DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 966 (US 2022/0172966), and in further view of Choi 780 (US 2015/0206780 cited in IDS) .
Regarding claim 1, Choi 966 figure 1 teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
an index module (120 first index chamber) including a load port (110 first load part unit) configured to receive a substrate carrier (F container); and
a process module (100 first treating part, 200 second treating part) connected to the index module (120), the process module including a transfer chamber (130 first transfer chamber, 222 third transfer unit), a process chamber (140 batch-type liquid treating chamber, 230 single-type liquid chamber, 240 drying chamber), and a buffer chamber (210 first buffer unit), and wherein the process chamber is connected to the transfer chamber and the buffer chamber is disposed between the index module and the transfer chamber,
wherein the transfer chamber includes a transfer robot (132 first transfer unit may include a transfer hand capable of transferring an object) configured to transfer a substrate between the buffer chamber and the process chamber.[0069-81]
Choi 966 teaches the substrates W stored in the first buffer unit 210 may be stored in respective storage spaces independently partitioned within the first buffer unit 210. In addition, the first buffer unit 210 may be disposed to be stacked with at least some of the single-type treating chambers thereby reading on a plurality of buffer slots, each buffer slot configured to store a respective substrate.[0081]
However, Choi is silent to wherein the buffer chamber includes a buffer frame including;
a spray nozzle disposed on the buffer frame and configured to spray a status improvement gas into a buffer slot of the plurality; and
at least one buffer side sensor disposed on the buffer frame and configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned in the buffer slot.
Choi 780 is directed towards a wafer storage apparatus where figures 5-6 and 16 teach a buffer frame (202 and 203 horizontal support frames, 220 rear cover part RCP) including;
a spray nozzle (218 gas supply blocks) disposed on the buffer frame and configured to spray a status improvement gas into a buffer slot (WSP wafer stacking portion) of the plurality; and
at least one buffer side sensor (248 humidity sensor) disposed on the buffer frame and configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned in the buffer slot.[0058-64]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a buffer chamber as taught in Choi 780 to prevent wafer contamination due to a gas or moisture, which is generated after a process is performed, remaining in the wafer during the manufacturing process.[0003]
Regarding claim 3, Choi 780 figure 5 suggests the spray nozzle (218) is disposed at an end surface of the buffer slot in a width direction to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 11, Choi 966 teaches the process chamber includes a liquid treatment chamber (140 batch-type liquid treating chamber) configured to perform a liquid treatment process to treat the substrate using a chemical; and a drying chamber (240) configured to dry the substrate using a supercritical fluid.[0076,0085]
Regarding claim 16, Choi 966 figure 1 teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
an index module (120 first index chamber) including a load port (110 first load part unit) configured to receive a substrate carrier (F container); and
a process module (100 first treating part, 200 second treating part) connected to the index module, the process module including a transfer chamber (130 first transfer chamber, 222 third transfer unit), a liquid treatment chamber (140 batch-type liquid treating chamber, 230 single-type liquid chamber), a drying chamber (240), and a buffer chamber (210 first buffer unit), and
a controller (600),
wherein the liquid treatment chamber (140 batch-type liquid treating chamber, 230 single-type liquid chamber) and the drying chamber (240) are connected to the transfer chamber (130) and the buffer chamber (210 first buffer unit) is disposed between the index module (120) and the transfer chamber,
wherein the transfer chamber includes a transfer robot configured to transfer a substrate between the buffer chamber and the liquid treatment chamber and between the buffer chamber and the drying chamber, and
wherein the liquid treatment chamber (140, 230) is configured to treat the substrate using a chemical;
wherein the drying chamber (240) is configured to dry the substrate using a fluid in a supercritical state.[0069-81]
Choi 966 teaches the substrates W stored in the first buffer unit 210 may be stored in respective storage spaces independently partitioned within the first buffer unit 210. In addition, the first buffer unit 210 may be disposed to be stacked with at least some of the single-type treating chambers thereby reading on a plurality of buffer slots, each buffer slot configured to store a respective substrate.[0081]
However, Choi 966 is silent to the buffer chamber includes
a buffer frame , a spray nozzle disposed on the buffer frame and configured to spray a status improvement gas toward in a buffer slot of the plurality, and
at least one buffer side sensor disposed on the buffer frame and configured to detect a state of the respective substrate stored in the buffer slot, and
wherein the controller is configured to cause the spray nozzle to spray the status improvement gas in response to a temperature of the respective substrate or a humidity of the respective substrate detected through the buffer side sensor passes a predetermined value.
Choi 780 is directed towards a wafer storage apparatus where figures 5-6 and 16 teach a buffer frame (202 and 203 horizontal support frames, 220 rear cover part RCP) including;
a spray nozzle (218 gas supply blocks) disposed on the buffer frame and configured to spray a status improvement gas into a buffer slot (WSP wafer stacking portion) of the plurality; and
at least one buffer side sensor (248 humidity sensor) disposed on the buffer frame and configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned in the buffer slot.[0058-64]
Chois further teaches the driving control unit 264 controls the discharge of residual gases or moisture from the wafers 212 accommodated in the wafer stacking portion WSP according to a set driving logic. The driving control unit 264 may compare the real-time humidity value H1 detected by the humidity sensor 248 with a reference humidity value, transmit first control signal C1 to gas supply valve 242 to control the opening and closing of gas flow supplied to the wafer stacking portion WSP, and transmit second control signal C2 to gas discharging valve 244 to control the opening and closing of exhaust gas being expelled from the wafer stacking portion WSP.[0092]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a buffer chamber as taught in Choi 780 to prevent wafer contamination due to a gas or moisture, which is generated after a process is performed, remaining in the wafer during the manufacturing process.[0003]
Claim(s) 2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 966 (US 2022/0172966) and Choi 780 (US 2015/0206780 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Naikwad (WO 2024/199866) .
Regarding claim 2, Choi 966 and Choi 780 are silent to the buffer frame includes an outlet extending into the buffer slot of the plurality.
Naikwad is directed towards a substrate storage module where a gas delivery system 52 configured to provide flows of gas 54 (only one flow is shown in fig. 5) across exposure surfaces (i.e. upper surfaces) of the stored substrates 110. The gas delivery system 52 may comprise one outlet per substrate support 42 configured to direct a flow of gas across each substrate 110.[00078]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide an outlet as taught in Naikwad as flow of gas over each substrate held by the substrate storage module advantageously reduces the risk of defectivity cross-contamination between stored substrates.[00025]
Regarding claim 4, Naikwad teaches a gas delivery system 52 configured to provide flows of gas 54 (only one flow is shown in fig. 5) across exposure surfaces (i.e. upper surfaces) of the stored substrates 110. The gas delivery system 52 may comprise one outlet per substrate support 42 configured to direct a flow of gas across each substrate 110 thereby suggesting the buffer frame includes an outlet positioned on at least one of an upper surface or a lower surface of the buffer slot.[00078]
Regarding claim 5, Naikwad teaches a gas delivery system 52 configured to provide flows of gas 54 (only one flow is shown in fig. 5) across exposure surfaces (i.e. upper surfaces) of the stored substrates 110. The gas delivery system 52 may comprise one outlet per substrate support 42 configured to direct a flow of gas across each substrate 110 thereby suggesting the spray nozzle is disposed on at least one of an upper surface or a lower surface of the buffer slot.[00078]
Regarding claim 6, Choi 780 figure 5 teaches gas supply block 218 positioned on an end surface of the buffer slot in a width direction. Naikwad teaches a gas delivery system 52 configured to provide flows of gas 54 (only one flow is shown in fig. 5) across exposure surfaces (i.e. upper surfaces) of the stored substrates 110. The gas delivery system 52 may comprise one outlet per substrate support 42 configured to direct a flow of gas across each substrate 110 thereby suggesting the buffer frame includes an outlet positioned on an end surface of the buffer slot in a width direction to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 7, Choi 780 teaches humidity sensor 248, shown in FIG. 16, may be provided within the wafer stacking portion WSP thereby reading on the at least one buffer side sensor includes a humidity sensor configured to detect a humidity of a substrate positioned in the buffer slot. Naikwad teaches the temperature, the humidity and/or the concentration of amines present in a gas provided to the substrate storage module 30 may be controlled thereby suggesting a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the substrate positioned in the buffer slot to be an obvious modification.[00069]
Claim(s) 8-10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 966 (US 2022/0172966) and Choi 780 (US 2015/0206780 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Eto (US 2020/0328096).
Regarding claim 8, Cho 966 and Choi 780 are silent to the transfer chamber further includes at least one robot side sensor disposed in the transfer robot and configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned in the transfer robot.
