DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment(s), filed on 09/26/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are pending.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on 09/26/2026 with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (US-PGPUG 2002/0001403) in view of Bohn et al. (US-PGPUB 2012/0249815) and further in view of Takeda et al. (US-PGPUB 2024/0307997).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi discloses a real-time autofocus system (see fig. 1), comprising:
a laser distance sensor (Laser 11 and sensor 8; see figs. 1, 3) configured to measure a distance to an object (The distance between the lens 17 and wafer 100 is determined based on an output from the distance sensor 8 to automatically focus the ultraviolet objective lens 17; see 0064, 0069-0073); and
a variable focus imaging system (Optical unit 13; see figs. 1, 3) configured to change the focus according to the distance information measured from the laser distance sensor and capture a focused image (The moving means operates under the control of the controlling means to move either or both of the objective lens and object under inspection relatively in a direction towards or away from each other over the target moving distance. Thus, the distance between the objective lens and object under inspection is controlled to focus the objective lens; see paragraphs 0023, 0036),
wherein the variable focus imaging system, comprising:
an objective lens; a variable focus lens configured to focus on the object (Objective lens 17 and lens 19; see paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0023, 0034, 0037);
a camera (Camera 18; see fig. 3 and paragraphs 0067-0068); and
a band pass filter (Half mirror 16 acting as a band pass; see fig. 3) configured to prevent the light from the laser distance sensor from entering the camera (A half mirror 16 in the optical path of the ultraviolet illumination light having passed through the illumination optical system, and the ultraviolet illumination light reflected from the half mirror 16 will be incident upon an ultraviolet light objective lens 17; see fig. 3 and paragraph 0065) while allowing the light from an illuminator light to pass through to the camera (The reflected light from the inspecting point on the semiconductor wafer 100, illuminated with the ultraviolet illumination light, will be incident upon the ultraviolet CCD camera 18 through the ultraviolet objective lens 17, half mirror 16 and an imaging lens 19, see paragraph 0067 and fig. 3); and
a coaxial illuminator configured to provide illumination light toward the object (An illumination light source 11 which emits an illumination light to the semiconductor wafer 100 placed on the inspection stage 2; see paragraph 0063 and figs. 1, 3).
However, Kikuchi does not expressly disclose the lens is configured to change shape.
On the other hand, Bohn discloses a variable focus lens configured to change shape to focus on the object (A liquid lens or a liquid crystal lens that provides variable focus and variable tilt for both auto-focus and optical image stabilization; see paragraph 0017, 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikuchi and Bohn to provide a variable focus lens configured to change shape to focus on the object for the purpose of rapidly obtaining an optimal focus state while reducing time in moving complex optical parts.
It is noted that Kikuchi and Bohn do not disclose a polarized beam splitter and a quarter wave plate.
Nevertheless, Takeda discloses a polarized beam splitter (PBS) (Polarization beam splitter 6; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0037, 0042) configured to direct the illumination light toward the object (Irradiating a target 100 with a laser beam L1 using item 6; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0037-0038) and direct return light from the object toward the camera based on a polarization state of the return light (L2 as return light directed to imager 8A using item 6; see fig. 1); and a quarter wave plate (QWP) (Quarter-wave plate 7; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0037, 0042-0043) disposed between the PBS and the object and configured to change a polarization state of light passing therethrough, wherein the illumination light passes through the PBS and the QWP, is reflected by the object, passes through the QWP again, and is polarization-converted such that the return light is directed toward the camera by the PBS (After being reflected by the processed surface 100a, the return beam L2 reaches the light detection unit 8A via the fθ lens 4, the quarter-wave plate 7, and the polarization beam splitter 6 in this order. By using the polarization beam splitter 6 and the quarter-wave plate 7, it is possible to detect the return beam L2 in the light detection unit 8A; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0044-0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda to provide a polarized beam splitter (PBS) configured to direct the illumination light toward the object and direct return light from the object toward the camera based on a polarization state of the return light; and a quarter wave plate (QWP) disposed between the PBS and the object and configured to change a polarization state of light passing therethrough, wherein the illumination light passes through the PBS and the QWP, is reflected by the object, passes through the QWP again, and is polarization-converted such that the return light is directed toward the camera by the PBS for the purpose of improving the detection efficiency of the return light from the object surface (see paragraph 0007 of Takeda).
