Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I, Sub-species A, Sub-sub-species 1 in the reply filed on 7/14/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-11, 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/14/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugimoto et al. (JP2009092900A).
With respect to claim 1, Sugimoto et al. disclose an electrostatic collecting device comprising: a collecting unit (e.g., item 23) facing a surface of an object to be cleaned (e.g., item 1), electrostatically collecting objects to be collected existing on the surface of the object to be cleaned (1), and having a rotating body (e.g. core of cleaning brush 23) and a brush (e.g., bristles of cleaning brush 23) provided on a surface of the rotating body (as shown at least by fig. 1); a charging unit (e.g., roller 24) having an insulating member rubbing against the collecting unit (23) and charging the collecting unit by the insulating member (as shown at least by fig. 1 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 9, 13, 59-61, 68 and/or 117); and a charge removing unit (e.g., item 31) contacting a surface of the charging unit (24), electrically grounded to remove charge from the surface of the charging unit (24), and having a conductive sheet (31) contacting the charging unit (as shown at least by fig. 1, and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 63-84).
With respect to claim 2, Sugimoto et al. further disclose wherein the brush (23) has insulating bristles made of an insulating material (as discussed at least in paragraph 42) and is configured to rub against at least the charging unit (24, as shown at least by fig. 1).
With respect to claim 3, Sugimoto et al. further disclose wherein the charging unit (24) has a rotating body (as shown at least by fig. 1).
With respect to claim 4, Sugimoto et al. further disclose a scraping unit (e.g., item 33) contacting the collecting unit (23), scraping off the collected objects to be collected from the collecting unit (23), and being an elastic blade (as discussed at least in paragraphs 73-81 and/or 117); and a container (e.g., item(s) 18 and/or 6; as discussed at least in paragraph 39) storing the objects to be collected scraped off by the scraping unit (33, as shown at least by fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. (JP2009092900A) in view of Nakayama (US 2002/0009314).
With respect to claim 12, Sugimoto et al. disclose an image forming device comprising: a photosensitive drum (e.g., item 1) on which an electrostatic latent image is formed (e.g., item 4); a developing unit (e.g., item 6) configured to develop the electrostatic latent image into a toner image; a transfer unit (e.g., transfer device 15) configured to transfer the toner image to a paper.
With further respect to claim 12, Sugimoto et al. do not disclose transferring a toner image to an intermediate transfer member; and collecting toner as the objects to be collected from the intermediate transfer member as the object to be cleaned.
With further respect to claim 12, Nakayama discloses transferring a toner image to an intermediate transfer member (e.g., item 7); and collecting toner as the objects to be collected from the intermediate transfer member (7) as the object to be cleaned (as shown at least by fig. 1 and/or as discussed at least in paragraph 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use and clean an intermediate transfer belt as taught by Nakayama in the image forming apparatus of Sugimoto et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in achieving image formation.
With respect to claim 13, Sugimoto et al. further disclose wherein the charging unit is configured to charge the collecting unit to a polarity opposite to the regular charging polarity of the toner (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 8-10, 16-39, 43-47, 57-62, 68, 76, and/or 81-83).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW