DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2023/0066855) in view of Tseng et al. (US 6,880,346).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a heat dissipation power generation module in Figure 3, adapted for a server (300, [39]), the heat dissipation power generation module comprising:
a first heat dissipation component (hot chamber 216), thermally coupled to at least one heat source of the server ([43] and [45], the working fluid circulates through the server components that generate heat and supplies the heat to the thermoelectric device);
a thermoelectric component (thermoelectric component 206), disposed on the first heat dissipation component ([45], it is noted that the term “disposed on” does not require direct contact or a particular order of the layers);
and a second heat dissipation component (cold chamber 210, [43] and [45]),
the thermoelectric component (206) is located between the first heat dissipation component (216) and the second heat dissipation component (210) (Figure 3 and [45]),
a pipeline component, connecting between the first heat dissipation component (216) and the second heat dissipation component (210) ([39]-[43], the entire network of fluid distribution module 200 and subloops read on a “pipeline component”),
wherein a heat dissipation medium (working fluid) flows through first heat dissipation component (216) and second heat dissipation component (210) ([32]-[33]),
the first heat dissipation component (216) and the second heat dissipation component (210) form a temperature difference at two opposite sides of the thermoelectric component (206) (Figure 3, [43] and [45]),
and the thermoelectric component (206) generates an electrical energy through the temperature difference ([34]-[35] and [45]).
Gao does not disclose that the first heat dissipation component is thermally coupled directly to at least one heat source of the server.
Tseng discloses a heat dissipation module in Figure 9, adapted for a server (column 1 lines 11-22) comprising:
a first heat dissipation component (front heat absorbing block 1b), thermally coupled directly to at least one heat source of the server (CPU 100) (Figure 9 and column 5 lines 13-32, first surface 11b directly contacts the CPU 100);
a thermoelectric component (4b), disposed on the first heat dissipation (1b) component (Figure 9 and column 5 lines 13-32);
a second heat dissipation component (back heat absorbing block 51b), the thermoelectric component (4b) is located between the first heat dissipation component (1b) and the second heat dissipation component (51b) (Figure 9 and column 5 lines 13-32);
and a pipeline component (water cooling loop 2b), connecting between the first heat dissipation component (1b) and the second heat dissipation component (51b), wherein a heat dissipation medium (water) flows through first heat dissipation component and second heat dissipation component (column 5 lines 13-32),
the first heat dissipation component (1b) and the second heat dissipation component (51b) form a temperature difference at two opposite sides of the thermoelectric component (4b) (column 5 lines 13-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Gao such that the first heat dissipation component is thermally coupled directly to at least one heat source of the server, as taught by Tseng, because direct thermal contact between the first heat dissipation component and the at least one heat source of the server allows for more efficient cooling of the heat source (Tseng, column 3 line 65-column 4 line 2).
Regarding claim 2, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses that the first heat dissipation component comprises a first inner pipeline (hot chamber 216), the second heat dissipation component comprises a second inner pipeline (cold chamber 210) ([42]-[43] and Figure 3), the pipeline component (subloop 1) connects the first inner pipeline (216) and the second inner pipeline (210) (Figure 3), the heat dissipation medium flows (fluid) within the pipeline component (fluid subloop 1), the first inner pipeline (216) and the second inner pipeline (210) ([42]-[43] and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses a pump (liquid pump 112, [26]) and a cooling component (heat exchanger 111, [26]), the pump (112) is communicated with the cooling component (111) and the first inner pipeline (hot chamber 216) (primary loop, [26]), the cooling component (111) is communicated with the second inner pipeline (cold chamber 210) (primary loop, [26]), the heat dissipation medium (fluid) flows between the pump (112), the cooling component (111), the first inner pipeline (216) and the second inner pipeline (210) ([26] and [42]-[43] and Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses that the first heat dissipation component (hot chamber 216) comprises at least two first heat dissipation members (H1 and H2), the second heat dissipation component (cold chamber 210) comprises at least two second heat dissipation members (C1 and C2), the thermoelectric component (206) comprises at least two first thermoelectric members (thermoelectric device comprises a plurality of p and n elements 220, [34]), the at least one heat source comprises at least two heat sources (CP1a,b and CP2a,b), each of the at least two first thermoelectric members has two opposite sides attached to each of the at least two first heat dissipation members (H1 and H2) and each of the at least two second heat dissipation members (C1 and C2), and each of the at least two first heat dissipation members (H1 and H2) is thermally coupled to the at least two heat sources (CP1a,b and CP2a,b) (Figure 3 and [42]-[43]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses at least one first pipeline (hot chamber 216), at least one second pipeline (cold chamber 210) and a communicating pipeline (subloop 1), the at least two first heat dissipation members (H1 and H2) are adjacent to each other and communicated by each of the at least one first pipeline (hot chamber 216), the adjacent at least two second heat dissipation members (C1 and C2) are adjacent to each other and communicated by each of the at least one second pipeline (cold chamber 210), the communicating pipeline (subloop 1) connects between one of the at least two first heat dissipation