Regarding claim 2, Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kikuchi discloses the laser distance sensor comprises an emitter (A deep-ultraviolet laser whose amount is controlled by the control computer 20 is emitted as an illumination light from the illumination light source 11; see fig. 3 and paragraph 0064) and a receiver (Sensor 8 recognizes a pattern; see paragraphs 0020-0022, 0032-0035, 0104, 0021-0122, 0127); and the measurement position of the laser distance sensor is located within the field of view of the variable focus imaging system (The distance sensor 8 is installed to the optical unit 13 adjacently to the ultraviolet objective lens 17; see fig. 4 and paragraphs 0070-0071).
Regarding claim 4, Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Kikuchi does not disclose the variable focus lens is a refractive type liquid lens.
Nevertheless, Bohn discloses the variable focus lens is a refractive type liquid lens (A liquid lens or a liquid crystal lens that provides variable focus and variable tilt for both auto-focus and optical image stabilization; see paragraph 0017, 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikuchi and Bohn to provide the variable focus lens is a refractive type liquid lens for the purpose of rapidly obtaining an optimal focus state while reducing time in moving complex optical parts.
Regarding claim 7, Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kikuchi discloses a Z-axis motor configured to move the object or the variable focus imaging system to increase auto-focus range of the real-time autofocus system (The moving means operates under the control of the controlling means to move either or both of the objective lens and object under inspection relatively in a direction towards or away from each other over the target moving distance. Thus, the distance between the objective lens and object under inspection is controlled to focus the objective lens; see paragraphs 0023, 0036. The Z stage 6 is movable vertically to move the semiconductor wafer 100 in the height direction. The Z stage 6 moves the semiconductor wafer 100 in the height direction under the control of the control computer 20 to adjust the height of the inspection post very finely; see paragraphs 0060, 0095).
8. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi in view of Bohn and Takeda and further in view of Cho et al. (US-PGPUB 2011/0181955).
Regarding claim 5, Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Kikuchi and Bohn do not disclose the variable focus lens is a reflective type Micromirror Array Lens (MMAL), wherein the MMAL comprises a plurality of micromirrors.
On the other hand, Cho discloses the variable focus lens is a reflective type Micromirror Array Lens (MMAL), wherein the MMAL comprises a plurality of micromirrors (The reflective element is movable and configured to adjust the focus of the optical system. The movable reflective element can be a Micromirror Array Lens, wherein the Micromirror Array Lens is a variable focus lens configured to change the effective focal length of the optical system, wherein the Micromirror Array Lens comprises a plurality of micromirrors and changes the effective focal length of the optical system by controlling the motions of the micromirrors; see paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikuchi, Bohn, Takeda and Cho to provide the variable focus lens is a reflective type Micromirror Array Lens (MMAL), wherein the MMAL comprises a plurality of micromirrors for the purpose of improving image quality by further compensating aberrations of the optical system by controlling the motions of the micromirrors.
Regarding claim 6, Kikuchi, Bohn, Takeda and Cho disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). However, Kikuchi and Bohn fail to disclose the PBS is configured to direct incident light toward the MMAL and direct reflected light from the MMAL toward the camera; and the QWP is configured to convert a polarization state of light reflected from the MMAL such that an optical path between incident light and reflected light is separated by the PBS.
On the other hand, Takeda discloses the PBS is configured to direct incident light toward the focus lens (The laser beam L1 output from the laser beam source 2 passes through the polarization beam splitter 6 and then to the lens 4; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0045) and direct reflected light from the focus lens toward the camera (return light L2 reaches imager 8A after passing lens 4 and being reflected by item 6; see fig. 1 and 0046); and the QWP is configured to convert a polarization state of light reflected from the focus lens such that an optical path between incident light and reflected light is separated by the PBS (After being reflected by the processed surface 100a, the return beam L2 reaches the light detection unit 8A via the fθ lens 4, the quarter-wave plate 7, and the polarization beam splitter 6 in this order. The return beam L2 (circular polarization beam L21) is converted into a linear polarization beam L22 by the quarter-wave plate 7. By using the polarization beam splitter 6 and the quarter-wave plate 7, it is possible to detect the return beam L2 in the light detection unit 8A; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0044-0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda to provide the PBS is configured to direct incident light toward the focus lens and direct reflected light from the focus lens toward the camera; and the QWP is configured to convert a polarization state of light reflected from the focus lens such that an optical path between incident light and reflected light is separated by the PBS for the purpose of improving the detection efficiency of the return light from the object surface (see paragraph 0007 of Takeda).
