DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 11-20 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1, 12 and 21-22 are currently amended; claims 2-3, 6 and 8 are original; claims 4 and 9-10 are canceled; and claims 1-3, 5-8 and 11-20 are previously presented. The amendment dated September 16, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the newly amended claim 1, the applicant argues that “Kong does not recognize the technical problem of eliminating dark zones in the context of light homogenization. Kong provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to select a hole size ≤ 30 mm for the blank regions, as Kong is entirely silent on the relationship between hole dimension and light energy redistribution. A person of ordinary skill in the art, armed with Kong's disclosure, would have no reason to select a hole size ≤ 30 mm for Kong's blank regions to achieve improved uniformity, because Kong does not even identify uniformity improvement via hole dimension as a design consideration” (Remarks, Pages 2-4).
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding different advantages of eliminating dark zones, the examiner considers the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). See also MPEP 2145.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding, “Kong provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to select a hole size ≤ 30 mm”, the examiner considers, however, Kong discloses a diffraction grating structure comprising a light-homogenizing region (a region of 203) having one or more hole regions (Page 10 lines 31-35), wherein Vallius further teaches a known diffractive grating structure is in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]) (see Figure 8 of Kong below, annotated by the examiner).
<Figure 8 of Kong>
[AltContent: textbox (Kong teaches a diffraction grating structure comprising a light-homogenizing region (a region of 203 in Fig. 8) having one or more hole regions (Page 10 lines 31-35).)]
[AltContent: textbox (Vallius further teaches a known diffractive grating structure is in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]). If a diffraction grating structure is in the micrometer range, any hole in the diffractive grating structure should be in the micrometer range.)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, the applicant further argues “Blomstedt does not disclose the specific positional relationships and distance ranges” (Remarks, Page 4).
The examiner respectively disagrees, because Blomstedt teaches a diffraction optical waveguide structure (Figs. 1-3) comprise a plurality of regions arranged in a waveguide, configured to couple light propagating in the waveguide, wherein a region is disposed between two other regions, and the region is adjacent to other regions (Paras. [0033], [0070], [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, the applicant argues “Woltman's disclosure of different diffraction regions arranged on different sides is a general teaching that does not specifically address the light-homogenizing region” (Remarks, Page 5).
The examiner respectively disagrees, because claim 7 merely requires “at least one of the light-homogenizing region, the coupling-in region, the deflecting region, and the coupling-out region is arranged on a different side from remaining others” where Woltman teaches a known diffraction optical waveguide (Fig. 9A) includes different diffraction regions arranged on different sides.
Regarding claim 12, the applicant argues “Blomstedt does not teach or suggest a light-homogenizing region configured with a second diffractive microstructure layer for spatially redistributing energy of light … Furthermore, Blomstedt does not disclose the specific positional relationships and distance ranges” (Remarks, Page 5).
The examiner respectively disagrees, because, in the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing regions (Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35), and Lam further teaches grating couplers may be optimized by adjusting duty cycles and groove depths (Para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 14, the applicant argues “Urness's 6.6 mm dimension serves a different function and operates in a different context from the claimed invention” (Remarks, Page 6).
The examiner respectively disagrees, because Urness teaches a waveguide and a light-homogenizing region, wherein sub-light-homogenizing regions are in a light-homogenizing region and the distance between two adjacent sub-light-homogenizing regions is 13 mm (Fig. 10A: Paras. [0153], [0173]) as required in claim 14, while the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). See also MPEP 2145.
Regarding claim 18, the applicant argues “Amirparviz's general teaching that distances between diffractive regions may be adjusted based on the application is a broad, generic statement that does not amount to a teaching or suggestion of the specific distance relationships recited in claims 18 and 19” (Remarks, Page 7).
