DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first bracket" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the component group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the heat conducting assembly" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 11-12, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2025/0145004 to Sasakura et al. (hereafter Sas)
Sas discloses;
As to Claim 1, a high-voltage control box (1, the voltages circulating through an electric vehicle can be considered high voltage, typically around 400V), comprising: a box body (72), being arranged with a receiving cavity and a first opening (see FIG. 4); a first bracket (34, FIG. 13), received in the receiving cavity and configured for mounting a component group (10, 20, 31); a cooling member (50), disposed in the first opening; and a heat conducting assembly (41, 61), attached to and disposed between the cooling member and the first bracket.
As to Claim 11, an energy storage system ([0002] Electric vehicle comprises an energy storage system including batteries), comprising a battery cluster (2, FIG. 1; An electric vehicle battery has thousands of individual cells) and a high-voltage control box (1, the voltages circulating through an electric vehicle can be considered high voltage, typically around 400V); wherein, the battery cluster is connected to the high-voltage control box (FIG. 1).
As to Claim 2, the high-voltage control box according to claim 1, wherein, the first bracket is arranged with a mounting cavity group (FIG. 12b), and the component group is received in the mounting cavity group (FIG. 12a, FIG. 13).
As to Claim 9, the high-voltage control box according to claim 1, wherein, the heat conducting assembly comprises a heat conducting plate (41) and a second heat dissipation member (61); the heat conducting plate is attached to the first bracket (FIG. 13); the second heat dissipation member is attached between the cooling member and the heat conducting plate (FIG. 13).
As to Claim 10, the high-voltage control box according to claim 1, wherein, the cooling member is arranged with a channel group (51), an inlet port (51b), and an outlet port (51a); the channel group is communicated between the inlet port and the outlet port.
As to Claim 12, the energy storage system according to claim 11, wherein, the first bracket is arranged with a mounting cavity group (FIG. 12b), and the component group is received in the mounting cavity group (FIG. 12a, FIG. 13).
As to Claim 19, the energy storage system according to claim 11, wherein, the heat conducting assembly comprises a heat conducting plate (41) and a second heat dissipation member (61); the heat conducting plate is attached to the first bracket (FIG. 13); the second heat dissipation member is attached between the cooling member and the heat conducting plate (FIG. 13).
As to Claim 20, the energy storage system according to claim 11, wherein the cooling member is arranged with a channel group (51), an inlet port (51b), and an outlet port (51a); the channel group is communicated between the inlet port and the outlet port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 8, 13-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0145004 to Sasakura et al. (hereafter Sas) in view of US 2011/0192568 to Hsieh et al.
As to Claim 3, Sas discloses the limitations of Claim 2.
Sas fails to disclose further comprising a first heat dissipation member, wherein, the first heat dissipation member is disposed between the first bracket and the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches that the use of a first heat dissipation member between a support structure and a heat conducting assembly is not novel. Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member (thermally conductive adhesive [0034] “An example of the thermally-conductive medium includes but is not limited to a thermally-conductive adhesive.”), wherein, the first heat dissipation member is disposed between a support structure (13) and a heat conducting assembly (14) ([0029] “In some embodiment, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13 and the cold plate 14”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first bracket of Sas with a first heat dissipation member as taught by Hsieh in order to securely join two thermally conductive surfaces.
As to Claim 4, Sas further discloses the high-voltage control box according to claim 3, wherein, the mounting cavity group has an opening group (FIG. 12b clearly showing openings in 34 allowing for the placement of various components, see annotations below).
Sas fails to disclose the first heat dissipation member is filled in the opening group, the first heat dissipation member is attached between the component group and the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member located between a component group and a heat conducting assembly ([0029] “Optionally, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the electronic components 131 and the circuit board 13, so that the heat generated by the electronic components 131 could be transmitted from the first surface 130 to the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to apply the first heat dissipation member of Hsieh to be filled in the opening group of Sas, that is applied to the top surface of (31) after insertion of (31) into the opening group, and as a result attached between the component group and the heat conducting assembly (41), in order to securely join two thermally conductive surfaces.
