Non-Art Rejection
3. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following language lacks proper antecedent basis:
In claim 1, line 4, “the number and/or patter…downlink”.
In claim 1, line 5, “the number and/or pattern...uplink”.
The same lacking of antecedent basis in claim 1 is also applied to claims 5 and 13.
The following language is vague and indefinite:
In claim 1, lines 5 and 8, the use of “and/or” in the claim renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear whether information of uplink received beams is required in the claim.
The same indefiniteness of claim 1 is also applied to claims 5 and 13.
Art Rejection
6. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2021/0367657.
Per claim 1, Chen discloses a beam information transmission apparatus, applicable to a network device (e.g., base station) comprising:
a) a first receiver receives first request information (from UE), the first request information being used to indicate the network device to transmit at least a number and/or pattern parameter information of downlink transmitted beams, e.g., number and type of beam to configure beam information measurement transmitted on downlink transmission (see par 0115-0117), wherein the first request information also indicates beam information of the UE received on uplink transmission (see par 0116); and
b) a first transmitter transmits at least the number and/or pattern parameter information of the downlink transmitted beams (see par 0119-0123).
Chen does not explicitly teach transmitting a number and pattern parameter information of uplink received beams. Chen however teaches that the network device and UE are configured to communicate to each other for both downlink and uplink transmissions (see par 0055, 0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the beam information transmitted by the network device would have been utilized at UE for both uplink and downlink transmissions.
Per claims 2-3, Chen teaches that the pattern parameter information comprises number of beams of the downlink/uplink transmitted beams in a first dimension/angle and/or second dimension/angle (see par 0056, 0061, 0065-0067), wherein the first and second beam angles are typically intersected/converse at one point if they don’t have the same value.
Per claim 5, Chen also discloses a beam information transmission apparatus, applicable to a terminal/user equipment (e.g., UE) comprising:
c) a second receiver receives second request information (from LMF), the second request information being used to indicate the UE to transmit at least a number and/or pattern parameter information of downlink/uplink transmitted beams, e.g., number and type of beam transmitted on downlink/uplink transmission (see par 0106-0108); and
d) a second transmitter transmits at least the number and/or pattern parameter information of the downlink/uplink transmitted beams (see par 0124);
e) a third transmitter transmits the first request information at least the number and/or pattern parameter information of the downlink/uplink transmitted beams (see par 0115-0116);
f) a third receiver receives at least a number and/or pattern parameter information of downlink/uplink transmitted beams, e.g., number and type of beam transmitted on downlink/uplink transmission (see par 0119-0123).
Per claims 6-7 and 9-10, Chen teaches that the pattern parameter information comprises number of beams of the downlink/uplink transmitted beams in a first dimension/angle and/or second dimension/angle (see par 0056, 0061, 0065-0067), wherein the first and second beam angles are typically intersected/converse at one point if they don’t have the same value.
Claims 13-15 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-3.
7. Claims 4, 8, 11-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Tian, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2024/0349077.
Per claims 4, 8, 11 and 16, Chen does not explicitly teach that the pattern parameter information are transmitted/received via RRC signaling , MAC CE or UCI. However, it is known in the art that beam information exchanged between base station and UE via RRC signaling, MC CE or UCI as disclosed by Tian (see Tian, par 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize one of RRC signaling , MAC CE or UCI in Chen because it would have enabled obtaining beam information (see Tian, par 0068).
Per claims 12 and 17, Chang does not teach using a model to predict an optimal beam. However, Tian teaches using a model to predict an optimal beam based on the obtained beam information (see Tian, par 0063, 0112-0114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Tian teaching because it would have enabled determining an optimal beam for UE more efficiently (see Tian, par 0025).
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
8/6/26