Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 of the amendment, Applicant argued that paragraph 0129 of Zhao does not mention that each of the plurality of weight arrays are associated with one of a plurality of block widths and with one of a plurality of block heights. Applicant explained that the first weight and the second weight are based off coordinates of a same sample in perpendicular directions, and therefore, cannot both be based on a block width and a block height.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhao clearly discloses that weights in weight array are based on block width and block height (paragraph 0129, a video coder may derive the value of the first weight (wT) based on a scaled vertical coordinate y of the prediction sample, a block size, and an intra prediction mode. For example, y can be divided by 2, 4, or 8 to derive the value of the first weight (wT). How weight is changed can depend on the block size (e.g., the divisor of the coordinate). For small blocks, the decay of the weight can be faster than for the larger blocks. The video coder may derive the value of the second weight (wL) based on a scaled horizontal coordinate x of the prediction sample, the block size and the intra prediction mode. In this example, the block size may refer to one of: min(log 2(width), log 2(height)), max(log 2(width), log 2(height)), (log 2(width)+log 2(height))/2, log 2(width)+log 2(height), log 2(width), or log 2(height). In addition, since wTL is derived based on wL and wT as taught in paragraph 0125 and paragraphs 0169-0189; therefore, wTL is also based on block size).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-4, 11-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 2019/0110045) hereinafter “Zhao”.
As per claim 1, Zhao discloses an apparatus comprising:
a communication interface configured to receive a compressed bitstream (Fig. 1; paragraph 0046, input interface 26 of destination device 14 may receive encoded data from the intermediate device); and
a processor operably coupled to the communication interface (Fig. 1 shows video decoder 30 coupled to input interface 26, wherein the video decoder 30 may be implemented as a processor, see paragraph 0051), the processor configured to:
perform an intra prediction process based on an intra prediction mode for a current block to generate an intra predicted sample for a current sample in the current block (paragraphs 0222-0228, Intra-prediction processing unit 166 may generate a predictor block using an intra prediction mode in accordance with any of the techniques of this disclosure; see also paragraphs 0110-0113, equations (9), (10) and (11)),
determine a weight array based on the intra prediction mode for the current block, from a plurality of weight arrays, each of the plurality of weight arrays being associated with a respective one of a plurality of intra prediction modes (see paragraphs 0169-0189, weights (wL, wT, wTL) interpreted as weight array, can have different values for each of the intra prediction mode taught in the sections entitled “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_PLANAR,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_DC,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_HOR,” and “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_VER”. See equations (8-41) and (8-43) which predict the value of the prediction sample predSamples[x][y] using different values of weights (wL, wT, wTL)),
determine a weight from the determined weight array based on a position of the current sample (Fig. 7A-7D shows weights determined based on position of the current sample; see also paragraphs 0109-0115, a video coder implemented in accordance with the techniques of this this disclosure may select the initial weights wL, wT for left and top reference samples (e.g., 32, 32 as shown in FIG. 7A), derive the weight wTL for the top-left reference samples as −(wL>>4)−(wT>>4) (e.g., −4 as shown in FIG. 7A)… Moving to the next sample in the block, the initial values of weights wL, wT, wTL are updated based on the distance between the current sample and the block boundaries. For example, the update can be just a shift operation, such as “>>1” or “>>2”, i.e., a weight is divided by 2 or 4 (e.g., moving from (0, 0) to (1, 0) as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, wL is divided by 4). Moving to the next sample in the block, the weights are updated again and so on),
generate a modified intra predicted sample for the current sample based on the determined weight and the intra predicted sample for the current sample (paragraphs 0114-0121, teach deriving the weight wTL for the top-left reference samples as −(wL>>4)−(wT>>4) (e.g., −4 as shown in FIG. 7A), and then calculate the PDPC prediction for the first sample in the block by applying equation (9), (10), or (11); in addition, the initial values of weights Wl, WT, wTL are updated based on the distance between the current sample and the block boundaries as shown in FIGs 7B-7D, and then the video coder may determine a secondary value for the respective sample (that is based on the updated weights) as a first value for the respective sample right-shifted by a second value, the first value for the respective sample being a sum of: (i) the value of the first weight for the respective sample, multiplied by a left reference sample for the respective sample that is left of the respective sample, (ii) the value of the second weight for the respective sample multiplied by an above reference sample for the respective sample that is above the respective sample, (iii) the value of the third weight for the respective sample multiplied by an above-left reference sample for the respective sample that is above and left of the respective sample, (iv) the value of the fourth weight for the respective sample multiplied by the primary value for the respective sample, and (v) an offset value), wherein
the weight array is determined further based on a width and a height of the current block (paragraph 0129, How weight is changed can depend on the block size), and
each of the plurality of weight arrays is associated with a respective one of a plurality of block widths and associated with a respective one of a plurality of block heights (paragraph 0129, How weight is changed can depend on the block size… the block size may refer to one of: min(log 2(width), log 2(height)), max(log 2(width), log 2(height)), (log 2(width)+log 2(height))/2, log 2(width)+log 2(height), log 2(width), or log 2(height)).
