DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on July 29, 2026. Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are currently pending, with Claims 1 and 11 being amended, and Claims 9 and 19 being canceled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed July 29, 2026, the Examiner maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, filed July 29, 2026, pertaining to the application of Ishikawa (see pages 10-11 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. The claims require that the system controls the vehicle to move into a target space when part of the vehicle passes a certain point. Ishikawa teaches that the CPU sets the coordinate position of a location at which the front end portion of the vehicle (1) and the front end portion of the lane change target location (95) are substantially side by side with each other when the lane change start location is reached. The vehicle can then start a lane change to enter the lane change target location through automated drive (see at least Paragraphs [0072], [0078], [0100], Figure 8 of Ishikawa). In other words, Ishikawa teaches that the system determines that the vehicle has overtaken a starting point of a target space in order to safely change lanes based on the front of the vehicle aligning with the lane change start location. Applicant’s arguments regarding the lane change start location is based on a deceleration of the vehicle are not considered relevant, as the claims do not require maintaining or increasing speed in order to overtake the starting point of a lane change location. Ishikawa’s application of decreasing speed, indicates that the vehicle has already overtaken an available lane change location, and must slow down in order to safely enter the target lane as the other vehicles are moving forward (see at least Paragraphs [0072]-[0074], [0078], Figure 9 of Ishikawa). Ishioka sets the target change location as a rear target space to enter based on the spacing between two vehicles (for example vehicles 92, 93), and the CPU sets the exact coordinate position at a location at which the front end of the vehicle and the front end portion of the lane change target location are substantially aligned such that the vehicle can then change lanes (i.e., is clear of, or has overtaken a vehicle in the next lane). Ishikawa also teaches that the vehicle does not change lanes until it is safe to do so and begins a lane change when the vehicle has passed a certain point (see at least Figures 7, 9 of Ishikawa). As such, Ishikawa, in view of Watanabe and Ishioka, teaches the features of the claims, as they are currently written. The Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for essentially the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0016338 A1, to Ishioka, et al (hereinafter referred to as Ishioka; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0008531 A1, to Watanabe, et al (hereinafter referred to as Watanabe; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0018189 A1, to Ishikawa (hereinafter referred to as Ishikawa; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Ishioka discloses the features of an apparatus for controlling a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0055]; where a vehicle control device is configured to cause the host vehicle to change lanes), the apparatus comprising:
a sensor (e.g. Paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0048]; where sensors are mounted on the host vehicle (M), for detecting vehicle speed or acceleration, and for measuring distance and relative speed to another object);
a memory storing at least one instruction; and a processor operatively coupled to the sensor and the memory, wherein the at least one instruction (e.g. Paragraph [0055]; where the vehicle control device (100) includes a central processing unit (CPU) for executing a program stored in the storage unit), when executed by the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on a characteristic of a lane and a driving path of the vehicle, whether to make a lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0077], [0079]-[0080]; where the host vehicle recognition unit (102) recognizes a lane along which the host vehicle (M) is traveling, and a relative position of the host vehicle (M) in relation to the traveling lane, and determines the type or road, a width and gradient of each lane, and where the lane changeability determining unit (123) determines that it is or is not possible to change the lane to the target position (TA)),
wherein the characteristic and the driving path are obtained using the sensor (e.g. Paragraph [0056]; where the host vehicle position recognition unit (102) recognizes a lane along which the host vehicle (M) is traveling on the basis of map information (152) stored in the storage unit (150) and the information input from the finder (2), the radar (30), the camera (40), the navigation device (5), or the vehicle sensor (60));
based on a determination to make the lane change, detect, using the sensor, at least one other vehicle in a second lane adjacent to a first lane in which the vehicle is traveling (e.g. Paragraphs [0079], [0082], [0097], [0126]; Figure 6; where the lane changeability determining unit (123) determines that it is possible to change lanes as a preliminary determination when a neighboring vehicle is not present on a lateral side of the host vehicle (M) and a collision margin between the host vehicle (M) and the neighboring vehicles is greater than a threshold, or when the target trajectory of the host vehicle (M) does not interfere with the trajectory of neighboring vehicles (i.e. detects other vehicles) based on the presence of areas in the forbidden area (126), which is set on a lateral side of the host vehicle (i.e. adjacent to));
