DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed 05/06/2026 in response to PTO Office Action mailed 02/18/2026. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in which the Examiner has cited newly presented prior art, Saito (US Pub. No. 2012/0086968 A1 hereinafter “Saito”), as necessitated by the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gim et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0401120 A1 hereinafter “Gim”) in view of Saito (US Pub. No. 2012/0086968 A1 hereinafter “Saito”).
Referring to claim 1, Gim discloses a computing device (Gim – Fig. 2, host device 102) comprising:
a processor (Gim – Fig. 2, processor 206);
a memory (Gim – Fig. 2, memory 208); and
a root complex configured to be connected with the processor, the memory, and a memory expander (Gim – Par. [0061] & Fig. 2, The root complex 202 may connect (e.g., via a local bus or the like) the processing circuit 204 (comprises of the processor 206 and the memory 208) to the expandable memory device 118 via the second memory interface 116.),
wherein the processor (Gim – Fig. 2, processor 206) is configured to:
recognize whether the memory expander is connected to the root complex, and update a physical address space of the computing device based on a recognition that the memory expander is connected to the root complex (Gim – Par. [0044] discloses the host physical address may be changed when the expandable memory is plugged into a different slot of the host device, or the expandable memory expander card is plugged into a slot of a different host device. Par. [0059] discloses the expandable memory device 118 may be connected to a port (e.g., a PCIe port) of a root complex 202 (e.g., via the second memory interface 116) of the host device 102.).
Gim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the computing device is a non-host computing device, and the processor is configured to: communicate with a host device to perform an operation, and update a physical address space of the computing device based on a recognition that the memory expander is connected to the root complex autonomously from the host device.
Saito discloses the computing device is a non-host computing device (Saito – Par. [0100] discloses an accelerator board 301 includes an accelerator controller 302. The accelerator controller 302 has the functions of a CPU, a root-complex complying with the PCI-Express specification, a RAM, a ROM, and an encryption unit.), and the processor is configured to: communicate with a host device to perform an operation (Saito – Figs. 6-7 & Par. [0094] discloses an I/F controller 211 is a device which enables communication with an external device (for example, a host computer) via a standard interface such as LAN. Par. [0102] discloses Print data transferred from the host is sent to the accelerator controller 302 via an I/F controller 211 and the system controller 206. The accelerator controller 302 performs interface processing, encryption processing, PDL interpretation, and the like for the received print data, and transmits the processing result as print data to the system controller 206.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Saito’s teachings with Gim’s techniques for the benefit the operation setting mode of the controller of a printing apparatus is dynamically switched over in accordance with the type of mounted add-in card, and flexible functional enhancement by an add-in card can be easily achieved (Saito – Par. [0008]).
Referring to claim 2, Gim and Saito disclose the computing device of claim 1, wherein the root complex is configured to connect the processor, the memory, and the memory expander through a compute express link (CXL) protocol-based interconnect (Gim – Par. [0061] & Fig. 2, The root complex 202 may connect (e.g., via a local bus or the like) the processing circuit 204 (comprises of the processor 206 and the memory 208) to the expandable memory device 118 via the second memory interface 116 (e.g., the connector and the protocol thereof) may include (e.g., may conform to) a CXL interconnect built on periphery component interconnect express (PCIe), such that the expandable memory device 118 may be a PCIe device connected to a PCIe port of the root complex 202.).
Referring to claim 10, note the rejections of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected with the addition of a plurality of memory expanders (Gim – Fig. 5, Expandable Memory Pool 114) and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 11, note the rejections of claim 2 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 16, note the rejections of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 17, note the rejections of claim 2 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
8. Claims 3-9, 12-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gim in view of Saito, and further in view of Jung et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0264957 A1 hereinafter “Jung”).
Referring to claim 3, Gim and Saito disclose the computing device of claim 1, wherein the root complex (Gim – Par. [0061] & Fig. 2, The root complex 202) comprises:
a root port configured to be connected with the memory expander (Gim – Par. [0061] & Fig. 2, The root complex 202 may connect (e.g., via a local bus or the like) the processing circuit 204 (comprises of the processor 206 and the memory 208) to the expandable memory device 118 via the second memory interface 116 (e.g., the connector and the protocol thereof) may include (e.g., may conform to) a CXL interconnect built on periphery component interconnect express (PCIe), such that the expandable memory device 118 may be a PCIe device connected to a PCIe port of the root complex 202.).
Gim fails to explicitly disclose a CXL controller configured to transmit/receive data to/from the memory expander connected with the root port, and the root port and the CXL controller correspond to each other and are paired.