As to Claim 8, modified Sas teach the high-voltage control box according to claim 4.
Sas further discloses wherein, the component group further comprises an electronic connection member (31); the mounting cavity group further comprises a fifth mounting cavity (see FIG. 12 with annotations); the electronic connection member is received in the fifth mounting cavity; the fifth mounting cavity has a sixth opening (34 has both top and side openings for element 31 to slide into horizontally).
Sas fails to disclose wherein the sixth opening (top opening) is filled by the first heat dissipation member; the first side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the electronic connection member, the second side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member located between a component group and a heat conducting assembly ([0029] “Optionally, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the electronic components 131 and the circuit board 13, so that the heat generated by the electronic components 131 could be transmitted from the first surface 130 to the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the components in the opening group of Hsieh in view of Li to be treated with a heat dissipation member in order to increase the heat transfer between the components and a heat conducting assembly as taught by Hsieh, the application of thermally-conductive adhesives being well known in the art and providing predictable results.
As to Claim 13, , Sas discloses the limitations of Claim 12.
Sas fails to disclose further comprising a first heat dissipation member, wherein, the first heat dissipation member is disposed between the first bracket and the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches that the use of a first heat dissipation member between a support structure and a heat conducting assembly is not novel. Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member (thermally conductive adhesive [0034] “An example of the thermally-conductive medium includes but is not limited to a thermally-conductive adhesive.”), wherein, the first heat dissipation member is disposed between a support structure (13) and a heat conducting assembly (14) ([0029] “In some embodiment, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13 and the cold plate 14”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the first bracket of Sas with a first heat dissipation member as taught by Hsieh in order to securely join two thermally conductive surfaces.
As to Claim 14, Sas further discloses the energy storage system according to claim 13, wherein, the mounting cavity group has an opening group (FIG. 12b clearly showing openings in 34 allowing for the placement of various components, see annotations above).
Sas fails to disclose the first heat dissipation member is filled in the opening group, the first heat dissipation member is attached between the component group and the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member located between a component group and a heat conducting assembly ([0029] “Optionally, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the electronic components 131 and the circuit board 13, so that the heat generated by the electronic components 131 could be transmitted from the first surface 130 to the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to apply the first heat dissipation member of Hsieh to be filled in the opening group of Sas, that is applied to the top surface of (31) after insertion of (31) into the opening group, and as a result attached between the component group and the heat conducting assembly (41), in order to securely join two thermally conductive surfaces.
As to Claim 18, modified Sas teach the energy storage system according to claim 14.
Sas further discloses wherein, the component group further comprises an electronic connection member (31); the mounting cavity group further comprises a fifth mounting cavity (see FIG. 12 with annotations); the electronic connection member is received in the fifth mounting cavity; the fifth mounting cavity has a sixth opening (34 has both top and side openings for element 31 to slide into horizontally).
Sas fails to disclose wherein the sixth opening (top opening) is filled by the first heat dissipation member; the first side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the electronic connection member, the second side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member located between a component group and a heat conducting assembly ([0029] “Optionally, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the electronic components 131 and the circuit board 13, so that the heat generated by the electronic components 131 could be transmitted from the first surface 130 to the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the components in the opening group of Hsieh in view of Li to be treated with a heat dissipation member in order to increase the heat transfer between the components and a heat conducting assembly as taught by Hsieh, the application of thermally-conductive adhesives being well known in the art and providing predictable results.
Claim(s) 7, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0145004 to Sasakura et al. (hereafter Sas) in view of US 2011/0192568 to Hsieh et al. further in view of US 2025/0338422 to Li et al.
As to Claim 7, modified Sas teaches the high-voltage control box according to claim 4.