The examiner respectively disagrees, because any waveguide comprising a light-homogenizing region, a deflecting region and a coupling-out region, has distances between regions to be adjusted and as taught by Amirparviz (Column 9 lines 1-17). The examiner further notes the applicant’s argument regarding “the specific distance relationships” is contradictory to the present specification, since the applicant states, in Para. [0067], “It should be understood that the distance between the light-homogenizing region 160 and the deflecting region 130, as well as the distance between the light-homogenizing region 160 and the coupling-out region 140 are not limited to the above values, but may also be other values, which are not limited herein”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, 13, 15-16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong (CN 111123524 A) of record, in view of Vallius (US 20170102544) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Kong discloses a diffraction optical waveguide structure (Fig. 8; Page 10 lines 4-9), comprising:
a light-guiding layer (201; Page 9 line 35 – Page 10 line 9), and a coupling-in region (a region of 202), a deflecting region (a region of 205), and a coupling-out region (a region of 204) all disposed on the light-guiding layer (Fig. 8) and sequentially arranged along a direction of an optical path (Fig. 8 and Page 3 lines 3-5), the coupling-in region, the deflecting region and the coupling-out region are all configured with a first diffractive layer (diffractive grating layers of 202, 205, 204);
the diffraction optical waveguide structure further comprises a light-homogenizing region (a region of 203), the light-homogenizing region is arranged between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region (Fig. 8), the light-homogenizing region is configured with a second diffractive layer (a diffractive grating layer of 203), the second diffractive microstructure layer is configured to spatially redistribute energy of lights (Figs. 4 and 8; see the incoming light spatially redistributed via the homogenizing grating array 203; Page 10 lines 5-9).
Kong does not explicitly disclose the first diffractive layer and the second diffractive layer are a first diffractive microstructure layer and a second diffractive microstructure layer.
However, Vallius teaches a known diffractive layer in an optical waveguide comprises a diffractive microstructure layer (Figs. 2 and 9 and Para. [0032] teaching microstructure layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Vallius, wherein the first diffractive layer and the second diffractive layer are a first diffractive microstructure layer and a second diffractive microstructure layer, for the purpose of using known grating microstructures in a waveguide (Vallius: Para. [0032]).
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a hole size of the hole region is less than or equal to 30 mm.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches a diffraction grating structure comprises a light-homogenizing region configured with one or more hole regions (see Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35), and Vallius further teaches a known diffractive grating structure is in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a hole size of the hole region is less than or equal to 30 mm, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect and using micrometer scale structures (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35; Vallius: Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kong further discloses wherein the light-homogenizing region is at least one of a region enclosed by straight edges and a region enclosed by curved edges (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region includes more than one sub-light-homogenizing region, more than one sub-light-homogenizing region is disposed at intervals, and a distance between two adjacent sub-light-homogenizing regions is less than or equal to 30 mm.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region includes more than one sub-light-homogenizing region, more than one sub-light-homogenizing region is disposed at intervals (Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35), and Vallius further teaches known diffractive grating structures have a region in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region includes more than one sub-light-homogenizing region, more than one sub-light-homogenizing region is disposed at intervals, and a distance between two adjacent sub-light-homogenizing regions is less than or equal to 30 mm, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect and using micrometer scale structures (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35; Vallius: Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kong further discloses wherein the light-homogenizing region is arranged on the same side as the coupling-in region, the deflecting region, and the coupling-out region (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kong further discloses wherein the light-homogenizing region is at least one of quadrilateral, elliptical, and cloud-shaped (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly the light-homogenizing region includes 2 to 10 sub-light-homogenizing regions.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region includes 2 to 10 sub-light-homogenizing regions (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region includes 2 to 10 sub-light-homogenizing regions, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 15, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a second diffractive microstructure layer is configured in a region other than the hole region of the light-homogenizing region.