DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 – “update intervals comprises” should be “update intervals comprise”.
Claim 6 – “update intervals comprises” should be “update intervals comprise”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
In the IDS submitted 12/16/24, citation number 1 refers to a patent # “612939”, which is a patent that was supposedly issued in the 1890s. No such patent could be found, and it has not been considered. If this is the correct patent number, applicant is required to submit a copy of the patent for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 16, the claim recites “wherein at least one of: (A) the second periodic update interval is longer than the first periodic update interval, (B) the one or more periodic update intervals comprise a third periodic update interval when the analyte levels are greater than the second threshold, or (C) the third periodic update interval is shorter than the second periodic update interval” (A, B, and C added by the examiner for ease of reference). The alternatives are recited disjunctively, and the “at least one of” allows any one of A, B, and C to be selected. Accordingly, C could be selected without B, in which case “the third periodic update interval” lacks antecedent basis. It is thus unclear whether C requires the third periodic update interval of B, in which case C cannot occur independently of B, or whether it encompasses some other interval. It is noted that these limitations are essentially the same as those in claims 5-7, respectively, and while claims 5 and 6 (corresponding to A and B) are both dependent on claim 4, claim 7 (corresponding to C) is dependent on claim 6. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by San Vicente et al. (US 2013/0078912).
As to claim 1, San Vincente teaches an analyte sensor system (Abstract), comprising: a transcutaneous analyte sensor configured to generate sensor data indicative of analyte levels of a user ([0159]); and a sensor electronics unit configured ([0154] – sensor electronics module 12) to: obtain the sensor data indicative of the analyte levels of the user from the transcutaneous analyte sensor ([0169] – for obtaining and processing sensor measurement values from the sensor); process the sensor data indicative of the analyte levels of the user to generate processed sensor data ([0169]); and transmit information associated with the processed sensor data according to one or more periodic update intervals ([0176] – data transfer happening periodically), wherein the one or more periodic update intervals vary based on the analyte levels of the user ([0182] – the update interval can be automatically varied by the sensor system based on criteria including measured glucose concentrations meeting or exceeding a predetermined threshold).
As to claim 2, San Vincente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals depend on one or more thresholds associated with the analyte levels of the user ([0182]).
As to claim 3, San Vicente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals comprise a first periodic update interval when the analyte levels are less than a first threshold of the one or more thresholds ([0182] – meeting or exceeding a predetermined threshold, with “exceeding” being going under the threshold for a hypoglycemia condition).
As to claim 8, San Vincente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals are based on at least one of: a state of the user, or an activity of the user ([0182] – whether user is in/near hyperglycemia or user inputted activity such as exercising or sleeping of the host).
As to claim 9, San Vincente teaches the state of the user comprises: a hypoglycemic state, a hyperglycemic state, or a normal glycemic state, and the activity of the user comprises at least one of sleeping, walking, exercising, eating, or receiving medical care ([0182]).
As to claim 10, San Vincente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals are based on at least one of: a trend of the analyte levels of the user, a rate of change of the analyte levels of the user, predicted analyte levels of the user, or historical analyte levels of the user ([0182] – glucose concentration trend).
As to claim 11, San Vincente teaches the sensor electronics unit is configured to: establish a connection with a display device([0176] – establish a communication channel with the display device); and at least one of: transmit the information associated with the processed sensor data to the display device using the connection; or receive, from the display device using the connection, signaling configuring the analyte sensor system with the one or more periodic update intervals ([0184] – transmit information over the channel).
As to claim 12, San Vincente teaches a display device (14, 16, 18, 20), comprising: one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories and to cause the display device ([0172] – display device may include processor 330) to: establish a connection with an analyte sensor system ([0177]); receive, using the connection, information associated with processed analyte sensor data according to one or more periodic update intervals ([0172] – transceiver 338 on the display device, [0176] – periodic data transfer at an update interval), wherein the one or more periodic update intervals vary based on analyte levels of a user ([0182]); and display the information associated with the processed analyte sensor data ([0155]).
As to claim 13, San Vincente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals depend on one or more thresholds associated with the analyte levels of the user ([0182]).
As to claim 14, San Vicente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals comprise a first periodic update interval when the analyte levels are less than a first threshold of the one or more thresholds ([0182] – meeting or exceeding a predetermined threshold, with “exceeding” being going under the threshold for a hypoglycemia condition).
As to claim 17, San Vincente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals are based on at least one of: a state of the user, or an activity of the user ([0182]).
As to claim 18, San Vincente teaches the state of the user comprises: a hypoglycemic state, a hyperglycemic state, or a normal glycemic state, and the activity of the user comprises at least one of sleeping, walking, exercising, eating, or receiving medical care ([0182]).
As to claim 19, San Vincente teaches the one or more periodic update intervals are based on at least one of: a trend of the analyte levels of the user, a rate of change of the analyte levels of the user, predicted analyte levels of the user, or historical analyte levels of the user ([0182]).
As to claim 20, San Vincnte teaches the one or more processors are configured to at least one of: receive an indication of the one or more periodic update intervals; or transmit, to the analyte sensor system using the connection, signaling configuring the analyte sensor system with the one or more periodic update intervals ([0182] – update interval being user configurable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over San Vicente et al. (US 2013/0078912) in view of Patel et al. (US 2009/0085768).
As to claims 4 and 15, San Vicente fails to expressly teach that the one or more periodic update intervals comprises a second periodic update interval when the analyte levels are greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to a second threshold of the one or more thresholds. In particular, while San Vincente teaches that the update interval may be variable, and that this variation can depend on criteria such as meeting various thresholds ([0182]) it does not specifically tie a first and second periodic interval that is tied to two specific thresholds. Patel teaches a glucose sensor transceiver having a communication rate between the transceiver and a remote device that is dynamic based on at least one of glucose information, where a communication rate may be increased when a value is beyond the normal range and decreased when the conditions are normal ([0088]). It would have been obvious to modify San Vicente with Patel to use a second interval range so that transmission rates can vary depending on the situation, with more frequent transmissions during alert conditions and less frequent transmissions during normal times to effectively manage the use of the battery.
As to claims 5 and 16, Patel teaches the second periodic update interval is longer than the first periodic update interval ([0088]).
As to claim 6, Patel teaches a third periodic update interval when the analyte levels are greater than the second threshold ([0088] – Patel allows for one rate below normal conditions, a second rate during normal conditions, and a third rate above the normal conditions).
As to claim 7, Patel teaches the third periodic update interval is shorter than the second periodic update interval ([0088]).
CHRISTIAN JANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTIAN JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 10/20/26