DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-8 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 10/23/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
5. Regarding 103 rejection: Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that limitations in Claim 1 “wherein the emergency button allows a flight crew member outside of the cockpit to control the surveillance system the autopilot controller or both without further intervention from outside the aircraft” are not taught. Applicant argues that Johnson fails to teach this claim. However, Johnson 0056 and 0061, as Applicant argues, teaches that a user can control the autopilot controller of the aircraft when a duress input is detected (button). Examiner brings the Nelson art to teach of a button that is not in the cockpit, in which can be used to by flight crew or an Air Marshall. It would be obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a button that is located outside the cockpit area that can be used so that when used by the system of Johnson, a user can press a button to control the autopilot controller. This indicates that Johnson in view of Nelson does teach the capability of the amended claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a surveillance system” – in claim 1, 4
The following are the interpreted corresponding structures found within the specification for some of the above limitations:
“a surveillance system” – processor [0039-0040]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 20220388678) in view of Nelson (US 20040079837).
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson discloses An emergency system for an aircraft, comprising: (Johnson, see at least [0002] “methods and systems for alarms and more particularly to alarms responsive to undesired or abnormal pilot state.”)
an autopilot controller arranged in a cockpit of the aircraft and configured to automatically fly the aircraft including performing predefined maneuvers; (Johnson, see at least element 106 in Fig. 1A. Also see paragraph [0060] wherein the aircraft can engage in an autopilot mode.)
a surveillance system; (Johnson, see at least [0019] wherein a user authentication system 112 may be configured to detect authorized/unauthorized users.)
and an emergency button arranged in a crew rest compartment outside of the cockpit and configured to send an emergency landing signal to the surveillance system, the autopilot controller, or both when activated, (Johnson, see at least [0061-0065] wherein a duress input is received via a button, and in response to the duress input received, system 112 may lock controls, contact ground dispatch and contact an air marshall. An auto-land function may also be activated when the duress phrase is uttered.)
wherein the emergency button allows a flight crew member outside the cockpit to control the surveillance system, the autopilot controller, or both without further intervention from outside the aircraft. (Johnson, see at least [0061-0065] wherein a duress input is received via a button, and in response to the duress input received, system 112 may lock controls and contact ground dispatch. The system 112 may recognize the duress input (button) and can auto taxi the aircraft back to the gate. ** interpreted as member controlling the autopilot controller since the recognized duress input would cause the aircraft to auto taxi back to the gate.)
Johnson does not explicitly disclose an emergency button arranged in a crew rest compartment outside of the cockpit
However, Nelson in which is directed to an anti-hijacking system operable in emergencies to deactivate on-board flight controls discloses an emergency button arranged in a crew rest compartment outside of the cockpit (Nelson, see at least [0020] wherein the emergency button may be constructed and located for easy and fast activation by flight crew. The panic button may be embodied by one or multiple remote-control units entrusted to flight crew, flight attendants, air marshals and more. ** if embodied by air marshals, it is arranged outside the cockpit.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Johnson with the teachings of Nelson to include the technique of having an emergency button located outside of the cockpit, in which would improve the entrusted flight crew access to the emergency button. This would further improve the flight crew’s ability to press an emergency button when there is an event that is occurring that needs automated landing.
Regarding Claim 5, Johnson in view of Nelson discloses The emergency system of claim 1, (see rejection above)
wherein the emergency button comprises a security measure. (Johnson, see at least [0065] wherein the system112 may detect the duress input by any technique described and are not limited to facial detection, duress phrase, pin code, button, switch with a cover, and the like.)
Regarding Claim 6, Johnson in view of Nelson discloses The emergency system of claim 5, (see rejection above)
wherein the security measure comprises an authentication means. (Johnson, see at least [0065] wherein the system112 may detect the duress input by any technique described and are not limited to facial detection, duress phrase, pin code, button, switch with a cover, and the like.)
Regarding Claim 7, Johnson in view of Nelson discloses An aircraft section, comprising: (see rejection above)
the cockpit; at least one crew rest compartment located outside of the cockpit; and the emergency system of claim 1. (see rejection above in claim 1)
Regarding Claim 8, Johnson in view of Nelson discloses An aircraft comprising: (see rejection above)
the aircraft section of claim 7. (Johnson, see at least [0009] and Fig. 1C in which showcases a flight deck of an aircraft.)
9. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 20220388678) in view of Nelson (US 20040079837) in further view of Boucourt (US 20140176668).
Regarding Claim 2, Johnson in view of Nelson discloses The emergency system of claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection above)
a camera arranged in the cockpit and configured to capture an image of the cockpit; (Johnson, see at least [0004] wherein the camera configured to capture images is within a flight deck of an aircraft.)
Johnson does not explicitly disclose and a user interface device arranged in the crew rest compartment and configured to display the captured image from the camera.
However, Boucourt discloses and a user interface device arranged in the crew rest compartment and configured to display the captured image from the camera. (Nelson, see at least [0053] wherein a display screen can be situated at various points within the aircraft to display the surveillance system images.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Johnson with the teachings of Boucourt to include the technique of utilizing a display screen top display surveillance system image, in which would improve the entrusted flight crew access to the emergency button if the cockpit is experiencing an emergency. This would further improve the flight crew’s ability to press an emergency button when there is an event that is occurring that needs automated landing.
Regarding Claim 3, Johnson in view of Nelson in further view of Boucourt discloses The emergency system of claim 2, (see rejection above)
wherein the image of the cockpit includes a pilot seat. (Johnson, see at least [0004] wherein the camera configured to capture images is within a flight deck of an aircraft.)
Regarding Claim 4, Johnson in view of Nelson in further view of Boucourt discloses The emergency system of claim 2, (see rejection above)
wherein the user interface device is further configured to display one or more alert messages indicated on a control panel in the cockpit, or wherein the surveillance system is configured to monitor a physical condition, a health, or both of a pilot in the cockpit, to determine whether the pilot is hampered from operating the aircraft, and to send an alarm signal to the user interface device, when the physical condition, the health, or both is determined to be hampered, or both. (Johnson, see at least [0063] wherein no authority mode also includes an alerting function to signal that the user is in duress)
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20060032978 – A method and apparatus for assuming and maintaining secure control of an aircraft in the event of an intended, attempted or actual attack upon, or incapacity of, the human pilot(s) of the aircraft.
US 11150653 B1 – A system and related method operates to receive autopilot selection and monitor aircraft systems to control which autopilot is actively flying the aircraft.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NADA MAHYOOB ALQADERI/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664