DETAILED ACTION
1.This communication is in response to the application filed on 1/28/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
1a. Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 8, 10-12, and 17-20 are amended.
Claims 1- 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues that neither Zhang, nor Shreevastarv, nor Sudhakaran, nor Birrane, nor Zhu, alone or in combination, discloses the features of (1) determining the target QoS exceeds a default QoS provided by a radio access network (RAN); and (2) triggering a request from the wireless device to the RAN for a dedicated bearer within an established protocol data unit (PDU) session, the dedicated bearer providing the target QoS for the activity,” (Remarks page 7).
In response to A, the Examiner disagrees because Applicant does not show how and why the cited references do not teach the claim limitations. First, regarding the amended limitation, the feature “determining the target QoS exceeds a default QoS provided by a radio access network (RAN.;” Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Second, regarding “triggering a request from the wireless device to the RAN for a dedicated bearer within an established protocol data unit (PDU) session, the dedicated bearer providing the target QoS for the activity.” Shreevastav discloses in paragraphs [0219]-[0229] that a request being used to trigger a signal QoS requirement for positioning a uplink reference signal to a wireless device via a base station during a data activity for configuring the wireless device by transmitting the QoS requirement signal via the base station that gives access to the wireless device, here the base station comprises a radio access network (RAN) component using communication protocol for a base station of radio access network ; the activity for wireless device is disclosed in [0091].The communication protocol used is disclosed in [0138]; for clarification the protocol data unit used is the term used in telecommunication to described a data specified in a protocol of a given layer. Based on this analysis, Shreevastav teaches a signaling device that causes the network to allocate QoS based on a particular activity; therefore, it is sufficient for Shreevastav to meet the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
4. Claims 1-4, 9-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zhang (US 12,170,704 B2) , in view of Shreevastav et al. (hereinafter “Shreevastav”) (US 2022/0368496 A1), and further in view of JI-CHEOL et al. (hereinafter “JI-CHEOL”) (WO 2012/102590 A3).
Regarding claim 1. Zhang discloses a method comprising:
learning, by a wireless device, flow requirements of an activity performed in a wireless network by the wireless device (in an artificial intelligence platform large data broadcast by mobile device and smartphone in a wireless network, Zhang, column 8, lines 10-20);
determining a target quality of service (QoS) for the activity based on the flow requirements ( a target QoS is provided by using the QoS flow for broadcasted large data, Zhang, column 2, lines 34-41).
Zhang does not disclose triggering a request from the wireless device to the RAN for a dedicated bearer within an established protocol data unit (PDU) session, the dedicated bearer providing the target QoS for the activity.
Shreevastav discloses triggering a request from the wireless device to the RAN for a dedicated bearer within an established protocol data unit (PDU) session, the dedicated bearer providing the target QoS for the activity (using a wireless device to trigger a uplink signaling with a target QoS via a base station having a radio interface for transmitting user data (a base station comprising a radio interface is necessarily a component of a radio interface access network, Shreevastav, [0219]-[0229]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JI-CHEOL’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to effectively apply a target QoS for the activity performed in a wireless network device.
Zhang in view of Shreevastav do not disclose determining the target QoS exceeds a default QoS provided by a radio access network (RAN).
JI-CHEOL discloses determining the target QoS exceeds a default QoS provided by a radio access network (RAN) ( the QoS acceleration service refers to providing a user with a service having a higher QoS than a default QoS designated for the user, wherein the higher QoS is used within a limited time, a limited area, JI-CHEOL , [0039]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JI-CHEOL’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings in view of Shreevastav’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to effectively apply a higher QoS for a limited time is required for providing a service to a user.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the activity comprises execution of a mobile application ( wireless application , Zhang, column 7, lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the activity comprises a voice call ( mobile communication network , Zhang, column 7, lines 38-39).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the flow requirements include low latency, high throughput, high bandwidth, a predetermined packet size, or guaranteed bit rate (GBR) ( guaranteed bit rate, Zhang, column 1, lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the target QoS applies to uplink traffic ( uplink business flow, Zhang, column 1, lines 51-53).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a corresponding target QoS for multiple current activities during a session ( target QoS for relevant flow for one or more service during a session ( a determination being done for finding the relevant target QoS for a session), Zhang, column 2, lines 21-28).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 10.
Zhang does not disclose further comprising triggering multiple requests from the wireless device to the RAN for the corresponding target QoS for each activity during the session.