determine at least one target space between the vehicle and the at least one other vehicle for the lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0075]-[0076]; Figure 6; where the target position setting unit (122) sets a target position (TA) for changing a lane, where the target position (TA) is a relative region based on a positional relationship between the host vehicle (M), and neighboring vehicles);
determine, based on at least one arrival time, a specified target space of the at least one target space (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change),
wherein each arrival time of the at least one arrival time is an expected time for the vehicle to arrive at a respective target space of the at least one target space (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change), and
wherein the expected time is determined based on an expected speed trajectory of the vehicle ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0085]-[0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change, based on the determination of the collision margin time (TTC(B) and (TTC(C)) being greater than a threshold, and using the relative speed between the reference vehicles); and
control ‘…’ the vehicle to enter the specified target space and make the lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0097]-[0098], [0105]; where the lane change control unit (120) selects a traveling route and changes the lane it is determined that the host vehicle (M) can change its lane to the target position (TA) when the collision margin times ((TTC(B) and (TTC(C)) are larger than a threshold; and when the neighboring vehicle is not present in the forbidden area (RA), taking into account the acceleration, speed, of the preceding vehicle (mA), the front reference vehicle (mB) and the rear reference vehicle (mC); and the trajectory generating unit (124) generates a trajectory for changing the lane to the target position (TA) when it is determined that target trajectory of the host vehicle (M) does not interfere with the other-vehicle expected trajectories (i.e. the host vehicle has enough space/ clearance to change lanes), and waits to change lanes until a timing of changing the lane arrives)).
Ishioka fails to disclose every feature of wherein the expected time is determined based on an expected speed trajectory of the vehicle and a size of the respective target space of the at least one target space; and control, based on one point of the vehicle overtaking a starting point of the specified target space, the vehicle to enter the specified target space and make the lane change.
However, Watanabe, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein the expected time is determined based on an expected speed trajectory of the vehicle and a size of the respective target space of the at least one target space.
Watanabe teaches a driving assistance for vehicles which assists with lane change determinations, where the coming-level time period is the shortest of the coming-level time periods (t1, t2, t3) when the vehicle comes level with a parallel-traveling vehicle, and a lane section (Lp1) may be set as the proposed lane section when the system determines that the proposed lane change has a length or section distance long enough to make the lane change (i.e., size), when the section distance (Lk) is longer than a predetermined length value (Lth) (e.g. Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, with the feature of the size of a lane in the system of Watanabe, in order to make a quick and safe lane change (see at least Paragraphs [0005]-[0006] of Watanabe).
Ishikawa, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of control, based on one point of the vehicle overtaking a starting point of the specified target space, the vehicle to enter the specified target space and make the lane change.
Ishikawa teaches a method for conducting automatic drive assistance for a vehicle, where the CPU (41) of the navigation apparatus (2) in the vehicle (1) performs lane change instruction control by setting a lateral space detection start location, a deceleration start location, a lane change start location, etc., and where the CPU (41) sets the lane change start location at a location at which the forward end portion of the vehicle (1) and the front end portion of the lane change target location are substantially side by side with each other (i.e. a portion of the vehicle has overtaken the start/ beginning of the specified target space), and the ECU (3) performs control such that when the start location is passed, the vehicle (1) can start a lane change to enter the lane change target location (e.g. Paragraphs [0045], [0100], [0123]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, with the feature of determining that the vehicle has passed the start point of a target space in the system of Ishikawa, in view of Watanabe, in order to enable completion of a lane change (see at least Paragraphs [0005] of Ishikawa).
