DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 10/07/2014. The Applicant has filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0135571 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55, which has been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A brief abstract of the technical disclosure in the specification must commence on a separate sheet, under the heading "Abstract" or "Abstract of the Disclosure." The sheet or sheets presenting the abstract may not include other parts of the application or other material. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/25/2025 and 11/06/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 10/24/2024 are accepted to by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al. (US 2015/0253590) in view of Hyun Do (KR 20170087040, of record, Examiner provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Howell teaches a smart glass (refer to US 20150253590), comprising:
a lens frame part (Fig. 13B illustrates a portion of an eyeglass frame, [0041]; The frame has lens holders 104 that hold the lenses 102 in position. The frame also has a bridge 106. The glasses 100 further include a pair of temples 108, [0049], Fig. 1; eyeglass frame 1230, [0173], Fig. 12D) having a flexible circuit board accommodated therein (electrical components can be or pertain to a circuit board or module, which includes a plurality of electrical components, [0013]. electrical component can include a circuit board. The circuit board can be a rigid or a flexible circuit board, [0113]; electrical component 1208, Fig. 12D, [0171]); a pair of temple parts provided on each of both left and right sides of the lens frame (The glasses 100 further include a pair of temples 108, [0049]; Fig. 1 shows lenses 102, lens holders 104, a pair of temple parts 108 provided on each of both left and right sides of the lens frame; Fig. 12A-D show temple 1206, [0171]), wherein each temple part has a circuit board accommodated therein (the electrical components can be or pertain to a circuit board or module, which includes a plurality of electrical components, [0047]; Fig. 3K shows temple part has a circuit board 1354; “a printed circuit board 1354 internal to the body 1352”, [0086]; Fig. 12D shows one or more electrical components 1208, [0171]), and a first connector for power supply and/or data transmission is provided on an apical surface facing the lens frame part (connector 1238 associated with the temple 1206. 1238 which provide physical connection and optionally also electrical connection, [0173], Fig. 12D) and a hinge module (hinge module, hinge 1234 with 1232, Fig. 12D) detachably connecting the temple part to the lens frame part (The temple 1206 is thus easily removable from the linking temple piece 1232 of the eyeglass frame 1230, [0173]), wherein the hinge module is provided with a second connector connectable to the first connector (hinge connection 1234 connectable to 1238 which provide physical connection and optionally also electrical connection, [0173]), and enables to rotate the temple part around a first rotation axis (Fig. 12C shows temple 1206 can rotate with respect to the extended endpiece 1204 by way of the joint or hinge 1210 around a first rotation axis) in a state of being connected to the temple part (Fig. 12C shows a state of being connected to the temple part; “temples for eyeglass frames can be not only removable but also piecewise replaceable. In other words, an entire temple can be removed and replaced with respect to an eyeglass frame”, [0175]; FIG. 12C, the temple 1206 can rotate (or pivot) with respect to the extended endpiece 1204 by way of the joint (or hinge) 1210, [0172]), wherein the hinge module (module from temple to eyepiece 1204, Fig. 12D) comprises: a first connecting member (connector 1238, [0173]) and a second connecting member is rotatably disposed (hinge 1234, [0173]) and a third connecting member (connectors 1236) formed to extend in a direction from the first connecting member (from 1238), and an electrical path is formed between the flexible circuit board and the circuit board (at least one conductor 1347 can electrically connect the electrical circuitry 1348 with the ear bud 1344, where the at least one conductor 1347 extends through the ear bud arm 1346 to the ear bud 1344. Optionally, the body 1342 can further include an antenna 1349 internal to the body 1342. In the case where the electrical circuitry 1348 includes a wireless receiver (e.g., Bluetooth, XM, FM), the antenna 1349 can enhance reception. As an example, the electrical circuitry 1348 … he electrical circuitry 1348 can, for example, pertain to one or more of a data storage device, battery/power source, [0085]; Fig. 3J-K shows electrical path 1349 circuit board 1354 and electrical components 1356, 1348 and disclosed “electrical components can be or pertain to a circuit board or module, which includes a plurality of electrical components, [0013]. electrical component can include a circuit board. The circuit board can be a rigid or a flexible circuit board, [0113]; electrical component 1208, Fig. 12D, [0171]);
Howell doesn’t explicitly teach the hinge module comprises: a first connecting member formed in a hollow cylindrical shape with an open top and including a fastening hole on a side surface and a guide hole formed to extend along an arc direction centered on the first rotation axis from the fastening hole; a second connecting member rotatably disposed in the hollow of the first connecting member and having a second connector formed on one side facing the fastening hole; and a third connecting member formed to extend in a first direction from the first connecting member, the second connector is electrically connected to the flexible circuit board crossing the first connecting member from the lens frame, the first connector has a guide groove formed in an up-down direction at a portion adjacent to the apical surface of the temple part, when the first connector passes through the fastening hole to be fastened to the second connector, an electrical path is formed between the flexible circuit board and the circuit board, and the guide groove guides the temple part to rotate around the first rotation axis along the guide hole in a state where the first connector is fastened to the second connector, and the temple part rotates to be capable of binding to the third connecting member.
