DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “…each containing the plurality of particles” spanning lines 2-3 of the claim. It is unclear as to what “each” is referring to in the claim—e.g., each of the first and second surfaces.
Due to their dependencies upon claim 2, claims 3-7 are also deemed indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2020/0341335).
Regarding independent claim 1, Tsai teaches a light diffusion sheet (Fig. 2, Element 43; ¶ [0052]) including a first surface (Fig. 2, Element 22; ¶ [0052]) serving as a light emitting surface or a light incident surface and having an uneven shape configured to diffuse light (¶ [0052]), wherein a luminance uniformity layer (Fig. 2, Element 21; ¶ [0080]) having a plurality of particles or a dot pattern (Fig. 2, Element 21a; ¶ [0080]) is provided on a second surface opposite to the first surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches the luminance uniformity layer comprising a light transmissive ink or resin (¶ [0052]), each containing the plurality of particles.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches the luminance uniformity layer uniformly provided on the second surface (Fig. 2), and the luminance uniformity layer having a thickness of 5μm or more (¶ [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches the luminance uniformity layer uniformly provided on the second surface, and a mass ratio of the plurality of particles to the ink or the resin in the luminance uniformity layer is 40% or more (¶ [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches the luminance uniformity layer configured with the ink arranged in a dot shape (Fig. 26; ¶ [0135]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches the ink arranged so that dots having a plurality of different diameters are provided (¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches a ratio of an area in the second surface where the ink is arranged is 35% or less (¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches the plurality of particles having a hollow structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai teaches an average particle diameter of the plurality of particles of 0.1μm or more and 30μm or less (¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches the uneven shape formed by a plurality of recesses having a substantially inverted quadrangular pyramid shape and arranged in a two dimensional matrix (¶ [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai teaches the second surface as a matte surface or a flat surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches a backlight unit (Fig. 2, Element 40; ¶ [0049]) built in a liquid crystal display device and guiding light emitted from a plurality of light sources (Fig. 2, Element 42; ¶ [0049]) toward a display screen (Fig. 1, Element 50a; ¶ [0045]) comprising the light diffusion sheet of claim 1 provided between the display screen and the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai teaches a liquid crystal display device (Fig. 1, Element 50; ¶ [0044]) comprising the backlight unit of claim 12; and a liquid crystal display panel (Fig. 1, Element 5; ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches an information equipment (¶ [0047]) comprising the liquid crystal display device of claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US 11,906,847) teaches an optical film for a backlight unit with base film having first and second patterns. Tsai (US 11,886,075) teaches an optical sheet for a backlight unit with uneven shape. Ahn (US 8,167,473) teaches a backlight unit with a plurality of inversed pyramid patterns formed on an upper surface of a diffusion plate. Song (US 2010/0066946) teaches a backlight assembly with an optical member including first and second diffusion members. Lin (US 2010/0033957) teaches a backlight module with first and second optical plates. Hoshi (US 2009/0059120) teaches an illumination apparatus with a light transmission film having a plurality of prisms. Kashima (US 6,417,831) teaches a backlight device with a diffused light controlling optical sheet.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 23 June 2026