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a second diffractive microstructure layer is configured in a region other than the hole region of the light-homogenizing region (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a second diffractive microstructure layer is configured in a region other than the hole region of the light-homogenizing region, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 16, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly the light-homogenizing region is configured with more than one hole region.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region is configured with more than one hole region (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region is configured with more than one hole region, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 21, Kong discloses an optical apparatus (Page 1 lines 25-26 “near-eye display devices”), comprising: a micro-image source (Page 2 lines 5-6), and a diffraction optical waveguide structure (Fig. 8; Page 10 lines 4-9); wherein, the diffraction optical waveguide structure comprises:
a light-guiding layer (201; Page 9 line 35 – Page 10 line 9), and a coupling-in region (a region of 202), a deflecting region (a region of 205), and a coupling-out region (a region of 204) all disposed on the light-guiding layer (Fig. 8) and sequentially arranged along a direction of an optical path (Fig. 8 and Page 3 lines 3-5), the coupling-in region, the deflecting region and the coupling-out region are all configured with a first diffractive layer (diffractive grating layers of 202, 205, 204);
the diffraction optical waveguide structure further comprises light-homogenizing region (a region of 203), the light-homogenizing region is arranged between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region (Fig. 8), the light-homogenizing region is configured with a second diffractive layer (a diffractive grating layer of 203), the second diffractive microstructure layer is configured to spatially redistribute energy of lights (Figs. 4 and 8; see the incoming light spatially redistributed via the homogenizing grating array 203; Page 10 lines 5-9).
Kong does not explicitly disclose the first diffractive layer and the second diffractive layer are a first diffractive microstructure layer and a second diffractive microstructure layer.
However, Vallius teaches a known diffractive layer in an optical waveguide comprises a diffractive microstructure layer (Figs. 2 and 9 and Para. [0032] teaching microstructure layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Vallius, wherein the first diffractive layer and the second diffractive layer are a first diffractive microstructure layer and a second diffractive microstructure layer, for the purpose of using known grating microstructures in a waveguide (Vallius: Para. [0032]).
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a hole size of the hole region is less than or equal to 30 mm.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches a diffraction grating structure comprises a light-homogenizing region configured with one or more hole regions (see Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35), and Vallius further teaches a known diffractive grating structure is in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a hole size of the hole region is less than or equal to 30 mm, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect and using micrometer scale structures (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35; Vallius: Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 22, Kong discloses a near-eye display device (Page 1 lines 25-26 “near-eye display devices”), comprising: an optical apparatus, the optical apparatus comprises a micro-image source (Page 2 lines 5-6), and a diffraction optical waveguide structure (Fig. 8; Page 10 lines 4-9); wherein, the diffraction optical waveguide structure comprises:
a light-guiding layer (201; Page 9 line 35 – Page 10 line 9), and a coupling-in region (a region of 202), a deflecting region (a region of 205), and a coupling-out region (a region of 204) all disposed on the light-guiding layer (Fig. 8) and sequentially arranged along a direction of an optical path (Fig. 8 and Page 3 lines 3-5), the coupling-in region, the deflecting region and the coupling-out region are all configured with a first diffractive layer (diffractive grating layers of 202, 205, 204);
the diffraction optical waveguide structure further comprises light-homogenizing region (a region of 203), the light-homogenizing region is arranged between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region (Fig. 8), the light-homogenizing region is configured with a second diffractive layer (a diffractive grating layer of 203), the second diffractive microstructure layer is configured to spatially redistribute energy of lights (Figs. 4 and 8; see the incoming light spatially redistributed via the homogenizing grating array 203; Page 10 lines 5-9).
Kong does not explicitly disclose the first diffractive layer and the second diffractive layer are a first diffractive microstructure layer and a second diffractive microstructure layer.
However, Vallius teaches a known diffractive layer in an optical waveguide comprises a diffractive microstructure layer (Figs. 2 and 9 and Para. [0032] teaching microstructure layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Vallius, wherein the first diffractive layer and the second diffractive layer are a first diffractive microstructure layer and a second diffractive microstructure layer, for the purpose of using known grating microstructures in a waveguide (Vallius: Para. [0032]).
