DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I: Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 03 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5 and 6 allowable. The restriction requirement between Invention I: Claims 1-6, Invention II: Claims 7-13, and Claims III: Claims 14-20, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 29 May 2026, has been reconsidered in view of the allowability of claims to the elected invention pursuant to MPEP § 821.04(a). The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. Specifically, the restriction requirement of 29 May 2026 is withdrawn.
Claim 7, directed to a container cap comprising: a mounting seat movably installed in the housing, the mounting seat has a slider; an elastic member for pushing the mounting seat to move toward a second end; a first locking bit in the housing for locking the mounting seat when the mounting seat moves to the first end, a second locking bit for locking the mounting seat when the mounting seat moves to the second end; a first guiding structure for guiding the mounting seat to lift; and a second guiding structure for guiding the mounting seat to rotate between the first locking bit and the second locking bit, no longer withdrawn from consideration because the claim(s) requires all the limitations of an allowable claim (emphasis added).
Claim 14, directed to a container cap comprising: a fixed seat installed in the housing; a pressing seat slidably mounted on the fixed seat, the pressing seat has a first clamping portion and a second clamping portion at a height lower than the first clamping portion; a rotating arm with a first end hinged to the fixed seat by a hinge, the rotating arm rotates on the hinge when the pressing seat is pressed by an external force; an elastic clamp hook in the fixed seat for engaging with the first clamping portion to keep the rotating arm at an incline state and with the second clamping portion to keep the rotating arm in an upright position; and an elastic piece with a first end butting against the pressing seat and a second end fixed on the fixed seat, the elastic piece elastically push the pressing seat, no longer withdrawn from consideration because the claim(s) requires all the limitations of an allowable claim (emphasis added).
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presently pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 24 October 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0018], line 1 reads “the first guiding structure comprise” should read “the first guiding structure comprises”.
In [0022], line 1 reads “the the second guiding structure” should read “the second guiding structure”
In [0026], line 3 reads “the pressing base moves downward and press the rotating arm” should read “the pressing base moves downward and presses the rotating arm”
In [0031], line 2 reads “rotably” should read “rotatably”
In [0072], line 5 reads “chamber and the elastic member is…” should read “chamber, and the elastic member is…”
In [0074], line 3 reads “the fixed seat, the other end” should read “the fixed seat; the other end”
In [0087], line 4 reads “theray” should read “therapy”
In [0135], line 5 reads “An first end” should read “A first end”
In [0138], line 3 reads “an first end” should read “a first end”
In [0144], line 5 reads “a fasteners” should read “
In [0154], line 3 reads “cleaning” should read “clean”
In [0163], line 2 reads “piece” should read “pieces”
In [0171], line 2 reads “emebdoiments” should read “embodiments”
In [0171], line 5 reads “touch” should read “touches”
In [0171], line 6 reads “induce” should read “induces”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-13 recites the limitation "The container cover" in the preamble of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 recites “a container cap”, thus claims 8-13 “container cover of claim 7” is inconsistent. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret the recited contained cover to be equivalent to the container cap recited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20170003321 U, hereinafter KR’321 (citations below from NPL Translation: KR321_Translation) in view of Wu (CN 202552644 U), hereinafter Wu (citations below from NPL Translation: Wu_Translation).
Regarding claim 1, KR’321 discloses a container cap (view Figure 15-17: container cap 82, cosmetic applicator 83) comprising: a housing (view Examiner modified figure), a first end (view Examiner modified Figure) of the housing is configured to connect to a container ([0080] “A container cap 82 detachably coupled to the container portion 81 so as to surround the opening”); a plate (PCB 34) having one or more stimulation element (light therapy module 38, vibration motor 35, [0027] “a vibration motor (35) installed on the upper side of the PCB (34), a light therapy module (38) installed on the lower surface of the PCB (34)”)) to provide a therapy to a user ([0001], [0003] “phototherapy, which improves skin condition through light stimulation; and vibration massage, which provides elasticity to the skin by vibrating it”), the plate is positioned at the first end of the housing (view Figure 16).
KR’321 fails to explicitly disclose a lifting assembly in the housing, the lifting assembly is connected with the plate having one or more stimulation element, and the lifting assembly drives movement of the plate in vertical direction of the housing.
