DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-5,7, 9-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al., US 2024/0169681.
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches of a computer-implemented method for object tracking (See [0181]-[0183]), comprising:
capturing, by a first client device, an image of a second client device (See [0024] cameras from headset capture the field of view to be able to view the controller);
determining, by a sensor associated with the second client device, a position of the second client device within a physical space surrounding the first and the second client devices (See [0063]-[0067], [0095], [0181]-[0183], and [0196]-[0197] multiple sensors on the hand-hand device to determine is position within the physical space around the headset and handheld to provide and track movements of objects such as the virtual sword when raising the handheld controller);
labeling the image of the second client device with the position of the second client device (See [0068] annotated training data associated with the images of the handheld controller);
adding the image to a training dataset (See [0068] 6 Dof and SLAM images added to the training data); and
training, based on the training dataset, a model configured to determine an object position within a field of view of the first client device (See [0068] and [0095] training based on the training data which than determines the handheld/virtual sword position).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the first client device includes a head-mounted display (HMD) (See [0176]-[0181] headset); and the second client device includes at least one handheld controller associated with the HMD (See [0176]-[0183] handheld controller).
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first client device is communicatively coupled to the second client device (See [0068], [0095], and [0182] wearable/head mounted device communicates with the handheld).
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the sensor includes at least one camera (See [0197] camera); and the at least one camera captures at least one of true-color images and false-color images (See [0197] RGB cameras for true color).
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the sensor associated with the second client device is an integrated sensor of the second client device (See [0063]-[0067], [0095], [0181]-[0183], and [0196]-[0197] multiple sensors on the hand-hand device).
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the sensor associated with the second client device is a non-integrated sensor associated with the second client device (See Fig.7A and [0104]-[0111] sensor may part of watch that is detachable and/or on the outside surface).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the training dataset includes a plurality of images of the second client device labeled with a plurality of positions of the second client device (See [0068] and [0095] training based on a plurality of captured images where the position/pose estimated for each image).
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising rendering, based on the model, a digital representation of the second client device in a display of the first client device, wherein the digital representation of the second client device is visually consistent with the image of the second client device (See [0063]-[0067], [0095], [0181]-[0183], and [0196]-[0197] the handheld representation is displayed as VR/AR/MR for the virtual object which is consistent with the imaging of the second client device).
Regarding claim 11, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1-4 and 9-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 6, 8, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al., US 2024/0169681 in view of Chen et al., US 2017/0011553.
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein determining the position of the second client device within the physical space surrounding the first and the second client devices includes (See analysis of claims 1 and 5):
capturing, by the sensor associated with the second client device, a plurality of images of the physical space as the second client device moves within the physical space (See [0063]-[0067], [0095], [0181]-[0183], and [0196]-[0197] slam cameras of the handheld device for imaging as the handheld moves).
Sun is silent with respect to identifying, based on the plurality of images, at least one feature of the physical space, wherein the at least one feature includes at least one of an edge, a corner, or a texture of the physical space; determining the position of the second client device relative to the at least one feature of the physical space.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches of identifying, based on the plurality of images, at least one feature of the physical space, wherein the at least one feature includes at least one of an edge, a corner, or a texture of the physical space; determining the position of the second client device relative to the at least one feature of the physical space (See [0022]-[0027] and [0032] identifying corners and edges to determine position of the handheld device in the physical space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to have incorporated the teachings of Chen for the mere benefit of more accurately identifying position of the handheld device.
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein determining the position of the second client device within the physical space surrounding the first and the second client devices includes (See analysis of claims 1 and 7):
capturing, by the sensor associated with the second client device, a plurality of images of the second client device as the second client device moves within the physical space (See [0063]-[0067], [0095], [0181]-[0183], and [0196]-[0197] slam cameras of the handheld device for imaging as the handheld moves);
identifying, based on the plurality of images, at least one integrated component of the second client device, wherein the at least one integrated component includes at least one infrared (IR) light-emitting diode (LED) physically coupled to the second client device (See [0068]-[0069] identifying from the images, the LED exposures).
Sun is silent with respect to identifying, based on the plurality of images, at least one feature of the physical space, wherein the at least one feature includes at least one of an edge, a corner, or a texture of the physical space; determining the position of the second client device relative to the at least one feature of the physical space.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches of identifying, based on the plurality of images, at least one feature of the physical space, wherein the at least one feature includes at least one of an edge, a corner, or a texture of the physical space; determining the position of the second client device relative to the at least one feature of the physical space (See [0022]-[0027] and [0032] identifying corners and edges to determine position of the handheld device in the physical space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sun to have incorporated the teachings of Chen for the mere benefit of more accurately identifying position of the handheld device.
Regarding claim 15, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
Contact
/Ricky Chin/
Primary Examiner
AU 2424
(571) 270-3753
Ricky.Chin@uspto.gov