Kikuchi, Bohn and Takeda do not disclose the variable focus lens is a reflective type Micromirror Array Lens (MMAL).
Nevertheless, Cho discloses the variable focus lens is a reflective type Micromirror Array Lens (MMAL) (The reflective element is movable and configured to adjust the focus of the optical system. The movable reflective element can be a Micromirror Array Lens, wherein the Micromirror Array Lens is a variable focus lens configured to change the effective focal length of the optical system, wherein the Micromirror Array Lens comprises a plurality of micromirrors and changes the effective focal length of the optical system by controlling the motions of the micromirrors; see paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kikuchi, Bohn, Takeda and Cho to provide the PBS is configured to direct incident light toward the MMAL and direct reflected light from the MMAL toward the camera; and the QWP is configured to convert a polarization state of light reflected from the MMAL such that an optical path between incident light and reflected light is separated by the PBS for the purpose of improving image quality by further compensating aberrations of the optical system by controlling the motions of the micromirrors.
9. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (US-PGPUG 2002/0001403) in view of Bohn et al. (US-PGPUB 2012/0249815).
Regarding claim 8, Kikuchi discloses a method for a real-time autofocus, comprising:
measuring, by a laser distance sensor (Laser 11 and sensor 8; see figs. 1, 3),
a distance (The distance between the lens 17 and wafer 100 is determined based on an output from the distance sensor 8 to automatically focus the ultraviolet objective lens 17; see 0064, 0069-0073) between an object (Wafer 100; see figs. 13) and a variable focus imaging system (Optical unit 13; see figs. 1, 3);
adjusting, based on the measured distance and using a variable focus lens, a distance of the variable focus imaging system to focus the variable focus imaging system on the object (The moving means operates under the control of the controlling means to move either or both of the objective lens and object under inspection relatively in a direction towards or away from each other over the target moving distance. Thus, the distance between the objective lens and object under inspection is controlled to focus the objective lens; see paragraph 0023. The output of the distance sensor is supplied to the controlling means. Then the controlling means will compensate for the output from the distance sensor with the calculated correction value to determine a target moving distance, and control the operation of the moving means according to the target moving distance; see paragraphs 0021-0022, 0035, 0095. The Z stage 6 is movable vertically to move the semiconductor wafer 100 in the height direction. The Z stage 6 moves the semiconductor wafer 100 in the height direction under the control of the control computer 20 to adjust the height of the inspection post very finely; see paragraph 0060); and
capturing, by a camera, a focused image of the object (With the objective lens having thus been focused, the image of the object, picked up by the imaging means, is supplied to the inspecting means. The inspecting means will process the image picked up by the imaging means to inspect the object under inspection; see paragraphs 0037, 0098).
In addition, Kikuchi discloses an image of the inspecting point on the semiconductor wafer 100, illuminated with the ultraviolet illumination light, is magnified by the ultraviolet objective lens 17 and picked up by an ultraviolet CCD camera 18. Thus, the magnified image of the inspecting point on the semiconductor wafer 100 will be picked up by the ultraviolet CCD camera 18; see paragraph 0067. However, Kikuchi does not expressly disclose the specifics of the zooming mechanism to adjust the focal length so as to magnify the image.
On the other hand, Bohn discloses adjusting, using a variable focus lens, a focal length of the variable focus imaging system to focus the variable focus imaging system on the object; and capturing, by a camera, a focused image of the object (To implement a zoom lens, the camera lens in a camera module moves away from the image sensor to effectuate magnification of an image; see paragraph 0002. A zoom mechanism can be implemented to translate the camera lens module parallel along the optical axis of the camera to increase or decrease the distance between the camera lens module 224 and the image sensor 226 to effectuate magnification of the image. The camera lens module can be implemented to travel between the prism 228 and the image sensor 226, or between the mirror 230 and the image sensor 226. The camera lens module 224 includes an autofocus mechanism. The camera lens module focuses the image received as the reflected light and the image sensor captures the image from the reflected light that is directed at the image sensor; see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0025, 0027, 0031,0033, 0016).
Since Kikuchi already discloses that the captured image can be magnified, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kikuchi by specifically providing a zoom mechanism that can adjust the focal length of the variable focus imaging system, as taught by Bohn in order to effectively and efficiently magnify the image without increasing the size of the optical unit 13.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 10/21/2026