The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. / U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US-20060168400-A1 to Ronciak et al. (“Ronciak”) in view of NPL “NVIDIA MESSAGE ACCELERATOR VMA Documentation rev 952” to NVIDIA et al. (“NVIDIA”) (See version 9.8.60 for citations, documentations with better formatting).
As to claim 1, Ronciak disclose(s) a network processor comprising:
a processor, (Ronciak; Fig. 1; CPU) comprising:
at least one processor core, arranged to load and execute program codes to deal with packet processing, wherein the program codes comprise:
a network driver; (Ronciak; Fig. 1; Network Controller)
a network stack of an operating system kernel; (Ronciak; Fig. 1; Protocol Layers)
and a cache, arranged to cache at least a portion of instructions and data associated with processing of the fake packet that is performed by the network stack of the OS kernel. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; Cache; store prefetch instructions [0005] and data; [0029])
But does not expressly disclose a packet pre-learning module, arranged to generate a fake packet, and send the fake packet to the network stack of the OS kernel through the network driver.
NVIDIA discloses a packet pre-learning module, arranged to generate a fake packet, and send the fake packet to the network stack of the OS kernel through the network driver. (NVIDIA; dummy send command to send dummy packets to warm up the cache; p. 66)
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the dummy packets of NVIDIA and the caching of Ronciak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings as both are concerned with caching. Using the dummy packets of NVIDIA would allow for cache to be warmed.
Accordingly, the prior art references teach all of the claimed elements.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 1,
But does not expressly disclose wherein the packet pre-learning module is arrange to generate the fake packet periodically. (NVIDIA; DummysendcycleDuration; p. 66)
As to claim 3, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 1, wherein the network stack of the OS kernel is arranged to send the fake packet to the network driver after processing the fake packet, and the network driver is arranged to drop the fake packet after receiving the fake packet from the network stack of the OS kernel. (NVIDIA; dummy packets reaches the hardware NIC and then is dropped; p. 66)
As to claim 4, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 1, further comprising:
a network interface, arranged to receive a packet from a network before the fake packet is generated; (Ronciak; Fig. 1; Network controller ; [0014] receive packets)
wherein a configuration of the fake packet is based at least partly on the packet. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; packet headers; [0028])
As to claim 5, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 4, wherein the network interface is a local area network interface. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; network 18; LAN; [0018])
As to claim 6, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 4, wherein the network interface is a wide area network interface. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; network 18; WAN; [0018])
As to claim 7, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 1, further comprising:
a network interface, arranged to receive a packet from a network after the fake packet is generated, and send the packet to the network stack of the OS kernel through the network driver; (Ronciak; Fig. 1; Network controller, device driver, protocol layers)
wherein a sequence of instructions invoked by the network stack of the OS kernel for processing the packet received by the network interface is identical to a sequence of instructions invoked by the network stack of the OS kernel for processing the fake packet generated by the packet pre-learning module. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; Cache; store prefetch instructions [0005] and data; [0029]; a cache hit will have the same instructions)
As to claim 8, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 7, wherein the network interface is a local area network interface. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; network 18; LAN; [0018])
As to claim 9, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the network processor of claim 7, wherein the network interface is a wide area network interface. (Ronciak; Fig. 1; network 18; WAN; [0018])
As to claim 10, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) a packet processing method comprising:
executing a network driver;
executing a network stack of an operating system kernel;
generating a fake packet, and sending the fake packet to the network stack of the OS kernel through the network driver;
and caching at least a portion of instructions and data associated with processing of the fake packet that is performed by the network stack of the OS kernel.
See similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 11, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 10, wherein generating the fake packet comprises:
generating the fake packet periodically.
See similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 12, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 10, wherein executing the network stack of the OS kernel comprises:
sending the fake packet to the network driver after processing the fake packet;
executing the network driver comprises:
dropping the fake packet after receiving the fake packet from the network stack of the OS kernel.
See similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 13, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving a packet from a network interface before the fake packet is generated;
wherein a configuration of the fake packet is based at least partly on the packet.
See similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 14, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 13, wherein the network interface is a local area network interface.
See similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 15, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 13, wherein the network interface is a wide area network interface.
See similar rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 16, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving a packet from the network interface after the fake packet is generated;
and sending the packet to the network stack of the OS kernel through the network driver;
wherein a sequence of instructions invoked by the network stack of the OS kernel for processing the packet received from the network interface is identical to a sequence of instructions invoked by the network stack of the OS kernel for processing the fake packet.
See similar rejection to claim 7.
As to claim 17, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 16, wherein the network interface is a local area network interface.
See similar rejection to claim 8.
As to claim 18, Ronciak-NVIDIA disclose(s) the packet processing method of claim 16, wherein the network interface is a wide area network interface.
See similar rejection to claim 9.
Conclusion
/BRYAN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445