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a hole size of the hole region is less than or equal to 30 mm.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches a diffraction grating structure comprises a light-homogenizing region configured with one or more hole regions (see Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35), and Vallius further teaches a known diffractive grating structure is in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, a hole size of the hole region is less than or equal to 30 mm, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect and using micrometer scale structures (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35; Vallius: Para. [0032]).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Vallius, and in further view of Blomstedt (US 20210165142) of record.
Regarding claim 6, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 5 above.
Kong does not explicitly disclose the diffraction optical waveguide structure comprises at least one of the following:
the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region and the coupling-out region;
and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm;
and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the coupling-out region, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm;
and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm.
However, Blomstedt teaches a diffraction optical waveguide structure (Figs. 1-3) comprise a plurality of regions arranged in a waveguide, configured to couple light propagating in the waveguide, wherein a region is disposed between two other regions and the region is adjacent to other regions (Paras. [0033], [0070], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffraction optical waveguide structure as disclosed by Kong with the teachings of Blomstedt, wherein the diffraction optical waveguide structure comprises at least one of the following: the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region and the coupling-out region; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the coupling-out region, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm, for the purpose of providing new freedoms for design and efficiently allowing for spreading light (Blomstedt: Paras. [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kong does not explicitly disclose a length of an overlap between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region ranges from 0 mm to 100 mm, or, a length of an overlap between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region ranges from 0 mm to 100 mm.
However, Blomstedt teaches a diffraction optical waveguide structure (Figs. 1-3) comprise a plurality of regions arranged in a waveguide, configured to couple light propagating in the waveguide, wherein a region is disposed between two other regions and the region is adjacent to other regions, i.e., a length of an overlap is 0 mm (Paras. [0033], [0070], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffraction optical waveguide structure as disclosed by Kong with the teachings of Blomstedt, wherein a length of an overlap between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region ranges from 0 mm to 100 mm, or, a length of an overlap between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region ranges from 0 mm to 100 mm, for the purpose of providing new freedoms for design and efficiently allowing for spreading light (Blomstedt: Paras. [0022]-[0023]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Vallius, and in further view of Woltman (US 20170131546) of record.
Regarding claim 7, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 5 above.
Kong does not explicitly disclose at least one of the light-homogenizing region, the coupling-in region, the deflecting region, and the coupling-out region is arranged on a different side from remaining others.
However, Woltman teaches a known diffraction optical waveguide (Fig. 9A) includes different diffraction regions arranged on different sides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffraction optical waveguide structure as disclosed by Kong with the teachings of Woltman, wherein at least one of the light-homogenizing region, the coupling-in region, the deflecting region, and the coupling-out region is arranged on a different side from remaining others, for the purpose of providing couplers in the waveguide to propagate along the waveguide (Woltman: Paras. [0093]-[0095]) and as conventionally known in the art.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Vallius, and in further view of Lam (US 20220137411) of record.
Regarding claim 12, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing regions.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing regions (Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing regions, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35).
Kong further fails to disclose the second diffractive microstructure layer in each the sub-light-homogenizing region has different duty cycles and groove depths.
However, Lam teaches grating couplers may be optimized by adjusting duty cycles and groove depths (Para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Lam, wherein the second diffractive microstructure layer in each the sub-light-homogenizing region has different duty cycles and groove depths, for the purpose of maximizing the power of the display light in the desire path (Lam: Para. [0080]).
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Vallius, and in further view of Urness (US 20200225476) of record.
Regarding claim 14, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing region.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing region (Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region comprises more than one sub-light-homogenizing region, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35).
Kong further fails to disclose a distance between two adjacent sub-light-homogenizing regions ranges from 5 mm to 25 mm.
However, Urness teaches sub-light-homogenizing regions in a light-homogenizing region (1014 in 1004; Fig. 10A and Para. [0153]) and the distance between two adjacent sub-light-homogenizing regions is 13 mm (Para. [0173]) (a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art [MPEP 2144.05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Urness, wherein a distance between two adjacent sub-light-homogenizing regions ranges from 5 mm to 25 mm, for the purpose of obtaining light homogenization structures (Urness: Para. [0153]) and as conventionally known in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1.