As per Claim 11, Ishioka discloses the features of a method performed by an apparatus of a vehicle for controlling the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0055]; where a vehicle control device is configured to cause the host vehicle to change lanes), the method comprising:
determining, based on a characteristic of a lane and a driving path of the vehicle, whether to make a lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0077], [0079]-[0080]; where the host vehicle recognition unit (102) recognizes a lane along which the host vehicle (M) is traveling, and a relative position of the host vehicle (M) in relation to the traveling lane, and determines the type or road, a width and gradient of each lane, and where the lane changeability determining unit (123) determines that it is or is not possible to change the lane to the target position (TA)),
wherein the characteristic and the driving path are obtained using a sensor e.g. Paragraph [0056]; where the host vehicle position recognition unit (102) recognizes a lane along which the host vehicle (M) is traveling on the basis of map information (152) stored in the storage unit (150) and the information input from the finder (2), the radar (30), the camera (40), the navigation device (5), or the vehicle sensor (60));
based on a determination to make the lane change, detecting, using the sensor, at least one other vehicle in a second lane adjacent to a first lane in which the vehicle is traveling (e.g. Paragraphs [0079], [0082], [0097], [0126]; Figure 6; where the lane changeability determining unit (123) determines that it is possible to change lanes as a preliminary determination when a neighboring vehicle is not present on a lateral side of the host vehicle (M) and a collision margin between the host vehicle (M) and the neighboring vehicles is greater than a threshold, or when the target trajectory of the host vehicle (M) does not interfere with the trajectory of neighboring vehicles (i.e. detects other vehicles) based on the presence of areas in the forbidden area (126), which is set on a lateral side of the host vehicle (i.e. adjacent to))
determining at least one target space between the vehicle and the at least one other vehicle for the lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0075]-[0076]; Figure 6; where the target position setting unit (122) sets a target position (TA) for changing a lane, where the target position (TA) is a relative region based on a positional relationship between the host vehicle (M), and neighboring vehicles),
determining, based on at least one arrival time, a specified target space of the at least one target space (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change),
wherein each arrival time of the at least one arrival time is an expected time for the vehicle to arrive at a respective target space of the at least one target space (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change), and
wherein the expected time is determined based on an expected speed trajectory of the vehicle ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0085]-[0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change, based on the determination of the collision margin time (TTC(B) and (TTC(C)) being greater than a threshold, and using the relative speed between the reference vehicles); and
controlling ‘…’ the vehicle to enter the specified target space and make the lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0097]-[0098], [0105], [0115]; where the lane change control unit (120) selects a traveling route and changes the lane it is determined that the host vehicle (M) can change its lane to the target position (TA) when the collision margin times ((TTC(B) and (TTC(C)) are larger than a threshold; and when the neighboring vehicle is not present in the forbidden area (RA), taking into account the acceleration, speed, of the preceding vehicle (mA), the front reference vehicle (mB) and the rear reference vehicle (mC); and the trajectory generating unit (124) generates a trajectory for changing the lane to the target position (TA) when it is determined that target trajectory of the host vehicle (M) does not interfere with the other-vehicle expected trajectories (i.e. the host vehicle has enough space/ clearance to change lanes), and waits to change lanes until a timing of changing the lane arrives)).
Ishioka fails to disclose every feature of wherein the expected time is determined based on an expected speed trajectory of the vehicle and a size of the respective target space of the at least one target space; and control, based on whether one point of the vehicle overtakes a starting point of the specified target space, the vehicle to enter the specified target space and make the lane change.
However, Watanabe, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein the expected time is determined based on an expected speed trajectory of the vehicle and a size of the respective target space of the at least one target space.
Watanabe teaches a driving assistance for vehicles which assists with lane change determinations, where the coming-level time period is the shortest of the coming-level time periods (t1, t2, t3) when the vehicle comes level with a parallel-traveling vehicle, and a lane section (Lp1) may be set as the proposed lane section when the system determines that the proposed lane change has a length or section distance long enough to make the lane change (i.e., size), when the section distance (Lk) is longer than a predetermined length value (Lth) (e.g. Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, with the feature of determining the size of a lane in the system of Watanabe, in order to make a quick and safe lane change (see at least Paragraphs [0005]-[0006] of Watanabe).
Ishikawa, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of controlling, based on whether one point of the vehicle overtakes a starting point of the specified target space, the vehicle to enter the specified target space and make the lane change.
