DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 05/12/2026.
In the instant Amendment: Claims 1, 3-8, 15 have been amended, claims 2, 9 and 16 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 05/14/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: Lang in view of Jiang fails to disclose “transmit, to a charging system of the telecommunications network, the usage of the service feature by the end-user device to be recorded at an account of the enterprise subscriber of the telecommunications network,
wherein the charging system is separate from the network server system; and
simultaneously with transmitting the usage to the charging system,
communicate a usage report of the usage to a billing system of the enterprise subscriber that administered the application,
wherein the billing system is administered separate from the charging system and the network server system.” of amended claim 1. See Remarks at 11 (emphasis original).
The examiner respectfully disagrees because these arguments are not persuasive.
In regards to, “transmit, to a charging system of the telecommunications network, the usage of the service feature by the end-user device to be recorded at an account of the enterprise subscriber of the telecommunications network, wherein the charging system is separate from the network server system”, Lang teaches that an “accounting node” can track data flow through a service node connected to a user device. The accounting node can generate data flow information, such as user streaming videos, and send the information to designated back-end servers (i.e., separate from other servers) for charging and billing. See Lang FIG. 2A, ¶¶ [0049]-[0050] (“Any suitable data measurement technique may be used by an accounting node to account for the amount of data passing through a service node. The measured data amounts may be associated with any suitable related information such as time stamp information, identification information for the application user 210, identification information for the application user 212, and identification information for the application. The measured data amounts, along with the related information, may be combined as data measurement information. The backend server 206 and the backend server 208 receive the data measurement information and determine, alone, together or in combination with other data processing systems, which entity will be billed and what amount will be billed. The amount will be based on the amount of data conveyed by a network segment and by various data rate information.”) (emphasis added). Thus, Lang teaches the above claimed limitations.
In regards to, “simultaneously with transmitting the usage to the charging system,” Lang’s system can, in real time, measure a user’s data usage and provider user pricing information. See Lang ¶¶ [0038]-[0039] (“[T]he amount of data that's transferred through a network segment is measured for each respective network segment…the operation of pricing particular available network segments for a selected service to a requesting user may be done substantially in real time, in response to receipt of the request. Such a real time system may be preferable if network availability and function as well as network segment pricing vary dynamically over time.”) (emphasis added). In other words, Lang’s system can give real time measurement of data usage and provide the corresponding pricing/billing information. Thus, Lang teaches “simultaneously with transmitting the usage to the charging system.”
Furthermore, Lang also teaches “communicate a usage report of the usage to a billing system of the enterprise subscriber that administered the application.” For example, Lang’s system can monitor an enterprise user application usage (e.g., 5Gb of usage) and bill enterprise users according to appropriate billing guidelines. See Lang ¶¶ [0052], [0060], [0065] (“The accounting network layer A and the accounting network layer B provide usage-based monitoring which identifies a node such as node 4 which received data and routed an amount of data, such as 5 gigabytes worth of data, over to node 7. Based on that data measurement information, for node 4 to node 7, data usage for the network segment from node 4 to node 7 should be recorded as 5 Gb of network usage. Further, the data usage may be attributed to a particular application user and also to a particular application provider, for example. The accounting system operates to bill parties for usage of the network segment, factoring in not only usage but other billing information such as types of parameters that may be billing related or may be a factor in determining what the charge to the parties may be, such as time of day. In step 224, each enterprise establishes account information for the enterprise or for a user operating within the enterprise. In an example, each enterprise using the ANLaaS designates an administrator for the enterprise. The administrator defines one or more accounting rules for the enterprise or for particular users within the enterprise.) (emphasis added).
Finally, in regards to, “wherein the billing system is administered separate from the charging system and the network server system,” Lang ¶ [0050] already discloses that “The backend server 206 and the backend server 208 receive the data measurement information and determine, alone, together or in combination with other data processing systems, which entity will be billed and what amount will be billed. The amount will be based on the amount of data conveyed by a network segment and by various data rate information.”) (emphasis added). Here, the billing system is separate from other network servers. In addition, Jiang also teaches that a quota enforcer generating a data charge report and provide that information to billing system (e.g., billing manager 330 and/or billing database 355). See Jiang ¶¶ [0012], [0055]. Thus, the combination of Lang in view of Jiang teaches separate charging/billing systems and networking systems.
