), documents (e.g., spreadsheets, text documents, presentations, etc.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Spataro with the function to allow direct sharing of content in the side/private conversations of Spataro. The reason for this modification would be to allow content to be shared and access directly in side conversations of Spataro without access to other users outside the private conversations.
Regarding claims 25 and 33, Spataro does not teach wherein the second user adds the message that includes the file to the first messaging thread. Rodriguez in the same field of endeavor as the invention teach a system for embedded application use in a chat conversation system. Rodriguez teaches wherein the second user adds the message that includes the file to the first messaging thread(content items such as images, documents can be insert into the conversation/discussion, including sharing by a second user in a conversation ¶s 26,135, 445,470).
[0026] For example, in some implementations, a notification can be provided on other chat devices in the chat conversation, indicating that the embedded session is active. Chat users of the other chat devices can provide input to their user devices (e.g., select a join control displayed in the chat interfaces of their devices) to cause their devices to join the embedded session and become member device. Chat identities of the chat users can be provided to the embedded application and use in the embedded application.
[0135] In some implementations, the messaging application can manage a conversation “currency.” This can be a virtual currency that can be generated by embedded applications, earned by chat users, and exchanged with other chat users within the embedded applications and/or within the messaging application. In some examples, a user can receive tokens or “coins” when performing particular tasks or goals in embedded applications, e.g., completing an objective in a game, editing a video or image for a threshold amount of time or threshold number of edit operations, playing a media item for a threshold amount of time, editing a shared list, completing a travel reservation, etc. In various implementations, the currency can be spent by a user to obtain rewards, e.g., the ability to change visual features of the chat interface, select new options, or use other features of the chat interface. In additional examples, the currency can be spent to enable use of (e.g., unlock access to) visual text characters, icons, or images that can be inserted into chat conversations (e.g., “sticker packs”), use of particular conversation features (e.g., change message text fonts, add colors or titles to chat identities, use a particular image or avatar in the chat conversation, etc.), use of particular embedded applications, etc. In some implementations, the currency can be used to unlock or improve features in embedded applications (e.g., use of particular avatars or characters in games, access to particular media items with a monetary discount, use of different displayed appearances for embedded interfaces, etc.). In another example, a user can send a particular amount of the currency to a different chat user, or can transfer (or copy) obtained rewards or access rights to a different chat user in exchange for an amount of the currency. In some implementations, the currency can be converted to a real currency, allowing for person-to-person payments (e.g., splitting a bill at a restaurant, or small debt settling)
[0445] In some implementations, media items can be saved for the user in a dedicated separate chat conversations. For example, a user can provide, in the chat conversation, user input to save a particular media item. In response, a second chat conversation is identified that is associated with the user and a bot is associated with the media item. The media item is inserted into the second chat conversation, and previous saved media items are also listed in the second chat conversation. The messaging application can receive input from the user that is associated with the media item, e.g., to play a selected media item. In response, the first chat conversation is updated by playing the selected media item using an embedded application.
[0470] In various implementations, the other applications 1212 can include a machine-learning application 1230 which can be used in various implementations described herein. For example, machine-learning application 1230 may utilize Bayesian classifiers, support vector machines, neural networks, or other learning techniques. In some implementations, machine-learning application 1230 may include a trained model, an inference engine, and data. In some implementations, the data may include training data, e.g., data used to generate the trained model. For example, the training data may include any type of data such as text, images, audio, video, etc. Training data may be obtained from any source, e.g., a data repository specifically marked for training, data for which permission is provided for use as training data for machine-learning, etc. In implementations where one or more users permit use of their respective user data to train the trained model, training data may include such user data. In implementations where users permit use of their respective user data, the data may include permitted data such as images (e.g., photos or other user-generated images), communications (e.g., e-mail; chat data such as text messages, voice, video, etc.), documents (e.g., spreadsheets, text documents, presentations, etc.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Spataro with the function to allow direct sharing of content in the side/private conversations of Spataro. The reason for this modification would be to allow content to be shared any user such as second or third users, directly in private/side conversations without access to other users outside the private.side conversations.
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Spataro does not teach wherein the at least one other user adds the message that includes the file to the first messaging thread. Rodriguez in the same field of endeavor as the invention teach a system for embedded application use in a chat conversation system. Rodriguez teaches wherein the at least one other user adds the message that includes the file to the first messaging thread(content items such as images, documents can be insert into the conversation/discussion, including sharing by a second user in a conversation ¶s 26,135, 445,470).
[0026] For example, in some implementations, a notification can be provided on other chat devices in the chat conversation, indicating that the embedded session is active. Chat users of the other chat devices can provide input to their user devices (e.g., select a join control displayed in the chat interfaces of their devices) to cause their devices to join the embedded session and become member device. Chat identities of the chat users can be provided to the embedded application and use in the embedded application.
