DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Koran et al. (USPGPub 2006/0157186 A1).
Koran et al. disclose glass panel (Figures; Abstract; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017) comprising: a first laminate (Figure 1, #12); a second laminate attached to the first laminate (Figure 1, #14; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017); and an evacuated space between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraph 0015); wherein each of the first laminate and the second laminate include a glass layer, a resin layer, and an acrylic layer (Paragraph 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033); and the acrylic layers face each other with the evacuated space therebetween (Figures 1 and 2, #26; Paragraphs 0015 – 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033) as in claim 7. With respect to claim 8, the resin layers are formed of polyvinyl butyral (Paragraphs 0030 – 0033). Regarding claim 10, a spacer is positioned between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraphs 0015 – 0017). For claim 12, the evacuated layer restricts the transfer of heat from the first laminate to the second laminate (Paragraph 0017).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim1, 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koran et al. (USPGPub 2006/0157186 A1) in view of Hochart (FR 2516646 A1).
A machine-generated translation of FR 2516646 A1 accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Koran et al. disclose glass panel (Figures; Abstract; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017) comprising: a first laminate (Figure 1, #12); a second laminate attached to the first laminate (Figure 1, #14; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017); and an evacuated space between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraph 0015); wherein each of the first laminate and the second laminate include a glass layer, a resin layer, and an acrylic layer (Paragraph 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033); and the acrylic layers face each other with the evacuated space therebetween (Figures 1 and 2, #26; Paragraphs 0015 – 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the resin layers are formed of polyvinyl butyral (Paragraphs 0030 – 0033). Regarding claim 4, a spacer is positioned between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraphs 0015 – 0017). For claim 6, the evacuated layer restricts the transfer of heat from the first laminate to the second laminate (Paragraph 0017). However, Koran et al. fail to disclose a vehicle body having a plurality of openings; and a plurality of glass panels respectively provided in each of the plurality of openings.
Hochart teach a vehicle body having a plurality of openings (Pages 1 and 2; Abstract, military vehicles); and a plurality of glass panels respectively provided in each of the plurality of openings (Pages 1 and 2; Abstract, military vehicles), having a first laminate (Figures 1 and 2); a second laminate attached to the first laminate (Figures 1 and 2); and a space between the first laminate and the second laminate (Figure 1, #11; Figure 2, #26 and 28) for the purpose of adding extra protection to a vehicle (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a vehicle with the glass panels of Koran et al. in order to add extra protection to a vehicle as taught by Hochart.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koran et al. (USPGPub 2006/0157186 A1) in view of Hochart (FR 2516646 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shaffer (USPN 3,625,792).
Koran et al., as modified with Hochart, disclose the claimed invention except for the acrylic layers are in the form of a cast sheet having a thickness that ranges between about 1.5 mm to about 2.5 mm.
Shaffer teaches a glass laminated panel (Abstract) containing acrylic layers are in the form of a cast sheet (Column 6, lines 6 – 17) having a thickness that ranges between about 1.5 mm to about 2.5 mm (Column 7, lines 61 – 63) for the purpose of forming a stronger glass article (Column 6, lines 18 – 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cast sheet of acrylic in the modified Koran et al. in order to form a stronger glass article as taught by Shaffer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koran et al. (USPGPub 2006/0157186 A1) in view of Shaffer (USPN 3,625,792).
Koran et al. disclose glass panel (Figures; Abstract; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017) comprising: a first laminate (Figure 1, #12); a second laminate attached to the first laminate (Figure 1, #14; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017); and an evacuated space between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraph 0015); wherein each of the first laminate and the second laminate include a glass layer, a resin layer, and an acrylic layer (Paragraph 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033); and the acrylic layers face each other with the evacuated space therebetween (Figures 1 and 2, #26; Paragraphs 0015 – 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033). However, Koran et al. fail to disclose the acrylic layers are in the form of a cast sheet having a thickness that ranges between about 1.5 mm to about 2.5 mm.
Shaffer teaches a glass laminated panel (Abstract) containing acrylic layers are in the form of a cast sheet (Column 6, lines 6 – 17) having a thickness that ranges between about 1.5 mm to about 2.5 mm (Column 7, lines 61 – 63) for the purpose of forming a stronger glass article (Column 6, lines 18 – 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cast sheet of acrylic in Koran et al. in order to form a stronger glass article as taught by Shaffer.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koran et al. (USPGPub 2006/0157186 A1) in view of Hochart (FR 2516646 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Liu et al (CN 111497382 A).
A machine-generated translation of CN 111497382 A accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Koran et al., as modified with Hochart, disclose the claimed invention except for the spacer includes an opening that permits the space between the acrylic layers to be evacuated before being closed by a plug to seal the space.
Liu et al. teach a glass substrate with a spacer (Abstract) that includes an opening that permits the space between the layers to be evacuated before being closed by a plug to seal the space (Claim 6) for the purpose of improving the insulation of the glass substrate (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a spacer that includes an opening that permits the space between the layers to be evacuated before being closed by a plug in the modified Koran et al. in order to improve the insulation of the glass substrate as taught by Liu et al.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koran et al. (USPGPub 2006/0157186 A1) in view of Liu et al (CN 111497382 A).
A machine-generated translation of CN 111497382 A accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Koran et al. disclose glass panel (Figures; Abstract; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017) comprising: a first laminate (Figure 1, #12); a second laminate attached to the first laminate (Figure 1, #14; Paragraphs 0015 – 0017); and an evacuated space between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraph 0015); wherein each of the first laminate and the second laminate include a glass layer, a resin layer, and an acrylic layer (Paragraph 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033); and the acrylic layers face each other with the evacuated space therebetween (Figures 1 and 2, #26; Paragraphs 0015 – 0018, 0024, 0027 – 0033). A spacer is positioned between the first laminate and the second laminate (Paragraphs 0015 – 0017). However, Koran et al. fail to disclose a spacer includes an opening that permits the space between the acrylic layers to be evacuated before being closed by a plug to seal the space.
Liu et al. teach a glass substrate with a spacer (Abstract) that includes an opening that permits the space between the layers to be evacuated before being closed by a plug to seal the space (Claim 6) for the purpose of improving the insulation of the glass substrate (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a spacer that includes an opening that permits the space between the layers to be evacuated before being closed by a plug in Koran et al. in order to improve the insulation of the glass substrate as taught by Liu et al.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 July 10, 2026