In conclusion, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive and the rejection of amended claims 1 is maintained. Rejections of claims 8 and 15, which recite similar matters, are similarly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (“Lang,” US 20250016014, filed Sept. 26, 2024) in view of Jiang et al. (“Jiang,” US 20180219784, published Aug. 2, 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Lang discloses
A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one data processor of a network server system of a communication network, cause the networker server system to (Lang [0023], [0105], [0124]. In various embodiments, the content sources 175 include broadcast television and radio sources, video on demand platforms and streaming video and audio services platforms, one or more content data networks, data servers, web servers and other content servers, and/or other sources of media. Computer-readable storage media can comprise, but are not limited to,… “non-transitory”… It is to be noted that server(s) 514 can comprise one or more processors configured to confer at least in part the functionality of mobile network platform 510. To that end, the one or more processors can execute code instructions stored in memory 530, for example. [For “telecommunication system,” see [0120].]):
instantiate a charging session for an application administered by an enterprise subscriber subscribed to the telecommunications network (Lang [0060], [0065], [0120]. The accounting system operates to bill parties for usage of the network segment, factoring in not only usage but other billing information such as types of parameters that may be billing related or may be a factor in determining what the charge to the parties may be, such as time of day. In step 224, each enterprise establishes account information for the enterprise or for a user operating within the enterprise. In an example, each enterprise using the ANLaaS designates an administrator for the enterprise. The administrator defines one or more accounting rules for the enterprise or for particular users within the enterprise. In an example, such rules could include defining which user can deposit amounts to a bank account and which users can both deposit and withdraw amounts from the bank account. The accounting rules may be general in nature or may be tailored to a specific enterprise or user, or to the user's role within the enterprise. The accounting rules may further be related to usage of an application by users within the enterprise. For example, an application which is offered over a service network by an application provider such as a database management program might have controlled usage within the enterprise. The accounting rules specify users entitled to access the database management program and how usage, including data communication over network segments between the enterprise and the application provider, may be accounted for and billed. As a non-limiting example, mobile network platform 510 can be included in telecommunications carrier networks and can be considered carrier-side components as discussed elsewhere herein.),
wherein the telecommunications network hosts a set of service features that support the application for use by end-user devices of the application (Lang [0060], [0067], [0081], [0120]. The accounting system operates to bill parties for usage of the network segment, factoring in not only usage but other billing information such as types of parameters that may be billing related or may be a factor in determining what the charge to the parties may be, such as time of day. Or the enterprise may be an end user or application user consuming the streaming video. The device may be a mobile device such as a smartphone or tablet computer, a laptop computer or any other suitable data processing system. In some examples, rather than use an ANLaaS application on a user device, the user may access an online version of the ANLaaS service at a website or other network resource. In other examples, a buyer of a good or service or any other participant in a transaction may access the ANLaaS application or service. As a non-limiting example, mobile network platform 510 can be included in telecommunications carrier networks and can be considered carrier-side components as discussed elsewhere herein.), and
wherein a subscription of the enterprise subscriber includes a billing structure for the set of service features customized for the enterprise subscriber or the application hosted by the enterprise subscriber (Lang [0027], [0065]. The subscription may have a variety of options for accessing the service and the options may be available at a variety of price points. Payment may include detecting how much and what types of services a subscriber accesses and billing the subscriber accordingly, which may be referred to as reconciliation. In step 224, each enterprise establishes account information for the enterprise or for a user operating within the enterprise. In an example, each enterprise using the ANLaaS designates an administrator for the enterprise. The administrator defines one or more accounting rules for the enterprise or for particular users within the enterprise. The accounting rules may be general in nature or may be tailored to a specific enterprise or user, or to the user's role within the enterprise. The accounting rules may further be related to usage of an application by users within the enterprise. For example, an application which is offered over a service network by an application provider such as a database management program might have controlled usage within the enterprise.);
monitor usage, by an end-user device, of the application administered by the enterprise subscriber during the charging session (Lang [0052], [0065]. The accounting network layer A and the accounting network layer B provide usage-based monitoring which identifies a node such as node 4 which received data and routed an amount of data, such as 5 gigabytes worth of data, over to node 7. Based on that data measurement information, for node 4 to node 7, data usage for the network segment from node 4 to node 7 should be recorded as 5 Gb of network usage. Further, the data usage may be attributed to a particular application user and also to a particular application provider, for example. In step 224, each enterprise establishes account information for the enterprise or for a user operating within the enterprise. In an example, each enterprise using the ANLaaS designates an administrator for the enterprise. The administrator defines one or more accounting rules for the enterprise or for particular users within the enterprise. The accounting rules may be general in nature or may be tailored to a specific enterprise or user, or to the user's role within the enterprise. The accounting rules may further be related to usage of an application by users within the enterprise.),
wherein the monitored usage includes at least one of duration or data usage of a service feature of the set of service features (Lang [0049]-[0050]. Any suitable data measurement technique may be used by an accounting node to account for the amount of data passing through a service node. The measured data amounts may be associated with any suitable related information such as time stamp information, identification information for the application user 210, identification information for the application user 212, and identification information for the application. The measured data amounts, along with the related information, may be combined as data measurement information. The backend server 206 and the backend server 208 receive the data measurement information and determine, alone, together or in combination with other data processing systems, which entity will be billed and what amount will be billed. The amount will be based on the amount of data conveyed by a network segment and by various data rate information.);
transmit, to a charging system of the telecommunications network, the usage of the service feature by the end-user device to be recorded at an account of the enterprise subscriber of the telecommunications network, wherein the charging system is separate from the network server system (Lang [0049]-[0050]. Any suitable data measurement technique may be used by an accounting node to account for the amount of data passing through a service node. The measured data amounts may be associated with any suitable related information such as time stamp information, identification information for the application user 210, identification information for the application user 212, and identification information for the application. The measured data amounts, along with the related information, may be combined as data measurement information. The backend server 206 and the backend server 208 receive the data measurement information and determine, alone, together or in combination with other data processing systems, which entity will be billed and what amount will be billed. The amount will be based on the amount of data conveyed by a network segment and by various data rate information.); and
simultaneously with the transmitting the usage to the charging system (Lang [0038]-[0039]. [T]he amount of data that's transferred through a network segment is measured for each respective network segment…the operation of pricing particular available network segments for a selected service to a requesting user may be done substantially in real time, in response to receipt of the request. Such a real time system may be preferable if network availability and function as well as network segment pricing vary dynamically over time.),
communicate a usage report of the usage to a billing system of the enterprise subscriber that administered the application (Lang [0052], [0060], [0065]. The accounting network layer A and the accounting network layer B provide usage-based monitoring which identifies a node such as node 4 which received data and routed an amount of data, such as 5 gigabytes worth of data, over to node 7. Based on that data measurement information, for node 4 to node 7, data usage for the network segment from node 4 to node 7 should be recorded as 5 Gb of network usage. Further, the data usage may be attributed to a particular application user and also to a particular application provider, for example. The accounting system operates to bill parties for usage of the network segment, factoring in not only usage but other billing information such as types of parameters that may be billing related or may be a factor in determining what the charge to the parties may be, such as time of day. In step 224, each enterprise establishes account information for the enterprise or for a user operating within the enterprise. In an example, each enterprise using the ANLaaS designates an administrator for the enterprise. The administrator defines one or more accounting rules for the enterprise or for particular users within the enterprise.);
wherein the billing system is administered separate from [the charging system] and the network server system of the telecommunications network (Lang [0050]. The backend server 206 and the backend server 208 receive the data measurement information and determine, alone, together or in combination with other data processing systems, which entity will be billed and what amount will be billed. The amount will be based on the amount of data conveyed by a network segment and by various data rate information.)
Lang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the billing system is administered separate from the charging system of the telecommunications network,
wherein the usage report includes an indication of the duration, the data usage, or both of the service feature by the end-user device in accordance with the custom billing structure.