Eto is directed towards a carrier device where teaches a non-illustrated temperature sensor, humidity sensor and/or atmospheric pressure sensor may be provided in the internal space of the first transfer robot 77.[0061]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a transfer robot as taught in Eto to suppress dew condensation in a carrier device.[Abstract]
Regarding claim 9, Eto teaches towards a carrier device where teaches a non-illustrated temperature sensor, humidity sensor and/or atmospheric pressure sensor may be provided in the internal space of the first transfer robot 77 thereby reading on the at least one robot side sensor includes a robot side humidity sensor that detects a humidity of the substrate positioned in the transfer robot; and a robot side temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the substrate positioned in the transfer robot.[0061]
Regarding claim 10, Eto figure 3 teaches a first arm 704, a second arm 705 and an end effector 706 thereby reading on the transfer robot includes at least one arm.[0035]
Eto further teaches a non-illustrated temperature sensor, humidity sensor and/or atmospheric pressure sensor provided in an external space of the first transfer robot 77 and detection values of corresponding sensors provided in the internal space of the first transfer robot 77 thereby suggesting the at least one robot side sensor is disposed on an arm of the at least one arm to be an obvious modification.[0061]
Regarding claim 17, Choi 966 teaches first transfer unit 132 may include a transfer hand capable of transferring an object thereby reading on the transfer robot includes a carry-in arm configured to transfer a substrate from the buffer chamber to the liquid treatment chamber.
However, Choi 966 is silent to the transfer chamber further includes a robot side sensor that is disposed on the transfer robot and is configured to detect a state of a substrate loaded in the carry-in arm.
Eto is directed towards a carrier device where teaches a non-illustrated temperature sensor, humidity sensor and/or atmospheric pressure sensor may be provided in the internal space of the first transfer robot 77.[0061]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a transfer robot as taught in Eto to suppress dew condensation in a carrier device.[Abstract]
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the controller is configured to cause the substrate loaded in the carry-in arm to be transferred to the buffer chamber in response to the temperature of the substrate loaded in the carry-in arm or the humidity of the substrate loaded in the carry-in arm detected through the robot side sensor passes a threshold value to suppress dew condensation in a carrier device.[Eto Abstract]
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 966 (US 2022/0172966) and Choi 780 (US 2015/0206780 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 11, and in further view of Lu (US 2019/0221458).
Regarding claim 12, Choi 966 figure 4 teaches the liquid treatment chamber includes a liquid treatment housing; a support plate (C storage container) disposed inside the liquid treatment housing and configured to support a substrate inside the liquid treatment housing; a fluid supply (141b a first liquid supply line) configured to supply a fluid for substrate processing.[00777, 0097] Choi 966 is silent to at least one chamber side sensor configured to detect a state of the substrate inside the liquid treatment housing.
Lu is directed towards an advanced monitoring system for semiconductor productivity where one or more temperature sensors are disposed on, located proximate to, located adjacent to, or are intimate contact with one or more surfaces of the processing system including surfaces of one or more processing chambers.[claim 2]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide temperature sensors as taught in Lu to prevent undesirable condensation and, or, deposition of the precursor on the inner surfaces thereof.[0005]
Regarding claim 13, Lu teaches one or more temperature sensors are disposed on, located proximate to, located adjacent to, or are intimate contact with one or more surfaces of the processing system. [Claim 2[ Lu further teaches monitoring temperatures of delivery conduits thereby suggesting the at least one chamber side sensor is disposed on the fluid supply to be an obvious modification.[0010]
Regarding claim 14, Lu teaches one or more temperature sensors are disposed on, located proximate to, located adjacent to, or are intimate contact with one or more surfaces of the processing system including surfaces of one or more substrate support shafts of the one or more processing chambers thereby suggesting the at least one chamber side sensor is disposed on the support plate to be an obvious modification.[claim 2]
Regarding claim 15, Lu teaches one or more temperature sensors are disposed on, located proximate to, located adjacent to, or are intimate contact with one or more surfaces of the processing system thereby suggesting at least one chamber side sensor is disposed on an inner surface of the liquid treatment housing to be an obvious modification.[claim2]
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 966 (US 2022/0172966) and Choi 780 (US 2015/0206780 cited in IDS), and Eto (US 2020/0328096) as applied to claim 17, and in further view of Lu (US 2019/0221458).
Regarding claim 19, Choi 966 figure 4 teaches the liquid treatment chamber includes a liquid treatment housing; a support plate (C storage container) disposed inside the liquid treatment housing and configured to support a substrate inside the liquid treatment housing; a fluid supply (141b a first liquid supply line) configured to supply a fluid for substrate processing.[00777, 0097]
Choi 966 is silent to at least one chamber side sensor configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned inside the liquid treatment housing, wherein the controller is configured to cause the substrate positioned in the liquid treatment chamber to be transferred to the buffer chamber in response to the temperature of the substrate positioned in the liquid treatment chamber or the humidity of the substrate positioned in the liquid treatment chamber detected through the chamber side sensor passes a threshold value.