[0135] In some implementations, the messaging application can manage a conversation “currency.” This can be a virtual currency that can be generated by embedded applications, earned by chat users, and exchanged with other chat users within the embedded applications and/or within the messaging application. In some examples, a user can receive tokens or “coins” when performing particular tasks or goals in embedded applications, e.g., completing an objective in a game, editing a video or image for a threshold amount of time or threshold number of edit operations, playing a media item for a threshold amount of time, editing a shared list, completing a travel reservation, etc. In various implementations, the currency can be spent by a user to obtain rewards, e.g., the ability to change visual features of the chat interface, select new options, or use other features of the chat interface. In additional examples, the currency can be spent to enable use of (e.g., unlock access to) visual text characters, icons, or images that can be inserted into chat conversations (e.g., “sticker packs”), use of particular conversation features (e.g., change message text fonts, add colors or titles to chat identities, use a particular image or avatar in the chat conversation, etc.), use of particular embedded applications, etc. In some implementations, the currency can be used to unlock or improve features in embedded applications (e.g., use of particular avatars or characters in games, access to particular media items with a monetary discount, use of different displayed appearances for embedded interfaces, etc.). In another example, a user can send a particular amount of the currency to a different chat user, or can transfer (or copy) obtained rewards or access rights to a different chat user in exchange for an amount of the currency. In some implementations, the currency can be converted to a real currency, allowing for person-to-person payments (e.g., splitting a bill at a restaurant, or small debt settling)
[0445] In some implementations, media items can be saved for the user in a dedicated separate chat conversations. For example, a user can provide, in the chat conversation, user input to save a particular media item. In response, a second chat conversation is identified that is associated with the user and a bot is associated with the media item. The media item is inserted into the second chat conversation, and previous saved media items are also listed in the second chat conversation. The messaging application can receive input from the user that is associated with the media item, e.g., to play a selected media item. In response, the first chat conversation is updated by playing the selected media item using an embedded application.
[0470] In various implementations, the other applications 1212 can include a machine-learning application 1230 which can be used in various implementations described herein. For example, machine-learning application 1230 may utilize Bayesian classifiers, support vector machines, neural networks, or other learning techniques. In some implementations, machine-learning application 1230 may include a trained model, an inference engine, and data. In some implementations, the data may include training data, e.g., data used to generate the trained model. For example, the training data may include any type of data such as text, images, audio, video, etc. Training data may be obtained from any source, e.g., a data repository specifically marked for training, data for which permission is provided for use as training data for machine-learning, etc. In implementations where one or more users permit use of their respective user data to train the trained model, training data may include such user data. In implementations where users permit use of their respective user data, the data may include permitted data such as images (e.g., photos or other user-generated images), communications (e.g., e-mail; chat data such as text messages, voice, video, etc.), documents (e.g., spreadsheets, text documents, presentations, etc.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Spataro with the function to allow direct sharing of content in the side/private conversations of Spataro. The reason for this modification would be to allow content to be shared any user such as second or third users, directly in private/side conversations without access to other users outside the private.side conversations.
.
Claims 27 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spataro as applied to claim 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Milvaney 2020/0162561.
Regarding claim 27 and 35, Spataro does not teach wherein the activity associated with the file indicates that the second user is interacting with a particular portion of the file that has been previously associated with the first user. Milvaney in the same field of endeavor as the invention teaches a system for managing document modification. Milvaney teaches wherein the activity associated with the file indicates that the second user is interacting with a particular portion of the file that has been previously associated with the first user( identify and alert a second user particular portions of a document associated with the second user, of changes made by a first user,¶s44,92, the first user of Spataro corresponds to the second user of Milvaney and the second user of Spataro corresponds to the first user of Milvaney, the first user of Spataro thus is able to be notified and/or view changes to collaboration document made by another user) .
[0044] In FIG. 2, a first end-user 250 and a second end-user 260 are depicted. For purposes of simplicity, the first end-user 250 can be understood to be a modifier of a content portion in this example, and the second end-user 260 is a candidate receiver or reviewer of the content portion (i.e., who would be a potential recipient of the modification notification). The first end-user 250 can access various electronic content portions via an application 202 available through a first device and/or a cloud network connection. In some implementations, during their access of an electronic content, one or more content portions can be modified by the first end-user 250, which are each identified as a modification event 206. The modification event 206 can be conveyed or received by a storage or event store 210. Over previous, simultaneous, or subsequent periods of time, the second-end user 260 can also be recorded as accessing the same electronic content via application 204. The accessing of the document itself is a type of interaction event.
[0092] In some other implementations, the method can include steps of identifying a plurality of content portions, including the first content portion, for which a modification event has occurred, and then determining that a subset of the plurality of content portions is of particular relevance to a third user. In addition, the method may involve generating, in response to determining that the subset is of particular relevance to the third user, a message in which each modification event associated with the subset is described in natural language, and then causing the message to be presented to the third user. In one implementation, the step of determining that the subset is of particular relevance to the third user is based on a record of the third user performing at least one interaction event for one or more content portions in the subset. In another implementation, the subset includes the first content portion, and the step of determining that the first content portion is of particular relevance to the third user is based on at least a communication history between the third user and the second user.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Spataro with notification and display of specific portions of documents modified by other users. The reason for this modification would be to allow for users to know what changes are being made in a document of a collaboration session.
Claims 28 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spataro as applied to claims 21 and 29 above, and further in view of Zaveri US 2014/0372526.
Regarding claim 28 and 36, Spataro does not teach wherein the activity associated with the file indicates that the second user specifies an identification of the first user. Zaveri in the same field of endeavor teaches a system for collaborative file editing/review. Zaveri teaches wherein the activity associated with the file indicates that the second user specifies an identification of the first user(owner of the document i.e. first user is part of criterion for notification of the event , ¶114)
["The dashboard module 216 may determine whether an attribute of the first event satisfies a criterion. An attribute of the event evaluated for a criterion can include, for example, attributes of the data content object relating to the event (e.g., type of data content object, size, owner, date created, date modified, etc.), the type of event, the time of the event, the date of the event, the user causing the event, the identity of the application involved in the event, and the type of application involved in the event. ", ¶114]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Spataro’s event triggered notification with more granular control of what events will cause a notification and which user are notified for a specific event as taught by Zaveri. The reason for this modification would be to provide more granular control by a user of what notification of changes in documents the user wishes to be alerted to.
Conclusion
/TOM Y CHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455