Howell and HYUN are related as eyeglass frames.
Howell teaches hinge module connected temple with the lens frame, temple part has a circuit board and electrical components accommodated therein (the electrical components can be or pertain to a circuit board or module, which includes a plurality of electrical components, (see above), and the body 1342 includes at least one conductor 1347 and electrical circuitry 1348 internal to the body 1342, [0085], but doesn’t explicitly teach the detailed connection. In Figs, 7-10 Hyun teaches the detailed connection of a hinge module of an eyeglass. HYUN teaches the hinge module (the hinge, which connects the front part of the eyeglass frame and the temple unit, [para. [0003] of machine translation MT]) comprises: a first connecting member (400) formed in a hollow cylindrical shape with an open top (Fig. 8, coupling unit 400 with open top; [para. 0039]) and including a fastening hole on a side surface (fastening hole (420, Fig. 7, [0043]) and a guide hole formed to extend along an arc direction centered on the first rotation axis from the fastening hole (guiding hole 430, [0057], Fig. 7); a second connecting member (200) rotatably disposed in the hollow of the first connecting member (in hollow of 400) and having a second connector (210) formed on one side facing the fastening hole (rotating unit 200, facing fastening hole 420 , Fig. 7; [0059]) and a third connecting member (300) formed to extend in a first direction from the first connecting member (from connecting member 300 see Figs. 9 and 10);, the first connector has a guide groove formed in an up-down direction (guide groove 420) at a portion adjacent to the apical surface of the temple part (Hollow teaches connector has a guide groove 1236 receive connector 1238 from the temple, “connector 1236 that is capable of receiving a corresponding connector 1238 associated with the temple 1206”), when the first connector (121) passes through the fastening hole (420) to be fastened to the second connector (210), and the guide groove (430) guides the temple part (120) to rotate around the first rotation axis (up down through the middle of 400) along the guide hole (430) in a state where the first connector (121) is fastened to the second connector (210), and the temple part rotates to be capable of binding to the third connecting member (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the smart glass of Howell to include a first connecting member formed in a hollow cylindrical shape with an open top and including a fastening hole on a side surface and a guide hole formed to extend along an arc direction centered on the first rotation axis from the fastening hole; a second connecting member rotatably disposed in the hollow of the first connecting member and having a second connector formed on one side facing the fastening hole; and a third connecting member formed to extend in a first direction from the first connecting member, the second connector is electrically connected to the flexible circuit board crossing the first connecting member from the lens frame, the first connector has a guide groove formed in an up-down direction at a portion adjacent to the apical surface of the temple part, when the first connector passes through the fastening hole to be fastened to the second connector, an electrical path is formed between the flexible circuit board and the circuit board, and the guide groove guides the temple part to rotate around the first rotation axis along the guide hole in a state where the first connector is fastened to the second connector, and the temple part rotates to be capable of binding to the third connecting member, as taught by Hyun for the predictable advantage of relative movement in the upward and downward directions can be prevented and requires less parts and less complicated assembly.as taught by Hyun in para background arts and description-of-embodiments.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 (see above), the flexible circuit board enables to be connected to the second connector without being exposed to the outside (see Figs 12A-12E; electrical components can be or pertain to a circuit board or module, which includes a plurality of electrical components, [0013]. electrical component can include a circuit board. The circuit board can be a rigid or a flexible circuit board, [0113]; electrical component 1208, Fig. 12D, [0171]); figures show connector without being exposed to the outside). Hyun teaches the first connecting member is formed as a housing structure in communication with the inside of the lens frame part (see Figs. 7-10) so that the flexible circuit board enables to be connected to the second connector without being exposed to the outside.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 2 (see above), wherein the flexible circuit board comprises: a rigid region; a flexible region with ductility, having higher flexibility than the rigid region and being capable of bending; and a rigid/flexible region in which regions having different flexibility are combined, and a portion which is connected to the second connector across the first connecting member is configured with a flexible region to be capable of allowing repeated rotation of the second connecting member, (The circuit board can be a rigid or a flexible circuit board. [0113]; A temple cover is typically made of a material that is more flexible than a temple fit-over[0057]; rearward part can be rotated with respect to the forward part 1380. The rotation causes the bayonet structures 1384 to no longer be aligned with the grooves, [0089]; connectors in the apparatus 1400 can also be rotatable or movable, such as between different positions and/or angles, [0105]; [0172]).