Ishikawa teaches a method for conducting automatic drive assistance for a vehicle, where the CPU (41) of the navigation apparatus (2) in the vehicle (1) performs lane change instruction control by setting a lateral space detection start location, a deceleration start location, a lane change start location, etc., and where the CPU (41) sets the lane change start location at a location at which the forward end portion of the vehicle (1) and the front end portion of the lane change target location are substantially side by side with each other (i.e. a portion of the vehicle has overtaken the start/ beginning of the specified target space), and the ECU (3) performs control such that when the start location is passed, the vehicle (1) can start a lane change to enter the lane change target location (e.g. Paragraphs [0045], [0100], [0123]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, with the feature of determining that the vehicle has passed the start point of a target space in the system of Ishikawa, in view of Watanabe, in order to enable completion of a lane change (see at least Paragraphs [0005] of Ishikawa).
As per Claim 2, and similarly for Claim 12, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Ishioka further discloses the features of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: based on a presence of a point at which the first lane is ended within a specified distance of the first lane or based on a detected event that requires the vehicle to travel in the second lane, determine to make the lane change (e.g. Paragraphs [0060]-[0061], [0066], [0071]; where the system determines that a junction point is present in a road and the vehicle needs to merge or change a lane so that the host vehicle (M) travels in the direction for a destination in an automatic driving mode, the action plan generation unit (106) sets a lane changing event for changing a lane, and the lane change control unit (120) performs control when a diverging event or merging event is performed).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claim 13, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Ishioka further discloses the features of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine, using the sensor, an average driving speed of the at least one other vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; where the lane-based speed specifying unit (121) specifies a first and second vehicle speed of a neighboring vehicle, where the first vehicle speed is an average vehicle speed obtained from one or a plurality of neighboring vehicles, such as the speed of the preceding and following vehicles of the host vehicle (M), and the second vehicle speed is an average vehicle speed of one or a plurality of neighboring vehicles traveling on the lane of a change destination (i.e. adjacent)); and
determine, based on a difference between the average driving speed and a driving speed of the vehicle being less than or equal to a specified speed, the at least one target space (e.g. Paragraphs [0112]-[0114]; Figures 12-14; where the lane-based speed specifying unit specifies a vehicle speed of the host lane and in the lane change destination, and determines whether the first vehicle speed is faster or slower than the second vehicle speed, in order to change the target position (TA) based on the comparisons of the two speeds).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claim 14, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Ishioka further discloses the features of wherein the at least one instruction is, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine, using the sensor, an average driving speed of the at least one other vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; where the lane-based speed specifying unit (121) specifies a first and second vehicle speed of a neighboring vehicle, where the first vehicle speed is an average vehicle speed obtained from one or a plurality of neighboring vehicles, such as the speed of the preceding and following vehicles of the host vehicle (M), and the second vehicle speed is an average vehicle speed of one or a plurality of neighboring vehicles traveling on the lane of a change destination (i.e. adjacent)); and
adjust, based on a difference between the average driving speed and a driving speed of the vehicle being greater than a specified speed, the driving speed of the vehicle to follow the average driving speed (e.g. Paragraph [0118]; where the lane change control unit (120) may cause the travel control unit (130) to perform speed adjustment control so that the vehicle speed is equal to the speed (the second vehicle speed) on the lane of the lane change destination or the speed (the speed of either one vehicle or an average speed) of vehicles traveling near the host vehicle (M)).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 15, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Ishioka further discloses the features of when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on acceleration control or deceleration control for the vehicle, the expected speed trajectory (e.g. Paragraph [0066]; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory on the basis of the travel mode by calculating a target speed of the host vehicle (M) on the basis of at least the speed of a target object); and
determine, based on the expected speed trajectory, one of the at least one arrival time and the size of the specified target space at an arrival time point (e.g. Paragraphs [0066], [0087]; Figures 8, 13; where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory by sampling, at predetermined time intervals, future target positions at which the host vehicle (M) is expected to arrive and implement a lane change).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 16, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 5 and 15, respectively, and Ishioka further discloses the features of wherein the at least one instruction is, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine the expected speed trajectory based on at least one of: a distance to a point at which the first lane is ended, a first driving speed limit in the first lane and a second driving speed limit in the second lane, a user input speed, or a separation distance between the vehicle and another vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0060]-[0061], [0066], [0071], [0086], [0120]; where the system determines that a junction point is present in a road and the vehicle needs to merge or change a lane so that the host vehicle (M) travels in the direction for a destination in an automatic driving mode; and where the first trajectory generating unit (112) generates a trajectory on the basis of the travel mode by calculating a target speed of the host vehicle (M) on the basis of at least the speed of a target object or the legal speed limit of a traveling road).