As per claim 2, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of weight arrays include a first weight array and a second weight array, the first weight array is associated with a first intra prediction mode, the second weight array is associated with a second intra prediction mode, and the first weight array is different from the second weight array (paragraphs 0169-0189, weights (wL, wT, wTL) interpreted as weight array, can have different values for each of the intra prediction mode taught in the sections entitled “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_PLANAR,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_DC,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_HOR,” and “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_VER”. See equations (8-41) and (8-43) which predict the value of the prediction sample predSamples[x][y] using different values of weights (wL, wT, wTL)).
As per claim 3, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first intra prediction mode is one of a Planar mode, a DC mode, a horizontal mode, a vertical mode, or an angular mode, and the second intra prediction mode is another one of the Planar mode, the DC mode, the horizontal mode, the vertical mode, or the angular mode (paragraphs 0113, 0130 and 0169-0189).
As per claim 4, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the weight array is determined further based on a scale, the scale is determined based on a size of the current block (paragraph 0129, a video coder may derive the value of the first weight (wT) based on a scaled vertical coordinate y of the prediction sample, a block size, and an intra prediction mode. For example, y can be divided by 2, 4, or 8 to derive the value of the first weight (wT). How weight is changed can depend on the block size (e.g., the divisor of the coordinate)), and each of the plurality of weight arrays is associated with a respective one of the plurality of intra prediction modes (paragraphs 0169-0189, weights (wL, wT, wTL) interpreted as weight array, can have different values for each of the intra prediction mode taught in the sections entitled “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_PLANAR,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_DC,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_HOR,” and “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_VER”. See equations (8-41) and (8-43) which predict the value of the prediction sample predSamples[x][y] using different values of weights (wL, wT, wTL)) and associated with a respective one of a plurality of scales (paragraph 0129).
As per claim 11, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein generating the modified intra predicted sample for the current sample comprises: determining a reference sample based on the position of the current sample, applying the weight to the reference sample to generate a weighted reference sample, and combining the intra predicted sample for the current sample with the weighted reference sample to generate a modified intra predicted sample for the current sample (paragraphs 0114-0121, teach deriving the weight wTL for the top-left reference samples as −(wL>>4)−(wT>>4) (e.g., −4 as shown in FIG. 7A), and then calculate the PDPC prediction for the first sample in the block by applying equation (9), (10), or (11); in addition, the initial values of weights Wl, WT, wTL are updated based on the distance between the current sample and the block boundaries as shown in FIGs 7B-7D, and then the video coder may determine a secondary value for the respective sample (that is based on the updated weights) as a first value for the respective sample right-shifted by a second value, the first value for the respective sample being a sum of: (i) the value of the first weight for the respective sample, multiplied by a left reference sample for the respective sample that is left of the respective sample, (ii) the value of the second weight for the respective sample multiplied by an above reference sample for the respective sample that is above the respective sample, (iii) the value of the third weight for the respective sample multiplied by an above-left reference sample for the respective sample that is above and left of the respective sample, (iv) the value of the fourth weight for the respective sample multiplied by the primary value for the respective sample, and (v) an offset value).