Shreevastav discloses further comprising triggering multiple requests from the wireless device to the RAN for the corresponding target QoS for each activity during the session(using a wireless device to trigger an uplink signaling with a target QoS via a base station having a radio interface for transmitting user data, it could be more than one request (a base station comprising a radio interface is necessarily a component of a radio interface access network, Shreevastav, [0219]-[0229]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shreevastav’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings and in view of JI-CHEOL’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to effectively apply an QoS for a wireless network device by using a request that trigger when the QoS should be applied.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a wireless device comprising: a memory storing multiple mobile applications; a processor ( a memory storing programs executed by a processor, Zhang, column 28, lines 37-54); in addition, claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 2, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 9, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is substantially similar to combination of claims 10 and 11, thus the same rationale applies.
4a. Claims 5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zhang, in view of Shreevastav, in view of JI-CHEOL , and further in view of Sudhakaran et al. (hereinafter “Sudhakaran”) (US 2016/0048759 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1.
Zhang in view of Shreevastav does not disclose wherein the learning, determining, and triggering are performed by an artificial intelligence markup language (AIML) chip.
Sudhakaran discloses wherein the learning, determining, and triggering are performed by an artificial intelligence markup language (AIML) chip ( a determination for providing a response being done using an artificial intelligence markup language (AIML) module, Sudhakaran, [0023];[0024] ).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shreevastav’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings and in view of JI-CHEOL’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to trigger faster a response to a dedicated QoS.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is substantially similar to combination of claims 1 and 5, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang, Shreevastav, JI-CHEOL, and Sudhakaran disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising receiving the corresponding target QoS during the session ( target QoS for relevant flow for one or more service during a session is provided , Zhang, column 2, lines 21-28).
4b. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zhang, in view of Shreevastav, in view of JI-CHEOL in view of Sudhakaran, and further in view of Birrane III et al. (hereinafter “Birrane”) (US 2021/0007017 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang, Shreevastav, JI-CHEOL, and Sudhakaran disclose the method of claim 19.
Zhang in view of Shreevastav does not disclose further comprising receiving a default QoS after termination of the session.
Birrane discloses further comprising receiving a default QoS after termination of the session ( session end default bearer associated with specific QoS requirement is provided, default bearer with specific QoS requirement is equated to default QoS), Birrane, [0032]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Birrane’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings in view of Shreevastav’s teachings and in view of JI-CHEOL’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to provide the default QoS when a session with dedicated bearer end in order to maintain the QoS needed for video stream.
4c. Claims 6-8, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zhang, in view of Shreevastav, in view of JI-CHEOL , and further in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter “Zhu”) (US 2019/0260669A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1.
Zhang in view of Shreevastav and in view of JI-CHEOL does not disclose further comprising examining a bearer setup from an artificial intelligence markup language (AIML) chip of the wireless device to determine a bearer priority and traffic flow template (TFT) filters.
Zhu discloses further comprising examining a bearer setup from an artificial intelligence markup language (AIML) chip of the wireless device to determine a bearer priority and traffic flow template (TFT) filters ( a wireless modem being used to access mobile device and a dedicated bearer for a desired QoS, a traffic flow template filter is used high priority bearer, for an artificial intelligence markup language (AIML) chip of the wireless device to setup the bearer without any specificity the examiner is taking the position any software capable of the determining bearer priority meets the function requirement of AIML chip, Zhu, [0049]; [0062];[0066]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shreevastav’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings and in view of JI-CHEOL’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to effectively apply an QoS for a wireless network device by using a wireless modem and a dedicated bearer.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 1.
Zhang in view of Shreevastav and in view of JI-CHEOL does not disclose further comprising triggering the request from a modem of the wireless device.
Zhu discloses further comprising triggering the request from a modem of the wireless device (a wireless modem being used to access mobile device ( request is part of the access of the terminal) , Zhu, [0049]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shreevastav’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings and in view of JI-CHEOL’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to effectively apply an QoS for a wireless network device by using a wireless modem and a dedicated bearer.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, Shreevastav, and JI-CHEOL disclose the method of claim 7.
Zhang in view of Shreevastav and in view of JI-CHEOL does not disclose wherein the modem requests a dedicated bearer with the target QoS.
Zhu discloses wherein the modem requests a dedicated bearer with the target QoS ( a wireless modem being used to access mobile device and a dedicated bearer for a desired QoS, Zhu, [0049]; [0062]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shreevastav’s teachings with Zhang’s teachings and in view of JI-CHEOL’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to effectively apply an QoS for a wireless network device by using a wireless modem and a dedicated bearer.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 7, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 8, thus the same rationale applies.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIEGEORGES A HENRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/EMMANUEL L MOISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2455