Jung discloses a CXL controller configured to transmit/receive data to/from the memory expander connected with the root port (Jung– Par. [0089-0097] & Fig. 8, a CXL controller 311A configured to transmit/receive data to/from the memory expander (storage 13A) connected with the CXL root port 210A.), and the root port and the CXL controller correspond to each other and are paired (Jung – Fig. 8, CXL root port 210A coupled directly with the CXL controller 311A via CXL EP 313A.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Jung’s teachings with Gim and Saito’s techniques for the benefit of the storage such as SSD can be used as the cacheable memory expander, improving the performance of a wide range of applications requiring a large-capacity memory, such as large-scale scientific analysis, healthcare, recommendation systems, and machine learning-based autonomous vehicle (Jung – Par. [0026]).
Referring to claim 4, Gim, Saito and Jung disclose the computing device of claim 3, wherein the processor (Gim – Fig. 2, processor 206) is configured to: identify a root port to which the memory expander is connected based on the recognition that the memory expander is connected to the root complex, and update the physical address space of the computing device based on the root port to which the memory expander is connected (Gim – Par. [0044] discloses the host physical address may be changed when the expandable memory is plugged into a different slot of the host device, or the expandable memory expander card is plugged into a slot of a different host device. Par. [0059] discloses the expandable memory device 118 may be connected to a port (e.g., a PCIe port) of a root complex 202 (e.g., via the second memory interface 116) of the host device 102.).
Referring to claim 5, Gim, Saito and Jung disclose the computing device of claim 4, wherein the processor (Gim – Fig. 2, processor 206) is configured to map the root port to which the memory expander is connected to a physical address included in the physical address space of the computing device (Gim – Par. [0044] discloses the host physical address may be changed when the expandable memory is plugged into a different slot of the host device, or the expandable memory expander card is plugged into a slot of a different host device. In this case, the FPL including at least the physical device information of the expandable memory may enable remapping from the device physical address to the host physical address when such hardware changes are made. Par. [0059] discloses the expandable memory device 118 may be connected to a port (e.g., a PCIe port) of a root complex 202 (e.g., via the second memory interface 116) of the host device 102.).
Referring to claim 6, Gim, Saito and Jung disclose the computing device of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to generate a memory request (Gim – Par. [0059] & Fig. 2, the root complex 202 may connect a processor 206 (e.g., the host processor 106 in FIG. 1) to the expandable memory device 118 to generate transaction requests on behalf of the processor 206 to the expandable memory device 118.), and the root complex is configured to access a memory expander corresponding to a physical address of the memory request through the updated physical address space, based on the memory request (Gim – Par. [0061] & Fig. 2, The root complex 202 may connect (e.g., via a local bus or the like) the processing circuit 204 (comprises of the processor 206 and the memory 208) to the expandable memory device 118 via the second memory interface 116 (e.g., the connector and the protocol thereof) may include (e.g., may conform to) a CXL interconnect built on periphery component interconnect express (PCIe), such that the expandable memory device 118 may be a PCIe device connected to a PCIe port of the root complex 202.).
Referring to claim 7, Gim, Saito and Jung disclose the computing device of claim 6, wherein the root complex is configured to identify the memory expander corresponding to the physical address of the memory request on the updated physical address space, based on the memory request (Gim – Par. [0044] discloses the host physical address may be changed when the expandable memory is plugged into a different slot of the host device, or the expandable memory expander card is plugged into a slot of a different host device. Par. [0059] discloses the expandable memory device 118 may be connected to a port (e.g., a PCIe port) of a root complex 202 (e.g., via the second memory interface 116) of the host device 102.).
Referring to claim 8, Gim, Saito and Jung disclose the computing device of claim 7, wherein the root complex is configured to transmit the memory request to the root port connected with the memory expander corresponding to the physical address of the memory request, based on the identifying (Jung– See Par. [0089-0097] & Fig. 8, Steps S210 – S240.).
Referring to claim 9, Gim, Saito and Jung disclose the computing device of claim 8, wherein the root port connected with the memory expander corresponding to the physical address of the memory request is configured to convert the memory request into a CXL protocol message (Jung– Par. [0092] & Fig. 8, The on-chip cache 220A of the host CPU transmits the memory request to the CXL RP 210A (S210). The CXL RP 210A converts the memory request into the CXL flit and transmits the CXL flit to the CXL controller 311A (S220).), and the CXL controller is configured to transmit the CXL protocol message to the memory expander corresponding to the physical address of the memory request (Jung– Par. [0093] & Fig. 8, The CXL controller 311A converts the CXL flit back into the memory request, converts the byte address of the memory request into the block address, and then uses the block address to convert into a command that the existing storage 13A may understand and transmits the command to the existing storage 13A (S230). For example, when the existing storage 13A is the NVMe device, the CXL controller 311A may transmit an NVMe command through the connected interface.).
Referring to claim 18, note the rejections of claim 3 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 19, note the rejections of claim 4 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 20, note the rejections of claim 5 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dayton Lewis-Taylor/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181
/Farley Abad/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181