In the Figure 8 embodiment, Kong does not explicitly disclose the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions.
In the Figure 10 embodiment, however, Kong teaches the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions (Fig. 10; Page 10 lines 31-35) and Vallius further teaches known diffractive grating structures have a region in the micrometer range (Para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong, wherein the light-homogenizing region is configured with one or more hole regions, for the purpose of obtaining a better light homogenization effect (Kong: Page 10 lines 33-35).
Kong further fails to disclose a hole size of the hole region ranges from 5 mm to 25 mm.
However, Urness teaches holes in a light-homogenizing region (1014 in 1004; Fig. 10A and Para. [0153]) and a hole size may be 6.6 mm) (a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art [MPEP 2144.05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Urness, wherein a hole size of the hole region ranges from 5 mm to 25 mm, for the purpose of obtaining light homogenization structures (Urness: Para. [0153]) and as conventionally known in the art.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Vallius, and in further view of Amirparviz (US 8666208 B1) of record.
Regarding claim 18, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kong further discloses wherein the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region (see Fig. 8).
Kong does not explicitly disclose a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is greater than a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region.
However, Amirparviz teaches a distance between different diffractive regions for heads-up display may be adjusted based on the application (Column 9 lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Amirparviz, wherein a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is greater than a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region, for the purpose of providing wearable or heads-up display including diffractive regions (Amirparviz: Column 9 lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 19, Kong as modified by Vallius discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Kong further discloses wherein the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region (Fig. 8).
Kong does not explicitly disclose a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region ranges from 10 mm to 30 mm, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region ranges from 10 mm to 30 mm.
However, Amirparviz teaches a distance between different diffractive regions for heads-up display may be adjusted based on the application, wherein a distance between regions may be 33 mm (Column 9 lines 1-17) (a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close [MPEP 2144.05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffractive layers of Kong with the teachings of Amirparviz, wherein a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region ranges from 10 mm to 30 mm, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region ranges from 10 mm to 30 mm, for the purpose of providing wearable or heads-up display including diffractive regions (Amirparviz: Column 9 lines 1-17).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Vallius and Blomstedt, and in further view of Woltman.
Regarding claim 8, Kong as modified by Vallius and Woltman discloses the limitations of claim 7 above.
Kong does not explicitly disclose the diffraction optical waveguide structure comprises at least one of the following: the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region and the coupling-out region in an axial direction; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region and the coupling-out region in an axial direction, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region in an axial direction, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the coupling-out region in an axial direction, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the coupling-out region in an axial direction, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region in an axial direction, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, and the light-homogenizing region overlaps with at least one of the deflecting region and the coupling-out region in an axial direction.
However, Blomstedt teaches a known diffraction optical waveguide structure (Figs. 1-3) includes a plurality of regions arranged in a waveguide, configured to couple light propagating in the waveguide, wherein a region is disposed between two other regions and the region is adjacent to other regions (Paras. [0033], [0070], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diffraction optical waveguide structure as disclosed by Kong with the teachings of Blomstedt, wherein the diffraction optical waveguide structure comprises at least one of the following: the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region and the coupling-out region in an axial direction; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region and the coupling-out region in an axial direction, a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the deflecting region in an axial direction, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the coupling-out region in an axial direction, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the coupling-out region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, the light-homogenizing region is adjacent to the coupling-out region in an axial direction, the light-homogenizing region is spaced apart from the deflecting region in an axial direction, and a distance between the light-homogenizing region and the deflecting region is less than or equal to 40 mm; and, the light-homogenizing region is disposed between the deflecting region and the coupling-out region, and the light-homogenizing region overlaps with at least one of the deflecting region and the coupling-out region in an axial direction, for the purpose of providing new freedoms for design and efficiently allowing for spreading light (Blomstedt: Paras. [002]-[0023]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871