Modified Sas fails to disclose wherein, the component group further comprises a shunt and a pre-charge resistor; the mounting cavity group further comprises a third mounting cavity and a fourth mounting cavity; the shunt is received in the third mounting cavity, and the pre-charge resistor is received in the fourth mounting cavity; the third mounting cavity has a fourth opening, the fourth mounting cavity has a fifth opening, each of the fourth opening and the fifth opening is filled by the first heat dissipation member, the first side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the shunt and the pre-charge resistor, and the second side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Li teaches a component group further comprising a shunt ([0041] “current sensor”) and a pre-charge resistor (103). Li further teaches a third mounting cavity (1421) and a fourth mounting cavity (1422), the shunt is received in the third mounting cavity ([0041]), and the pre-charge resistor is received in the fourth mounting cavity ([0041] either mounting cavities can contain the shunt or resistor); the third mounting cavity has a fourth opening (FIG. 6, bottom opening, from which component is inserted), the fourth mounting cavity has a fifth opening (bottom opening from which device is inserted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the component group of Sas to include pre-charge resistors and shunts as taught by Li depending on the demands of the circuit design of the system, shunts and pre-charge resistors being commonly used in the art for power converting devices.
Li fails to teach each of the fourth opening and the fifth opening is filled by the first heat dissipation member; a first side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the shunt and the pre-charge resistor, and a second side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member located between a component group and a heat conducting assembly ([0029] “Optionally, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the electronic components 131 and the circuit board 13, so that the heat generated by the electronic components 131 could be transmitted from the first surface 130 to the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the components in the opening group of Sas in view of Li to be treated with a heat dissipation member in order to increase the heat transfer between the components and a heat conducting assembly as taught by Hsieh, the application of thermally-conductive adhesives being well known in the art and providing predictable results.
As to Claim 17, modified Sas teaches the energy storage system according to claim 14.
Modified Sas fails to disclose wherein, the component group further comprises a shunt and a pre-charge resistor; the mounting cavity group further comprises a third mounting cavity and a fourth mounting cavity; the shunt is received in the third mounting cavity, and the pre-charge resistor is received in the fourth mounting cavity; the third mounting cavity has a fourth opening, the fourth mounting cavity has a fifth opening, each of the fourth opening and the fifth opening is filled by the first heat dissipation member, the first side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the shunt and the pre-charge resistor, and the second side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Li teaches a component group further comprising a shunt ([0041] “current sensor”) and a pre-charge resistor (103). Li further teaches a third mounting cavity (1421) and a fourth mounting cavity (1422), the shunt is received in the third mounting cavity ([0041]), and the pre-charge resistor is received in the fourth mounting cavity ([0041] either mounting cavities can contain the shunt or resistor); the third mounting cavity has a fourth opening (FIG. 6, bottom opening, from which component is inserted), the fourth mounting cavity has a fifth opening (bottom opening from which device is inserted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the component group of Sas to include pre-charge resistors and shunts as taught by Li depending on the demands of the circuit design of the system, shunts and pre-charge resistors being commonly used in the art for power converting devices.
Li fails to teach each of the fourth opening and the fifth opening is filled by the first heat dissipation member; a first side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the shunt and the pre-charge resistor, and a second side of the first heat dissipation member is attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Hsieh teaches a first heat dissipation member located between a component group and a heat conducting assembly ([0029] “Optionally, a thermally-conductive medium (not shown) is applied between the electronic components 131 and the circuit board 13, so that the heat generated by the electronic components 131 could be transmitted from the first surface 130 to the second surface 132 of the circuit board 13.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the components in the opening group of Sas in view of Li to be treated with a heat dissipation member in order to increase the heat transfer between the components and a heat conducting assembly as taught by Hsieh, the application of thermally-conductive adhesives being well known in the art and providing predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The allowable subject matter of claims 5 and 15 being both a relay group and fuse group arranged in a first and second mounting cavity, the mounting cavities having a second and third opening, each of which is filled with the first heat dissipation member, the second side of the first heat dissipation member attached to the heat conducting assembly.
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent on previously objected to dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2013/0312931 to Sharaf et al. disclosing mounting cavities.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841