As per claim 12, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause: determining a residual for the current sample (Fig. 9; paragraph 0069, video decoder 30 may apply an inverse transform on the determined transform coefficients to determine values of residual samples), and combining the residual for the current sample with the residual for the current sample to reconstruct the current sample (Fig. 9; paragraph 0069, Video decoder 30 may reconstruct a block of the picture based on the residual samples and corresponding samples of the generated predictor blocks. For instance, video decoder 30 may add residual samples to corresponding samples of the generated predictor blocks to determine reconstructed samples of the block).
As per claims 13-14, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 1-2 are applicable for claims 13-14.
As per claim 15, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 4 are applicable for claim 15.
As per claim 17, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 11 are applicable for claim 17.
As per claim 18, Zhao discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1 shows video encoder 20, wherein the video encoder 20 may be implemented as a processor, see paragraph 0051) configured to cause:
performing an intra prediction process based on an intra prediction mode for a current block to generate an intra predicted sample for a current sample in the current block (paragraphs 0222-0228, Intra-prediction processing unit 166 may generate a predictor block using an intra prediction mode in accordance with any of the techniques of this disclosure; see also paragraphs 0110-0113, equations (9), (10) and (11)),
determining a weight array based on the intra prediction mode for the current block, from a plurality of weight arrays, each of the plurality of weight arrays being associated with a respective one of a plurality of intra prediction modes (see paragraphs 0169-0189, weights (wL, wT, wTL) interpreted as weight array, can have different values for each of the intra prediction mode taught in the sections entitled “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_PLANAR,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_DC,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_HOR,” and “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_VER”. See equations (8-41) and (8-43) which predict the value of the prediction sample predSamples[x][y] using different values of weights (wL, wT, wTL)),
determining a weight from the determined weight array based on a position of the current sample (Fig. 7A-7D shows weights determined based on position of the current sample; see also paragraphs 0109-0115, a video coder implemented in accordance with the techniques of this this disclosure may select the initial weights wL, wT for left and top reference samples (e.g., 32, 32 as shown in FIG. 7A), derive the weight wTL for the top-left reference samples as −(wL>>4)−(wT>>4) (e.g., −4 as shown in FIG. 7A)… Moving to the next sample in the block, the initial values of weights wL, wT, wTL are updated based on the distance between the current sample and the block boundaries. For example, the update can be just a shift operation, such as “>>1” or “>>2”, i.e., a weight is divided by 2 or 4 (e.g., moving from (0, 0) to (1, 0) as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, wL is divided by 4). Moving to the next sample in the block, the weights are updated again and so on),
generating a modified intra predicted sample for the current sample based on the determined weight and the intra predicted sample for the current sample (paragraphs 0114-0121, teach deriving the weight wTL for the top-left reference samples as −(wL>>4)−(wT>>4) (e.g., −4 as shown in FIG. 7A), and then calculate the PDPC prediction for the first sample in the block by applying equation (9), (10), or (11); in addition, the initial values of weights Wl, WT, wTL are updated based on the distance between the current sample and the block boundaries as shown in FIGs 7B-7D, and then the video coder may determine a secondary value for the respective sample (that is based on the updated weights) as a first value for the respective sample right-shifted by a second value, the first value for the respective sample being a sum of: (i) the value of the first weight for the respective sample, multiplied by a left reference sample for the respective sample that is left of the respective sample, (ii) the value of the second weight for the respective sample multiplied by an above reference sample for the respective sample that is above the respective sample, (iii) the value of the third weight for the respective sample multiplied by an above-left reference sample for the respective sample that is above and left of the respective sample, (iv) the value of the fourth weight for the respective sample multiplied by the primary value for the respective sample, and (v) an offset value),
generating a residual for the current sample based on the modified intra predicted sample (Fig. 8; paragraph 0007, generating residual data based on the predictor block and a coding block of the video data, wherein the predictor block is based on updated weight values as taught in paragraph 0007, for each respective sample in a set of samples in the predictor block: determining, based on the initial value of the first weight and a distance between the respective sample and a first boundary of the predictor block, a value of the first weight for the respective sample…a value of the second weight for the respective sample…, and a value of a third weight for the respective sample; therefore, the residual generated is based on the updated or modified intra predicted samples since these intra predicted samples are determined based on the updated weight values); and
