CTNF 18/924,785 CTNF 84304 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 13-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Nakamatsu (DE 10 2020 125112) . Regarding claim 1, Nakamatsu discloses (abstract; claims 1-9; figures 1-3; paragraphs [0021] - [0024]; [0053]) A powertrain, wherein the powertrain comprises: an enclosure (6); a separator (Fig. 1, the vertical wall between the motor 2 and the transmission 3), separating an interior of the enclosure into a first cavity (81: left portion of the enclosure 6) and a second cavity (82: right portion of the enclosure 6); a motor (2), located in the first cavity (81 ), wherein the motor comprises a motor shaft (21 ), and the motor shaft extends into the second cavity (82) through the separator; a first liquid return channel (92), located on an outer side of the enclosure (6) and communicating with the first cavity and the second cavity, and configured to convey liquid in the first cavity (81) to the second cavity (82) (the channel itself is seen as configured as defined, although the flow is in the opposite direction in D1 ); and a second liquid return channel (the channels seen at the far left of the fig 1, allowing flow between the first and second cavities, 81 and 82), located on the outer side of the enclosure and communicating with the first cavity and the second cavity, and configured to convey the liquid in the first cavity to the second cavity, wherein the second liquid return channel and the first liquid return channel at most partially overlap in a circumferential direction of the motor shaft. Regarding claim 13, Nakamatsu discloses A vehicle comprising a vehicle body and a powertrain installed in the vehicle body (at least “Detailed Embodiment” section of translation), wherein the powertrain comprises: an enclosure; a separator, separating an interior of the enclosure into a first cavity and a second cavity; a motor, located in the first cavity, wherein the motor comprises a motor shaft, and the motor shaft extends into the second cavity through the separator; a first liquid return channel, located on an outer side of the enclosure and communicating with the first cavity and the second cavity, and configured to convey liquid in the first cavity to the second cavity; and a second liquid return channel, located on the outer side of the enclosure and communicating with the first cavity and the second cavity, and configured to convey the liquid in the first cavity to the second cavity, wherein the second liquid return channel and the first liquid return channel at most partially overlap in a circumferential direction of the motor shaft (see discussion of claim 1 above). Regarding claims 2 and 14, Nakamatsu discloses wherein the second liquid return channel and the first liquid return channel are spaced apart in the circumferential direction of the motor shaft (at least figs 1-3). Regarding claims 4 and 16, Nakamatsu discloses wherein at least one of the first liquid return channel and the second liquid return channel extends in an axial direction of the motor shaft (at least fig 1). Regarding claims 5 and 17, Nakamatsu discloses wherein, in the circumferential direction of the motor shaft, an included angle between a first connecting line between the first liquid return channel and the motor shaft and a second connecting line between the second liquid return channel and the motor shaft is less than or equal to 90°, the first connecting line is a connecting line between a midpoint of the first liquid return channel in the circumferential direction of the motor shaft and the motor shaft in a radial direction of the motor shaft; and the second connecting line is a connecting line between a midpoint of the second liquid return channel in the circumferential direction of the motor shaft and the motor shaft in the radial direction of the motor shaft (at least figs 1-3). Regarding claims 6 and 18, Nakamatsu discloses wherein the motor further comprises: a rotor, a highest point of accommodating space inside at least one of the first liquid return channel and the second liquid return channel in a direction of gravity is lower than a lowest point of an outer surface of the rotor, and the lowest point of the outer surface of the rotor is a lowest point of the rotor in the direction of gravity that exists when the powertrain is in use (at least figs 1-3). Regarding claims 7 and 19, Nakamatsu discloses wherein the motor further comprises: a rotor, a first liquid level of the first liquid return channel and a second liquid level of the second liquid return channel are lower than a lowest point of an outer surface of the rotor, and the lowest point of the outer surface of the rotor is a lowest point of the rotor in a direction of gravity that exists when the powertrain is in use (at least figs 1-3). Regarding claims 8 and 20, Nakamatsu discloses further comprising: a reducer located in the second cavity, wherein the reducer comprises an output shaft, the output shaft is coupled to an end of the motor shaft that is located in the second cavity, the output shaft and the motor shaft are disposed side by side in a first direction, the first liquid return channel is located between the output shaft and the motor shaft in the first direction, and the first direction intersects an axial direction of the motor shaft (at least figs 1-3). Regarding claim 9, Nakamatsu discloses wherein the motor further comprises: a first end face and a second end face that are provided in the axial direction, the first end face is provided further away from the separator than the second end face, a first liquid collection chamber is formed between the first end face and the enclosure, and the first liquid return channel and the second liquid return channel communicate with the first liquid collection chamber, and are configured to convey liquid in the first liquid collection chamber to the second cavity (at least figs 1-3) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 10-12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art when taken alone or in combination does not appear to teach or fairly suggest at this time wherein, in an axial direction of the motor shaft, at least a part of the first liquid return channel and at least a part of the second liquid return channel are located on a side of the separator that faces the first cavity; or The powertrain according to claim 9, wherein a part of the enclosure that forms the first liquid collection chamber is provided with a first liquid outlet that runs through the enclosure, an end of the first liquid return channel that is close to the first liquid collection chamber is provided with a first liquid inlet, the first liquid outlet communicates with the first liquid inlet, the liquid in the first liquid collection chamber flows through the first liquid outlet and the first liquid inlet sequentially and enters the first liquid return channel, and a size of the first liquid outlet is greater than or equal to a size of the first liquid inlet in the circumferential direction of the motor shaft . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JACOB B MEYER whose telephone number is (571)270-3535. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9-7. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, J Allen Shriver can be reached at 303.297.4337. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JACOB B. MEYER Primary Examiner Art Unit 3613 /JACOB B MEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/924,785 Page 2 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/924,785 Page 3 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/924,785 Page 4 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/924,785 Page 5 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/924,785 Page 6 Art Unit: 3613