Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0290128 A1 to Luo et al., hereinafter, “Luo” in view of US 2023/0316587 A1 to Ghebremusse et al., hereinafter, “Ghebremusse” and Feature Unlearning for Pre-trained GANs and VAEs to Moon et al., hereinafter, “Moon”.
Claim 1. Luo teaches A method of performing unlearning of people in a generative model, [0002] An de-identification method, FIG.8 StyleGAN2 generator
[0003] De-identification is to remove a recognizable identity feature in an image or a video
the method performed in a computing device equipped with one or more processors and a memory storing one or more programs executed by the one or more processors, the method comprising: [0010] …computing device, including a processor and a memory. The memory is configured to store a computer program. The processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the model training method or the de-identification method…
inputting a source image including a face of a person to be unlearned in a pre-learned generative model into an encoder to extract a source latent vector in a latent space; [0102] FIG. 8, priori identity information is generated based on a first training image Xs (interpreted to be the source image) by using a pre-trained face recognition model. Then the priori identity information is inputted to the VAE (equivalent of an encoder), and the VAE projects the priori identity information to the first space Z to obtain N latent identity vectors (interpreted to be the source latent vector in a latent space)…
Luo fails to explicitly teach setting a target latent vector so that the identity is different from that of a person corresponding to the source latent vector in the latent space. Ghebremusse, in the field of editing facial features using deep learning, teaches setting a target latent vector so that the identity is different from that of a person corresponding to the source latent vector in the latent space; [0009] applying an adjustment vector (interpreted to be setting) to a latent space point corresponding to the initial output image to generate an adjusted latent space point; and decoding the adjusted latent space point to generate an adjusted output image in accordance with the desired facial identity but with the facial expression and pose of the face in the input image altered in accordance with the adjustment vector (interpreted to be different identity)
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Luo with the teachings of Ghebremusse [0002] for a clear, easy way to correct swapped features.
Luo fails to explicitly teach performing unlearning to remove the identity of the person in the pre-learned model based on the source latent vector and the target latent vector. Moon, in the field of unlearning for a pre-trained generative adversarial network, teaches and performing unlearning to remove the identity of the person in the pre-learned model based on the source latent vector and the target latent vector. [Abstract] we aim to unlearn a specific feature, such as hairstyle from facial images, from the pre-trained generative models.
Figure 1: Result of unlearning various features from pre trained StyleGAN model. We utilize the same latent vector to generate images from both the original and the unlearned models.
[Unlearning Framework, pages 2-3] paired dataset with and without target features (interpreted to be source and target images), pre-trained generator (interpreted to be pre-learned model), latent representation, latent space, and latent vector (interpreted to be latent vectors)… we obtain the latent vector representation of each image from the collected dataset. Once we obtain the latent vectors, we use a vector arithmetic method proposed by Radford, Metz, and Chintala (2015) to find the latent vector representing the target feature
[Unlearning Process, page 3] Given random vector z, we first project the vector onto the target vector (target latent vector), and then the original random vector (source latent vector) is shifted by the projected vector
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Luo with the teachings of Moon [Introduction] to effectively remove the target feature while maintaining the image quality.
Claim 15. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 19. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale. Luo [0012] … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The innovation that makes claim 2 allowable is “and setting a target latent vector based on the source latent vector and the mean latent vector”. Prior art Expression Transfer Using Flow-based Generative Models to Valenzuela et al., hereinafter, Valenzuela teaches
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the setting comprises: obtaining a mean latent vector in the latent space by the encoder; [Introduction] we consider the flow-based Glow model [20] and explore how the original pre-trained model can be used for expression transfer between a source face image and a target face image.
[4. Expression Transfer] We first compute the mean latent vector for both the source and target image sets
Valenzuela and other prior art search fails to explicitly teaches and setting a target latent vector based on the source latent vector and the mean latent vector.
Likewise claims 3-4 are allowed because they are dependents of claim 1.
The innovation that makes claims 5 and 16 allowable is “inputting the target feature map and the source feature map into a rendering model, respectively, to output a target generated image and a source generated image, respectively; and learning the second generator by a first loss pre-set based on the target feature map, the source feature map, the target generated image, and the source generated image, wherein the initial values of neural network parameters of the second generator are set as same as values of neural network parameters of the learned first generator.”
Likewise claims 6-14 and 17-18 are allowed because they are dependents of
claims 5 and 16, respectively.
Conclusion
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661