Hyun teaches bending parts formed at both ends of the rim so as to connect the rim and the temple unit in background-art.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 2 (see above), Hyun teaches wherein the first connector is a plug connector, and the second connector is a receptacle connector into which the first connector is inserted and fastened (rotation unit 200 is formed with an engagement groove 210 through which the end of the end piece 120, that is, the insertion portion 121, is inserted.
rotation unit (200) is inserted into the connection unit 400, [0060]; insertion part 121 is
inserted into the coupling groove 210, [0061]; coupling structures is formed in the part of the end piece that is inserted into the rotating unit, [claim 4]; end of the end piece passes through the fastening hole and is inserted into the coupling groove, [claim 5]; insertion hole is formed into which the above-mentioned rotating unit is inserted so as to be rotatable relative to the above-mentioned temple unit, [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 (see above), wherein a battery electrically connected to the circuit board is accommodated at the rear end of the temple part, {see Figs. 3A-C, at least one electrical component 306, [0062], at least one electrical componen322, [0066])
Regarding claim 9, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the flexible circuit board is
electrically connected to a camera module or a display module, which is accommodated in the lens frame part, and the camera module and the display module are electrically connected to any one of the circuit boards provided in the pair of temple parts through the flexible circuit board. (eyeglass frame that supports a camera … camera makes use of a display (e.g., LCD), the display could be in either the forward part or the rearward part, [0078], LCD) can be provided on the body 1352. In one example, the display device 1356 can be mounted to the circuit board 1354 and exposed through an opening in the body 1352, [0086]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 (see above), Hyun teaches wherein a width (W1) of the fastening hole is larger than a width (W2) of the guide hole, and a length (L1) of the fastening hole is smaller than a length (L2) of the guide hole (see Figs, 7-8; (fastening hole (420, Fig. 7, [0043]; guiding hole 430, [0057], Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 11, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the circuit board comprises an integrated circuit chip provided with one or more of a processor, a memory, a power management module, or a communication module (one electrical component can be a controller. The controller can, for example, be a microprocessor., [0117]; electrical component can be a memory device. The memory device can be non-volatile memory, such as FLASH memory. The data stored in the memory device can be user data or data provided by other electrical components, [0118]; The electrical components can include an image sensor, a memory, a microcontroller, and a battery, [0078]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the communication module verifies or authenticates the smart glass within a communication network using IMSI (international mobile subscriber identity) information stored in the smart glass (satellite radio, media player, pedometer, wireless communication, sun monitor, hearing enhancement, global positioning, a wireless communication device, the forward part can include a display, while the rearward part can include a battery, an antenna, a wireless module, [0079]; the electrical circuitry 1348, can be a wireless module for wireless communications or a receiver for XM or FM signals, [0085], [0181]);
Regarding claim 13, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the temple part is provided with a speaker module capable of outputting an audio signal to the outside, (one electrical component can be a speaker. The speaker can provide an audio output for the benefit of the wearer of the glasses., [0116]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al. in view of Hyun Do as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Nam et al. (KR 20240124148, of record, Examiner provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 1 with temple parts and connecting members (see above), Howell doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein a magnetic body in the form of a protrusion is provided on one surface of the temple part facing the third connecting member so that the temple part enables to be coupled with the third connecting member by rotating around the first rotation axis, and
a magnetic body coupling groove into which the magnetic body is fitted or inserted is provided in the third connecting member (the male connector (910) can be a first magnetic connector and the female connector (920) can be a second magnetic connector. The male connector (910) can include a first magnetic body (911) and a first terminal (912). The female connector (92) can include a second magnetic body (921) and a second terminal (922). An attractive force between the first magnetic body (911) and the second magnetic body (921) can be utilized to couple the male connector (910) and the female connector (920). When the male connector (910) and the female connector (920) are coupled, the first terminal (912) and the second terminal (922) can be brought into physical contact and electrically connected, [page 27 of machine translation], see Fig. 9]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified smart glass of Howell to include a magnetic body in the form of a protrusion is provided on one surface of the temple part facing the third connecting member so that the temple part enables to be coupled with the third connecting member by rotating around the first rotation axis, and a magnetic body coupling groove into which the magnetic body is fitted or inserted is provided in the third connecting member, as taught by Nam for the predictable advantage of getting a reliable, fast, and secure connection.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 5 (see above). Nam further teaches a magnet is installed on one or more of a protruding surface of the magnetic body or a bottom surface of the magnetic body coupling groove, and when magnets are installed on both the protruding surface and the bottom surface, magnets having different polarities are installed, whereby the magnetic body and the magnetic body coupling groove are magnetically coupled (see Fig. 9; the male connector (910) can be a first magnetic connector and the female connector (920) can be a second magnetic connector. The male connector (910) can include a first magnetic body (911) and a first terminal (912). The female connector (92) can include a second magnetic body (921) and a second terminal (922). An attractive force between the first magnetic body (911) and the second magnetic body (921) can be utilized to couple the male connector (910) and the female connector (920). When the male connector (910) and the female connector (920) are coupled, the first terminal (912) and the second terminal (922) can be brought into physical contact and electrically connected, [page 27 of machine translation]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Howell teaches the smart glass according to claim 5 (see above), wherein two or more magnetic body coupling grooves are provided, and arranged at a constant interval in a left-right direction. (first magnetic body (911) and a second magnetic body (921), Fig. 9).
Conclusion
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872