members (H1) and one of the at least two second heat dissipation members (C1), the heat dissipation medium flows between the pipeline component, the at least two first heat dissipation members and the at least two second heat dissipation members (working fluid) (Figure 3 and [42]-[43]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses a pipeline component (fluid distribution module 200), the pipeline component comprising at least two communicating pipelines (hot chamber 216 and cold chamber 210) and at least one converging pipeline (subloops can share return inlets which reads on a converging pipeline, [43]), each of the at least two first heat dissipation members (H1 and H2) and each of the at least two second heat dissipation members (C1 and C2) are connected by each of the at least two communicating pipelines (216 and 210), the at least two first heat dissipation members (H1 and H2) are adjacent to each other and connected by each of the at least one converging pipeline (subloops can share return inlets which reads on a converging pipeline, [43]) (Figure 3 and [42]-[43]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses that the thermoelectric component (206) further comprises at least one second thermoelectric member, each of the at least one second thermoelectric member comprises two opposite sides, one of the two sides of each of the at least one second thermoelectric member is thermally coupled to each of the at least one converging pipeline (subloops can share return inlets which reads on a converging pipeline, [43]), the at least one second thermoelectric member generates the electrical energy through the temperature difference between the two sides (the thermoelectric component 206 comprises a plurality of p and n elements 220, [34] which are each thermally coupled to the at least one converging pipeline and generate electricity through a temperature difference between their opposite sides).
Regarding claim 8, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao additionally discloses that the first heat dissipation component comprises a connecting portion and two extension portions connected to each other (The term “portion” is broad and can include any section of the heat dissipation component-hot side of fluid distribution module 200-such that two “extension portions” can be defined on opposite ends of a central “connecting portion”), the connecting portion is connected to the at least one heat source (the entire heat dissipation component including the connecting portion is connected to the at least one heat source, Figure 3 and [42]-[43]), the two extension portions are located on opposite edges of the connecting portion (The term “portion” is broad and can include any section of the heat dissipation component such that two “extension portions” can be defined on opposite edges of a central “connecting portion”), the thermoelectric component (206) comprises two first thermoelectric members (semiconductor pillars 220, [34]), the two first thermoelectric members (semiconductor pillars 220) are respectively disposed on the two extension portions (Figure 3, it is noted that the term “disposed on” does not require direct contact or a particular order of the layers).
Regarding claim 9, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Gao does not disclose at least one fan component, wherein the second heat dissipation component comprises two baffles, the two baffles are located between the two extension portions and the at least one fan component, the two baffles are located in a movement path of an airflow formed by the at least one fan component, to block the airflow.
Tseng additionally discloses at least one fan component (200), wherein the second heat dissipation component comprises two baffles (531, 532), the two baffles are located between two extension portions and the at least one fan component (Figures 1-2, column 3 lines 56-65), the two baffles are located in a movement path of an airflow formed by the at least one fan component, to block the airflow (Figures 1-2 and column 3 lines 56-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of modified Gao to have at least one fan component, wherein the second heat dissipation component comprises two baffles, the two baffles are located between the two extension portions and the at least one fan component, the two baffles are located in a movement path of an airflow formed by the at least one fan component, to block the airflow, as taught by Tseng, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2023/0066855) in view of Tseng et al. (US 6,880,346), as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Arai et al. (US 2019/0376848).
Regarding claim 10, modified Gao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Gao does not disclose that the first heat dissipation component comprises a first heat sink group and a heat pipe, the second heat dissipation component comprises a second heat sink group and a casing, the heat pipe is embedded in the first heat sink group, the casing comprises the two baffles, the second heat sink group is disposed on the casing.
Arai discloses a heat dissipation power generation module (abstract and Figure 5) comprising a first heat dissipation component comprises a first heat sink group (51) and a heat pipe (50) ([53]-[54]), a second heat dissipation component comprises a second heat sink group (21, [36]) and a casing (pressing plate 41 and fins 20, [36] and [41]), the heat pipe (50) is embedded in the first heat sink group (51) (Figure 5 and [53]-[54]), the casing comprises two baffles (fins 20) ([36]), the second heat sink group (21) is disposed on the casing (Figure 5 and [36]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of modified Gao such that the first heat dissipation component comprises a first heat sink group and a heat pipe, the second heat dissipation component comprises a second heat sink group and a casing, the heat pipe is embedded in the first heat sink group, the casing comprises the two baffles, the second heat sink group is disposed on the casing, as taught by Arai, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot as a result of the new ground of rejection and the addition of the Tseng reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728