a communication interface operably coupled to the processor (Fig. 1 shows video encoder 20 coupled to output interface 22), the communication interface configured to transmit the compressed bitstream (paragraph 0044, output interface 22 may be configured to transmit data, such as encoded video data) including a syntax element representing the residual (paragraph 0057, Video encoder 20 may apply a transform to blocks of residual samples to generate transform coefficients. Furthermore, video encoder 20 may quantize the transform coefficients. In some examples, video encoder 20 may generate one or more syntax elements to represent a transform coefficient. Video encoder 20 may entropy encode one or more of the syntax elements representing the transform coefficient; see also paragraph 0066, Video encoder 20 may generate syntax elements indicating some or all the potentially quantized transform coefficients. Video encoder 20 may entropy encode (e.g., using Context-Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding (CABAC)) one or more of the syntax elements indicating a quantized transform coefficient), wherein
the weight array is determined further based on a width and a height of the current block (paragraph 0129, How weight is changed can depend on the block size), and
each of the plurality of weight arrays is associated with a respective one of a plurality of block widths and associated with a respective one of a plurality of block heights (paragraph 0129, How weight is changed can depend on the block size… the block size may refer to one of: min(log 2(width), log 2(height)), max(log 2(width), log 2(height)), (log 2(width)+log 2(height))/2, log 2(width)+log 2(height), log 2(width), or log 2(height)).
As per claim 19, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 2 are applicable for claim 19.
As per claim 20, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 4 are applicable for claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 5-7, 9-10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2019/0110045).
As per claim 5, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the plurality of weight arrays include a first weight array and a second weight array, the first weight array is associated with a first intra prediction mode (paragraphs 0169-0189, weights (wL, wT, wTL) interpreted as weight array, can have different values for each of the intra prediction mode taught in the sections entitled “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_PLANAR,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_DC,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_HOR,” and “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_VER”. See equations (8-41) and (8-43) which predict the value of the prediction sample predSamples[x][y] using different values of weights (wL, wT, wTL)) and a first scale (paragraph 0129), the second weight array is associated with a second intra prediction mode…and the first weight array is different from the second weight array (paragraphs 0169-0189, weights (wL, wT, wTL) interpreted as weight array, can have different values for each of the intra prediction mode taught in the sections entitled “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_PLANAR,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_DC,” “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_HOR,” and “Specification of intra prediction mode INTRA_VER”. See equations (8-41) and (8-43) which predict the value of the prediction sample predSamples[x][y] using different values of weights (wL, wT, wTL))
While Zhao does not explicitly disclose the second weight array is associated with the first scale, Zhao clearly teaches on paragraphs 0129 and 0238 that video encoder may determine for the respective sample of for each prediction sample of the predictor block, the value of the first and second weights based on scaling on the vertical and horizontal coordinate x and y. The scaling can have different values include 2, 4 and 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhao by associating the first and second weigh arrays with same or different scaling value. It is a matter of design choice for the inventor to choose the right scaling value for each of the weight arrays, which yields no unexpected results, for the intended purpose of the invention.
As per claims 6 and 7, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 5 are applicable for claims 6 and 7.
As per claim 9, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 5 and last two limitations of claim 1 are applicable for claim 9.
As per claim 10, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the weight is determined from the determined weight array based on the position of the current sample (Fig. 7A-7D shows weights determined based on position of the current sample; see also paragraphs 0109-0115, a video coder implemented in accordance with the techniques of this this disclosure may select the initial weights wL, wT for left and top reference samples (e.g., 32, 32 as shown in FIG. 7A), derive the weight wTL for the top-left reference samples as −(wL>>4)−(wT>>4) (e.g., −4 as shown in FIG. 7A)… Moving to the next sample in the block, the initial values of weights wL, wT, wTL are updated based on the distance between the current sample and the block boundaries. For example, the update can be just a shift operation, such as “>>1” or “>>2”, i.e., a weight is divided by 2 or 4 (e.g., moving from (0, 0) to (1, 0) as shown in FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B, wL is divided by 4). Moving to the next sample in the block, the weights are updated again and so on) and a scaling factor, and the scaling factor is greater than 1 (paragraph 0129).
As per claim 16, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 5 are applicable for claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482