However, Wu teaches a vibrating massage cosmetic container comprising a container tube wherein “when the container tube 40 is screwed in, the placement opening 33 of the container tube 40 abuts against the sealing through 11 and moves towards the spring 3. The sealing through 11 abuts against the square ring section 24 of the inner wall of the middle section of the feeding rod 12 and the rotating space section 26 at the upper end of the feeding rod 12, pushing the vibrating motor 5. The vibrating motor 5 pushes the battery 4 upward, forcing the spring 3 to contract. The vibrating motor 5 moves away from the lower contact point 21 of the S-shaped spring 7, disconnecting the circuit, and the vibration massage device stops working. When the container tube is screwed out, the spring 3... Under the influence of the force, the battery 4 pushes the vibration motor 5 downward, which comes into contact with the lower end of the S-shaped spring 7 at the contact point 21, thus completing the circuit and starting the vibration massage device, making it extremely convenient to use” ([0016], Examiner maps the spring 3 to the lifting assembly.)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR’321 to incorporate the teachings of Wu to have a lifting assembly in the housing, the lifting assembly is connected with the plate having one or more stimulation element, and the lifting assembly drives movement of the plate in vertical direction of the housing, as these prior art references and the instant application are directed to cosmetic containers with vibration capabilities. One would be motivated to do this for convenient use, saving power, and better massage effect, as recognized by Wu ([0010]).
Regarding claim 3, KR’321 in view of Wu teaches the container cap of claim 1 (as shown above). KR’321 further discloses wherein the one or more stimulation element is selected from a group consisting of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs) (light-emitting diode 138, phototherapy module 38), vibration elements (vibration motor 135,35), and combinations thereof ([0027]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR’321 in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (CN 111887572 B), hereinafter Chen (citations below from NPL Translation: Chen_Translation).
Regarding claim 2, KR’321 in view of Wu teaches the container cap of claim 1 (as shown above). KR’321 and Wu, alone or in combination, fail to teach wherein the container cap further comprises a mounting base installed on the housing and a hanging ring hinged on the mounting base.
However, Chen teaches a vibration-infused integrated eye cream bottle comprising an insulating bottom cover 10 (view Figures 1-3) such that “An annular insulating bottom cover 10 is fitted at the bottom of the insulating middle section 3, and the insulating bottom cover 10 is clamped and positioned between the insulating middle section 3 and the conductive base 7.” ([0030]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR’321 and Wu to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have the container cap further comprises a mounting base installed on the housing and a hanging ring hinged on the mounting base, as these prior art references are directed to vibration-incorporated cosmetic containers. One would be motivated to do this to protect the inner components of the container, as recognized by Chen ([0030]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR’321 in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 2017/0108541 A), hereinafter Lee (citations below from NPL Translation: Lee_Translation).
Regarding claim 4, KR’321 in view of Wu teaches the container cap of claim 1 (as shown above). KR’321 and Wu, alone or in combination, fail to teach wherein the container cap further comprises a detection guide pin for detecting skin, the detection guide pin is installed on the lifting assembly.
However, Lee teaches cosmetic container with vibration probe ([0001]) comprising “A skin contact detection sensor (p-s) may be placed in the above iontophoresis circuit section (28) so that when the ground electrode (23-1) is held by hand and the working electrode section (22-1) is in contact with the skin, the vibration probe (20) operates normally and stops when it is removed from the skin.” ([0026]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified KR’321 and Wu to incorporate the teachings of Lee to have wherein the container cap further comprises a detection guide pin for detecting skin, the detection guide pin is installed on the lifting assembly, as these prior art references are directed to cosmetic containers with vibration modules. One would be motivated to do this to utilize the stimulation element when placed in contact with the skin and not when it is not in contact, as recognized by Lee ([0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 and 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The instant invention in claim 7 and 14 are directed to a container cap.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior arts of record are KR 20170003321 U, hereinafter KR’321 and Wu (CN 202552644 U), hereinafter Wu.
These prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not disclose, teach or suggest a mounting seat movably installed in the housing, the mounting seat has a slider; an elastic member for pushing the mounting seat to move toward a second end; a first locking bit in the housing for locking the mounting seat when the mounting seat moves to the first end, a second locking bit for locking the mounting seat when the mounting seat moves to the second end; a first guiding structure for guiding the mounting seat to lift; and a second guiding structure for guiding the mounting seat to rotate between the first locking bit and the second locking bit. (emphasis added)
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior arts of record are KR 20170003321 U, hereinafter KR’321 and Wu (CN 202552644 U), hereinafter Wu.
These prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not disclose, teach or suggest: a fixed seat installed in the housing; a pressing seat slidably mounted on the fixed seat, the pressing seat has a first clamping portion and a second clamping portion at a height lower than the first clamping portion; a rotating arm with a first end hinged to the fixed seat by a hinge, the rotating arm rotates on the hinge when the pressing seat is pressed by an external force; an elastic clamp hook in the fixed seat for engaging with the first clamping portion to keep the rotating arm at an incline state and with the second clamping portion to keep the rotating arm in an upright position; and an elastic piece with a first end butting against the pressing seat and a second end fixed on the fixed seat, the elastic piece elastically push the pressing seat. (emphasis added)
Claims 15-20 depend from and thus further limit claim 14, and therefore are also allowed.
Conclusion
/ATTIYA SAYYADA HUSSAINI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792