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 17, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Ishioka further discloses the features of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine, using the sensor, a first driving speed of a first other vehicle which is present in front of the vehicle and a second driving speed of a second other vehicle which is present behind the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]; where the lane-based speed specifying unit (121) specifies a first and second vehicle speed of a neighboring vehicle, where the first vehicle speed is an average vehicle speed obtained from one or a plurality of neighboring vehicles, such as the speed of the preceding and following vehicles of the host vehicle (M));
determine, based on the first driving speed and a driving speed of the vehicle, a rear margin of the first other vehicle; determine, based on the second driving speed, the driving speed of the vehicle, and a first length of the vehicle, and a second length of the second other vehicle, a front margin of the second other vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0082], [0084]-[0085], [0095]; Figures 6, 8; where the lane changeability determining unit (123) determines whether it is possible to change lanes based on collision margin time ((TTC(B) and (TTC(C) between the front reference vehicle (mB) and the rear reference vehicle (mc) and the host vehicle (M), and the system determines a vehicle length for determining when to make a lane change and creates a circle having a predetermined radius (R) around each of the extracted trajectory points (KmC)); and
determine a space between the rear margin and the front margin as one of the at least one target space (e.g. Figures 13-14; where the space before a front reference vehicle (mB) is designated as the target position, or the space behind a rear reference vehicle (mC) is designated as the target position).
As per Claim 8, and similarly for Claim 18, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, but Ishioka fails to disclose every feature of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a target space among a plurality of target spaces as the specified target space based on an arrival time and a size of the target spaces.
However, Ishikawa, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a target space among a plurality of target spaces.
Ishikawa teaches a method for conducting automatic drive assistance for a vehicle, a plurality of target spaces are determined (e.g. Figures 8-9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, with the feature of determining a plurality of target spaces in the system of Ishikawa, in order to determine which space the vehicle can conduct a lane change (see at least Paragraphs [0072] of Ishikawa).
Watanabe, in a similar field of endeavor, further teaches the features of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a target space among a plurality of target spaces as the specified target space based on an arrival time and a size of the target spaces.
Watanabe teaches a driving assistance for vehicles which assists with lane change determinations, where the coming-level time period is the shortest of the coming-level time periods (t1, t2, t3) when the vehicle comes level with a parallel-traveling vehicle, and a lane section (Lp1) may be set as the proposed lane section when the system determines that the proposed lane change has a length or section distance long enough to make the lane change, when the section distance (Lk) is longer than a predetermined length value (Lth) (i.e. smallest arrival time and largest space requirements are considered when changing lanes) (e.g. Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, with the feature of determining time and distance parameters for changing lanes in the system of Watanabe, in order to make a quick and safe lane change (see at least Paragraphs [0005]-[0006] of Watanabe).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0188277 A1, to Song (hereinafter referred to as Song; previously of record).
As per Claim 10, and similarly for Claim 20, Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, but the combination of Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, fails to teach every feature of wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: control, based on the one point of the vehicle not overtaking the starting point of the specified target space, the vehicle to perform biased driving to be adjacent to the second lane.
However, Song, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for vehicle assistance when conducting a lane change, where the when a command to change lanes is received, the system determines if a lane change condition is met, and performs “deflected driving in the lane”; and when the condition is not satisfied (i.e., has not overtaken the start of a target space), the driving is biased toward the direction in which the lane change is being conducted without leaving the current travel lane (e.g. Paragraphs [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0088]; Figure 4-6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the vehicle control device of Ishioka, in view of Watanabe and Ishikawa, with the feature of determining that the vehicle has passed the start point of a target space in the system of Ishikawa, in order to actively indicate the intention to change lanes (see at least Paragraphs [0009] of Song).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kobayashi, et al (U.S. 2012/0166017 A1), which teaches a method for performing lane change control when a vehicle has passed another vehicle to safely change lanes.
Takeda (U.S. 2018/0201272 A1), which teaches a method for performing lane change control for a vehicle.
Thum, et al (U.S. 2025/0083677 A1), which teaches a method for providing overtaking assistance for a vehicle changing lanes.
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663