DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In line 9 of claim 23 it appears “a male connecter” should be “the male connector.” Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, 16-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirsch (US 5,450,820).
Regarding claim 1, Kirsch discloses a coupling assembly for connecting a tool to a strap or lanyard, the coupling assembly comprising: a male connector (10) comprising a shaft (at 26) which extends longitudinally from a first end to a second end; a female connector (28) comprising a connector body which defines a longitudinal passage for receiving the shaft of the male connector; an engaging member (34) which is movable between an engaged state in which the engaging member is configured to inhibit disconnection of the male and female connectors, and a disengaged state in which disconnection of the male and female connectors is permitted; and a blocking member (40 or 62) which is movable between a first position in which the blocking member is configured to inhibit actuation of the engaging member, and a second position in which actuation of the engaging member is permitted, wherein the engaging member comprises an outer surface (at 22) which is configured to be manually pushed by one or more digits to transition the engaging member from the engaged to the disengaged state, and wherein the engaging member and the blocking member are part of the female connector. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 3, the blocking member covers the engaging member in the first position to inhibit actuation of the engaging member and does not cover the engaging member in the second position to permit actuation of the engaging member. See Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 4, the blocking member is biased towards the first position. See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 5, the blocking member can be rotatable (at 50 or 72) between the first and second positions. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 6, the blocking member can be manually movable to the second position. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 7 the engaging member is biased towards the engaged state. See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 8, the engaging member is configured to move in a transverse direction relative to the male and/or female connectors to transition between the engaged and disengaged states. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 9, the shaft of the male connector comprises an engagement formation between the first and second ends, wherein the engaging member is fixed against longitudinal movement relative to the female connector, wherein the engaging member is configured to engage the engagement formation of the male connector when in the engaged state to inhibit relative longitudinal movement between the male and female connectors. See Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 10, the engaging member is received in one or more transverse apertures through the connector body, and wherein the engaging member slides through the one or more transverse apertures to transition between the engaged and disengaged states. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 12, a biasing member (24) is inside the longitudinal passage of the connector body, wherein when the shaft of the male connector is received within the longitudinal passage the biasing member is configured to urge an end of the shaft in an outboard direction of the longitudinal passage See Figs. 2 and 5.
Regarding claim 13, a gripping portion (anywhere a user can grip) is arranged adjacent to the blocking member and/or engaging member, such that a user can grip the gripping portion with a lower portion of a hand and move the blocking member and/or engaging member with an upper portion of the same hand. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 14, the male connector comprises a loop (30) for receiving a strap or lanyard; and/or wherein the female connector comprises a loop (32) for receiving a strap or lanyard. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 16, the tether arrangement comprises: one or more straps (17) capable of wrapping around a tool; and one or more sockets (at 30, 32) for receiving the one or more straps; wherein each of the one or more sockets is configured to engage the respective strap as it is inserted into the socket, to inhibit movement of the respective strap out of the socket. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 17, the shaft of the male connector comprises a tapered free end. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 18, Kirsch discloses a female connector (28) for a coupling assembly for coupling a tool to a strap or lanyard, the female connector comprising: a connector body (at 20) which defines a longitudinal passage for receiving a shaft of a male connector (10); an engaging member (34) which is moveable between an engaged state in which the engaging member is configured to inhibit disconnection of the female connector and a male connector coupled thereto, and a disengaged state in which the engaging member is configured to permit disconnection of the female connector and a male connector coupled thereto; and a blocking member (40 or 62) which is movable between a first position in which the blocking member is configured to inhibit actuation of the engaging member, and a second position in which actuation of the engaging member is permitted, wherein the engaging member comprises an outer surface (22) which is configured to be manually pushed by one or more digits to transition the engaging member from the engaged to the disengaged state. See Figs 1-5.
Regarding claim 20, Kirsch discloses a kit of parts comprising the coupling assembly of claim 1 and a strap or lanyard (17) comprising a first end for coupling to the male or female connector, and a second end capable of coupling to an anchor point. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 21, Kirsch discloses a coupling assembly for connecting a tool to a strap or lanyard, and wherein the coupling assembly comprises: a male connector (10) comprising a shaft which extends longitudinally from a first end to a second end; a female connector (28) comprising a connector body which defines a longitudinal passage for receiving the shaft of the male connector; an engaging member (34) which is movable between an engaged state in which the engaging member is configured to inhibit disconnection of the male and female connectors, and a disengaged state in which disconnection of the male and female connectors is permitted; and a blocking member (40 or 62) which is movable between a first position in which the blocking member is configured to inhibit actuation of the engaging member, and a second position in which actuation of the engaging member is permitted, wherein: the male connector or the female connector is integrally formed with a body of the tool; or the male connector or the female connector comprises a tether arrangement (17) which is tethered around the body of the tool. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 22, Kirsch discloses a tool comprising a male connector (10) for a coupling assembly for coupling the tool to a strap or lanyard, wherein the male connector comprises a shaft which extends longitudinally from a first end to a second end for insertion into a longitudinal passage of a female connector (28), wherein the shaft comprises an engagement formation which is configured for engagement with an engaging member of said female connector to inhibit disconnection of the male and female connectors; wherein the male connector is integrally formed with a body of the tool, or wherein the male connector comprises a tether arrangement (17) which is tethered around the body of the tool. See Figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 23, Kirsch discloses a tool comprising a female connector (28) for a coupling assembly for coupling the tool to a strap or lanyard, the female connector comprising: a connector body (at 20) which defines a longitudinal passage for receiving a shaft of a male connector (10); an engaging member (34) which is moveable between an engaged state in which the engaging member is configured to inhibit disconnection of the female connector and a male connector coupled thereto, and a disengaged state in which the engaging member is configured to permit disconnection of the female connector and a male connector (10, 26) coupled thereto; and a blocking member (40 or 62) which is movable between a first position in which the blocking member is configured to inhibit actuation of the engaging member, and a second position in which actuation of the engaging member is permitted, wherein: the female connector is integrally formed with a body of the tool; or the female connector comprises a tether arrangement (17) which is tethered around a body of the tool. See Figs. 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirsch as applied above in further view of Raynar et al. (US 2015/0201723).
Regarding claim 11, Kirsch does not disclose the coloring as claimed. Raynar, which is drawn to a coupling, discloses various parts of different colors. See [0148].
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have parts of Kirsch like the engaging member comprise an outer surface having a different appearance to an outer surface of the connector body and blocking member. Having different colors would allow for easier identification of various parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734