Lu is directed towards an advanced monitoring system for semiconductor productivity where one or more temperature sensors are disposed on, located proximate to, located adjacent to, or are intimate contact with one or more surfaces of the processing system including surfaces of one or more processing chambers.[claim 2]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide temperature sensors as taught in Lu to prevent undesirable condensation and, or, deposition of the precursor on the inner surfaces thereof.[0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the controller is configured to cause the substrate positioned in the liquid treatment chamber to be transferred to the buffer chamber in response to the temperature of the substrate positioned in the liquid treatment chamber or the humidity of the substrate positioned in the liquid treatment chamber detected through the chamber side sensor passes a threshold value to prevent wafer contamination due to a gas or moisture, which is generated after a process is performed, remaining in the wafer during the manufacturing process.[Choi 780 0003]
Regarding claim 20, Choi 966 figure 1 teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
an index module (120 first index chamber) including a load port (110 first load part unit) configured to receive a substrate carrier (F container);
a transfer chamber (130 first transfer chamber, 222 third transfer unit) including a transfer robot (132 first transfer unit) configured to transfer a substrate to and from the load port;
a liquid treatment chamber (140 batch-type liquid treating chamber, 230 single-type liquid chamber) connected to the transfer chamber and configured to treat the substrate using a chemical;
a drying chamber (240) connected to the transfer chamber and configured to dry the substrate using a fluid in a supercritical state;
a buffer chamber (210 first buffer unit) disposed between the index module and the transfer chamber; and
a controller (600).
Choi 966 teaches the substrates W stored in the first buffer unit 210 may be stored in respective storage spaces independently partitioned within the first buffer unit 210. In addition, the first buffer unit 210 may be disposed to be stacked with at least some of the single-type treating chambers thereby reading on a plurality of buffer slots, each buffer slot configured to store a respective substrate.[0081]
However, Choi 966 is silent to wherein the buffer chamber includes a buffer frame; a spray nozzle disposed on the buffer frame and configured to spray a status improvement gas into a buffer slot of the plurality of buffer slots; and at least one buffer side sensor disposed on the buffer frame and configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned in the buffer slot.
Choi 780 is directed towards a wafer storage apparatus where figures 5-6 and 16 teach a buffer frame (202 and 203 horizontal support frames, 220 rear cover part RCP) including;
a spray nozzle (218 gas supply blocks) disposed on the buffer frame and configured to spray a status improvement gas into a buffer slot (WSP wafer stacking portion) of the plurality; and
at least one buffer side sensor (248 humidity sensor) disposed on the buffer frame and configured to detect a state of a substrate positioned in the buffer slot.[0058-64]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a buffer chamber as taught in Choi 780 to prevent wafer contamination due to a gas or moisture, which is generated after a process is performed, remaining in the wafer during the manufacturing process.[0003]
Choi 966 teaches first transfer unit 132 may include a transfer hand capable of transferring an object thereby reading on the transfer robot includes a carry-in arm configured to transfer a substrate from the buffer chamber to the liquid treatment chamber.
However, Choi 966 is silent to the transfer chamber further includes at least one robot side sensor that is disposed in the transfer robot and is configured to detect a state of a substrate loaded in the carry-in arm.
Eto is directed towards a carrier device where teaches a non-illustrated temperature sensor, humidity sensor and/or atmospheric pressure sensor may be provided in the internal space of the first transfer robot 77.[0061]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a transfer robot as taught in Eto to suppress dew condensation in a carrier device.[Abstract]
Choi 966 figure 4 teaches the liquid treatment chamber includes a liquid treatment housing; a support plate (C storage container) disposed inside the liquid treatment housing and configured to support a substrate in the liquid treatment housing; a fluid supply (141b first liquid supply line) configured to supply a fluid for processing the substrate in the liquid treatment housing.[0095-97]
Choi 966 is silent to at least one chamber side sensor configured to detect a state of the substrate positioned inside the liquid treatment housing.
Lu is directed towards an advanced monitoring system for semiconductor productivity where one or more temperature sensors are disposed on, located proximate to, located adjacent to, or are intimate contact with one or more surfaces of the processing system including surfaces of one or more processing chambers.[claim 2]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide temperature sensors as taught in Lu to prevent undesirable condensation and, or, deposition of the precursor on the inner surfaces thereof.[0005]
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711