However, in an analogous art, Jiang discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
wherein the billing system is administered separate from the charging system of the telecommunications network (Jiang [0012], [0055]. For example, in a wireless network environment (e.g., a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, etc.). Quota enforcer 435 may include logic that generates a traffic control report and provides the traffic control report, via a control plane, to billing manager 330 of control layer 110. The traffic control report may include a charging data report and/or a traffic control report (e.g., data usage, number of dropped packets, date and timestamp data, destination data indicating destination address of packets, etc.). [Q]uota enforcer 435 can generate a canonical record in real-time with enriched information that can be consumed by multiple parties to achieve various billing goals. Further, quota enforcer 435 may report the charging data record in near real-time and more frequently, compared to conventional billing systems.),
wherein the usage report includes an indication of the duration, the data usage, or both of the service feature by the end-user device in accordance with the custom billing structure (Jiang [0055]. Quota enforcer 435 may include logic that generates a traffic control report and provides the traffic control report, via a control plane, to billing manager 330 of control layer 110. The traffic control report may include a charging data report and/or a traffic control report (e.g., data usage, number of dropped packets, date and timestamp data, destination data indicating destination address of packets, etc.). [Q]uota enforcer 435 can generate a canonical record in real-time with enriched information that can be consumed by multiple parties to achieve various billing goals. Further, quota enforcer 435 may report the charging data record in near real-time and more frequently, compared to conventional billing systems.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang and Lang to include: wherein the billing system is administered separate from the charging system of the telecommunications network, wherein the usage report includes an indication of the duration, the data usage, or both of the service feature by the end-user device in accordance with the custom billing structure. One would have been motivated to provide user with a means for providing users with a means for real time billing of data usage services. (See Jiang [0055].)
Regarding claim 3, Lang and Jiang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Jiang further discloses wherein the network server system is further caused to, prior to the usage being monitored by the system: perform an authorization procedure to determine whether the end-user device is authorized to utilize the service feature in accordance with the custom billing structure (Jiang [0070]. User 600 logs on to administrative portal 305 by entering credentials (e.g., user name and password) after connecting end device 200 to administrative portal 305 via a web browser. Administrative portal 305 determines whether the credentials are valid. According to this exemplary scenario, administrative portal 305 successfully authenticates and authorizes user 600. Thereafter, user 600 is navigated to JSON server 315, which provides user interfaces having REST APIs that perform REST services allowing user 600 to configure the subscriber's traffic control service. For example, user 600 may enter, via the user interface, one or multiple identifiers of the user/end device to which the traffic control service pertains.).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Lang and Jiang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Jiang further discloses
wherein the network server system is further caused to, prior to the usage being monitored by the s network server system: determine, by an authorization system of the telecommunications system, that the end-user device is authorized to utilize the service feature (Jiang [0070]-[0071]. User 600 logs on to administrative portal 305 by entering credentials (e.g., user name and password) after connecting end device 200 to administrative portal 305 via a web browser. Administrative portal 305 determines whether the credentials are valid. According to this exemplary scenario, administrative portal 305 successfully authenticates and authorizes user 600. Thereafter, user 600 is navigated to JSON server 315, which provides user interfaces having REST APIs that perform REST services allowing user 600 to configure the subscriber's traffic control service. For example, user 600 may enter, via the user interface, one or multiple identifiers of the user/end device to which the traffic control service pertains. User 600 may also enter or select other rules and/or parameters that configure the traffic control service. According to exemplary embodiments, user 600 can provision rules and/or parameters of a special traffic control service. For example, assume that the special traffic control service provides an option to have a data usage limit of 4 GB/month, that data usage is free for a particular web site, and that evening usage (e.g., between 6 p.m.-midnight) is 50% discounted.).; and
determine, by the charging system, that an anticipated usage of the service feature by the end-user device does not exceed a time-based restriction of the custom billing structure (Jiang [0052]. Quota enforcer 435 may include logic that applies parameters and parameter values of a special data plan so that customized inline quota enforcement is provided. When data usage is exceeded, quota enforcer 435 may include logic that passes the packet to packet dropper 440 or accounts for and charges end device 150/end device 153 for overage usage when the current data usage exceeds a quota limit.).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Lang and Jiang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Jiang further discloses
wherein the network server system is further caused to, prior to the usage being monitored by the network server system: determine, by an authorization system of the telecommunications system, that the end-user device is authorized to utilize the service feature (Jiang [0070]. According to other examples, user 600 may be the end user (e.g., a customer or a subscriber) of the traffic control service via a service provider (e.g., a wireless service provider, etc.). User 600 logs on to administrative portal 305 by entering credentials (e.g., user name and password) after connecting end device 200 to administrative portal 305 via a web browser. Administrative portal 305 determines whether the credentials are valid. According to this exemplary scenario, administrative portal 305 successfully authenticates and authorizes user 600. Thereafter, user 600 is navigated to JSON server 315, which provides user interfaces having REST APIs that perform REST services allowing user 600 to configure the subscriber's traffic control service. For example, user 600 may enter, via the user interface, one or multiple identifiers of the user/end device to which the traffic control service pertains.);
detect an amount of remaining usage available to the end-user device based on usage restriction for the service feature; and in response to the detected amount of remaining usage, restrict usage of the service feature by the end-user device (Jiang [0052], [0071]. Quota enforcer 435 may include logic that applies parameters and parameter values of a special data plan so that customized inline quota enforcement is provided. When data usage is exceeded, quota enforcer 435 may include logic that passes the packet to packet dropper 440 or accounts for and charges end device 150/end device 153 for overage usage when the current data usage exceeds a quota limit. According to exemplary embodiments, user 600 can provision rules and/or parameters of a special traffic control service. For example, assume that the special traffic control service provides an option to have a data usage limit of 4 GB/month, that data usage is free for a particular web site, and that evening usage (e.g., between 6 p.m.-midnight) is 50% discounted.).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Lang and Jiang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Jiang further discloses
wherein the network server system is further caused to, prior to monitoring usage of the service feature: identify the end-user as an authorized end-user based on one or more of:
a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) of the end-user device, an identifier of the application, wherein the identifier is registered with the enterprise subscriber, or
an indication of the charging session of the application invoked at end-user device (Jiang [0052], [0070], [0071]. Quota enforcer 435 may include logic that applies parameters and parameter values of a special data plan so that customized inline quota enforcement is provided. When data usage is exceeded, quota enforcer 435 may include logic that passes the packet to packet dropper 440 or accounts for and charges end device 150/end device 153 for overage usage when the current data usage exceeds a quota limit. According to this exemplary scenario, administrative portal 305 successfully authenticates and authorizes user 600. Thereafter, user 600 is navigated to JSON server 315, which provides user interfaces having REST APIs that perform REST services allowing user 600 to configure the subscriber's traffic control service. For example, user 600 may enter, via the user interface, one or multiple identifiers of the user/end device to which the traffic control service pertains. According to exemplary embodiments, user 600 can provision rules and/or parameters of a special traffic control service. For example, assume that the special traffic control service provides an option to have a data usage limit of 4 GB/month, that data usage is free for a particular web site, and that evening usage (e.g., between 6 p.m.-midnight) is 50% discounted.).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Lang and Jiang disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Jiang further discloses wherein the network server system is further caused to: dynamically allocate the service feature for use by the end-user device based on a user profile of an end-user of the end-user device, wherein the user profile is configured by the enterprise subscriber (Jiang [0052], [0070], [0071]. Quota enforcer 435 may include logic that applies parameters and parameter values of a special data plan so that customized inline quota enforcement is provided. When data usage is exceeded, quota enforcer 435 may include logic that passes the packet to packet dropper 440 or accounts for and charges end device 150/end device 153 for overage usage when the current data usage exceeds a quota limit. According to this exemplary scenario, administrative portal 305 successfully authenticates and authorizes user 600. Thereafter, user 600 is navigated to JSON server 315, which provides user interfaces having REST APIs that perform REST services allowing user 600 to configure the subscriber's traffic control service. For example, user 600 may enter, via the user interface, one or multiple identifiers of the user/end device to which the traffic control service pertains. According to exemplary embodiments, user 600 can provision rules and/or parameters of a special traffic control service. For example, assume that the special traffic control service provides an option to have a data usage limit of 4 GB/month, that data usage is free for a particular web site, and that evening usage (e.g., between 6 p.m.-midnight) is 50% discounted.).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is directed to a system corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Claim 8 is similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to a system corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 3. Claim 10 is similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a system corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4. Claim 11 is similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a system corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5. Claim 12 is similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a system corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 6. Claim 13 is similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a system corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 7. Claim 14 is similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a method corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1. Claim 15 is similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to a method corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 3. Claim 17 is similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to a method corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4. Claim 18 is similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a method corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 5. Claim 19 is similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a method corresponding to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 7. Claim 20 is similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/EDWARD LONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439